Advanced Persistent Threats: malicious cyber attacks

Advanced Persistent Threats (APT)

Malicious cyber attacks: on average undetected for 200 days


With its high concentration of international organisations and companies, Switzerland has a higher risk of cyber operations, according to MELANI’s half-yearly report on the security situation in Switzerland. These include Advanced Persistent Threats. Cyrill Peter explains how such attacks are made and how companies can protect themselves.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




The networks of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) and the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lausanne (CAS) were hacked last year. Experts suspected that the CAS had been targeted by the hacker group “Anonymous Poland” in connection with the exclusion of Russian athletes on the grounds of doping. The exact circumstances and the role played by the hacker group are still not entirely clear. Secret, well-planned attacks such as these are known as Advanced Persistent Threats (APT), which security experts often associate with hacker attacks also supported by foreign governments. “Fancy Bear” was the name of the group that published data on athletes from all over the world that was supposedly taken from the WADA databases.

 

As cuddly as its name is, the group’s methods of attacks were ruthless. Over the past few years, Advanced Persistent Threats (APT) have proven to be efficient cyber weapons. APT attacks are well prepared by the attackers, and in most cases are associated with considerable effort and cost. Consequently the target must be “attractive”: intellectual property, sensitive information or immediate commercial gain.


APT approaches stealthily

Advanced Persistent Threats are a combination of various methods that are used for targeted attacks on companies. The spectrum ranges from available points of exploitation and the targeting of weaknesses to specially developed malware for attacking a specific company. The systems of mobile users, such as notebooks and smartphones, are also particularly affected by this. Attacks target these end devices because they continually establish connections to the company network in order to use the resources of the company, such as mail or file servers. The worst thing is that on average it takes about 200 days for a company to even notice that it has been compromised. This is because really good attacks are no longer “loud” but rather “silent”, and they go unnoticed just as the attackers intended.


So what protection is available?

Current installations usually consist of a range of security systems such as firewalls, intrusion detection and anti-virus scanners. These security infrastructures are and remain an important component and must be cleverly coordinated as a chain. But they are not sufficient to detect or block APTs. Conventional systems recognise known attacks from known systems by means of signatures – known patterns. Zero-day attacks and communication with suspicious networks, botnets and internet services cannot be detected in this way. Dedicated, locally-supported threat intelligence is required in these cases. It provides a relevant source for security analytics and detection solutions, which are able to use various mechanisms such as log data analysis, correlation and behaviour analysis to detect attacks or infected systems. It is also very important to have highly trained security staff who can interpret information quickly and correctly, and then respond accordingly and, if necessary, involve additional specialists from other IT disciplines.

Advanced Persistent Threats explained

APT stands for Advanced Persistent Threat. In the case of an APT, the attack targets a specific victim, or at least a strictly limited number of victims. The instruments used are also very sophisticated. APT attackers use the entire spectrum of techniques and tactics to scout the target before optimising their mode of attack. The attacks are persistent, with the first infected computer in an APT opening the door to the local network. Once the attacker’s foot is in the door, he begins harvesting user rights and penetrating more computers in the local network. He continues until the actual target, such as a PC with research and development data, has been reached. Here the attacker makes himself at home, spying on his victim over a longer period, often without being noticed.


Thinking like hackers

The security departments of companies will play a key role here, of course. Until now they have mainly been busy keeping the security systems up to date, but they will increasingly have to put themselves in the attackers’ shoes. This means thinking like hackers in order to stay one step ahead of them. Companies without these resources can get professional help from specialist security service providers. These not only have all the right tools, but above all experts who keep an eye on the systems day and night, interpret security events correctly and initiate actions for resolving security incidents.




More on the topic


   

Threat Detection & Response

Obtain an overview of potential security incidents and get professional support in the event of cyber security attacks.

Go to offer

Advanced Persistent Threats: cyberattaques passées inaperçues

Advanced Persistent Threats (APT)

Cyberattaques sournoises: en moyenne 200 attaques inaperçues par jour


Avec sa densité élevée d’organisations et d’entreprises internationales, la Suisse présente un risque de cyber-opérations accru, a constaté MELANI dans son rapport semestriel sur la sécurité en Suisse. Parmi celles-ci figurent les Advanced Persistent Threats. Cyrill Peter explique comment ces attaques se déroulent et comment les entreprises peuvent s’en protéger.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




Les réseaux de l’agence mondiale antidopage (AMA) et du Tribunal arbitral du sport de Lausanne (TAS) ont été hackés l’année dernière. Les experts supposent que le tribunal a été la cible du groupe de hackers Anonymous Pologne en réaction à l’exclusion pour dopage d’athlètes russes. Les circonstances exactes et le rôle joué par le groupe de hackers n’ont pas été totalement éclaircis. Les experts appellent ce type d’attaques secrètes et très bien préparées «Advanced Persistent Threats» (APT) et y associent fréquemment des cyberattaques perpétrées avec le soutien de gouvernements étrangers. «Fancy Bear» était le nom du groupe qui a publié d’importantes quantités de données sur des athlètes du monde entier censées provenir des bases de données de l’AMA.

