Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Dätwyler: innovation through digitalisation

Digital transformation

Where innovation is rooted in tradition

Digitalisation is forcing many long-standing Swiss companies to make extensive changes in order to survive – and the manufacturing industry is no exception. Dätwyler Cabling Solutions, based in the Swiss canton of Uri, shows how to marry tradition with innovation.

Text: Hansjörg Honegger, Image: Dätwyler Cabling Solutions

Innovative companies make money – with new or improved products, integrated solutions and services. Many statistics show Switzerland to be the world leader in innovation, but the trend is actually headed in a different direction. In 2016, 54.6% of Swiss industrial companies stated that they were introducing product or process innovations. In 2014, Swiss manufacturing companies were still the world leaders at 60.2%. This is one of the findings of the study “Research and Innovation in Switzerland 2020” published by the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SFBI).

 

The causes are complex, as the study also shows. Interaction between educational institutions, government and the economy, as well as opportunities for the transfer of knowledge and technology, are just as important as the internal organisation of companies and their culture of innovation.

Rooted in the community

Truly embracing innovation means more than simply planning for it or mentioning it in a glossy company brochure. It requires a corporate culture that is open to new ideas and is ready to face challenges and adapt accordingly. Founded in 1915 and based in the Swiss canton of Uri, Dätwyler Cabling Solutions is a traditional company whose history perfectly exemplifies this premise. Together with its sister company, Dätwyler Holding AG, the company is the canton’s largest employer and is deeply rooted in the population. “We have employees whose parents and grandparents worked for Dätwyler,” says Adrian Bolliger, Managing Director Europe at Dätwyler Cabling Solutions.

Adrian Bolliger, Managing Director Europe at Dätwyler Cabling Solutions

“It requires everyone in the company to be ready and willing to make the change.”

Adrian Bolliger, Managing Director Europe at Dätwyler Cabling Solutions

But this long-standing company operates in a very competitive field, having made a name for itself internationally in the cabling systems market. “In this segment, however, a lot of things are now defined mainly by price,” says Bolliger. This is tough for a company based in the high-wage country of Switzerland, which prides itself above all on quality, service and innovation. The business model had to change, but without alienating the company’s loyal, long-serving and highly trained employees.

Switzerland is falling behind

According to the SFBI study, there are two ways to make money from innovations: either develop an innovative product that is new to the company and comparable in function to other existing products (company innovation), or introduce something completely new (market innovation). For industrial companies in Switzerland, company innovations represent around 15% of sales, market innovations around 7%. Switzerland is falling behind other countries when it comes to market innovations; in the Netherlands this figure is 16.5%, with 12.6% in Italy and 11.5% in France.

 

Adrian Bolliger is aware of this issue. “We are well-versed in developing and optimising our products and solutions.” But that is no longer enough today. Sometimes business models have to be completely redesigned. For Dätwyler Cabling Solutions, this means evolving from cable manufacturer to IT solution provider. “More and more customers are looking for a comprehensive consultation when it comes to IT infrastructure, rather than an isolated approach that focuses only on cabling. And this is precisely where we fit in – by offering our customers sustainable IT infrastructures that adapt to their needs.” This also involves investment and investment protection. The amount of data is growing rapidly, but cloud-based solutions are not the only option. In fact, there is a pronounced trend for processing more data on site. “We identified this trend years ago, and made it one of our new core competencies – flexible and fast solutions that optimise the flow of data in terms of security, speed and benefits,” explains Bolliger. By offering a range of services including consulting, implementation, maintenance and servicing, Dätwyler Cabling Solutions has transformed itself into a service provider.

Learning within your own company

The way products and services are developed is also changing. For example, in order to learn more about IoT and develop services for the market, Dätwyler Cabling Solutions networks its own machines, imports the data into its own mini data centres and has begun using this data to optimise production processes. “We are working with Swisscom and our own IT department to develop an optimal solution,” says Bolliger. Dätwyler is consciously setting out on the long, bumpy road toward product development transformation. This allows the company to learn for itself how best to do it – knowledge it can then pass on to its customers. “This is opening up exciting prospects for tackling the market together with Swisscom.”

Dätwyler Cabling Solutions aims to evolve from a cable manufacturer to a service provider.

Becoming a company that can maintain its global reputation as a producer of cable systems while also offering its customers and partners more far-reaching solutions – it’s a long path and one that requires meticulous planning. After all, a company that actively cultivates and promotes innovation will be more successful than one that sits and waits for the brilliant idea to come from someone else – another finding of the SFBI study.

