Newsletter Partner Login Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Contact

Improving IT security with bug bounties

Bug bounty hunters

On the hunt for hidden security loopholes

Bug bounty hunters track security loopholes – and get paid for it. ‘Good hackers’ thus help companies improve their IT security. However, it’s not just about the money.

Text: Andreas Heer, Images: Adobe Stock, 25 n

Companies invest a significant proportion of their IT budget in security measures to protect data, applications and systems. But does this protection actually work, and how resistant is the infrastructure to cyber attacks? Security tests are an efficient way to check. With targeted and planned attacks on your own infrastructure, you can find out how secure it really is – before cyber-criminals strike.

 

But it’s not just the in-house security experts who can carry out these attacks. The available expertise and thus the wide range of attack possibilities that such penetration tests offer can be considerably expanded if external specialists also come into play. This is the purpose of ‘bug bounty programmes’ – real competitions with cash prizes for the successful uncovering of security loopholes.

Successful hunters ensure secure businesses

Of course, these attacks must be carried out within a contractually controlled framework. This both legitimises the attacks and protects participants. In addition, the company under attack will require time to close any gaps in security. The bug bounty hunters are rewarded with payments, the extent of which may depend on the work involved in the attack and the severity of the security loophole. ‘Bug bounties help us find and eliminate vulnerabilities which may still exist despite all our security measures,’ explains Florian Badertscher, who is responsible for the Swisscom bug bounty programme.

 

Badertscher had to dip his hand in his pocket several times last year, paying out around CHF 350,000 to participants. In turn, they managed to close around 400 gaps in security. It was money well spent. After all, the costs and reputational damage resulting from a successful attack by cyber-criminals could be many times higher.

It’s about more than just money

But who are these bug bounty hunters, often known as ‘good hackers’ or ‘white hats’? And what motivates them to take part in such programmes? Two participants of the Swisscom Bug Bounty provide some answers. One of them doesn’t really fit the image that society has of hackers (a common view when talking to these people). He’s an 18-year-old student from Hungary called Patrik Fábián who arrived for the interview with short hair and a collared shirt. But appearances can be deceptive; last year he used his expertise to uncover vulnerabilities at Swisscom and earned over a third of the whole bounty sum. Naturally money is an incentive, but it’s not his entire motivation. ‘I can help companies better protect their customer data – which is becoming increasingly important.’ In addition, Fábián voluntarily helps with open-source projects that make the software more secure.

 

Raphaël Arrouas sees it much the same way. ‘I can help increase the security of a company. When it comes to Swisscom, this also involves our own data.’ Arrouas began his career as a professional penetration tester, but now works full-time as an independent bug bounty hunter.

 

Another aspect resonates for them both: the appeal of a challenge and the curiosity of finding loopholes. Or, as Fábián explains it: ‘I love finding new areas of attack that no one has taken advantage of before.’

What constitutes a good bug bounty programme

For Fábián, uncovering security loopholes and the subsequent communication with the person responsible is his favourite part of a bug bounty programme. This exchange is key in fostering trust between participants and organisers and thus significant for the success and acceptance of such a programme. ‘I expect those responsible to respond quickly and on equal terms’, says Arrouas.

 

He also appreciates it when the material reward reflects not just the severity of the loophole but also the amount of work involved in uncovering it. And, of course, he wants to be recognised as the one who uncovered the loophole. ‘This helps to strengthen my reputation.’ Arrouas doesn’t use an alias for bug bounties. ‘Even for white hats, anonymity used to be mandatory to reduce the risks of prosecution. Today, it remains important for privacy reasons, but an important part of the community now prefers to publish articles and vulnerabilities under their real names, to convey trust and reputation.’

Legal safeguards protect the good guys

Penetrating external computer systems is a criminal offence. Under Article 143bis of the Swiss Criminal Code, the punishment could be up to three years in prison. So providing legal protection for bug bounty programmes is crucial in protecting participants from prosecution, as Arrouas emphasises. ‘Since Swiss regulations are so restrictive, a protection clause in the contract provides the necessary security and trust.’ Potential participants could otherwise be scared off. Most importantly, this type of clause protects the good guys, adds Arrouas: ‘Cyber criminals will try to penetrate the systems either way.’

 

This type of protection will also protect participants in the event of any unwanted side effects – for example, if systems crash. In any case, Arrouas is cautious when it comes to bug bounty programmes. ‘I carry out attack attempts manually rather than through automation,’ he says. ‘I wouldn’t want personal data to be accidentally leaked.’

 

Both Arrouas and Fábián are convinced of the benefits of such bug bounty programmes for organisers. ‘This type of crowdsourcing in IT security provides better protection and strengthens customer trust.’ A bug bounty programme is also a good sign that a company takes its IT security seriously.  


The bug bounty hunters

Raphaël Arrouas

Raphaël Arrouas has been involved in cyber security and hacking since his youth. During his studies, he deepened his specialist knowledge and subsequently began working as a penetration tester. He recently turned his career focus to freelance bug bounty hunting.

Patrik Fábián

Fábián has been using computers since early childhood. He acquired his knowledge through online programmes and YouTube videos of proofs of concept (which demonstrate how security loopholes can be exploited) during his free time. Once he completes his education, he would like to continue working in the field of cyber security, and to start his own web security company.


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact

Améliorer la sécurité IT grâce aux bug bounties

Bug-bounty-hunter

La chasse aux failles de sécurité cachées

Les chasseurs de bugs recherchent des failles de sécurité et améliorent la sécurité IT des entreprises. Quel est l’intérêt et qu’est-ce qu’un bon programme?

Texte: Andreas Heer, Images: Adobe Stock, 25

Les entreprises investissent une part non négligeable de leur budget informatique dans des mesures de sécurité visant à protéger les données, les applications et les systèmes. Mais cette protection fonctionne-t-elle vraiment et dans quelle mesure l’infrastructure résiste-t-elle aux cyberattaques? Les tests de sécurité constituent un moyen efficace pour vérifier cela. Les attaques ciblées et intentionnelles contre sa propre infrastructure sont révélatrices de sa sécurité réelle, avant que les cybercriminels ne frappent.

 

De telles attaques contrôlées ne peuvent pas seulement être menées par des experts en Security internes. Le savoir-faire disponible et donc la diversité des formes d’attaque déployées pour ces tests d’intrusion peuvent être considérablement élargis en faisant appel à des spécialistes externes supplémentaires. Tel est le but de ce que l’on appelle les «programmes bug bounty», des concours réels avec des prix en argent pour la détection réussie des failles de sécurité.

Les chasseurs performants assurent la sécurité des entreprises

Bien entendu, ces attaques doivent avoir lieu dans un cadre contractuel contrôlé. D’une part, il s’agit de légitimer les attaques et donc de protéger les participants. D’autre part, l’entreprise attaquée a besoin de temps pour corriger la faille. En récompense, les chasseurs de primes 2.0 sont récompensés par des bonus, dont le montant peut varier en fonction de l’effort requis pour une attaque et de la gravité de la faille de sécurité. «Les bug bounties nous aident à trouver les vulnérabilités qui peuvent encore subsister malgré toutes nos mesures et à y remédier», explique Florian Badertscher, responsable du programme bug bounty de Swisscom.

 

Badertscher a dû sortir son chéquier plus d’une fois l’an dernier. Il a versé près de 350 000 francs aux participants. En contrepartie, quelque 400 failles ont été corrigées. Cela vaut la peine. En effet, les coûts et les atteintes à la réputation d’une attaque réussie par des cybercriminels sont susceptibles d’être bien plus importants.

C’est plus qu’une simple question d’argent

Mais qui sont ces «bug bounty hunters», souvent appelés «hackers éthiques» ou «White Hats». Et qu’est-ce qui les motive à participer à de tels programmes? Deux participants de la Swisscom Bug Bounty livrent leurs réponses. L’un d’eux a du mal à coller à l’image que le public se fait d’un «hacker» (une expression qui, soit dit en passant, n’est jamais utilisée dans la conversation avec ces personnes): un étudiant hongrois de 18 ans, Patrik Fábián, qui se présente à notre interview avec des cheveux courts et vêtu d’une chemise. Pourtant, l’année dernière c’est bien lui qui a empoché plus d’un tiers de la somme totale des bug bounties, grâce à ses connaissances et aux faiblesses découvertes chez Swisscom. Bien sûr, l’argent est une incitation, mais ce n’est pas la seule motivation: «Je peux aider les entreprises à mieux protéger leurs données clients, ce qui devient de plus en plus important». Fábián apporte également son soutien bénévole à des projets open source visant à rendre leurs logiciels plus sûrs.

 

Raphaël Arrouas tient à peu près le même discours: «Je peux aider à augmenter la sécurité d’une entreprise. Et chez Swisscom, cela concerne aussi notres propres données». Arrouas, qui a commencé sa carrière en tant que professionnel des tests d’intrusion, travaille maintenant à plein temps comme bug bounty hunter indépendant.

 

Il y a un autre aspect qui intéresse les deux: l’attrait des défis et la curiosité de trouver des failles. Ou comme le dit Fábián: «J’adore trouver de nouvelles surfaces d’attaque que personne n’a encore jamais touchées auparavant».

Qu’est-ce qui caractérise un bon programme bug bounty

La détection des failles de sécurité et la communication qui s’ensuit avec les responsables est ce que Fábián préfère dans les programmes bug bounty. Cet échange est essentiel pour établir un climat de confiance entre les participants et les organisateurs et donc déterminant pour le succès et l’acceptation d’un tel programme. «Je m’attends à ce que les responsables réagissent rapidement et sur un même pied d’égalité», déclare Arrouas.

 

Il apprécie également que la reconnaissance matérielle ne soit pas seulement basée sur la gravité de la faille, mais que l’effort fourni pour la détecter soit également récompensé. Et bien sûr, quand on le reconnaît comme étant celui qui a découvert la faille. «Cela m’aide aussi à consolider ma réputation.» Arrouas n’utilise pas de pseudo pour les bug bounties: «Même pour les white hats, l’anonymat était de rigueur afin de réduire les risques de poursuites judiciaires. Cela demeure important pour des raisons de protection de la vie privée, mais de nombreux membres de la communauté préfèrent désormais publier les articles et les vulnérabilités en utilisant leur vrai nom afin d’améliorer leur réputation et la confiance qu’ils inspirent.»

La protection juridique au service des gentils

Quiconque pénètre dans des systèmes informatiques tiers est punissable. Selon l’article 143bis du Code pénal suisse (CP), ces personnes encourent jusqu’à trois ans de prison. La protection juridique dans le cadre des programmes de primes bug bounty est d’autant plus importante pour protéger les participants contre les poursuites, comme le souligne Arrouas: «La législation suisse étant très restrictive, une clause de protection dans le contrat offre la sécurité et la confiance nécessaires». Autrement, cela pourrait dissuader les participants potentiels. Arrouas ajoute qu’une telle clause protège surtout les personnes bien intentionnées: «Les cybercriminels essaient de toute façon de pénétrer les systèmes».

 

Une telle protection devrait également protéger les participants contre les effets secondaires indésirables, tels que les plantages de système. Malgré tout, Arrouas fait preuve de prudence dans les programmes bug bounty: «Je lance des attaques manuelles, pas automatiques», dit-il. «Je ne souhaite pas que des données personnelles soient accidentellement divulguées.»

 

Arrouas et Fábián sont tous deux convaincus des avantages que de tels programmes bug bounty apportent à l’organisateur: «Un tel crowdsourcing de la sécurité IT offre une meilleure protection et renforce ainsi la confiance des clients». Un programme bug bounty est donc également un signe qu’une entreprise prend la sécurité informatique au sérieux.


Les bug bounty hunters

Raphaël Arrouas

Raphaël Arrouas se consacrait déjà à la cybersécurité et au piratage dans sa jeunesse. Pendant ses études, il a approfondi ses connaissances et a ensuite travaillé comme testeur d’intrusion. Depuis peu, il exerce une activité indépendante en tant que bug bounty hunter.

Patrik Fábián

Fábián s’intéresse aux ordinateurs depuis sa plus tendre enfance. Il a acquis ses connaissances pendant son temps libre avec des programmes en ligne et des vidéos de proof of concept (preuve de la façon dont les failles de sécurité peuvent être exploitées) sur YouTube. A l’issue de sa formation, il souhaite continuer à travailler dans le domaine de la cybersécurité, notamment au sein de sa propre société de sécurité web.



En savoir plus sur ce thème