IoT ecosystems 

On its own, IoT will never amount to much


The biggest obstacle for IoT is rarely the technology, it's the culture. IoT projects require partnerships that are based on trust. Julian Dömer, Head of IoT at Swisscom, is therefore calling for supplier openness and senses opportunities for intelligently designed ecosystems.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, Images: Daniel Brühlmann, 18 December 2018




IoT is still in some ways a vision for the future. What is your dream project?


Julian Dömer: My dream is a fully digital building. I often walk around looking for rooms, coffee machines or printers or unintentionally forget to turn off the light when leaving. A building that understands me, my habits and my schedule – that would be my dream.


Solutions like this already exist to some extent today.


Yes, but often only as individual solutions. The difficulty lies in fragmentation: the people in facility management have nothing to do with the people who reserve the rooms who, in turn, may not know who is responsible for the printer. All of these service providers would have to work together in a visionary IoT project.


This mean that IoT projects currently fail due to insufficient coherence and not because of technology. Would the companies that use the technology need to make changes?


No, the supplier side would have to regroup. Let’s take the manufacturing industry which is already pretty far along when it comes to the Internet of Things. A company that wants to introduce an IoT solution in this industry has a broad spectrum of potential partners: suppliers of machines and raw materials, software programmers – ERP, machine control, etc. – network suppliers, maintenance providers and other participants. All these parties have to work together to get an IoT project off the ground.


Julian Dömer im Interview

You’re talking about ecosystems? 


Exactly. Suppliers need to form new partnerships so that interesting projects can be launched. In recent years, we have implemented the most obvious IoT projects, like automatic reading of the electricity meter. Now it’s getting more complicated.


How so?


The companies involved don’t just have to be on the same page, they also have to deploy the right people.


What is Swisscom’s role?


We are a platform provider. And it’s something we do very well: we have scalable infrastructure, we know how to operate it. However, we often don’t understand the business logic well enough. This requires specialists. But they often lack an understanding of platform operation. This creates a win-win situation.



Who brings the ecosystem together? 


This is often Swisscom’s job which totally makes sense: we know the customers thanks to our size and our dense network with Swiss companies. On the other hand, we are also familiar with the potential partners. We bring platforms, people, skills and teams together. This is possible because we are trusted by all sides.


What happens when something goes wrong? Who answers for the failure?


The use of new technologies always involves the possibility of failure. In this case, the primary focus shouldn’t be on deciding who’s to blame, but on the reasons for the failure. These lessons give rise to new ideas.


Julian Dömer im Interview

You operate in an environment that moves extremely fast. Can the rapid changes in technologies and standards be one reason for the failure of IoT projects?


Not necessarily. IoT projects offer new solutions for things that have been well established for many years. For these kinds of projects, I have to rely on expertise from very different areas. I need two fundamental skills: on the one hand, the openness to question and change what is already established. And, on the other hand, the ability to trust third parties who contribute their own services. The ideal mix is not always guaranteed in this case. Many IoT projects fail because there isn’t a shared culture. If the chemistry is off in this kind of team, it is extremely difficult. In order to successfully implement IoT projects in an ecosystem, there needs to be a cultural shift in companies.


And yet: the rampant growth prevalent in the IoT sector is becoming an obstacle for many suppliers.


Yes, it’s a problem. According to market analysts, there are 450 to 600 different IoT platforms worldwide today. But the problem has been identified and at the moment the protocols and platforms are being standardised. We’re about halfway there.


Wouldn't it then be better for the user companies to wait and see how this develops?


This decision depends, on the one hand. on the lifecycle of the production plant. You don't just build a new factory for an IoT project. On the other hand, you need a certain willingness to embrace risk. Without it, you might just miss the boat.


In concrete terms, how do entrepreneurs initiate this kind of project?


They just have to call me (laughs). No, but seriously: The first step is knowing exactly what your own weaknesses are. A business case can then be derived on this basis. An external perspective on problems is often helpful. Which is where Swisscom comes in.


Can Swisscom hold its own against the international competition?


In contrast to global providers, Swisscom's advantage is that it is still small enough. Our internal experts know and trust each other and are open with one another. They share a common understanding of work culture, live in the same region and speak the same language as our customers. This creates mutual trust, which makes a completely different culture of cooperation possible. Added to this is the unparalleled scope of expertise that makes it possible to eliminate the silo mentality and bring all the experts together at one table across disciplines.


Julian Dömer im Interview

But despite everything, IoT security is still a big challenge.


In this context, it is important to clearly distinguish where the data flows. IoT cases that are handled over the Internet have to be analysed very carefully: What devices and control units are used? Who has access? Which data is transported? Here the risk – keyword DDoS – is actually very high. The vast majority of our IoT projects – now well over 500 – operate via private networks. We do a great deal to protect these networks. This approach provides a completely different basis in terms of security.


How will the IoT business develop in the next few years?


The first wave, which is now slowly coming to an end, focused on networking. We are at the beginning of the second wave, which will see the emergence of many new business cases that go beyond networking. I would venture to say that in five years IoT will have as much impact on the economy and society as smartphone technology has had in the last 10 years.


Swisscom Enterprise IoT


Swisscom's Enterprise IoT combines various access technologies, platforms and a large ecosystem. Thanks to a modular approach not dependent on any specific technology, customers can easily network and manage IoT objects, process IoT-based data in a meaningful way, and thus advance their business. Swisscom also provides access to an established IoT ecosystem and other components such as cloud security and data analytics solutions for end-to-end IoT implementation. Swisscom has 15 years of experience as an IoT pioneer.


> More about Enterprise IoT

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe




Julian Dömer


Julian Dömer has a degree in business administration and gained initial professional and project experience in the pharmaceuticals industry both during and after his studies. After starting out as a plant engineer, Mr Dömer moved into consulting, where, as a Business Developer, he managed international clients with a focus on regulation and certification. He joined Swisscom in 2011, where he worked in product management to shape the development of IP-based broadband products for SMEs. In 2014, he headed up the development of SDN/NFV-based network products in conjunction with Swisscom’s Innovation department, gaining extensive experience in agile software development and the related transformation in the field of telecommunications. Since moving to Swisscom’s corporate customer team at the start of 2017, Julian Dömer has been responsible for 5G development in the Mobile Business Solutions department and was Head of Innovation until October 2018. He is currently the head of IoT at Swisscom Enterprise Solutions.





More on the topic

Entretien avec Julian Dömer

Ecosystèmes IoT 

Seul, l’IoT reste petit


Le plus gros frein à l’IoT n’est pas technologique, mais culturel. Les projets IoT nécessitent des partenariats fondés sur la confiance. Julian Dömer prône l’ouverture et la création d’écosystèmes intelligents.


Texte: Hansjörg Honegger, Images: Daniel Brühlmann, 18 décembre 2018




Aujourd’hui encore, l’IoT garde son statut de technologie d’avenir. Quels projets vous font rêver?


Julian Dömer: Je rêve d’un immeuble entièrement numérique. Personnellement, je suis souvent en recherche d’espaces, de machines à café, d’imprimantes... et j’oublie d’éteindre la lumière en sortant des pièces. Je rêve d'un immeuble qui connaîtrait mes habitudes et mon planning.


Plusieurs solutions de ce type existent déjà dans la pratique.


Mais le plus souvent, ce sont des solutions séparées. La difficulté réside dans la fragmentation du secteur: les équipes de Facility Management n’ont aucun lien avec les équipes qui réservent les espaces, et ces dernières ne connaissent souvent pas le responsable des imprimantes. Or, tous ces prestataires doivent collaborer ensemble pour mettre en œuvre un projet IoT qui soit vraiment visionnaire.


Actuellement, les projets IoT se heurtent plutôt au manque de continuité qu’à un problème de technologie. Les entreprises utilisatrices devraient-elles s’organiser autrement?


Non, ce sont les fournisseurs qui doivent faire ce travail. Prenons le secteur de la fabrication, qui est déjà bien avancé en ce qui concerne l’Internet des objets: si vous souhaitez lancer une solution, la palette de partenaires possibles est importante: fournisseurs de machines et de matières premières, les programmeurs de logiciels (ERP, commande des machins, etc.), réseauteurs... Tous ces acteurs doivent collaborer pour permettre à votre projet IoT de prendre son envol.


Julian Dömer im Interview

Vous voulez parler d’écosystèmes?


Oui. Une ouverture est nécessaire du côté des fournisseurs pour que des projets intéressants puissent être lancés. Au cours des dernières années, nous avons mis en œuvre des projets IoT «évidents». C’est le cas par exemple des applications de lecture de compteurs électriques. Aujourd’hui, on monte dans la complexité.


Pouvez-vous préciser? 


Les entreprises participantes ne doivent plus uniquement tirer sur la même corde, elles doivent aussi impliquer les bonnes personnes.


Quel est le rôle de Swisscom dans ce contexte?


Nous sommes opérateur de plateforme. Nous sommes bons dans ce rôle: notre infrastructure est évolutive, nous maîtrisons l’exploitation. Cependant, il nous manque souvent la compréhension de la logique métier: pour cela nous avons besoin de faire appel à des spécialistes. Des spécialistes qui de leur côté peinent souvent à comprendre l’exploitation de la plateforme: Il est donc possible de mettre en place une relation gagnant-gagnant.



Qui assemblerait l’écosystème? 


C’est souvent Swisscom, ce qui est somme toute logique: de par notre taille et notre interconnexion avec l’économie suisse, nous connaissons bien les clients. Nous connaissons aussi très bien les partenaires potentiels. Nous réunissons les plateformes, les personnes, les compétences et les équipes. Cela marche parce que nous bénéficions d'une grande confiance de tous ces acteurs.


Et en cas d’échec? Qui en assumera la responsabilité?


Tout investissement dans de nouvelles technologies comporte des risques. Il ne faudrait pas tant rechercher les responsabilités que les raisons de cet échec. Sur la base de ces enseignements, il sera possible de créer.


Julian Dömer im Interview

Vous opérez dans un environnement extrêmement dynamique. Le changement rapide des technologies et des normes peut-il expliquer l'échec des projets IoT?


Pas forcément. Les projets IoT proposent une toute nouvelle façon de faire les choses. C’est pourquoi j’ai besoin de faire appel à l’expertise de secteurs très différents. J’ai besoin de deux compétences fondamentales: d'une part l’ouverture d’esprit permettant d'interroger et de réviser les choses établies De l'autre, la confiance vis-à-vis des tiers qui contribuent par leurs propres prestations. Il n’est pas toujours évident d'obtenir le bon mix. Nombre de projets IoT échouent du fait de l’absence d'une culture commune. Lorsque l’alchimie n’est pas présente dans une équipe, les choses peuvent devenir très compliquées. Pour réussir la mise en œuvre de projets IoT dans un écosystème, il convient de changer de culture au niveau des entreprises.


Et pourtant. Pour de nombreux fournisseurs, la jungle des normes devient un obstacle.


C’est effectivement un problème. Selon les analystes du marché, il existe aujourd'hui de 450 à 600 plateformes IoT dans le monde. Le problème est connu, et une standardisation des protocoles et des plateformes est en cours. Nous nous trouvons à présent à la moitié du chemin.


Ne vaudrait-il pas mieux, dans ce contexte, que les entreprises utilisatricees patientent en attendant la fin de ce processus?


D'une part, cette décision dépend du cycle de vie, par exemple de l’installation de production. On ne met pas en place une nouvelle usine en rase campagne juste pour un projet IoT. D’autre part , tout projet demande de faire montre d’une certaine appétence pour le risque, sans quoi on ne peut que louper le coche.


Comment faire concrètement pour s'attaquer à un tel projet?


Il faut m’appeler! (rire). Plus sérieusement, la première étape consiste à identifier ses propres faiblesses. Puis de définir ses propres Business-Cases. Souvent, obtenir un regard extérieur sur sa problématique peut être très utile. C’est là que Swisscom entre en jeu.


Swisscom peut-elle exister face à la concurrence internationale?


Par rapport aux opérateurs internationaux, Swisscom a l’avantage d’être encore relativement petite. Nos experts en interne se connaissent bien, ils se font confiance et échangent librement entre eux. Ils ont la même vision de la culture du travail, habitent la même région et parlent la même langue que nos clients. Tous ces atouts favorisent la confiance mutuelle et l'établissement d'une tout autre culture de la collaboration. A ceci s'ajoute une palette unique de savoir-faire qui permet de casser les silos et de réunir tous les experts autour de la même table.


Julian Dömer im Interview

Malgré tout cela, la sécurité de l’IoT reste un défi important.


Il est clairement nécessaire de déterminer la destination de toutes ces données. Les applications IoT basées sur Internet doivent être analysées avec précision: quels terminaux, quels pilotages? Qui a accès? Quelles données sont transportées? Le risque ici – mot de passe «DDoS» – est très important. La majeure partie de nos projets IoT – nous en comptons plus de 500 actuellement – sont gérés sur des réseaux privés. Nous mettons beaucoup de mesures en place pour protéger ces réseaux Cette approche fournit une toute nouvelle base en matière de sécurité.


Comment voyez-vous évoluer l’IoT dans les prochaines années? 


La première vague, qui approche lentement de son terme, était l’interconnexion. Nous sommes aujourd'hui au début de la deuxième vague, qui va voir émerger beaucoup de nouveaux business-cases Je pense pouvoir affirmer que d’ici à cinq ans, l’IoT aura autant d'influence sur l'économie et la société que la technologie smartphone au cours des dix dernières années.


Swisscom Enterprise IoT


Swisscom Enterprise IoT rassemble différentes technologies d'accès, plateformes et un grand écosystème. Une approche modulaire et indépendante des technologies permet aux clients de connecter et gérer facilement les objets IoT, de modifier les données IoT et ainsi de faire avancer leurs projets Swisscom leur permet en plus d’accéder à un écosystème IoT établi, mais aussi à des solutions de sécurité Cloud et d'analyse de données pour leur permettre de donner vie à leurs projets IoT. Swisscom, pionnière de l’IoT, revient sur 15 années d’expérience.

> En savoir plus sur Enterprise IoT

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?

> Inscription




Julian Dömer


Julian Dömer est diplômé en gestion d’entreprise. Pendant ses études et après, il a travaillé dans l’industrie pharmaceutique. Après avoir commencé en tant que responsable de projet chez un constructeur, il est ensuite passé dans le conseil et a accompagné, en tant que Business Developer, des clients internationaux sur les problématiques de réglementation et de certification. En 2011, il prenait en charge le développement des produits à haut débit basés sur IP pour les PME au sein de la gestion produits Swisscom. A partir de 2014, il a dirigé, conjointement avec le département d'innovation de Swisscom, le développement des produits réseaux SDN/NFV. Ce poste lui a permis d'acquérir de l'expérience dans le développement agile et la transformation du secteur des télécommunications. Début 2017, Julian Dömer a repris la responsabilité du développement de la 5G au sein du département Mobile Business Solutions pour les grands clients. Il a occupé le poste de Head of Innovation jusqu’à octobre 2018. Actuellement, il est Head of IoT chez Swisscom Enterprise Solutions.





En savoir plus sur ce thème