Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

SAP CX: serving and performing through e-commerce

Sustainably increase client loyalty with SAP Commerce

A professional customer experience with targeted service offerings

Presenting services in the B2x environment is highly topical since new customer groups are to be precisely targeted and customers open to change bound more closely. This may be a technological challenge, but SAP Commerce and its agile implementation partner Swisscom can help achieve this in next to no time.

Text: Dr. Bernhard D. Valnion, Picture: Pexels,

E-commerce is primarily associated with the attractive presentation of products in a digital shop window. If it’s done really professionally, the whole thing is simultaneously integrated into an interactive customer journey that ensures prospective customers actually buy the chosen products. To ensure that glitter and glamour can reign supreme at the front end just like on the catwalk, sophisticated behind-the-scenes processes must prevent the necessary data streams from drying up.

 

The entire backend infrastructure of e-commerce, such as the SAP Commerce platform, can be used for presenting not only products, but also services. After all, buying a fancy bag is similar to buying an investment product or a mobile phone contract. Incidentally, the same commercial processes are also used for customer communication at an electricity utility: The e-commerce platform repeatedly renews the supply agreement, checks month by month whether customers have met their payment obligations, and surprises them with news via a push service – for example the news that 100% of the electricity sold by the utility is now generated from renewable sources. SAP Commerce combines a large number of contract handling processes, obtains the necessary data from a variety of sources and elegantly presents it to the end customer.

Services presented in a new way

Presenting services in a B2C environment is highly topical when it comes to positioning yourself better on the market and remaining relevant to customers. Returning to the example of electricity utilities, back in the day when they were still called electricity boards, customers had practically no choice whatsoever. Since then, the markets have gradually been deregulated. Providers are being encouraged to increase their customers’ loyalty by mapping value-added services digitally. For example, a dashboard can be used to show consumers how much electricity they have already used and how much of it is “green”. It would also be conceivable to open a kind of karma account for them into which money is deposited if they are more disciplined in their consumption. Such gamification – tailor-made for the respective target group, of course – can be elegantly implemented using SAP Commerce.

A good application example

Another exciting B2B2C scenario has been implemented for a Swisscom customer who mainly produces bakery products: Croissants and other delicacies are delivered to hospitals and nursing homes, where they are passed on to patients or residents for consumption. Orders are placed via an online bakery, which in turn provides additional data feeds, such as information on which ingredients are used. This is because certain allergens can cause undesirable side effects when combined with a cocktail of tablets.

 

“The great advantage of SAP Commerce is that product information can be controlled in a very targeted way using a wide range of management functions,” says Swisscom SAP Customer Experience Consultant Michael Lackner. “Information can easily be assigned to a specific product and displayed under certain conditions. This is an invaluable advantage when developing customer portals. Additional documents, such as test reports or certificates, can also be shared.”

 

In order to be able to offer this type of service to customers seamlessly, companies need to know a great deal about their customers’ habits as well as the offer to be made. SAP Commerce takes the relevant data to be distributed through the various communication channels and organises it consistently and efficiently. This also applies to the traces and data left by customers using an online shop. The customer entrusts the provider with the data. In return, the data must be handled carefully – not only in terms of data security, but also as a starting point for the expected added value. This is what SAP Commerce offers through its context-driven services, which enable the perfect customer experience. SAP Commerce has a flexible, modular system architecture that allows for extensions.

 

The large volumes of data that are collected and collated can be exploited through machine learning. This is particularly effective if patterns can be identified. So why not also in B2C processes? Pretrained SAP services enable relevant session content, promos and search options to be displayed depending on the surfing behaviour of the interested parties.

Enthralling customers with e-commerce

Five good reasons to use SAP Commerce for your own service portfolio:

 

  • Complete documentation of the services
  • End-to-end process support
  • Flexible data aggregation from different backend systems
  • Any number of customer touchpoints can be implemented
  • Fully GDPR-compliant data security.

 

Swisscom guarantees agile, creative project implementation. You can find out more about Swisscom’s customer experience offer here.


Another B2B area of application with great potential for additional value-added services for customers and thus for SAP Commerce is in distribution along commercial chains. No matter whether it is a distributor or a direct producer, both face the same challenge of managing their ordering systems properly. SAP Commerce enables the entire ordering process to be mapped digitally end to end, thus also potentially providing the basis for production control. As part of this, individual store operators can be granted access to only a specific part of the product range.

 

The B2B2C category includes the application scenario in which a store sends a distributor its customers’ orders, but the goods are delivered by the distributor: The goods are made available online. Once the order has been placed, they are delivered to the end customer directly from the central warehouse. As a well-functioning e-commerce system, SAP Commerce ensures the necessary reconciliation of order and stock data in the background.

 

Such virtualisation of the inventory is also conceivable for vehicle importers. If an end customer asks a dealer about an unusual type of wheel rim, an SAP Commerce application can be used to search the warehouses of all connected dealers throughout the dealer network to determine whether or where the desired object is available.

Turbo-charged project implementation

SAP wouldn’t be SAP if it hadn’t also dreamt up something special for SAP Commerce. This is what is known as the accelerator approach. Let’s say you don’t want to start an e-commerce project from scratch, but rather start with preconfigured systems in medias res. The Walldorf-based software giant offers numerous industry-specific accelerators: There is already a graphical user interface as well as a range of functions aimed specifically at B2C e-commerce providers, utilities, insurance companies, telcos and other corporate groups. It is essentially a ready-to-use system with which e-commerce projects can be started.

 

Where things get really exciting is when you plunge into the world of API-driven storefronts. This may sound like a buzzword, but it affects present and future e-commerce solutions in equal measure: SAP’s Spartacus project provides industry-specific JavaScript front-ends that draw their functions and data from the SAP Commerce cloud in line with the accelerators. The big advantage: Firstly, the release cycles of SAP Commerce – the stable backbone of an individual e-commerce solution – and the marketing-driven front-end are completely independent. This means that adjustments at the front-end can be implemented flexibly and with a short time-to-market. Secondly, the web service-based front-end offers the freedom to obtain services from many different systems, be it a separate CMS, your own CRM or via completely external web services from third-party providers.

 

The same thing applies to both implementation and accelerators: a preconfigured, consistently designed system enables a project to be started as an operational system from day one and the project team to work towards the desired goal from there.

Inspirational, with intermediate sprints towards the goal

 

However, you shouldn’t kid yourself that the accelerators can get the job done in just a few mouse clicks. “It’s worth putting an SAP Commerce project in experienced hands so that migration can be planned and implemented within six months or less. Without previous experience, it is difficult to estimate the required effort and scope,” Michael Lackner warns. What’s more, Swisscom guarantees timely and on-budget implementation of the project.

 

Swisscom inspires with its ideas, such as answers to the question of how an electricity utility can inspire its customers. This initially takes place on a purely design-thinking brain-writing level without opening the SAP technology toolbox. For example, what influence smart meters could have on the customer journey of an electricity customer. Only in a second step is the project then implemented using SAP components. A great deal of know-how is required for integration into the backend systems and addressing the question of what data is actually needed for implementation. “We analyse the solution approaches at different levels: from the perspective of idea generation as well as from that of technical implementation, right down to the level of interface definition,” Michael Lackner explains. Swisscom also provides ongoing support. Its application management covers all data security aspects and GDPR requirements.

 

 


Do you want to transform your SAP R/3 into S/4HANA?

Through the SAP S/4HANA Transformation Factory and S/4HANA Lean Conversion, Swisscom offers all the necessary steps for easy migration, bundled into a uniform portfolio that is uncomplicated, secure and resource-saving.

 

> Read more





More on the topic:

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

SAP CX, servir et performer avec l’e-commerce

Fidéliser la clientèle grâce à SAP Commerce

Une expérience client professionnelle avec des offres de services ciblées

La présentation des services dans l’environnement B2x est une question d’actualité. Il est important de fidéliser les clients prêts à changer et de s’adresser de manière ciblée à de nouveaux clients. C’est un défi technologique, mais le partenariat entre SAP Commerce et Swisscom nous garantit un succès rapide.

Texte: Dr. Bernhard D. Valnion, Image: Pexels,

L’e-commerce passe principalement par une présentation attrayante des produits dans une vitrine numérique. Si cela est fait de manière vraiment professionnelle, l’ensemble prend la forme d’un voyage interactif du client potentiel jusqu’à ce que l'intéressé achète effectivement le produit de son choix. Pour que le glamour occupe le devant de la scène comme sur le podium, des processus sophistiqués en coulisses doivent garantir que les flux de données nécessaires ne se tarissent pas.

 

Toute l’infrastructure dorsale de l'e-commerce, telle que la plate-forme commerciale SAP, peut être utilisée non seulement pour la présentation des produits mais aussi pour la présentation des services. Après tout, l’achat d’un joli sac est comparable à l’achat d’un produit d'investissement ou d’un contrat de téléphone portable. D’ailleurs, les mêmes processus commerciaux sont également utilisés pour la communication des clients avec un fournisseur d’électricité: la plateforme d'e-commerce gère le renouvellement récurrent du contrat de fourniture, vérifie mois par mois si le client a respecté ses obligations de paiement et lui donne des nouvelles via le service «push»; par exemple, un message disant que le fournisseur d’électricité vend désormais 100 % d'énergie provenant de sources renouvelables. SAP Commerce relie un grand nombre de processus de traitement pour un objet de contrat, consomme les données nécessaires provenant de diverses sources et les diffuse avec élégance sous les yeux du client final.

Des services nouvellement servis

La présentation de services dans l’environnement B2C est d’une grande actualité lorsqu’il s'agit de mieux se positionner sur le marché et de rester pertinent pour les clients. Revenons à l’exemple du fournisseur d’énergie: à l’époque où on les appelait encore centrales électriques, le client n’avait pratiquement pas le choix. Mais entre-temps, les marchés sont progressivement déréglementés. On demande aux fournisseurs de renforcer la fidélité des clients en cartographiant numériquement les services à valeur ajoutée. Par exemple, un tableau de bord permet au consommateur de savoir quelle quantité d’électricité a déjà été consommée et quelle quantité est «verte». Il est également envisageable de lui ouvrir une sorte de compte karma, sur lequel l’argent sera déposé s’il s'impose plus de discipline dans la consommation. Une telle gamification (adaptée au groupe cible respectif, bien sûr) peut être mise en œuvre de manière élégante avec SAP Commerce.

Un regard convaincant dans la pratique

Un autre scénario B2B2C passionnant mis en œuvre pour un client de Swisscom qui fabrique principalement des produits de boulangerie: les croissants et autres délices sont livrés aux hôpitaux et aux maisons de retraite et sont distribués aux patients ou aux résidents pour être consommés. Les commandes sont passées via une boulangerie en ligne, qui fournit à son tour des données supplémentaires, telles que des informations sur les ingrédients utilisés. En effet, certains allergènes, combinés à un cocktail de comprimés, entraînent des effets secondaires indésirables.

 

«Le gros avantage de SAP Commerce tient au fait que les informations sur les produits peuvent être contrôlées de manière très ciblée grâce à de riches fonctionnalités de gestion», explique Michael Lackner, consultant SAP Customer Experience chez Swisscom. «Les informations peuvent aisément être attribuées à un produit spécifique et affichées sous certaines conditions. C’est un avantage inestimable lors de la construction de portails clients. Des documents supplémentaires, tels que des rapports d’essais ou des certificats, peuvent également être partagés».

 

Afin de pouvoir offrir ce type de service aux clients de façon fluide, les entreprises doivent en savoir beaucoup sur les habitudes de leurs clients et sur l’offre à faire. SAP Commerce organise les données pertinentes à distribuer par les différents canaux de communication de manière cohérente et efficace. Cela vaut également pour les traces et les données laissées par les clients lors de l’utilisation d’une boutique en ligne. Le client confie les données au fournisseur, et en retour, les données doivent être traitées avec soin, non seulement en termes de sécurité des données, mais aussi comme point de départ de la valeur ajoutée attendue. C’est ce que représente SAP Commerce avec ses services contextuels qui permettent une expérience client parfaite. SAP Commerce dispose d'une architecture de système flexible et modulaire qui permet des extensions.

 

Les grandes quantités de données qui sont collectées et fusionnées peuvent être exploitées grâce à l’apprentissage machine. L’apprentissage machine montre toujours ses points forts lorsque des modèles peuvent être identifiés, alors pourquoi pas dans les processus B2C également? Les services préformés de SAP vous permettent d’afficher un contenu de session pertinent, des promotions et des options de recherche basées sur le comportement de navigation des prospects.

Séduire le client avec l’e-commerce

Cinq bonnes raisons d’utiliser SAP Commerce pour votre propre portefeuille de services:

 

  • Documentation complète des services
  • Soutien de bout en bout du processus
  • Agrégation flexible des données provenant de différents systèmes de gestion
  • Un nombre illimité de points de contact avec les clients peut être mis en place
  • Sécurité des données absolument conforme au RGPD.

 

Swisscom garantit une mise en œuvre agile et créative des projets. Pour en savoir plus sur l’offre de Swisscom en matière d’expérience client, cliquez ici.



Un autre domaine d’application B2B présentant un grand potentiel de services à valeur ajoutée supplémentaires pour les clients, et donc pour SAP Commerce, est celui de la distribution dans les chaînes de magasins. Qu’il s’agisse d’un distributeur ou d’un producteur direct: tous deux sont confrontés au défi de gérer correctement le système de commande. Avec SAP Commerce, l’ensemble du processus de commande peut être cartographié numériquement, ce qui peut même servir de base au contrôle de la production. Un exploitant de magasin peut ainsi n’avoir accès qu’à une partie spécifique de l’assortiment.

 

La catégorie B2B2C comprend le cas d’utilisation dans lequel le magasin envoie au distributeur les commandes de ses clients, mais la livraison des marchandises est assurée par le distributeur: les marchandises sont mises à disposition en ligne, et après la commande, livrées directement de l’entrepôt central au client final. En tant que système d’e-commerce fonctionnant bien, SAP Commerce assure le rapprochement nécessaire des données relatives aux commandes et aux stocks en arrière-plan.

 

Une telle virtualisation de l’inventaire est également envisageable pour les importateurs de véhicules. Si un client final se renseigne auprès d’un concessionnaire sur un type de jante défectueux, une application SAP Commerce peut être utilisée pour effectuer des recherches dans les entrepôts de tous les concessionnaires connectés dans l’ensemble du réseau de concessionnaires afin de savoir si l’objet désiré est disponible et où.

Turbo pour la mise en œuvre des projets

SAP ne serait pas SAP s’il n’avait pas également proposé quelque chose de spécial pour SAP Commerce. C’est ce que l’on appelle l’approche «Accelerator». Vous ne voulez pas démarrer un projet d’e-commerce sur un site vierge, mais plutôt aller directement dans les médias avec des systèmes préconfigurés. Le géant des logiciels basé à Walldorf propose de nombreux accélérateurs spécifiques à l’industrie: il existe déjà une interface utilisateur graphique et une certaine gamme de fonctions, qui s’adressent précisément aux fournisseurs de commerce électronique B2C, aux sociétés de services publics, aux compagnies d’assurance, aux fournisseurs de télécommunications ainsi qu'à d’autres groupes de sociétés. Il s’agit essentiellement d’un système exécutable avec lequel un projet d’e-commerce peut être lancé.

 

Cela devient vraiment passionnant quand vous entrez dans le monde des vitrines pilotées par API. Ce qui semble être un des nombreux mots à la mode concerne le présent et l’avenir des solutions de commerce électronique dans la même mesure: avec le projet «Spartacus», SAP fournit des frontaux JavaScript spécifiques à l’industrie qui tirent leurs fonctions et leurs données du SAP Commerce Cloud, tout comme le font les accélérateurs. Principal avantage: d’une part, les cycles de lancement de SAP Commerce, l’épine dorsale stable d’une solution de e-commerce individuelle, et le frontal axé sur le marketing sont totalement indépendants. Cela signifie que les ajustements en amont peuvent être mis en œuvre de manière flexible et avec un court délai de mise sur le marché. D’autre part, le frontal basé sur les services web offre la liberté d’obtenir des services à partir de nombreux systèmes différents, que ce soit à partir d’un CMS séparé, de votre propre CRM ou via des services web entièrement externes de fournisseurs tiers.

 

Il en va de même pour la conversion que pour les accélérateurs: un système préconfiguré et conçu de manière cohérente permet de démarrer un projet en tant que système exécutable dès le premier jour et de travailler à partir de là pour atteindre le but souhaité.

Inspirant et avec des poussées intermédiaires vers l’objectif

Cependant, il ne faut pas croire que les accélérateurs ont fait leur travail en quelques clics de souris. «Il vaut la peine de confier un projet d’e-commerce à des mains expérimentées, de sorte qu’un changement peut être planifié et mis en œuvre en six mois ou moins. Sans expérience préalable, il est difficile d’estimer l’effort et la portée», avertit Michael Lackner. Swisscom garantit toutefois la réussite de la mise en œuvre des projets, dans les délais et dans le budget.

 

Swisscom inspire par des idées, comme les réponses à la question de savoir comment un fournisseur d’électricité pourrait inspirer ses clients. Au départ, il s’agit d'une réflexion purement conceptuelle, sans ouvrir la boîte à outils technologique de SAP. Par exemple: quelle influence les compteurs intelligents pourraient avoir sur le parcours du client d’électricité. Ce n'est que dans une deuxième étape que le projet sera mis en œuvre avec succès avec des composantes SAP. Un grand savoir-faire est nécessaire pour l’intégration dans les systèmes de base et pour répondre à la question de savoir quelles données sont réellement nécessaires pour la mise en œuvre. «Nous analysons les approches de solution à partir de différents niveaux de vol, du point de vue de la génération d’idées ainsi que de celui de la mise en œuvre technique jusqu’au niveau de la définition de l’interface», explique Michael Lackner. Swisscom est également responsable du soutien continu. La gestion des applications comprend tous les aspects de la sécurité des données et les exigences de la RGPD.


Vous souhaitez passer de SAP R/3 à S/4HANA?

Avec la SAP S/4HANA Transformation Factory ou la S/4HANA Lean Conversion, Swisscom propose toutes les étapes nécessaires à une migration facile, combinées dans un portefeuille global, simple, sécurisé et économe en ressources.

> En savoir plus





En savoir plus sur ce thème: