How companies develop digital business ideas





How companies can tackle digital transformation

Three steps to digitisation


Successful companies are digitised companies”: this statement appears to be becoming increasingly true, but it poses the question: where do you start?


Nicolas Fulpius, CDO, Swisscom Enterprise Customers,




Digitisation is on everyone’s lips – but it’s nothing new. What is new, however, is the speed with which it is affecting more and more areas of our lives, especially at work. It opens up countless opportunities to use connected technologies in our own value chain:

 

  • in how we redefine business processes: fully digitised without media discontinuity, efficient and low-cost
  • in how we create brand new business models: service instead of product – in other words, cleanliness instead of a road sweeper, mobility instead of vehicles;
  • in how we create individual customer experiences: personalised information and everything from a single provider;
  • in how we work: anytime, anywhere, thanks to Work Smart.

No recipe for success, but a start

Anyone who thinks digitisation does not concern them is playing into the hands of their competitors, who are often from other sectors. A quick start is essential. But how? The high speed of digitisation makes it almost impossible to come up with reliable, one-size-fits-all forecasts. What we know today can be old hat by tomorrow. The high speed of digitisation makes it almost impossible to come up with reliable, one-size-fits-all forecasts. What we know today is old hat by tomorrow. Companies need to learn how to live with this uncertainty. At the centre is the question: how can digitisation be profitably integrated into a company’s own business model?

 

Although they are no recipe for success, here are three practical steps to get started:


1. Digitisation is part of company strategy

Digitisation affects companies at every level and involves more than just IT. It therefore needs to be anchored in company strategy. Senior management decides which parts of the business are suitable for digital transformation, what should be digitised and in which order of priority. This requires courage: management must not cling onto past strategies and decisions, even if it means abandoning a project and starting again. In order to learn, you need a culture in which mistakes are considered normal and dealt with positively.


2. Speed and iteration are essential

These days, it is virtually impossible for a company to continue working on a product until it is perfect. Instead of fiddling about for ages behind closed doors, it is better to use iterative methods and release beta versions, make constant improvements and establish interfaces with new technologies. Fast prototyping is a promising strategy, enabling customer or user feedback to be collated quickly, before it gets expensive. ‘Time to market’ is also considerably shorter with this approach.


3. Promoting digital skills and transformation

Companies should involve their staff in digital transformation because it concerns everyone, trainees as much as board members. Companies wishing to access the full potential of digitisation would be well advised to educate their staff early on and take them with them through the transformation process. The high speed of digitisation and the associated iterative approach also require a complete rethink of the management system. Strict hierarchies and control systems do not work well, whereas agile organisations and network leadership are on the up.

Nicolas Fulpius, Head of Digital Enterprise Solutions and CDO, Swisscom Enterprise Customers

After several years in private equity and venture capital, Nicolas Fulpius was appointed CEO of Veltigroup, which was bought by Swisscom in 2015. He became Chief Digitalization Officer at Swisscom Enterprise Customers in July 2015 and head of the Digital Enterprise Solutions department in June 2016. Nicolas Fulpius has an MBA from the University of St. Gallen and an MSc in engineering from Stanford University.




More on the topic

Développement des concepts commerciaux numériques





Les entreprises et la transition numérique

La numérisation en trois étapes


Les entreprises numérisées connaissent la réussite. Cette affirmation semble chaque jour plus valable. Mais une question se pose: par où commencer?


Nicolas Fulpius, CDO Swisscom Enterprise Customers,




La numérisation est sur toutes les lèvres. Pourtant, elle ne date pas d’hier. Ce qui est nouveau, c’est la vitesse à laquelle ce phénomène se propage dans notre vie (professionnelle). La numérisation offre d’innombrables possibilités d’utiliser les technologies connectées dans sa propre chaîne de création de valeur:

 

  • Pour la redéfinition des processus commerciaux – entièrement numérisés et sans discontinuité, efficience à bon compte.
  • Pour la création de nouveaux modèles commerciaux – les services remplacent les produits: propreté plutôt que balayeuses, mobilité plutôt que véhicules.
  • Pour l’élaboration du vécu client – informations personnalisées, tout d’un seul tenant.
  • Pour notre mode de travail – sans contrainte géographique ni temporelle grâce à Work Smart.

Pas de recette miracle, mais une marche à suivre pour débuter

A ceux qui ne se sentent pas concernés par la numérisation font le jeu de la concurrence, souvent issue d’autres secteurs. Il faut réagir immédiatement. Mais comment? La numérisation évolue à une telle vitesse qu’il est presque impossible de formuler des pronostics fiables obéissant à une règle générale. Ce que nous savons aujourd’hui sera dépassé demain. Les entreprises devraient apprendre à gérer cette incertitude et se demander comment intégrer la numérisation dans leur modèle commercial de manière fructueuse.

Même s’il n’existe pas de recette miracle, voici trois points concrets pour commencer:


1. La numérisation fait partie de la stratégie d’entreprise

La numérisation ne touche pas uniquement l’informatique, mais se répercute à tous les niveaux de l’entreprise. C’est pourquoi elle doit être bien ancrée dans la stratégie d’entreprise. La direction détermine les domaines propices à une transition numérique et les priorités en la matière. Cela demande du courage: il faut éviter de se reposer sur les décisions et stratégies déjà adoptées, même si cela signifie interrompre un projet et tout reprendre depuis le début. Une culture de l’erreur est nécessaire à l’apprentissage.


2. Les principes essentiels de vitesse et d’itération

Aujourd’hui, une entreprise ne peut presque plus se permettre de peaufiner un produit. Au lieu de suer à huis clos, mieux vaut réaliser un projet en versions (bêta) itératives, l’améliorer en continu et créer les interfaces avec les nouvelles technologies. Le prototypage rapide est un concept prometteur: le feedback du client ou de l’utilisateur est obtenu rapidement, ce qui évite des coûts élevés. Il permet aussi de raccourcir fortement le délai de commercialisation.


3. La promotion des compétences et de la transition numériques

Les entreprises devraient intégrer leurs collaborateurs dans la transition, car celle-ci concerne tout le monde, du stagiaire aux membres du conseil d’administration. Pour exploiter tout le potentiel de la numérisation, les entreprises seraient bien inspirées de sensibiliser à temps leurs collaborateurs au tournant numérique et de les y associer. La vitesse d’évolution et l’approche itérative de la numérisation supposent par ailleurs un changement de paradigme dans le système de gouvernance. Les hiérarchies et systèmes de contrôle stricts fonctionnent mal, tandis que les organisations souples et le leadership en réseau prennent leur essor.

Nicolas Fulpius, Responsable Digital Enterprise Solutions et CDO Swisscom Enterprise Customers

Après avoir travaillé plusieurs années dans les domaines Private Equity et Venture Capital, Nicolas Fulpius est devenu CEO chez Veltigroup, qui a été racheté par Swisscom en 2015. Il est CDO chez Swisscom Enterprise Customers depuis juillet 2015 et responsable Digital Enterprise Solutions depuis juin 2016. Détenteur d’un MBA de l’université de Saint-Gall, Nicolas Fulpius a fait un doctorat en ingénierie à l’université Stanford.




En savoir plus sur ce thème