 

Sous ce nom adorable se cachent des méthodes offensives impitoyables. Ces dernières années, les Advanced Persistent Threats (APT) se sont avérées constituer une cyber-arme très efficace. Les attaques APT sont bien préparées par leurs auteurs et impliquent généralement des efforts et des coûts importants. La cible doit donc être «intéressante»: propriété intellectuelle, informations sensibles ou butin commercial direct.  


Des cyberattaques à pas de loup

Les Advanced Persistent Threats sont une combinaison de différentes méthodes qui cible spécifiquement les entreprises. Cela va d’une faille de sécurité à l’exploitation d’un point faible jusqu’au développement de logiciels malveillants pour l’attaque d’une entreprise en particulier. Les systèmes mobiles comme les ordinateurs portables et les smartphones sont particulièrement visés. Les attaques ciblent spécifiquement ces terminaux car ils établissent régulièrement des connexions au réseau d’entreprise pour utiliser ses ressources (mail, serveur de fichiers, etc). Il faut en moyenne environ 200 jours pour qu’une entreprise remarque que sa sécurité est compromise. En effet, les meilleures attaques ne sont plus spectaculaires, mais «silencieuses», et ne sont donc plus remarquées. Ce qui est tout à fait dans l’intérêt de l’attaquant.


Comment se protéger?

Les installations actuelles sont généralement constituées d’un grand nombre de systèmes de sécurité (firewalls, détection des intrusions, scanner antivirus, etc.) Ces infrastructures de sécurité sont et demeurent un composant important et doivent former une chaîne homogène. Mais elles ne suffisent pas à détecter ou à bloquer les APT. Les systèmes classiques ne reconnaissent que les attaques connues, de systèmes et modèles connus grâce à leurs signatures. Ils ne permettent pas de détecter les attaques Zero Day, les communications avec des réseaux, botnets et services Internet suspects. Pour cela, une Threat Intelligence dédiée et locale est nécessaire. Elle est utilisée comme source pertinente pour les solutions d’analyse et de détection de sécurité, qui sont capables d’identifier les attaques ou les systèmes infectés grâce à différents mécanismes tels que l’analyse des données de journal, la corrélation et les analyses de comportement. Cela nécessite également des spécialistes de la sécurité parfaitement formés, capables d’interpréter rapidement et correctement les informations, d’agir en conséquence et, au besoin, de faire appel à des spécialistes d’autres disciplines IT.

Explication des Advanced Persistent Threats

APT est l’abréviation de Advanced Persistent Threat. Les APT sont des attaques ciblées sur une victime précise ou un nombre très limité de victimes. L’arsenal utilisé est également sophistiqué: Les auteurs de l’APT utilisent un éventail complet de techniques et de tactiques, observent leur cible en détail et optimisent le type d’attaque. Les attaques sont menées avec ténacité: le premier ordinateur infecté sert de tête de pont vers le réseau local. Une fois que l’agresseur a un pied dans la porte, il acquiert petit à petit des droits d’utilisateur supplémentaires afin d’accéder aux autres machines du réseau local. Il progresse ainsi jusqu’à atteindre sa véritable cible, par exemple un ordinateur contenant des données de recherche et développement. Il prend alors ses quartiers et peut ainsi espionner sa victime pendant longtemps, souvent sans être remarqué.


Penser comme les hackers

Le rôle des départements Security au sein des entreprises est devenu essentiel. Se contenter de mettre à jour les systèmes de sécurité n’est plus suffisant. Il faut désormais être capable de se mettre à la place de l’attaquant. En d’autres termes: penser comme des hackers pour garder un coup d’avance sur ceux-ci. Une entreprise ne possédant pas ces ressources a la possibilité de recourir à l’aide d’un fournisseur de Security Services spécialisé. Ceux-ci disposent non seulement des outils adaptés, mais surtout d’experts qui surveillent les systèmes 24 heures sur 24 et sont capables d’interpréter efficacement chaque événement et de prendre les mesures correctives appropriées en cas d’incident de sécurité.




En savoir plus sur ce thème


Threat Detection & Response

Avoir une vue d’ensemble sur les incidents de sécurité potentiels et obtenir une assistance professionnelle pour les attaques de Cyber Security.