Business Model Hackathon 

The Power of Business Model Innovation 

Though often neglected, business model innovation can unleash enormous benefits for business sustainability. Failing to shape your business for the digital age will ultimately pose a significant survival risk. 

Text: Thomas Zasowski and Egon Steinkasserer, Pictures: Swisscom and Adobe Stock,

To support our business model innovation approach, we adapted the hackathon concept from the software developer’s world to the business model domain. It was here that the idea of a Swisscom business model hackathon was born. Our first effort with taking a business model hackathon approach resulted in a strategic realignment of the Swisscom Open Business Hub.

 

Business model innovation is one of the most exciting areas of innovation. In essence, the business model for a given product or service describes how profit is ultimately generated – in other words how an offering is transformed into cash. Hence it is no surprise, that changing the business model can have a major impact. In fact, business model innovation is one of the most value creating innovation types. Still it is often neglected even though it requires the lowest volume in effort when compared with product or process innovation.

 

A business model can be defined as a plan for the successful operation of a business, identifying sources of revenue, the intended customer base needs, products, and details of financing. The terms profit model and business model are mostly synonyms.

 

To innovate around a business model a deep understanding of what motivates customers when they consider buying a product or service is essential. Digitalization in the last 20 years has enabled new business models while on the other hand, new business models are often a mandatory foundation for digitalization. Furthermore, entire industries such as video entertainment and retail were turned upside down. Business model innovation, hence, is a catalyst for disruption. Companies like Netflix, Uber, Airbnb, eBay, or Google would not have become as successful and would possibly even cease to exist without new business models. Business model innovation is becoming increasingly important as profit models become obsolete faster than ever due to the exponential speed of global competition. Companies must be able to continuously innovate and explore new business models to reinvent themselves.


If businesses neglect to learn how to question and improve their successful profit model assumptions on a regular basis, they risk becoming obsolete quickly.

man_walking_over_slackline

Fig. 1: Business Model Innovation is essential to survive

Not everyone is familiar with the term hackathon: Essentially it is an event with a specific focus that spans from multiple hours to a few days wherein computer programmers and/or hardware engineers and others involved in the product development collaborate intensively on software or hardware projects. The goal of a hackathon is to create functioning software or hardware by the end of the event. Hackathons in the last years have become very popular with Swisscom organizing and supporting countless internal and external hackathons.

 

Hence it might not be too surprising that we adopted the hackathon concept for an adjacent domain: business model innovation. In the following we would like to share with you the insights from our Swisscom business model hackathon for business-to-business (B2B) products and services.

Goals and Ideas 

There were plenty of topics we were considering and some secondary goals we aimed to achieve as well. As there are a number of different units and customer segments that Swisscom interacts with regularly, we focused primarily on products and services for Swisscom business customers. In the beginning the following questions were top of mind:

  • How can we make products more profitable driven by customer appreciation?
  • How do we educate colleagues about existing business models elsewhere?
  • How can we push the innovation mindset inside Swisscom and in particular among product managers?
  • How can we foster and improve the collaboration and fruitful exchange between people with varying expertise and backgrounds?

These questions are of particular importance due to the unique scope of Swisscom’s business product portfolio and the intrinsic complexity associated with having this number of domains covered. Inspired by an engineering background and positive experiences, it was obvious to us that we should adapt the concept of a hackathon. However, the existing business model hackathon concepts did not fit our needs as they usually focus on developing new business model from scratch. In contrast, we wanted to revise current profit models of existing products and ideally reuse and adapt proven business models for the digital age. Hence, we had to elaborate our own concept for a business model hackathon.

Preparation 

We began with agreeing to limit the number of participants to 25 employees. On top we invited a few experienced innovation managers from other parts of the company to enrich the discussion with unbiased views from outside our specific organization which included product managers from different product domains (mobile connectivity, IoT and banking) who volunteered to present their products and current business models and/or ideas. To encourage the out of the box thinking we decided to do the business model hackathon outside the usual office buildings in an environment stimulating creativity. At Swisscom, we have several modern creative spaces available, and our event took place in the so-called Bounty which makes you feel like you're in a big sailing ship instead of the regular office interior. 

people_in_big_room

Fig. 2: Picture from the event on the Bounty

The participants had a very diverse background; therefore as we wanted to reuse proven profit models, we also needed to provide a bit of theory and introduced the Business Model Navigator (O. Gassmann et. al.), the Business Model Canvas (A. Osterwalder et. al.) and the Lean Canvas (A. Maurya) as common tools supporting the business model generation. Although all three models use different approaches, they have the following four main questions in common:

 

Who is your target customer and market segment?

What do you offer to your customers and what is your value proposition?

Why is the business model profitable and what are the drivers for revenue and cost?

How is the value proposition created and what partners, resources or activities are needed?

graphic_questions_business_model

Fig. 3: The four main questions defining a business model

Well elaborated and detailed answers to those relatively obvious questions help to reduce the risks associated with creating or changing a business. In particular, it is crucial that customers are interested in the offering, that the service or product can actually be built and delivered and that there is solid financial planning with costs, revenues and profitability in mind.

 

With help of a business model canvas, an entire business model can be mapped into a pre-structured canvas comprising of nine essential building blocks. Different business model variants can be run through and examined in a structured and comprehensive way. The basic building blocks are:

 

  • Value propositions: the customer problems that are solved as well as the value that is delivered to customers, e.g. cost reduction, performance increase, etc.
  • Customer segments: people and organizations for which value is created, e.g. consumer market, niche market, industry vertical, etc.
  • Customer relationships: the kind of relationship with the customers, e.g. self-service, personal assistance, co-creation, etc.
  • Channels: touch points to interact with customers and deliver value, e.g. online, shop, distribution network, etc.
  • Key activities: everything you need to execute, e.g. production facility, software platform, etc.
  • Key partners: the ones you need to help you, e.g. suppliers, outsourcing partners, etc.
  • Key resources: indispensable assets to create value, e.g. intellectual property rights, financials, experienced team, etc.
  • Revenue streams: pricing mechanisms through which value is captured, e.g. subscription fee, one-of-payment, etc.
  • Cost structure: costs associated for running the business, e.g. most expensive key resources and activities

 

More details as well as specific examples for the different blocks can be found in the whitepaper on the business model canvas.

 

The Lean Canvas is an adaption of the Business Model Canvas for startups. It supports company founders by putting the customers’ problem into focus with potential solutions. Additionally, questions on the unique value proposition as well as on the unfair advantage can be elaborated. This way, the risk for startups of being easily copied by large corporates or other competitors can be reduced.

 

The Business Model Navigator is an approach to business model development and innovation developed by the University of St. Gallen. They have analyzed the most successful business models of the last decades and found that the majority of all business model innovations can be traced back to the combination of a number of basic patterns of successful business model innovations which is shown in an interactive way here.

 

These patterns can be used as templates to innovate your own business model by combining them and answering the four main questions concerning your business.

 

As the Business Model Canvas is very comprehensive and as the Lean Canvas targets startups mainly, we decided on the Business Model Navigator for the hackathon. It is constructed in a simpler way compared to the two aforementioned models and the business model patterns support a more structured ideation phase and foster reuse.

D-Day 

We decided to invest one day for our first business model hackathon. We kicked-off the day with a short education session where we presented the above-mentioned methods. To further get the attendees in the mood and to motivate and challenge them on out-of-the-box thinking, we presented some successful examples of radical business model innovation, from companies such as Nespresso and Hilti. After an overview of the three products by their respective product managers we formed three hackathon teams – one per product. The idea generation in the three teams took most of the time and the outcomes were very different for each team. The selected approaches ranged from going through the business model patterns one by one up to having less structured brainstorming-like discussions. Using white boards and flip charts to discuss, combining and discarding ideas, each team came up with several potential business models.


In controversial discussions within the teams and also in the plenum, the pros and cons of the different proposals were debated, and the teams selected their preferred business model. One team even realized the need to pivot on their product as it did not solve the customers main pain points. Hence the team came up with a new value proposition as well as a new business model.


In the following pitch session, the teams presented their new business model to the whole audience. Many critical questions were asked on the proposals as well as on the underlying assumptions. On top, the audience enriched the presented business models with additional ideas and gave valuable feedback. This feedback was included by the teams which they used to refine their work hypothesis in a short session. In the final pitch session, the product managers showed the refined business models. Then they further explained what next steps would be necessary to implement the required changes.

Open Business Hub 

One example for an idea that has been generated during the Business Model Hackathon and that has been successfully realized afterwards is the strategic realignment of the Open Banking Hub towards the Open Business Hub (OBH), which has gone live in the beginning of this year. The OBH is addressing two key challenges: the lack of standardization when it comes to integrating third-party providers into the systems of financial services providers, and the inability to connect multiple third-party providers for the same use case in a scalable manner. Swisscom offers an integration layer to support this, which companies can use to connect their systems efficiently with Swisscom’s Open Business Hub. To foster our commitment to the API economy we moved the Swisscom Open Business Hub as a B2B offering on the same platform as the Swisscom OneAPI Management exposed via the Swisscom Digital Marketplace. We are convinced that in business ecosystems the co-existence of different hubs is essential. Thus we launched a first partnership with SIX.

Learnings 

The Business Model Hackathon format worked very well in general, and was also later confirmed by the positive feedback from all participants. The preparation and team discipline fostered by a good moderation paid off once again. Nevertheless, we also made some learnings that we want to share with you.


On the positive side, we stimulated the awareness for innovative business models, and we showed the participants methods on how to revise or create new business models. Also, we supported the product managers by creating three new business models for existing products, where most of the participants believed that they would be both beneficial for customers and more profitable for Swisscom than the current ones.


Reserving enough time is crucial. We did the whole hackathon in one day, which resulted in a need to hurry in most of the sessions to maintain the schedule. Distributing the sessions over two days would probably resolve this time pressure, while also leaving more time for elaboration of the business models in informal discussions breaks or ending the day with an apero. In addition, it is well known that for complex creative tasks, a night’s sleep increases the chance that we will wake up with a clearer view of the problem. The writer John Steinbeck stated that “a problem difficult at night is resolved in the morning after the committee of sleep has worked on it.”


The incorporation of the new and refined business models into the daily business was the most difficult part. As the products were in different maturity stages, it was more or less difficult for the product managers to adapt their product business models in a bottom-up way only. Some ideas could be realized as pitched during the hackathon while others were partly included and considered for the roadmap. In a next business model hackathon, we might also involve selected senior executives to have their buy in and have them take on a Godfather-type role for the immanent decisions and changes required. This would lead to a higher awareness and better support towards the implementation of the new business models.


While the setup was considered good for an initial business model hackathon, it needs to be adapted for future ones. For instance, for the level of education, it should be considered whether most of the participants have already participated such a hackathon or whether they are new to it.


We also made up our minds about scaling the business model hackathon idea. One idea that popped up was to establish business model ambassadors. These ambassadors should be previous hackathon participants supporting the generation of new business model ideas and (depending on their role in the organization) also aid with removing impediments or acting as a sparring partner and/or mentor to the product manager.


Thanks to the diversified composition of participants from across the company, the event also offers the added opportunity for team building. In the end, a great experience and overall success.

In Technology Insights, the Swisscom B2B CTO Office regularly reports and comments on current issues from the world of technology and innovation, demonstrates their importance for Swisscom customers and highlights relevant offers. 



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

My Swisscom Business Partenaire Réseau & Problèmes Contact
My Swisscom Business Partenaire Réseau & Problèmes Contact
Hackathon de modèles d’affaires 

Le pouvoir des modèles d’affaires innovants 

L’innovation en matière de modèle d’affaires peut générer d’énormes avantages, mais est souvent négligée. Une entreprise non préparée à l’ère numérique prend de gros risques pour sa survie. 

Texte: Thomas Zasowski et Egon Steinkasserer, Images: Swisscom et Adobe Stock,

Pour soutenir notre approche de l’innovation en matière de modèle d’affaires, nous avons adapté le concept de hackathon du monde des développeurs au domaine du business. C’est là qu’est née l’idée d’un hackathon sur le modèle commercial de Swisscom. Notre première tentative d’adopter une approche de type "business model hackathon" a abouti à un réalignement stratégique du Swisscom Open Business Hub.


L’innovation du modèle commercial est l’un des domaines d’innovation les plus captivants. Le modèle d’affaires d’un produit ou d’un service décrit essentiellement la manière dont les bénéfices sont générés, autrement dit, comment une offre est transformée en argent. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’une modification du modèle commercial puisse être lourde de conséquences. L’innovation du modèle d’affaires est l’un des types d’innovation qui crée le plus de valeur. Elle est pourtant souvent négligée alors qu’elle nécessite bien moins d’efforts que l’innovation de produits ou de processus.


Un modèle commercial peut être défini comme un plan visant à exploiter avec succès une entreprise, à identifier des sources de revenus et les besoins des clients cibles, les produits et les détails du financement. Les locutions «modèle de bénéfices» et «modèle d’affaires» sont pratiquement équivalentes.


Pour innover autour du modèle commercial, il faut comprendre précisément ce qui motive la décision d’achat d’un produit ou d’un service chez le client. Au cours des 20 dernières années, la numérisation a donné naissance à de nouveaux modèles commerciaux et, à leur tour, ces nouveaux modèles d’affaires sont souvent une condition préalable à une numérisation réussie. Des secteurs entiers tels que le divertissement vidéo et le commerce de détail ont été bouleversés de fond en comble. L’innovation du modèle d’affaires agit donc comme catalyseur de changement. Des entreprises telles que Netflix, Uber, Airbnb, eBay ou Google n’auraient pas rencontré le succès et auraient certainement disparu sans l’émergence de nouveaux modèles commerciaux. L’innovation du modèle commercial prend de plus en plus d’importance alors même que des modèles de bénéfices deviennent obsolètes plus rapidement que jamais sous l’effet de la concurrence mondiale de plus en plus vive. Les entreprises doivent être capables d’innover continuellement et d’explorer de nouveaux modèles d’affaires pour se réinventer.


Si les entreprises omettent d’apprendre comment remettre en question et améliorer régulièrement les hypothèses sur lesquelles repose leur modèle de bénéfices réussi, elles risquent de devenir rapidement obsolètes.

homme_marchant_sur_slackline

Fig. 1: L’innovation du modèle commercial est nécessaire pour la survie de l’entreprise 

Tout le monde ne sait pas ce qu’est un hackathon. Il s’agit d’un événement caractérisé par une finalité spécifique qui peut durer de quelques heures à quelques jours, au cours duquel des programmeurs et/ou des ingénieurs hardware et d’autres individus qui participent au développement de produits collaborent intensément sur des projets de logiciels ou de matériel. Un hackathon vise à créer un logiciel ou un matériel qui fonctionne avant la fin de l’événement. Les hackathons sont devenus très populaires ces dernières années. Swisscom a organisé et soutenu d’innombrables hackathons internes et externes.

Il n’est donc pas surprenant que nous ayons adopté le concept du hackathon pour un domaine apparenté: l’innovation en matière de modèle d’affaires. Dans ce qui suit, nous tenons à partager avec vous les idées issues de notre hackathon des modèles commerciaux Swisscom pour les produits et les services business-to-business (B2B). 

Objectifs et idée 

Nous avons pensé à de nombreux sujets et à quelques objectifs secondaires que nous souhaitions également réaliser. Swisscom interagit régulièrement avec différents segments de clientèle et diverses unités. Nous nous sommes concentrés sur les produits et les services destinés aux entreprises clientes de Swisscom. Au début, nous nous sommes penchés sur les questions suivantes:


  • Comment rendre les produits plus rentables grâce à l’estime des clients?
  • Comment sensibiliser nos collègues à l’existence de modèles commerciaux tiers?
  • Comment stimuler l’esprit d’innovation chez Swisscom, surtout chez les chefs de produits?
  • Comment favoriser et améliorer la collaboration et les échanges fructueux entre des personnes ayant des expertises et des parcours différents?

Ces questions sont particulièrement cruciales compte tenu de l’étendue unique de la gamme de produits destinée aux entreprises et de la complexité intrinsèque qui découle du nombre élevé de domaines couverts. Compte tenu de notre formation d’ingénieurs et de nos expériences positives en la matière, il nous a paru évident d’adapter le concept des hackathons. Le concept existant ne répondait toutefois pas à nos besoins, car ce type d’événement cherche habituellement à développer de nouveaux modèles d’affaires à partir de zéro. Or, nous voulions réviser des modèles de bénéfices de produits existants et réutiliser et adapter des modèles commerciaux éprouvés à l’ère numérique. Nous avons donc dû mettre au point notre propre concept de hackathon en matière de modèles commerciaux.

Préparation 

Nous avons commencé par nous mettre d’accord sur un nombre limite de participants, à savoir 25 employés. Nous avons également invité des responsables de l’innovation chevronnés d’autres secteurs de l’entreprise pour enrichir la discussion grâce à leurs points de vue objectifs extérieurs à notre organisation spécifique. Des chefs de produits de divers domaines de produits (connectivité mobile, IoT et banque) se sont portés volontaires pour présenter leurs produits et leurs modèles d’affaires et/ou leurs idées. Pour favoriser la réflexion en dehors du cadre ordinaire, nous avons décidé d’organiser le hackathon de modèles commerciaux à l’extérieur de nos locaux habituels, dans un environnement qui stimule la créativité. Chez Swisscom, nous disposons de plusieurs espaces créatifs modernes. Notre événement a eu lieu dans le Bounty qui fait penser à un grand voilier plutôt qu’à un bureau. 

personnes_dans_grande_piece

Fig. 2: Photo de l’événement dans le Bounty 

Les participants avaient tous des parcours très différents. Comme nous voulions réutiliser des modèles de bénéfices éprouvés, nous avons dû fournir un peu de théorie. Nous avons donc introduit le Business Model Navigator (O. Gassmann et. al.), le Business Model Canvas (A. Osterwalder et. al.) et le Lean Canvas (A. Maurya) comme outils communs visant à soutenir la génération de modèles d’affaires. Bien que les trois modèles s’appuient sur des approches différentes, ils partagent les quatre questions suivantes:

 

Qui est le client cible et le segment de marché visé?

Que proposez-vous à vos clients et quelle est votre proposition de valeur?

Pourquoi le modèle commercial est-il rentable et quels sont les revenus et les coûts?

Comment la proposition de valeur est-elle créée et quels partenaires, ressources ou activités sont requis?

graphique_questions_modele_commercial

Fig. 3: Les quatre questions principales du modèle d’affaires

Des réponses bien rédigées et détaillées à ces questions relativement évidentes permettent de réduire les risques inhérents à la création ou à la modification d’une affaire. En particulier, il est vital que les clients s’intéressent à l’offre, que le service ou le produit puisse être construit et livré et que la planification financière soit solide et axée sur les coûts, les recettes et les bénéfices.

 

Grâce au Business Model Canvas, un modèle commercial peut être entièrement tracé sur un canevas préstructuré qui comprend neuf blocs élémentaires. Diverses variantes de modèle commercial peuvent être traitées et examinées d’une manière structurée et exhaustive. Les blocs élémentaires se composent comme suit:

Propositions de valeur: les problèmes du client qui sont résolus et la valeur délivrée aux clients, par exemple des réductions de coûts, une amélioration des performances, etc.

 

  • Segments de clientèle: les personnes et les organisations pour lesquelles la valeur est créée, par exemple le marché des consommateurs, un marché de niche, un secteur industriel vertical, etc.
  • Relations clients: le type de relation entretenue avec les clients, par exemple un libre-service, une assistance personnelle, une co-création, etc.
  • Canaux: points de contact permettant d’interagir avec les clients et de leur fournir de la valeur, par exemple sur Internet, dans une boutique, sur un réseau de distribution, etc.
  • Activités centrales: tout ce qu’il vous faut pour mener à bien votre projet, par exemple des locaux de production, une plateforme logicielle, etc.
  • Partenaires principaux: ceux dont vous avez besoin pour vous aider, par exemple des fournisseurs, des partenaires externes, etc.
  • Ressources principales: outils indispensables à la création de valeur tels que des droits en matière de propriété intellectuelle, des instruments financiers, une équipe chevronnée, etc.
  • Sources de revenus: mécanismes de tarification qui permettent de capturer la valeur, par exemple des frais d’abonnement, un paiement unique, etc.
  • Structure des coûts: coûts liés à l’exploitation de l’entreprise, par exemple les ressources et les activités clés les plus chères

 

Vous trouverez davantage de détails ainsi que des exemples spécifiques pour les différents blocs dans le whitepaper sur le Business Model Canvas.

 

Le Lean Canvas est une adaptation du Business Model Canvas pour les start-up. Il aide les fondateurs d’entreprise à se concentrer sur les problèmes de l’entreprise et à dégager des solutions potentielles. Il permet également de rédiger des questions concernant la proposition de valeur unique et sur l’avantage unfair. Cette approche permet de réduire le risque que la start-up soit copiée par de grosses sociétés ou par des concurrents.

 

Le Business Model Navigator est une approche du développement et de l’innovation de modèles commerciaux qui a été conçue par l’université de Saint-Gall. Les chercheurs de l’université ont analysé les modèles d’affaires les plus performants de ces dernières décennies et ont constaté que la majorité des innovations de modèles commerciaux découlent de la combinaison d’un certain nombre de schémas simples d’innovations réussies de modèles commerciaux. Elle est illustrée de manière interactive ici.

 

Ces schémas peuvent être utilisés comme modèles pour innover votre propre modèle commercial en les associant entre eux et en répondant aux quatre principales questions relatives à votre entreprise.

 

Etant donné que le Business Model Canvas est très complet et que le Lean Canvas vise essentiellement les start-up, nous avons adopté le Business Model Navigator pour le hackathon. Il est construit plus simplement que les deux modèles précités et les schémas du modèle commercial soutiennent une phase de génération d’idées plus structurée tout en favorisant la réutilisation.

Jour J 

Nous avons décidé d’investir une journée pour notre hackathon en matière de modèles commerciaux. Nous avons entamé la journée par une brève séance éducative au cours de laquelle nous avons présenté les méthodes évoquées plus haut. Pour que les participants soient dans le bon état d’esprit et pour les motiver et les défier à réfléchir hors du cadre habituel, nous avons présenté quelques exemples réussis d’innovation radicale de modèle commercial tels que celui de Nespresso et d’Hilti. Après une vue d’ensemble des trois produits par leur chef de produit respectif, nous avons mis sur pied trois équipes de hackathon, une par produit. La majeure partie du temps a été consacrée à la génération d’idées au sein des trois équipes. Les résultats étaient très différents d’une équipe à l’autre. Les approches sélectionnées allaient de l’analyse des schémas de modèle commercial à des discussions moins structurées qui ressemblaient à du brainstorming. Avec des tableaux blancs et des tableaux à feuilles permettant de discuter des idées, de les combiner ou de les éliminer, chaque équipe a proposé plusieurs modèles commerciaux potentiels.


Lors de débats polémiques au sein des équipes et en séance plénière, les avantages et les inconvénients des différentes propositions ont été abordés et les équipes ont choisi leur modèle commercial préféré. Une équipe a même réalisé qu’elle devait changer d’orientation sur ses produits, car elle ne résolvait pas les principaux problèmes de ses clients. L’équipe a alors trouvé une nouvelle proposition de valeur et un nouveau modèle commercial.


Lors de la séance de pitch qui a suivi, les équipes ont présenté leur nouveau modèle d’affaires à tout l’auditoire. De nombreuses questions critiques ont été posées concernant les propositions ainsi que les hypothèses sous-jacentes. Enfin, l’auditoire a enrichi les modèles commerciaux présentés en proposant d’autres idées et en fournissant un feedback précieux. Les équipes ont intégré ce feedback à leur réflexion pour affiner leurs hypothèses de travail lors d’une brève séance. Lors de la séance de pitch finale, les chefs de produits ont présenté les modèles commerciaux affinés. Ils ont ensuite expliqué quelles étapes ultérieures seraient nécessaires pour mettre en œuvre les changements requis.

Open Business Hub

Le réalignement stratégique de l’Open Banking Hub vers l’Open Business Hub (OBH), qui a été lancé en début d’année, est un exemple d’une idée qui a été générée pendant le hackathon de modèles commerciaux et qui ensuite été mise en application avec succès. L’OBH traite deux problèmes principaux: le manque de standardisation lorsqu’il s’agit d’intégrer des fournisseurs tiers aux systèmes de prestataires de services financiers et l’incapacité de relier plusieurs prestataires de services financiers pour le même cas d’utilisation d’une manière évolutive. Swisscom propose une couche d’intégration qui prend cette activité en charge. Les entreprises peuvent l’utiliser pour relier leurs systèmes efficacement avec l’Open Business Hub de Swisscom. Pour favoriser notre engagement en faveur de l’économie des API, nous avons déplacé l’Open Business Hub de Swisscom comme offre B2B sur la même plateforme que l’OneAPI Management de Swisscom exposé sur la Swisscom Digital Marketplace. Nous sommes persuadés que la coexistence de divers hubs est essentielle dans les écosystèmes d’entreprises. C’est pourquoi nous avons lancé un premier partenariat avec SIX.

Leçons tirées 

Le format du hackathon de modèles commerciaux a très bien fonctionné en général, ce qui a été confirmé par le feedback positif de tous les participants. La préparation et la discipline des équipes favorisées par une bonne animation ont porté leurs fruits une fois de plus. Nous avons toutefois aussi tiré quelques leçons que nous voulons partager avec vous.


Du côté de l’actif, nous avons sensibilisé les participants aux modèles commerciaux innovants et nous leur avons montré des méthodes permettant de réviser ou de créer des modèles commerciaux. Nous avons également assisté les chefs de produits en créant trois nouveaux modèles d’affaires pour des produits existants que la plupart des participants ont considérés comme bénéfiques pour les clients et plus rentables pour Swisscom que les modèles actuels.


Il est crucial d’y consacrer suffisamment de temps. Nous avons organisé tout le hackathon en une journée, ce qui nous a forcé à accélérer la plupart des séances pour respecter le programme. Répartir les séances sur deux jours atténuerait certainement la pression et donnerait aux participants plus de temps pour élaborer les modèles d’affaires lors de discussions informelles ou leur permettrait de terminer la journée par un apéritif. Par ailleurs, il est bien connu qu’une bonne nuit de sommeil permet de clarifier la situation en cas de tâches créatives complexes. Comme le citait l’écrivain John Steinbeck «C’est une expérience courante qu’un problème qui paraît difficile pendant la nuit soit résolu le matin après que le Comité de veille a travaillé dessus.»


L’intégration des nouveaux modèles commerciaux affinés à l’activité quotidienne a été la partie la plus ardue. Comme les produits étaient à des stades de maturité différents, les chefs de produits ont plus ou moins éprouvé des difficultés à adapter les modèles commerciaux de leurs produits en partant de la base uniquement. Certaines idées ont été réalisées comme elles avaient été présentées pendant le hackathon tandis que d’autres ont été incluses partiellement et considérées pour la feuille de route. Lors d’un prochain hackathon de modèles commerciaux, nous pourrions également faire participer certains cadres dirigeants pour qu’ils approuvent les idées et qu’ils jouent le rôle de parrain pour les décisions immanentes et les changements requis. Cela conduirait à une plus forte sensibilisation et à une meilleure prise en charge en ce qui concerne la mise en œuvre des nouveaux modèles commerciaux.


Même si, pour un premier hackathon de modèles commerciaux, l’organisation a été remarquable, elle doit être révisée pour les éditions futures. Par exemple, pour le niveau d’éducation, il y a lieu de considérer si la plupart des participants ont déjà pris part à un tel hackathon ou s’ils sont novices.


Nous avons aussi décidé d’étendre le concept du hackathon de modèles commerciaux. Désigner des ambassadeurs de modèles d’affaires a été l’une des idées qui ont germées. En tant que participants à des hackathons antérieurs, ces ambassadeurs devraient favoriser la génération d’idées de nouveaux modèles commerciaux et (en fonction de leur rôle dans l’organisation) contribuer à l’élimination d’obstacles ou faire office de sparring-partners et de mentors pour les chefs de produits.


Grâce à la composition diversifiée des participants venant de toute l’entreprise, l’événement est aussi une opportunité de team building.

Dans «Technology Insights», le bureau du CTO B2B de Swisscom aborde régulièrement les thèmes actuels du monde de la technologie et de l’innovation, les commente et fait la démonstration de leur intérêt ainsi que de l’offre destinée aux clients Swisscom.




En savoir plus sur le thème: