KickboxAcademy – How to develop innovation within a team

KickboxAcademy

Just bring a measure of intrapreneurship to your company


How do I promote intrapreneurship and innovation within my company? Swisscom has just started holding courses for companies who want to find an answer to this question – in theory and practice.


Text: Pia Schneider,




It is shortly before 9 a.m. on a Friday morning at Konradstrasse 12 in Zurich and it is not a normal morning in the Pirates Hub, Swisscom’s innovation centre. This is because innovation managers from SBB, Axpo, Baloise, the Swiss post office and Mobilar are sitting around the table of the co-working space in which you would normally see Swisscom employees. One person has even flown in from Belgium for the day. The question is what brought them here?

Despite the fact that the companies operate in different sectors, have different strategies and differ in size, they are all here as they are facing one and the same challenge – to become and remain innovative so that they can keep up with the times. And while many companies have now realised that innovation is rarely successfully without involving external partners and especially start-ups, it is frequently in short supply within companies. Creating a culture of innovation and empowering employees to develop innovative solutions is a major challenge, especially in terms of corporate culture. 


9.15 a.m.

The Swisscom Intrapreneurship team, which has successfully established the Kickbox programme, welcomes the participants. David Hengartner, the initiator of Swisscom Kickbox, gets straight to the point: “Intrapreneurship is not something that can be established within a company from one day to the next – we have experienced this first hand. We have already been through the long, iterative process that this involves. Today, we want to share everything we have learned with you.” The KickboxAcademy, as the course is called, helps participants to pilot the kickbox programme within their companies. This includes raising awareness of the key challenges they will face and sharing knowledge with one another.

The Kickbox concept was originally developed by Adobe, with the software company using it to create an internal innovation programme. The aim was to encourage employees to develop and test new ideas.Swisscom has further developed the programme over the last three years and created an online intrapreneurship platform for companies. Specifically, this means that any employee who has a brilliant idea can apply internally for a kickbox. The physical box contains a starting balance, a time budget, contact details for internal and external innovation experts and a handbook that explains the idea validation process and provides valuable tips. Within a multi-stage process, the idea is promoted, pitched to juries and, in the best-case scenario, approved to move to the next stage. The intrapreneur cannot hide behind hundreds of Powerpoint slides, but must – according to the Lean Startup Approach – quickly obtain genuine customer feedback and push on with their idea iteratively.


The large companies meeting at the Pirates Hub today want to transform their employees into “kickboxers”. Some of them have already begun doing so, while others are just getting started with the Kickbox programme. A good example is SBB, for which the initial discussions with the other companies have been extremely productive, as Stefan Gerber, Innovation Coach at SBB, confirms: “As we do not have any experience with Kickbox, we want to avoid making as many mistakes as possible and learn about the best practices from the other companies.”


10.00 a.m.

After a coffee break, we get down to work by answering the following questions: How do I market the Kickbox programme internally? How do I motivate employees to provide their own ideas and drive them forward? To what extent do corporate hierarchies and decision-making processes conflict with the Kickbox programme, and how do we deal with this? These are just a few of the questions with which the Swisscom Kickbox team as well as some of the companies have gained relevant experience and actively exchange information.


1.15 p.m.

After the lunch break, the course restarted with a discussion on a topic that can cause difficulties: Who are my stakeholders in the launch of the Kickbox? How do I find them? How do I approach them? What are the possible incentives for getting involved with the Kickbox programme? Critical questions are asked, scrutinised and “challenged” bilaterally. The participants are clearly motivated to do everything in their power to make sure that the Kickbox gets off to as smooth a start as possible. They all agree that the innovation potential of their own workforce is huge; however, it is not easy to realise this potential properly and sustainably. Nevertheless, innovative capacity and the establishment of an innovation culture within a company can be learned, even if it needs consistency and an assertive manner to do so, as well as the courage to employ unconventional methods sometimes.


4.00 p.m.

By the end of the workshop, the companies have become acquainted with the online platform that Swisscom has developed specifically for the Kickbox programme. This platform provides you with a clear overview of the different “kickboxers” and their pitches, the expert and mentor network and individual investments and allows you to manage all of them. The platform can be used internally by companies for their innovation projects, and projects can also be shared across companies. This marks the end of the first KickboxAcademy day. “Now it’s your turn,” said David Hengartner, as each of the innovation managers now has to deal with the next phase. There is one-and-a-half months until the next KickboxAcademy, which gives the participants time to take further steps towards establishing intrapreneurship – so that they can challenge each other again and share experiences at the next meeting.

Are you also interested in finding out about the Kickbox programme and how to ingrain intrapreneurship in your company? Swisscom is offering additional KickboxAcademy workshops at the start of 2019. Further information is available at www.getkickbox.com.


If you would like to find out more about the programme and the platform, we are holding the following (free) workshops:

 

  • «Get-to-know Swisscom Kickbox», half-day event, 19.11.2018, Zurich
  • «Get-to-know Swisscom Kickbox», half-day event, 23.01.2019, Zurich
  • «Get-to-know Swisscom Kickbox» for SMEs, 17.01.2019, St. Gallen

 

Click here to sign up.



What is Kickbox?


The concept was originally developed by Adobe, who used it to create an internal innovation platform, with the aim of encouraging employees to develop and test their own ideas. Swisscom has now developed a programme that enables Swisscom employees to independently realise their own ideas.




More on the topic

KickboxAcademy: comment insuffler l’esprit d’innovation dans une équipe

KickboxAcademy

Insufflez l’esprit d’intrapreneurship dans votre entreprise


Comment puis-je encourager l’intrapreneurship et l’innovation au sein de mon entreprise? Depuis peu, Swisscom propose des cours à la fois théoriques et pratiques aux entreprises qui se posent cette question.


Texte: Pia Schneider,




Vendredi, juste avant 9 heures au 12 Konradstrasse à Zurich: Un matin comme les autres au Pirates Hub, pôle d’innovation de Swisscom. Excepté qu’en lieu et place des collaborateurs de Swisscom, ce sont aujourd’hui les responsables de l’innovation des CFF, d’Axpo, de Baloise, de la Poste et de Mobiliar qui ont pris place autour de la table de ce que l’on appelle l’«Eventspace». Certains même n’ont pas hésité à prendre un vol depuis la Belgique pour être présents. Qu’est-ce qui les réunit aujourd’hui?

Leurs entreprises ne partagent en effet ni le même secteur d'activité, ni l’orientation, ni la taille. Pour autant, s’ils sont réunis aujourd’hui, c’est que tous font face au même enjeu: devenir ou demeurer innovants afin de ne pas rater le coche. Alors que de nombreuses sociétés ont désormais bien conscience que l’innovation n'aboutit que rarement sans l’entremise de partenaires externes et en particulier de start-ups, la situation en interne ne suit souvent pas: instaurer une culture de l’innovation et donner aux collaborateurs en interne les moyens d’innover constitue un enjeu primordial, en particulier au niveau de la culture d’entreprise.


9 h 15

L’équipe «Intrapreneurship» de Swisscom, qui a lancé avec succès le programme «Kickbox», accueille les participants. David Hengartner, à l’origine du programme Swisscom Kickbox, va droit au but: «L’esprit d’intrapreneurship ne peut pas être instauré dans une entreprise du jour au lendemain. Nous avons en avons fait l’expérience par le passé. Il résulte d'un processus long et répétitif. Nous souhaitons aujourd’hui vous faire profiter des enseignements tirés de cette expérience.» Le cours KickboxAcademy accompagne les participants tout au long de la mise en place du programme Kickbox au sein de leur entreprise respective. Il s'agit notamment d’attirer leur attention sur les grands défis à relever et de partager tous ensemble nos connaissances.

Le concept Kickbox provient au départ d’Adobe. Il s'agit en effet à l’origine d’un programme d'innovation interne mis au point par ce fabricant de logiciels. Son objectif au départ était d’encourager ses collaborateurs à développer et tester de nouvelles idées. Swisscom a perfectionné ce programme ces trois dernières années et a mis au point une plateforme d’intrapreneurship en ligne à destination des entreprises. Concrètement, cela signifie: chaque collaborateur ayant une idée géniale peut se porter candidat pour une kickbox. Concrètement, chaque box contient un crédit initial, un budget temps, des contacts avec des experts internes et externes en innovation, ainsi qu’un manuel expliquant le processus de validation des idées et fournissant des astuces précieuses. Dans le cadre d'un processus comprenant plusieurs étapes, l’idée est développée, présentée devant des jurys et, si elle est validée, passe à l’étape suivante. L’intrapreneur ne peut pas se cacher derrière des centaines de diapositives Powerpoint: conformément à l’approche Lean Startup, il doit en effet rapidement obtenir de véritables feed-backs de la part des clients et ciseler son idée en conséquence.


Les grandes entreprises réunies au Pirates Hub souhaitent faire de leurs collaborateurs des «kickboxers». Si certaines d’entre elles ont déjà commencé, pour d’autres, cette rencontre marque leur entrée dans l’univers des kickbox. C’est le cas notamment des CFF pour lesquels ce premier échange avec les autres entreprises est on ne peut plus fructueux, comme le confirme Stefan Gerber, coach en innovation des CFF: «N'ayant aucune expérience des kickbox, notre objectif est d’éviter autant que possible les erreurs et d’apprendre les meilleures pratiques auprès des autres.»


10 h 00

Reprise du travail après la pause café: Comment puis-je promouvoir les kickbox en interne? Comment puis-je motiver les collaborateurs à proposer et développer leurs idées personnelles? Dans quelle mesure les hiérarchies d’entreprise et processus décisionnels entrent-ils en conflit avec le programme Kickbox et comment gérer ces situations? Ce ne sont là que quelques-unes des problématiques qui ont permis à l’équipe Swisscom Kickbox, ainsi qu’à certaines des entreprises d'aller de l’avant et qu’elles souhaitent à présent aborder ensemble.


13 h 15

Après la pause déjeuner, les discussions se poursuivent autour d'une thématique susceptible de poser problème: Quelles sont les parties prenantes au moment de mettre en place le programme Kickbox? Comment les trouver? Comment les aborder? Quels catalyseurs peuvent aider à s’engager dans le programme kickbox? Des questions essentielles sont posées, discutées et font débat. Les participants sont encouragés expressément à tout mettre en œuvre pour garantir au programme Kickbox un lancement aussi en douceur que possible. Ils sont unanimes: Le potentiel d’innovation de leur personnel est énorme. Pour autant, il n’est pas si aisé de l'activer de manière appropriée et durable. La bonne nouvelle est qu’il est possible pour une entreprise d'apprendre à développer l’esprit d’initiative et à établir une culture d’innovation. Même s'il faut de la persévérance, une vraie volonté et parfois du courage pour s'aventurer sur des voies non conventionnelles.


16 h 00

À la fin de l’atelier, les sociétés ont l’occasion de se familiariser avec la plateforme en ligne que Swisscom a tout spécialement mise au point pour le programme Kickbox: Cette plateforme permet de consulter et de gérer de manière simple et claire les différents «kickboxers» et leurs arguments, le réseau des experts et des mentors, ainsi que les différents investissements. Cette plateforme peut être utilisée en interne par les sociétés pour leurs projets d’innovation, mais les projets peuvent également y être partagés avec les autres entreprises. Ainsi s'achève la première journée KickboxAcademy: «Maintenant, à vous de jouer», déclare David Hengartner pour inviter les différentes responsables de l’innovation à se lancer dans la phase suivante. La prochaine journée KickboxAcademy aura lieu dans un mois et demi. Juste le temps pour les participants de prendre de nouvelles mesures en matière d’intrapreneurship avant de se confronter à nouveau et de partager leurs expériences à l’occasion de la prochaine réunion.

Êtes-vous également intéressé par le programme Kickbox et par la manière d’ancrer l’intrapreneurship dans votre société? Swisscom proposera début 2019 de nouvelles sessions KickboxAcademy. Pour plus d'informations, consultez le site www.getkickbox.com.

Pour en savoir plus sur le programme et la plateforme en ligne, nous proposons les ateliers (gratuits) suivants:

 

  • «Get-to-know Swisscom Kickbox», une demi-journée, 19.11.2018, Zurich
  • «Get-to-know Swisscom Kickbox», une demi-journée, 23.01.2019, Zurich
  • «Get-to-know Swisscom Kickbox» pour KMUs, 17.01.2019, Saint-Gall

 

Les personnes intéressées peuvent s’inscrire ici.



Qu’est-ce que le programme Kickbox?


Ce concept provient au départ d’Adobe qui, avec Kickbox, a mis au point une plateforme d’innovation interne avec pour objectif d’encourager ses collaborateurs à développer et tester de nouvelles idées personnelles. Swisscom a entre-temps mis au point un programme permettant aux collaborateurs Swisscom.





En savoir plus sur ce thème