SAP Field Service Management in action

More savings and efficiency in field service

SAP Field Service Management enables companies to manage their field service activities in a holistic and intelligent way. This results in more efficient service on the ground and far greater customer satisfaction. The Swisscom experts Reto Hildbrand and Hanspeter Groth explain the background.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, 

Hello Mr Hildbrand, hello Mr Groth, there is frequent annoyance – not only in Switzerland – with service personnel who have the wrong tool, the wrong instructions or none of the appropriate spare parts with them.

Hildbrand:

Digitalisation is providing us with good opportunities to put an end to such negative experiences. Tools like SAP Field Service Management mean that field service personnel and customers are better informed and service is coordinated efficiently. The processes are becoming far more service-oriented and cost-efficient.


Groth:

SAP Field Service Management supports every company in Switzerland that offers maintenance and repair services for more complex products and wants to strengthen customer loyalty. The motivations for this include avoiding the situations you mentioned and strengthening customer loyalty. Studies carried out by Bain & Company have shown that increasing customer retention by only five percent can lead to an increase in profits of up to 95 percent.

 

Hildbrand:

Two personal examples: My dishwasher had broken down shortly before the holidays. On-site service and repair were so unreliable that next time I am going to buy a different brand. But when I had a service technician in my home some time ago in connection with another matter, he was able to print out a work order and invoice straight away. That was transparent and – as he told me – also ideal for his company, because completed work and the invoice become a single unit and the number of complaints is thus reduced.

SAP Field Service Management represents the current status, which can then be called up at any time from anywhere!

Groth:

Correct. All key data for field service is available in real time and clearly presented graphically. All those overseeing operations receive a comprehensive overview of customers, products and service personnel. This way, they can guarantee that the technician in the field has all the relevant information and the right materials at their disposal at the right time. This knowledge management creates more certainty for the company.

 

Hildbrand:

The customers benefit too, because they can be provided with self-service solutions as a first step. For example, customers can use instructions that have been prepared so that they are easy to understand, have been adapted for the relevant piece of equipment and can be easily retrieved. A technician does not need to come unless and until a deeper level of understanding is required. And then I can request preferred dates and track their inbound journey.

Added to this are real-time analyses that can support planning over the long term.

Groth:

Think of service agreements that are expected to be fulfilled on a regular basis – without a lack of resources rearing its head in an emergency. Or intelligent prioritisation in dispatching. Thanks to a wide variety of optimisation algorithms, distances travelled and therefore travel times can be improved and customers can be grouped and looked after more economically.

 

Hildbrand:

SAP Field Service Management can be combined with analytics or with artificial intelligence. In the supply industry, for example, this would be done to predict the life cycle for spare parts, plan maintenance with foresight or coordinate routes efficiently.

There are also tools from other manufacturers that are similarly powerful.

Groth:

Viewed in isolation, that is correct. But then they generally work in conjunction with different system landscapes. So the various systems need to be integrated. And that can become complex very quickly. Especially if the service technician needs an all-encompassing overview of the customer, their individual products and the total life cycle of these products. A very large number of customers in Switzerland use SAP. Therefore, also using SAP Field Service Management gives them the great advantage of getting everything from a single source and being able to utilize comprehensive end-to-end processes as a result.

What are the particular credentials of Swisscom when it comes to offering implementation, adaptation and training for SAP Field Service Management?

Groth:

What I hear from our customers: In addition to our experience and the strength of our team, it is the fact that we provide extensive advice and carry out the implementation. In an area like field services in particular, the use of the tool is fundamental because it acts as an intermediary between field sales and other IT systems to coordinate, analyse and predict.

 

Hildbrand:

The practical experience of Swisscom in dealing with SAP Field Service Management is also important. For example, we recently introduced the tool at a client. That will not only improve the coordination of hundreds of employees in field service considerably but also provide us with further experience with special functions.

In your view, which preconditions are fundamental for efficiently exploiting the benefits of SAP Field Service Management?

Hildbrand:

With SAP Field Service Management, the obstacles are relatively minor – also with regard to the size of the company. Of course, the greatest benefits are derived when the tool is incorporated in the ‘back-end’ processes, preferably in SAP systems such as SAP R/3 or SAP S/4HANA.

 

Groth:

To enable companies to differentiate themselves strategically with the aid of SAP Field Service Management, a corresponding culture is important. The employees should not only want to accept the system but also take pleasure in using the functions. Training and a culture of trust also become more important because field service takes on more individual responsibility for service reports and invoices, for example …

 

Hildbrand:

But the implementation of SAP Field Service Management can only be a part of change management. That is why it is not the sole focus of our work. Instead, our task is to provide companies with comprehensive support and successfully advance their transformation at all levels step by step.


Do you have questions?

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries






More on the topic:

SAP Field Service Management en action

Économies supplémentaires et efficacité accrue des services de terrain

SAP Field Service Management permet aux entreprises de gérer leurs services de terrain de façon complète et intelligente. Le résultat: des services de terrain plus rentables et des clients nettement plus satisfaits. Les experts de Swisscom Reto Hildbrand et Hanspeter Groth nous en disent davantage.

Texte: Andreas Kunkel, 26

Bonjour M. Hildbrand, bonjour M. Groth. Le problème des techniciens de terrain qui n’emportent pas les bons outils, les bonnes notices d’utilisation ou les pièces de rechange adaptées ne se limite pas à la Suisse.

Hildbrand:

La numérisation devrait nous permettre de remédier à ce problème une fois pour toutes. Car grâce à des outils tels que SAP Field Service Management, les services de terrain et les clients sont mieux informés et les prestations sur site peuvent être coordonnées de manière efficace. Ils permettent d’axer davantage les processus sur le service et de réduire les coûts.


Groth:

SAP Field Service Management épaule toute entreprise suisse qui assure la maintenance et la réparation de produits plus complexes et qui souhaite fidéliser sa clientèle. Notamment en permettant d’éviter les situations que vous venez de décrire et en accroissant la satisfaction client. Des études de Bain & Company ont montré qu’une augmentation de la fidélité des clients de 5 % seulement peut se traduire par une augmentation des bénéfices de 95 %. 

 

Hildbrand:

Deux exemples issus de ma vie privée: mon lave-vaisselle est tombé en panne juste avant les fêtes. Le service après-vente et la réparation sur place se sont avérés si inefficaces, que j’ai décidé d’opter pour une autre marque la prochaine fois. En revanche, un technicien que j’ai récemment fait venir chez moi pour un autre problème a été en mesure d’imprimer l’ordre de travail et la facture sur le champ. Cette manière de procéder garantit la transparence et – m’a-t-il expliqué – est idéal pour son entreprise, car la réparation effectuée et la facture forment alors une unité, ce qui se traduit par une diminution du nombre de réclamations.

SAP Field Service Management représente la situation actuelle et permet de la consulter à tout moment et en tout lieu!

Groth:

Très juste. Toutes les données clés des services de terrain sont accessibles en temps réel sous une forme graphique facilement compréhensible. Tous les responsables disposent d’une vue d’ensemble des clients, des produits et des collaborateurs du service technique. Ils peuvent ainsi garantir que les techniciens sur place disposent de toutes les informations requises en temps voulu et qu’ils aient à disposition le matériel nécessaire. Cette gestion des connaissances offre plus de tranquillité d’esprit à l’entreprise.

 

Hildbrand:

... les avantages sont aussi du côté des clients. Car dans un premier temps, ils peuvent se voir proposer des solutions leur permettant de résoudre eux-mêmes le problème, comme par exemple une notice d’instructions spécifique à l’installation concernée, facilement consultable et rédigée dans un langage clair. Le déplacement d’un technicien n’est alors nécessaire que si le problème requiert des connaissances plus pointues, auquel cas le client peut prendre rendez-vous lorsque cela lui convient et suivre en temps réel l’arrivée du technicien.

À cela s’ajoutent des analyses en temps réel qui facilitent durablement la planification.

Groth:

Pensez aux contrats de maintenance qui nécessitent des interventions à intervalles réguliers – tout en veillant à ce que les ressources ne manquent pas si une urgence se produit. Ou à la priorisation intelligente des affectations. Grâce à divers algorithmes d’optimisation, les trajets et temps de parcours peuvent être améliorés et la clientèle peut être segmentée et assistée de manière plus rentable.

 

Hildbrand:

SAP Field Service Management peut être associé à des solutions d’analyse ou d’intelligence artificielle, par exemple dans l’industrie d’utilité publique, pour calculer à l’avance le cycle de vie des pièces de rechange, planifier les interventions de maintenance ou encore coordonner efficacement les itinéraires.

D’autres éditeurs proposent des outils performants.

Groth:

C’est vrai dans l’absolu. Mais il s’agit alors généralement d’environnements système différents. Ces différents systèmes doivent tout d’abord être intégrés entre eux, et la tâche peut rapidement se révéler très ardue. En particulier si le technicien de terrain a besoin d’une vue d’ensemble complète du client, des différents produits qu’il utilise et de l’ensemble du cycle de vie de ces derniers. Un grand nombre de clients en Suisse utilisent SAP. C’est pourquoi SAP Field Service Management leur offre un avantage de taille: disposer d’applications provenant d’un seul fournisseur et pouvoir ainsi mettre en œuvre des processus complets de bout en bout.

En quoi Swisscom est-elle particulièrement qualifiée pour assurer la mise en œuvre et la personnalisation de SAP Field Service Management ainsi que les formations correspondantes?

Groth:

D’après les échos qui me parviennent de nos clients, ils apprécient notre expérience et le grand nombre d’équipes disponibles, mais également le fait que nous offrions un conseil et une mise en œuvre complets. Dans le domaine des services de terrain en particulier, l’utilisation de l’outil est fondamentale car il assure la liaison entre les services de terrain et les autres systèmes informatiques de coordination, d’analyse et de prévision.

 

Hildbrand:

l faut également souligner la vaste expérience pratique dans l’utilisation de SAP Field Service Management dont Swisscom dispose. Nous avons par exemple récemment déployé la solution à un client. Elle nous permettra d’améliorer sensiblement la coordination des centaines de collaborateurs des services de terrain ainsi que d’acquérir une plus grande expérience dans l’usage de certaines fonctions spécifiques.

Selon vous, quelles sont les principales conditions à remplir pour pouvoir tirer le meilleur parti des avantages de SAP Field Service Management?

Hildbrand:

Les exigences requises pour pouvoir utiliser SAP Field Service Management de manière efficace sont relativement faibles, y compris en ce qui concerne la taille de l’entreprise. Bien entendu, c’est lorsque l’outil est intégré à des processus «back-end», de préférence dans des systèmes SAP tels que SAP R/3 ou SAP S/4HANA, que les bénéfices sont les plus importants.

 

Groth:

Pour pouvoir se démarquer stratégiquement grâce à SAP Field Service Management, les entreprises doivent se forger la culture adéquate: les salariés doivent non seulement être disposés à accepter le système, mais ils doivent prendre plaisir à en utiliser les fonctionnalités. De plus, les services de terrain assumant davantage de responsabilités, notamment en ce qui concerne les rapports d’intervention et les factures, une importance plus grande doit être accordée à la formation et à une culture de confiance…

 

Hildbrand:

L’implémentation de SAP Field Service Management ne constitue toutefois qu’une facette de la gestion du changement. Notre mission ne se focalise donc pas exclusivement sur elle, mais consiste à apporter un soutien complet à l’entreprise et à l’aider à opérer progressivement sa transformation à tous les niveaux.


Vous avez des questions? Nous sommes à votre disposition.

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries





Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème: