Cybersecurity attack: Petya ransomware





Ransomware

To cry for: Ransomware attack brings companies to their knees


Petya ransomware is currently bringing tears to the eyes of Swiss companies. After Wanna Cry a few weeks ago, cybercriminals have again attacked Swiss companies with ransomware. Swisscom cybersecurity experts explain what’s going on.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




Ransomware – the latest attack

  • The current attack is a virus that is based in part on so-called Petya malware. It steals login credentials from users and spreads automatically in the network (psexec/wmic), also attacking patched systems. Once the virus has infected a system, it modifies the BIOS boot program, what is known as the master boot record (MBR), and encrypts the master file table.
  • The virus spreads in many ways. It exploits software vulnerabilities, spreads via compromised websites, and sneaks into systems in e-mails with Word or Excel attachments. The extortionists demand $300 in Bitcoin. The sender is an e-mail address hosted by German provider posteo. In the meantime, this account has been blocked.
  • According to security experts from Kapersky, there were some 2000 attacks. Swisscom itself is not affected. First reports were received by MELANI from affected Swiss companies.

Swisscom’s recommendation

The risk of spread over the network is low when you have the latest update status. Computers that have installed updates according to Swisscom’s recommendations are protected against exploitation of this vulnerability. The malware was analysed and its communication channels were blocked in the Swisscom network. The anti-virus solutions used by Swisscom recognise the previously known Trojan files and delete them automatically.


The biggest threat is users who are handling their e-mails with global administrator privileges, as the Trojan might use their privileges to infect other computers on the same network.






Further sources



Current informations


Would you like to receive up-to-date information and exciting content about security? Sign up here.




More on the topic


Mail Security

Provides your users with reliable and comprehensive protection against spam, viruses, spyware and phishing. The simple cloud solution for all mail servers.

Cyberattaques: ransomware Petya





Ransomware

À pleurer: une épidémie de ransomware paralyse les entreprises


Le logiciel de rançon Petya met actuellement la larme aux yeux des entreprises suisses. Après Wanna Cry qui a fait des ravages il y a quelques semaines, des cybercriminels ont de nouveau attaqué des entreprises suisses à coup de rançongiciel. Les experts en cybersécurité de Swisscom expliquent ce qui se cache derrière.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




Ransomware – la nouvelle attaque

  • L’attaque actuelle est due à un virus reposant en partie sur le logiciel malveillant baptisé Petya. Celui-ci dérobe les données de connexion des utilisateurs, puis se propage automatiquement dans tout le réseau (psexec/wmic). Il n’épargne pas non plus les systèmes patchés. Dès que le virus a infecté le système, il modifie son logiciel de démarrage BIOS appelé Master Boot Record (MBR) et crypte la Master File Table.
  • Le virus se propage de manières très différentes. Il utilise par exemple les vulnérabilités d’un logiciel, se propage par le bais de sites Internet compromis ou s’infiltre par l’intermédiaire de fichiers Word ou Excel annexés à des e-mails. Les racketteurs demandent une rançon de 300 dollars en bitcoin. L’expéditeur est une adresse e-mail hébergée chez le fournisseur allemand posteo. Celle-ci est maintenant bloquée.
  • Aux dires des experts en sécurité de Kaspersky, environ 2 000 attaques ont eu lieu à ce jour. Swisscom n’a pas été touché. Chez MELANI, les premières annonces d’entreprises suisses touchées sont arrivées.

Recommandations de Swisscom

Le danger d’une propagation par le biais d’un réseau correctement mis à jour est faible. Les ordinateurs sur lesquels les mises à jour ont été effectuées conformément aux recommandations de Swisscom sont protégés contre l’exploitation de cette vulnérabilité. Le logiciel malveillant a été analysé et ses canaux de communication ont été bloqués dans le réseau Swisscom. Les solutions antivirus utilisées par Swisscom reconnaissent les chevaux de Troie connus et effacent les fichiers correspondants automatiquement.


Le danger majeur émane cependant des utilisateurs qui traitent leurs e-mails avec des droits d’administrateurs globaux, car le cheval de Troie peut alors infecter, avec leurs privilèges, d’autres ordinateurs connectés au même réseau.






Sources complémentaires



Informations actuelles


Vous désirez recevoir des informations actuelles et contenus fascinants ayant trait au thème Security? Inscrivez-vous ici dès maintenant.




En savoir plus sur ce thème