 

Management has drawn up a plan to be implemented within four years (see “The six workstreams”). “We work in six workstreams, each of which is led by a member of the management team,” says Bolliger. “By 2022, the company will be reorganised and realigned. We call our transformation project ‘WeMove’.”

Involving employees is a must

Restructuring on this scale naturally also involves changes for the employees. And again, we can look to traditional company Dätwyler here. Bolliger nods earnestly when asked about this topic. “It requires everyone to be ready and willing to make the change, because we are working in partnership with our employees. We explain to them exactly why this is necessary, what we are changing for what reason and what skills are needed to do so. Most employees understand that and are willing to take the journey with us.” Adrian Bolliger is also willing to give his employees the time they need. For example, the department head whose team was selected for the Lean Management project. “He suddenly had an entirely different job. I gave him a book to read with lots of background information, and we discussed the requirements together. After a while he came to me and said: I’ll do it!”

 

The 105-year-old company is setting out on the journey of modernisation with its employees, just as it did in the 80s when the company began producing fibre optic cables – which was an unprecedented innovation at the time. But one thing is clear to Bolliger: “Manufacturing is in our DNA, and we will never be a pure service provider.” That is probably a good thing, since Dätwyler Cabling Solutions is certainly already one of the 54.6% of Swiss companies that are innovating.


The six workstreams for change

Dätwyler Cabling Solutions has adopted a systematic process for reinventing itself. The transformation will be completed within four years and in six workstreams.

 

1. Structures

Builds the future organisation that meets the requirements of an IT company. Lean and agile organisational structures help ensure success in the rapid development of new services and products. For example, the company introduced a business development function alongside product management to increase its focus on radical innovation.

 

2. Processes

All processes and tools are revised and, where necessary and appropriate, digitalised or automated for efficient, powerful operations. This includes the use of RPA (robotic process automation) for inside sales.

 

3. Internal Communication

This workstream involves reworking communication with and between employees. The company uses various channels to share relevant messages with employees in production and sales in different countries, for example.

 

4. External Communication (marketing)

Not only is Dätwyler Cabling Solutions’ brand first-class, it is also clearly positioned. A number of adjustments are required to truly raise Dätwyler’s profile as an IT company. For example, the company is making greater use of social media for external communication, but the brand will also be changed to Dätwyler IT Infra in the coming weeks. This approach combines the best of both worlds: Dätwyler as a strong brand with a reputation as an IT provider.

 

5. Innovation

This workstream defines innovations – both evolutionary and revolutionary – for cabling systems and for the IT business. The two come together in use cases for complete solutions. The method of development, for example waterfall model and/or scrum, is defined in workstream structures.

 

6. Skills

This workstream combines the best of both worlds: the employees – some of whom have been making a name for themselves in the cabling systems field for decades – and the new skills required in the field of IT. Dätwyler Cabling Solutions is able to achieve this thanks to an intelligent mix of employee training and specialist recruitment.


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

Dätwyler: l’innovation grâce à la numérisation

Transformation numérique

Là où l’innovation est ancrée dans la tradition

La numérisation oblige de nombreuses entreprises suisses traditionnelles à procéder à des changements profonds, y compris dans l’industrie, afin de rester viables. Implantée dans le canton d’Uri, Dätwyler Cabling Solutions montre comment allier tradition et innovation.

Texte: Hansjörg Honegger, Image: Dätwyler Cabling Solutions

Les entreprises innovantes gagnent de l’argent grâce à des produits nouveaux ou améliorés, à des solutions complètes et à des services. La Suisse est la championne du monde de l’innovation dans de nombreuses statistiques. La tendance évolue toutefois dans une autre direction. Pour 2016, 54,6 % des entreprises industrielles suisses ont déclaré qu’elles introduiraient des innovations de produits ou de procédés. En 2014, les entreprises de production suisses étaient en tête du classement mondial avec 60,2 %. C’est ce que montre l’étude «Recherche et innovation en Suisse 2020» publiée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’éducation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI).

 

 

Comme l’indique également l’étude, la recherche des causes est une affaire complexe. L’interaction entre les établissements d’enseignement, le gouvernement et l’économie ainsi que les opportunités de transfert de connaissances et de technologies jouent un rôle tout aussi important que l’organisation interne des entreprises et que la culture de l’innovation réellement vécue.

Ancrage au sein de la population

Pour vivre réellement l’innovation, il ne suffit pas de la réaliser ou d’en faire état dans la brochure de l’entreprise imprimée en quadrichromie sur du papier glacé. L’innovation nécessite une culture d’entreprise ouverte aux nouvelles idées qui soit prête à relever les défis et à évoluer en conséquence. Le canton d’Uri abrite une entreprise traditionnelle fondée en 1915 qui s’engage de manière exemplaire sur cette voie: Dätwyler Cabling Solutions. Avec sa société affiliée, Dätwyler Holding SA, l’entreprise profondément ancrée dans la population est le plus grand employeur du canton. «Nous avons des collaborateurs dont les parents et les grands-parents avaient déjà travaillé pour Dätwyler», déclare Adrian Bolliger, Managing Director Europe de Dätwyler Cabling Solutions.

Adrian Bolliger, Managing Director Europe de Dätwyler Cabling Solutions

«Il faut la volonté de chacun d’entre nous dans l’entreprise pour réussir le changement.»

Adrian Bolliger, Managing Director Europe de Dätwyler Cabling Solutions

L’entreprise traditionnelle opère néanmoins dans un environnement très concurrentiel. Elle s’est constitué une réputation internationale sur le marché des systèmes de câblage. «Dans ce segment, c’est cependant le prix qui définit désormais de nombreux paramètres», déclare M. Bolliger. De telles conditions sont difficiles à supporter pour une entreprise installée en Suisse, le pays des salaires élevés, qui marque surtout des points par la qualité, le service et l’innovation. Le modèle commercial devait changer sans toutefois irriter les collaborateurs loyaux et bien formés qui travaillent dans l’entreprise depuis longtemps.

La Suisse est dépassée

Selon l’étude du SEFRI, il existe deux façons de gagner de l’argent avec des innovations: développer un nouveau produit innovant pour l’entreprise dont la fonction est comparable à des produits existants (une nouveauté de l’entreprise) ou lancer quelque chose d’entièrement inédit (une innovation sur le marché). Dans l’industrie suisse, la part des ventes des innovations d’entreprises s’élève à environ 15 % et celle des innovations de marché à environ 7 %. Par rapport à d’autres pays, la Suisse est à la traîne en termes d’innovations sur le marché. Ce chiffre atteint en effet 16,5 % aux Pays-Bas, 12,6 % en Italie et 11,5 % en France.

 

Adrian Bolliger est conscient du problème: «Nous sommes très bons dans le développement et dans l’optimisation de nos produits et de nos solutions.» Mais cela ne suffit plus à l’heure actuelle. Les modèles commerciaux doivent parfois être complètement repensés. Pour Dätwyler Cabling Solutions, cela signifie que l’entreprise doit passer du statut de fabricant de câbles à celui de prestataire de solutions informatiques. «Les clients souhaitent bénéficier de plus en plus de conseils globaux en matière d’infrastructure informatique plutôt qu’une vision isolée qui se limite uniquement au câblage. C’est précisément là que nous intervenons en proposant à nos clients des infrastructures informatiques durables qui s’adaptent à leurs besoins.» Pour y parvenir, il faut investir ou protéger les investissements. Les volumes de données augmentent rapidement, mais tout ne doit pas nécessairement être stocké sur le cloud, bien au contraire. La tendance visant à traiter beaucoup de données sur place se maintient. «C’est justement cette tendance que nous avons identifiée il y a quelques années. Nous en avons fait l’une de nos nouvelles compétences centrales: des solutions flexibles et rapides qui optimisent le flux de données en termes de sécurité, de rapidité et d’avantages», explique M. Bolliger. Dätwyler Cabling Solutions est devenue un prestataire dont les services s’étendent du conseil à la maintenance et à l’entretien en passant par l’implémentation.

Apprendre dans sa propre entreprise

La manière dont les produits et les services sont développés évolue elle aussi. Afin d’apprendre dans le contexte de l’IoT et de concevoir des services pour le marché, Dätwyler Cabling Solutions met en réseau ses propres machines, transfère les données dans ses propres minicentres de données et commence à les utiliser pour optimiser ses processus de production. «Nous collaborons ici avec Swisscom et avec notre département informatique pour mettre au point une solution optimale», souligne M. Bolliger. L’évolution des méthodes de conception des produits est un cheminement long et difficile dans lequel Dätwyler s’engage consciemment. De cette manière, l’entreprise apprend sur son propre exemple comment procéder avant de faire profiter ses clients de cette compétence. «Ici aussi, des opportunités passionnantes s’offrent à nous et à Swisscom pour prospecter ensemble le marché.»

Longtemps fabricante de câbles, Dätwyler Cabling Solutions souhaite devenir prestataire de services.

L’entreprise, qui produit toujours des systèmes de câbles, ce qui lui vaut son excellente réputation mondiale, mais qui cherche désormais à proposer à ses clients et à ses partenaires des solutions plus larges. Pour cela, elle devra mener un chemin long qui doit être méticuleusement planifié. Les entreprises qui organisent et qui encouragent délibérément l’innovation sont plus prospères que celles qui espèrent que quelqu’un d’autre sera à l’origine de l’idée brillante et salvatrice. C’est ce que montre également l’étude du SEFRI.

 

La direction a élaboré un plan qui doit être mis en œuvre dans un délai de quatre ans (voir encadré Les six Workstreams). «Nous travaillons dans six Workstreams, chacun d’eux étant dirigé par un membre de la direction», indique M. Bolliger. «L’entreprise devrait être repositionnée ou réalignée d’ici 2022. Nous avons baptisé ce projet de transformation WeMove.»

Les collaborateurs sont indispensables

Une restructuration de cette ampleur s’accompagne naturellement aussi de changements pour les collaborateurs. Et nous voici de nouveau dans l’entreprise traditionnelle Dätwyler. M. Bolliger prend un air sérieux lorsqu’on l’interroge à ce propos: «Il faut la volonté de chacun d’entre nous pour réussir le changement. Nous nous engageons dans ce projet avec nos collaborateurs. Nous leur expliquons précisément pourquoi il est nécessaire, les raisons des divers changements et les compétences nécessaires pour y arriver. La plupart de nos collègues le comprennent et font le chemin avec nous.» Adrian Bolliger est également prêt à donner à ses collaborateurs le temps dont ils ont besoin. Citons par exemple le chef de département dont l’équipe a été sélectionnée pour le projet Lean Management. «Sa mission a soudainement changé du tout au tout. Je lui ai donné un livre contenant de nombreuses informations de fond que je lui ai demandé de lire et nous avons discuté ensemble des exigences. Quelque temps plus tard, il est venu me voir et m’a dit: «Je relève le défi!».

 

L’entreprise traditionnelle de 105 ans emprunte le chemin de la modernité avec ses collaborateurs, comme dans les années 80, lorsque l’entreprise s’est lancée dans la production de câbles en fibre optique, une innovation sans précédent à l’époque. Une chose est claire pour M. Bolliger: «Notre ADN sera toujours celui d’une entreprise de production. Nous ne serons jamais un pur prestataire de services.» C’est probablement une bonne chose. Dätwyler Cabling Solutions fait d’ores et déjà partie des 54,6 % des entreprises suisses qui innovent.


Les 6 Workstreams du changement

Dätwyler Cabling Solutions se réinvente dans le cadre d’un processus contrôlé. Le changement sera mis en œuvre dans un délai de quatre ans dans six Workstreams.

 

1. Structures

construire la future organisation qui répondra aux exigences d’une société de services informatiques. Des formes d’organisation allégées et agiles feront partie de la recette du succès pour développer rapidement de nouveaux services et produits. Outre la gestion des produits, Dätwyler a également introduit le développement commercial qui lui permettra de se pencher sur des innovations radicales.

 

2. Processus

tous les processus et outils sont remaniés et, le cas échéant, numérisés ou automatisés pour que l’entreprise puisse agir de manière efficace et performante. L’utilisation de la RPA (Robotics Process Automation) pour les ventes internes en fait partie.

 

3. Communication interne

la communication vis-à-vis des collaborateurs et entre eux est révisée dans ce Workstream. Différentes méthodes sont déployées à cette fin, par exemple pour communiquer les messages pertinents aux collaborateurs de la production et des ventes dans les différents pays.

 

4. Communication externe (marketing)

Dätwyler Cabling Solutions est une marque de premier ordre clairement positionnée. Quelques ajustements sont nécessaires pour que les clients perçoivent encore mieux Dätwyler comme une société de services informatiques. La communication externe s’appuie par exemple de plus en plus sur les réseaux sociaux et la marque Dätwyler IT Infra sera lancée dans les prochaines semaines. Réunir le meilleur des deux mondes: Dätwyler, marque forte perçue comme un prestataire informatique.

 

5. Innovation

de nouvelles innovations, à la fois évolutionnaires et révolutionnaires, sont définies ici, tant pour les systèmes de câblage que pour l’activité informatique. Les deux mondes sont associés dans des cas d’utilisation pour proposer des solutions globales. L’approche de développement, caractérisée par exemple par un modèle de cascade et/ou de scrum, est définie dans des structures de Workstream.

 

6. Compétences

le meilleur des deux mondes est réuni dans ce Workstream: d’une part, les collaborateurs, dont certains se sont fait une réputation dans le domaine des systèmes de câblage depuis des décennies et d’autre part, de nouvelles compétences qui sont requises dans l’environnement informatique. Dätwyler Cabling Solutions y parvient grâce à une combinaison judicieuse de formation de son personnel et de recrutement de spécialistes.


Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème: