Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Challenges in the global IoT business

Internet of Things for global applications

Global business models with small things 

The Internet of Things can be used for more than just monitoring values at fixed locations; mobile applications also work from anywhere. This creates space for innovative new global business models – which also present their own challenges.

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock,

The Internet of Things (IoT) is just starting to get rolling. And that offers a space in which to expand existing business models. Swiss coffee maker manufacturer Franke Kaffeemaschinen AG is embracing the Internet of Things as an opportunity to boost sales of coffee machines with additional services.

 

IoT is also a driver of innovation for a whole new set of data-driven business models. For example, ETH Zurich spin-off Nexxiot is developing entirely new business models for freight transport that rely fully on IoT. In the past, these approaches would have been unthinkable.

 

The heart of any IoT solution is a data and analytics platform that evaluates sensor data and delivers insights to users. Yet how does the data collected in various countries make its way on to the centralised data platform? This is just one of the challenges of global IoT solutions.

How to install small sensors on a grand scale?

A major challenge here involves the assembly. Global IoT solutions require thousands of sensors or devices to be installed over vast distances. Marcel Scheurer, CCO (Chief Customer Officer) at Nexxiot, is familiar with the problem: ‘It will take two to three years to equip a rail operator’s entire fleet.’ This is because installations or replacements can only be done when the rail wagon is idle or in the workshop.

 

The Nexxiot sensors are installed by the customer themselves in the rail wagons and containers. After that, a minimum lifetime of six years is guaranteed. Franke, in contrast, sells its coffee makers primarily in Europe, the US and Asia, relying on local distributors to handle sales and service.

“Only in a replicable setting can the customer benefit from economies of scale.”

Nils Weber, Franke

Providers that might currently be thinking of IoT solutions first need to examine the deployment scenarios and the lifecycle management of the sensors. Should they handle installation and maintenance themselves, leave it to the customer or employ a service provider? Which option is simplest?

Standardisation: a necessary evil

‘Our IoT solution is aimed at fleet customers who operate hundreds of coffee makers,’ says Nils Weber, Program Director Digital Innovation at Franke Kaffeemaschinen AG. ‘Only in a replicable setting can the customer benefit from the economies of scale.’

 

And to achieve this kind of scaling and make it pay off for providers and customers, IoT business models must be highly standardised. Otherwise, the effort is too great. ‘People often ask us whether we can adapt our services to local circumstances,’ says Weber, ‘but development would be much too expensive.’ Weber’s approach is therefore to focus on similarities rather than differences, since standardisation can also benefit the customer: ‘Our solution is universal,’ he says.

Nils Weber, Program Director Digital Innovation at Franke Kaffeemaschinen AG  

Nexxiot faces a completely different challenge in terms of standardisation. Scheurer provides an illustrative example: ‘What does it mean, for example, for a container to have arrived? For railway operators, that might mean at the port or factory site. But for a carrier, this would be at the loading site.’ In other words, there needs to be a common language in the form of standards. Although European rail operators have created a basis with the Train Information System, the situation for shipping is much more complex. ‘There are numerous committees and different interests,’ says Scheurer. Nexxiot sits on certain standardisation committees, including the International Tank Container Organisation (ITCO) with more than 170 members. ‘It’s worth starting early,’ recommends Scheurer.

Marcel Scheurer, Chief Customer Officer at Nexxiot

“To get customers on board, we have to offer an all-inclusive service.”

Marcel Scheurer, Nexxiot

Where is all this new data taking us?

No comprehensive standards govern the storage of IoT data yet. All that is clear is that the information to be analysed is currently stored in the cloud, and Nexxiot and Franke use a centralised platform to do so. ‘Only through a “cloud first” approach will we be able to maintain a standard for data storage,’ says Weber. If data processing and storage are inconsistent, the rate of return for these services can no longer be guaranteed.

 

This is why both companies offer their clients the data platform as a service. Operators of coffee makers, for example, can access the usage data and configure the device displays centrally. Nexxiot customers have access to a dashboard with information on the location of rail wagons and containers, and the progress of a given transport operation. ‘We were only able to get customers on board by offering them an all-inclusive service,’ adds Scheurer.

 

This total package with measuring instruments and data analytics is necessary, since data integration into existing applications at the client end is challenging. In the best case scenario, the only thing missing is the interfaces. However, integration often fails due to the type of data, since the entry of transport and usage data into the business applications simply isn’t supported. For this reason, Nexxiot is focusing more on the processing and analysis of data, explains Scheurer: ‘We see ourselves as an enabler for optimized processes and complementary solutions from our customers to the shippers.’ Providers of IoT solutions must therefore consider exactly what their role is: data supplier for third-party systems or centralised information provider?

Connectivity restrictions

In order for information to flow at all, sensors need to be connected to the mobile network at the respective location. But this requires a provider that offers network access in all the desired countries. In western Europe this functions well, says Scheurer.

 

But it becomes more difficult in countries where mobile network access is expensive, meaning that connectivity starts to drive up costs. ‘This makes it more difficult for us to offer services for a flat fee,’ explains Scheurer. So it comes as no surprise that his dream is a global data flat rate. Until that happens, however, providers of global IoT solutions must factor the various costs of network access into their profitability calculations when preparing estimates.

 

And data transmission limitations can also have an impact on the business model. If data has to be processed locally for legal or regulatory reasons, this contradicts the idea of a centralised cloud platform and generates additional costs.

 

Still, at the end of the day, IoT solutions not only present technical challenges. Weber believes there is perhaps a less obvious obstacle; namely, the human factor: ‘Our solutions changing familiar processes,’ he says. ‘So change management is all the more important to ensure that everyone involved understands what is happening.’

 

What should companies remember when rolling out IoT solutions globally?

The white paper ‘Global or local – checklist for success’ addresses the eight key points.


Franke Kaffeemaschinen AG

Located in Aarburg near Olten (AG), the company belongs to the international Franke Group and sells coffee makers for commercial use through its network of distributors. The sensors installed in the devices measure usage data and send it to a centralised cloud platform, which allows the operators to determine, for example, whether the machines have been properly cleaned and how many drinks have been made. It can also control the display of the different drink options, as well as advertising on all coffee makers.

Nexxiot AG

Based in Zurich, Nexxiot is making the digitalisation of supply chains a reality. Sensors in rail wagons and containers monitor key metrics, such as temperature and vibration, and whether the containers have been opened. Supply chain operators not only know whether freight has been transported properly, but also where the containers and wagons are currently located. The ETH Zurich spin-off is expanding its product range; for example, in the area of shipping cargo. Recently, it announced that in 2020 it would digitalise the entire fleet of tank containers for the international logistics operator VTG.



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

Les défis de l’activité mondiale avec l’IoT

Modèles commerciaux globaux avec l’Internet des objets

Des modèles commerciaux mondiaux avec de petits objets

L’Internet des objets (IoT) n’est pas seulement approprié à la mesure de valeurs stationnaires, mais aussi à un usage mobile et indépendant du lieu. Il crée ainsi des espaces pour de nouveaux modèles commerciaux, élargis et mondiaux qui amènent aussi de nouveaux défis.

Texte: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock,

Le train de l’Internet des objets vient juste de démarrer. Et offre ainsi de l’espace pour étendre les modèles commerciaux existants. Pour le fabricant de machines à café suisse Franke Kaffeemaschinen AG, l’Internet des objets est une opportunité bienvenue de développer la vente de machines à café en offrant des services supplémentaires.

 

Cependant, l’IoT est aussi un moteur d’innovation pour des modèles commerciaux entièrement nouveaux, basés sur les données. Nexxiot, un spin-off de l’école polytechnique fédérale de Zurich, conçoit des modèles entièrement nouveaux pour le transport des marchandises sur la base de l’IoT. Des approches qui n’auraient pas été possibles par le passé.

 

Au cœur de chaque solution IoT, il y a une plateforme de données et d’analyse. Elle évalue les données des capteurs et fournit des indications aux utilisateurs. Mais comment les valeurs issues de différents pays aboutissent-elles sur la plateforme centrale? Ce n’est là qu’un des défis posés aux solutions d’IoT mondiales.

Comment installer des petits capteurs à grande échelle?

Le montage est un défi majeur. Dans les solutions d’IoT mondiales, il faut installer des milliers de capteurs ou d’appareils à de grandes distances. Marcel Scheurer, CCO (Chief Customer Officer) de Nexxiot, connaît bien ce problème de par sa propre expérience: «Jusqu’à ce que l’ensemble de la flotte d’un opérateur ferroviaire soit équipé, il faut compter deux à trois ans.» En effet, il n’est possible de les intégrer ou de les échanger que lorsque le wagon est stationné ou dans un atelier.

 

Les capteurs Nexxiot, avec une durée minimale de fonctionnement garantie de six ans, sont installés par les clients eux-mêmes sur les wagons ou les containers. De son côté, Franke vend ses machines à café essentiellement en Europe, aux États-Unis et en Asie en s’appuyant sur des distributeurs locaux. Ils se chargent de la vente et du service.

«Le client ne peut bénéficier d’économies d’échelle que dans un environnement reproductible.»

Nils Weber, Franke

Les fournisseurs qui envisagent de proposer des solutions IoT doivent tout d’abord clarifier les scénarios de déploiement et la gestion du cycle de vie des capteurs: s’occuper soi-même de l’installation et de la maintenance, ou les confier à la clientèle ou à un prestataire? Qu’est-ce qui cause le moins d’effort?

La standardisation, à la fois une nécessité et une barrière

«Notre solution IoT est axée sur les clients de flotte qui exploitent des centaines de machines à café», déclare Nils Weber, Program Director Digital Innovation chez Franke Kaffeemaschinen AG. «Le client ne peut bénéficier d’économies d’échelle que dans un environnement reproductible.»

 

Afin de réaliser cette économie d’échelle et d’être rentable pour les fournisseurs et les clients, les modèles commerciaux IoT misent sur un degré élevé de standardisation. Sinon, l’effort est trop important. «Nous avons souvent des demandes d’adaptation de nos services aux conditions locales», affirme Weber. «Toutefois, le développement coûterait trop cher.» L’approche de Weber consiste à souligner les points communs plutôt que les différences. En effet, la standardisation a aussi des avantages pour le client: «Notre solution peut être utilisée partout», ajoute Weber.

Nils Weber, Program Director Digital Innovation chez Franke Kaffeemaschinen AG  

Dans la standardisation, Nexxiot fait face à un défi tout à fait différent. Scheurer le décrit en ces termes: «Un container est arrivé: qu’est-ce que cela signifie?» «Pour un opérateur ferroviaire, c’est peut-être le port ou l’usine. Pour le transporteur par contre, c’est le lieu de chargement.» Il s’agit ici d’employer une langue commune et d’utiliser des standards. Alors que les opérateurs ferroviaires européens ont déjà créé cette base avec le Train Information System, la situation est nettement plus complexe dans le transport maritime. «Ici, il existe de nombreux comités avec des intérêts différents», explique Scheurer. Nexxiot s’implique dans des comités de normalisation. Par exemple, depuis peu, elle est l’un des 170 membres de l’ITCO (International Tank Container Organisation). «Il est important d’être présent dès le départ», conseille Scheurer.

Marcel Scheurer, Chief Customer Officer chez Nexxiot

«Nous devons convaincre la clientèle avec un service complet.»

Marcel Scheurer, Nexxiot

Que faire de ces nouvelles données?

Pour la conservation des données IoT, il n’existe pas encore de standards complets. Une seule chose est claire: de nos jours, les informations devant être évaluées sont stockées sur le cloud. À cette fin, Nexxiot et Franke emploient une plateforme centrale. «Ce n’est qu’avec une approche Cloud first que nous pouvons maintenir un standard au niveau de la conservation des données», souligne Weber. Dans le cas d’un traitement et d’un stockage non homogènes, la rentabilité des services ne serait plus garantie.

 

Les deux entreprises proposent donc à leur clientèle une plateforme de données en tant que service. Les opérateurs de machines à café ont ainsi accès aux données d’utilisation et peuvent configurer les écrans des machines d’une façon centralisée. Sur leur tableau de bord, les clients de Nexxiot reçoivent des informations sur la localisation des wagons et des containers et sur le déroulement du transport. «Nous ne pouvions convaincre les clients qu’en offrant un service complet», explique Scheurer.

 

Cette offre globale avec appareils de mesure et évaluation des données est nécessaire car l’intégration des données dans les applications des clients est une véritable difficulté. Dans le meilleur des cas, «seules» les interfaces manquent. Cependant, l’intégration échoue souvent au niveau du type de données parce que la saisie des informations de transport et d’utilisation n’est tout simplement pas prévue dans les applications des entreprises. Nexxiot mise donc de plus en plus sur la préparation et l’analyse des données. Scheurer l’affirme: «Nous nous voyons de plus en plus comme des facilitateurs de processus optimisés et de solutions complémentaires depuis nos clients et jusqu’aux expéditeurs.» Les fournisseurs de solutions IoT doivent donc d’abord se demander quels rôles ils veulent assumer: fournisseur de données pour des systèmes tiers ou fournisseur central d’information?

Lorsque la connectivité atteint ses limites

Toutefois, pour que l’information puisse circuler, les capteurs ont besoin d’une connexion au réseau de communication mobile sur chaque site. Cela présuppose un fournisseur qui offre un accès au réseau dans tous les pays souhaités. Selon Scheurer, cela fonctionne à la perfection en Europe de l’Ouest.

 

C’est plus difficile dans les pays où l’accès au réseau mobile est cher. Dans ce cas, la connectivité devient un facteur de coûts. «Pour nous, il est alors plus difficile d’offrir un service à un prix forfaitaire», précise Scheurer pour évoquer les difficultés. Il n’est pas étonnant qu’il espérerait disposer d’un forfait de données pour le monde entier. Jusqu’à présent, les fournisseurs de solutions IoT mondiales devaient prendre en compte les différents coûts des accès au réseau pour calculer la rentabilité de leurs offres.

 

Et les limitations au niveau de la transmission des données peuvent également avoir un effet sur leur modèle commercial. Si un traitement local des données est nécessaire pour des raisons légales ou réglementaires, cela s’oppose au concept d’une plateforme cloud centrale et entraîne des charges supplémentaires.

 

Cependant, il ne s’agit au final pas de s’occuper seulement des défis techniques des solutions IoT. Weber estime que l’être humain est peut-être un frein auquel on ne pense pas au premier abord. «Nos solutions modifient des processus établis», constate-t-il. «Il est donc d’autant plus important de mettre en place un change management qui facilite la compréhension de toutes les parties.»

 

À quoi doivent penser les entreprises lors d’un déploiement mondial de leurs solutions IoT?

La checklist «Échelle mondiale ou locale – checklist pour le succès» aborde les huit points les plus importants.


Franke Kaffeemaschinen AG

Cette entreprise dont le siège est à Aarbourg (AG) près d’Olten fait partie du groupe Franke qui opère à l’international et vend des machines à café à usage commercial à travers un réseau de distribution. Des capteurs inclus dans les appareils mesurent leur utilisation et envoient les données sur une plateforme cloud centrale. Ici, les opérateurs peuvent par exemple voir si les machines ont été nettoyées correctement et combien de boissons ont été achetées, mais aussi contrôler l’écran et présenter différentes offres de boissons et de la publicité sur toutes les machines à café.

Nexxiot AG

Cette entreprise dont le siège est à Zurich se voit comme un facilitateur dans la numérisation des chaînes d’approvisionnement. Des capteurs dans les wagons ferroviaires et les containers mesurent des paramètres importants tels que la température, les secousses et l’ouverture des contenants. Cela permet non seulement à l’opérateur de savoir si le fret a été transporté correctement, mais aussi de localiser les containers et les wagons. Le spin-off de l’école polytechnique fédérale de Zurich élargit constamment son offre, par exemple dans le domaine du fret maritime. Nexxiot a récemment annoncé qu’elle allait numériser l’ensemble de la flotte de citernes de la société de logistique internationale VTG en 2020.



Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème