Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

SAP CX, Progressive Web App (PWA)

Progressive Web App with SAP CX

Customer Experience with PWA – And your customers will love it!

According to the Digital Marketing Trends Report by Econsultancy and Adobe, 20 percent of the organizations surveyed see the greatest new business opportunities in customer experience. Learn here more on how SAP Customer Experience and Progressive Web Apps can help your organization boost customer centricity.

Date: 24. July 2020, Text: Dr. Bernhard D. Valnion, Image: Swisscom

Who would have thought it: Content-rich business value communication has been relegated to second place in the ranking of ‘Exciting Business Opportunities’. In first place now is customer experience — ahead of content marketing with 15 percent and data-driven approaches with 12 percent1.

 

 

The upshot is obvious, but the technical challenges in an omni-channel world are enormous. It’s not only about mastering adaption of the process infrastructure, a system integrator is needed, with profound expertise and understanding of the tricky interplay between the backbone and the special characteristics of the user company (keyword: ‘USP’) at the frontend. However, a lot has happened in this arena, especially in the SAP portfolio with its comprehensive E2E (end-to-end) commitment and the ‘bridge builder’ Swisscom.


Website and app in one: Progressive Web Apps

As an ideal technology, apps have moved to the forefront, ahead of websites when it comes to providing a vital customer experience. They have now been updated to Progressive Web Applications (PWAs), causing a sensation in the community. PWAs make websites shine in their old glory, being a kind of symbiosis of responsive websites and native apps — very much the best of both worlds. PWAs can be created in different languages like HTML5 or JavaScript. The JavaScript ‘Service Worker’ running in the background enriches PWAs with important offline capabilities, for example with appropriate caching. In addition, push services like those known from native apps can be implemented. The website is then really brought to life.

Want to know how a PWA works? Just scan the QR-code and test the demo.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Until now, the problem for website operators has been that they had to develop a responsive or mobile website as well as additional native apps if they wanted to offer their target group a consistent look & feel for their user interfaces. In 2015, Google introduced the PWA concept to eliminate such redundant (and boring) work. The market appreciated this, and PWAs have become everybody’s darling on the development scene.

Managing targeted customer communication with SAP CX

However, all efforts with digitalization will be in vain if vertical and horizontal integration is not consistently considered. This is what Swisscom is calling for. After all, targeted communication with the customer must be smart-managed. Stories that touch and remain in the customer’s memory are no coincidence, but a carefully orchestrated interplay of marketing, sales, service, and e-commerce activities. SAP uses the term ‘SAP Customer Experience’ (CX) to summarize all applications for these customer-focused departments.

 

SAP CX is a huge step forward compared to the good old customer relationship management (CRM), which traditionally focuses on internal enterprise-centric transactions rather than on proactively managing customer relationships. As a result, the customer data collected remains practically ‘only’ fact-finding. SAP, however, wants to go into greater depth with CX by analyzing experiences and modeling them from the customer’s perspective.

 

The cloud-based ERP ‘SAP S4/HANA’ and ‘SAP Customer Experience’ are standardized based on SAP technologies and thus stand in clear contrast to the elaborately customized ERP of the caliber of SAP/R3 and SAP ECC. But don’t worry, customizations can also be implemented at 4HANA. Extensions can be programmed for adaptions, in which ‘user stories’ are stored. This is a stage on which Swisscom is moving with flying colors: Cubernet-based applications (Kyma Services) can be created and reused for a broad clientele and thus share joint developments. Unless otherwise agreed, intellectual property will remain with Swisscom, i.e. it will be professionally maintained, and is likely to develop into a veritable cloud IT business area in the future — very much to the benefit of the customer, of course.


The technical background: PWA headless implementation with "Spartacus"

Back to PWA and a possible ‘Single Source of Experience’: No matter which platform (and which frontend) you use, the shop system presents itself like a native application with a uniform customer experience. Or more technically speaking, in the sense of a headless implementation: With the new cloud frontend framework, marketed under the symbolic name ‘Spartacus’, SAP has taken the development of shop systems to a new, higher level. The storefront is based on the Angular Framework developed by Google, which exchanges data with the cloud via the Commerce REST API.

 

The Angular framework decouples frontend from backend, resulting in faster deployment processes. This provides a response to a key development requirement with SAP Commerce: The frontend scales as needed and the fear of simultaneous access by large numbers of users is forgotten.

SAP Commerce and Spartacus are only available in a double pack

Although Spartacus is a headless implementation, its API architecture requires CMS content from the SAP Commerce Cloud. On the credit side, the decoupling of front- and backend allows independent update cycles. This means that the JavaScript storefront can be enriched with new features as often as required without any need to update the backend — if you like, the left hand doesn’t need to know what the right hand is doing.

 

The way is the goal, because some features are not yet available. These include product variants, express checkouts and also B2B storefront features such as replenishment, B2B checkout or Commerce Org. A closer look at SAP’s (well-considered) roadmap shows, however, that these and other highlights will reach users before the end of this year. Investment protection is therefore guaranteed!

 

Now it’s up to you to get more insights into the exciting world of SAP Customer Experience: Click here for more information and ask for individual advice.

1www.adobe.com/lu_en/offer/digital-trends-2020.html and www.superoffice.com/blog/customer-experience-strategy


Do you want to transform your SAP R/3 to S/4HANA?

With the SAP S/4HANA Transformation Factory, Swisscom offers all necessary steps for a simple migration, combined in a holistic portfolio - uncomplicated, secure and resource-saving.

> Read more



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact
Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact

SAP CX, application Web progressive (PWA)

Applications Web progressives avec SAP CX

Expérience client avec les PWA: vos clients apprécieront!

D’après le rapport Digital Marketing Trends de Econsultancy et Adobe, 20% des organisations interrogées considèrent l’expérience client comme leur meilleure nouvelle opportunité. Découvrez dans cet article comment exploiter SAP Customer Experience et les applications Web progressives pour renforcer l'orientation client de votre entreprise.

Création: 24. Juillet 2020, Texte: Dr. Bernhard D. Valnion,

Qui l'eût cru, les entreprises interrogées ont classé le marketing de contenu (content marketing) en deuxième place dans la liste des meilleures opportunités d’affaires, après l’expérience client (15%) et devant les approches pilotées par les données (12%) 1.

 

 

La question des contenus résolue, les défis techniques liés à la mise en œuvre d’un marketing omnicanal sont énormes. En effet, il ne s’agit pas uniquement d’étendre l’infrastructure de vos processus, mais aussi de trouver un intégrateur de systèmes compétent pour connecter de manière solide le backbone et les caractéristiques (donc la singularité) de votre entreprise au niveau du Front-end. Swisscom dispose d’une grande expérience dans ce domaine, en particulier avec le portefeuille SAP, avec son approche E2E et sa capacité à bâtir ces connexions.

Sites Web et applis tout en un: les applications Web progressives

Les applications Web progressives (PWA) rencontrent un grand succès et s’imposent aujourd’hui comme la technologie idéale en matière d’expérience client, devant les sites Web. En effet, elles redonnent de la splendeur à ces derniers, car elles réunissent les atouts de sites Web réactifs et d’applications natives, soit le meilleur des deux mondes. Les PWA peuvent être créées dans différents langages, comme HTML5 ou JavaScript. Par ailleurs, une mise en cache adaptée permet au JavaScript «Service Worker», exécuté en arrière-plan, d’enrichir une PWA en mode hors ligne. Il est même possible d’implémenter des services Push, un héritage des applications natives, pour insuffler encore plus de vie dans l’expérience client.

Curieux de connaître le fonctionnement d’une PWA? Scannez le code QR pour visualiser une démonstration.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Auparavant, les gestionnaires de sites devaient développer des sites web réactifs ou mobiles, mais aussi des applications natives pour être en mesure d’offrir une expérience client continue à son groupe cible. En 2015, Google présentait le concept PWA afin d’éliminer ces travaux redondants. Aujourd’hui, l’idée a fait son chemin et les PWA sont les nouvelles stars sur le marché du développement.

Gérez votre communication client de façon ciblée avec SAP CX

Pour que vos efforts de développement et de numérisation ne soient pas voués à l’échec, il reste essentiel de prendre en compte les problématiques d’intégration verticale et horizontale. C’est là que Swisscom entre en jeu. En somme, la communication ciblée avec le client doit être gérée. Les histoires qui émeuvent et s’impriment dans leur mémoire ne doivent rien au hasard: elles sont le résultat d’une interaction soigneusement orchestrée entre les services marketing, vente, service et e-commerce. SAP rassemble toutes les applications utiles à ces services dans «SAP Customer Experience» (CX).

 

SAP CX est une version extrêmement sophistiquée de ce que l’on appelait initialement «Customer Relationship Management» (CRM). Le CRM se concentrait avant tout sur les transactions plutôt que sur le pilotage des relations clients, et la collecte des données clients se résumait «uniquement» à une collecte de faits. SAP propose d’aller plus loin avec CX, en analysant et en modélisant les expériences du point de vue du client.

 

Basés sur les technologies SAP standardisées, l’ERP cloud «SAP S4/HANA» et «SAP Customer Experience» se distinguent fortement des ERP fortement personnalisés que sont SAP/R3 et SAP ECC. Bien sûr, les personnalisations restent possibles avec 4HANA, à travers la programmation d’«extensions» à intégrer dans les personnalisations («User Stories»). Swisscom fait figure d’acteur majeur dans ce domaine, en permettant de créer et de réutiliser des applications basées sur Kubernetes (Kyma Services) pour une large clientèle, ce qui favorise des développements communs. Sauf accord contraire, la propriété intellectuelle est conservée et gérée de manière professionnelle par Swisscom, ce qui devrait à l’avenir lui permettre de devenir un véritable domaine d’activité IT cloud – pour le bénéfice du client.

Le contexte technique, une mise en œuvre en mode headless de vos PWA avec «Spartacus»

Revenons aux PWA et à une possible «Single Source of Experience»: quelle que soit la plateforme (et le Frontend) utilisée, le système de shop se présente sous la forme d’une application native et offre une expérience client unique. Ou, en termes techniques, dans le sens d’une mise en œuvre en mode headless: avec son nouveau Framework Cloud Frontend, commercialisé sous le nom symbolique de «Spartacus», SAP a établi une nouvelle référence dans le développement des systèmes de shop. Le Storefront est basé sur le Framework Angular, développé par Google, qui utilise l’API REST Commerce pour l’échange des données dans le cloud.

 

Grâce au Framework Angular, le Frontend est découplé du Backend, ce qui permet d’accélérer les processus de déploiement, et de répondre aux besoins de développement central avec SAP Commerce: le Frontend évolue en fonction des besoins et les problèmes liés à l’accès simultané de grands nombres d’utilisateurs sont éliminés.

SAP Commerce et Spartacus seulement en double pack

Bien que Spartacus fonctionne en modeheadless, il a besoin de SAP Commerce Cloud, du fait de son architecture d’API de contenus CMS. Côté positif, le découplage du Frontend et du Backend permet la mise en place de cycles de mise à jour indépendants: le Storefront JavaScript peut ainsi être enrichi indépendamment du Backend – la main gauche n’a pas besoin de savoir ce que fait la main droite.

 

 

 

Le chemin est l’objectif, car certaines fonctions ne sont pas encore disponibles. Comme par exemple Product Variants, Express Checkouts et des fonctions de Storefront B2B comme Replenishment, B2B-Checkout ou Commerce Org. La feuille de route (bien pensée) de SAP prévoit cependant l’implémentation de ces fonctionnalités - et d’autres - encore cette année. La protection de votre investissement est donc garantie.

 

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur SAP Customer Experience? Cliquez ici pour bénéficier de nos conseils.

1 www.adobe.com/lu_en/offer/digital-trends-2020.html et www.superoffice.com/blog/customer-experience-strategy




Vous souhaitez passer de SAP R/3 à S/4HANA?

Avec la SAP S/4HANA Transformation Factory, Swisscom met à votre disposition son portefeuille de solutions et de prestations complet pour vous accompagner dans l’ensemble des étapes nécessaires à une migration simplifiée, sûre et économe en termes de ressources.

> En savoir plus




Andere Leser interessierte auch: