Work Smart

Promote teamwork

Promoting teamwork despite Work Smart


Under the Work Smart programme, line managers and team-members will not see each other for some weeks in certain cases. Two experts explain what can be done to maintain a sense of team spirit.


Jörg Rothweiler, 16




"Work Smart" offers a great many advantages, but it also provides us with challenges. Such as the issue concerning how we can possibly work as part of a team, if the members of that team are working in geographically separate locations and operating a system of flexible working hours. Dr. Hans Werner, Chief Personnel Officer at Swisscom, believes that the key to success lies in a "consistent and reflective culture consisting of openness, trust and honest feedback." It is essential that (any flexibility in) the scope for each task and the necessary parameters are communicated in unequivocal terms. These must not, however, be imposed upon the workforce by those in management, but should be developed within the team itself. "The rules of Work Smart must apply to everyone. They are based upon performance targets and a distribution of roles – and those are highly individual and can only be developed from within the team itself," said Werner. If the roles are distributed in accordance with the individual strengths of team-members, it will be easier for each member to perform at his or her best. "This creates satisfaction and motivation instead of frustration and the team will pull together and become more efficient."


Utilising the team as the source

Dr. Johann Weichbrodt, an organisational psychologist and member of the academic staff of the Department of Applied Psychology of the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland who is researching Work Smart and the processes that are necessary in order to implement it, also takes the view that this "power of self-organisation" offers a great deal of potential: "The employees are the true masters of their job. They have the most knowledge about what can be achieved within a particular space of time – and what is required in order to work in the most efficient possible way and we must therefore put that knowledge to use!"




Dr. Johann Weichbrodt, Organisational psychologist FHNW


Creating psychological security

This, on the other hand, requires the honest feedback called for by Dr. Hans Werner. "Ensuring that the ideal mix and the team culture can be developed jointly and situationally adapted to the organisational structure in the most effective possible way, not only requires a sense of individual responsibility, but also an entrepreneurial mindset and, most of all honesty, on the part of each person involved. Each person must be in a position to state what he/she requires and what is unsuitable for him/her." Dr. Johann Weichbrodt refers to this as "psychological security". The knowledge that it is possible to express criticism or make statements outside the norm, without falling from grace, forms an essential requirement for success. After all, criticism is just as indispensable during processes of positive change as appreciation. For that matter, specialists are unanimous in the view that appreciation is extremely important.




Hans Werner, Chief Personnel Officer at Swisscom



How do you deal with cultural change?

To make it easier to cope with the cultural change in your company, the Swisscom's Work Smart Coaching Team offers advice and support.  

Find out more

Conveying honest appreciation

But just how do we convey appreciation, if we only see someone in person from time to time? Dr. Hans Werner: "The types of feedback that are perceived as genuine and honest appreciation differ significantly, depending on the individual and the generation to which he or she belongs. One person may be happy if he or she is praised during a group chat, whereas another person may need an individual pat on the back. It is therefore important that appreciation is shown in a completely individual way" and "that must also be the case within the team," added Dr. Johann Weichbrodt. "Celebrating successes together or a few private words in an e-mail or group chat demonstrate that the other person is valued and is perceived as a human being and not only as a colleague."


« Dependable rules and agreed targets are generated from within the team - not by the management team in isolation»



Encouraging informal exchange

"Informal conversation between colleagues" is especially valuable in this regard. Weichbrodt: "The conversations during the coffee break, on the corridor or at the photocopier are extremely important. Work Smart therefore requires focused opportunities for such informal exchanges to take place." Teams should enjoy the same degree of freedom when selecting the channels for that type of exchange as they do when configuring their own schedules. "Teams are as individual as the people that make up the team. Some want to be able to meet up on a weekly basis, whilst others will be satisfied with one video conference per month, plus a group chat," the psychologist explained.


« Teamwork cannot work without trust and an open feedback culture.»



Defining technology and ethics

To this end, Dr. Weichbrodt gives the following advice regarding meta-communications: "Not only is it a case of establishing within the team who will be doing what and who will be working where, but also how and using what systems team members will communicate with one another. What is needed is almost an agreement regarding the ethics and technology of team communications." An agreement of that type would provide a means of avoiding digital presenteeism, in which each person always puts everyone else in "cc", in order to cover themselves and to demonstrate his or her active involvement. "In addition," said Dr. Hans Werner, "what is needed is a powerful collaboration platform, on which the essential documents are easily accessed by everyone working on the same issue, regardless of their location and on which transparency prevails." After all, openness and honesty when collaborating with others and providing mutual feedback are essential for good, efficient teamwork and therefore form a key factor that will enable the benefits of Work Smart to be utilised effectively.

 






Internal communications – a new dimension


With Swisscom Sharespace, your employees will be kept up to date and can play an active part in events, for example by adding comments or by sharing knowledge. Information flows smoothly, while the flood of e-mails is reduced significantly.

Find out more




More on the topic

Work Smart

Promouvoir le travail en groupe

Promouvoir le travail en groupe malgré Work Smart


À l’ère du Work Smart, les membres des équipes et leurs supérieurs passent parfois des semaines entières sans se voir. Deux experts expliquent comment entretenir malgré tout un bon esprit d’équipe.


Jörg Rothweiler, 16




Le «Work Smart» apporte de nombreux avantages. Mais il entraîne aussi des difficultés. Comment, par exemple, peut fonctionner le travail en équipe si les membres de l’équipe sont dispersés et travaillent à différentes heures? Pour Dr. Hans Werner, Chief Personnel Officer de Swisscom, la clé du succès réside dans une «culture de la réflexion cohérente basée sur la transparence, la confiance et un feedback sincère.» Limites et marges de manœuvre doivent être clairement formulées. Mais celles-ci doivent être élaborées par l’équipe et non imposées par la direction. «Les règles du Work Smart doivent être valables pour tous. Elles sont basées sur les objectifs fixés et les rôles attribués; elles sont absolument individuelles et ne peuvent être développées qu’en équipe», souligne Hans Werner. Si les rôles sont attribués en fonction des points forts des membres de l’équipe, chacun peut plus facilement donner le meilleur de lui-même. «Cela entraîne satisfaction et motivation et évite les frustrations; l’équipe se serre les coudes et devient plus efficace.»


L’équipe sert de source

Dr. Johann Weichbrodt, psychologue des organisations et collaborateur scientifique de l’Institut de psychologie appliquée de la Haute école spécialisée de la Suisse du Nord-Ouest, qui fait des recherches dans le domaine du Work Smart et des processus qu’il implique, identifie un grand potentiel dans cette «force d’auto-organisation»: «Les collaborateurs sont les vrais maîtres de leur spécialité. Ce sont eux qui savent le mieux ce qu’ils sont capables de faire et dans quels délais, ainsi que ce dont ils ont besoin pour pouvoir fournir un travail optimal. Il est indispensable de profiter de ce savoir!»




Dr. Johann Weichbrodt, psychologue des organisations FHNW


Installer une sécurité psychologique

Celle-ci permet en retour le feedback sincère demandé par Dr. Hans Werner: «Pour que la composition idéale et la culture d’équipe puissent être élaborées en commun et adaptées le mieux possible aux tâches et à la structure organisationnelle, la prise de responsabilité personnelle et l’esprit d’entreprise mais aussi et surtout la sincérité de chacun sont absolument nécessaires. Chacun doit pouvoir dire ouvertement ce dont il a besoin et ce qui ne lui convient pas.» C’est ce que Dr. Johann Weichbrodt appelle la «sécurité psychologique.» Pour la réussite, il est très important de savoir que l’on peut émettre des critiques et déclarations atypiques sans tomber en disgrâce. La critique est tout aussi indispensable à des changements positifs que l’est la considération. De l’avis de tous les spécialistes, cette dernière est extrêmement importante.




Hans Werner, Chief Personnel Officer de Swisscom


Manifestation d’une considération sincère

Mais comment manifester sa considération si on ne se voit personnellement que très rarement? Dr. Hans Werner: «Ce que l’on perçoit comme des marques de considération sincères et authentiques diffère selon les personnes et les générations. Certains se contentent d’une évocation élogieuse dans le chat de groupe, d’autres ont besoin qu’on leur tapote l’épaule. Ce qui est donc important, c’est que ces marques de considération soient personnalisées», «et ce également au sein de l’équipe», ajoute Dr. Johann Weichbrodt: «Fêter ensemble les succès ou adresser un petit mot personnel dans un mail ou dans un chat de groupe montrent que l’on perçoit et estime l’autre en tant que personne et pas seulement en tant que collègue.


«Les règles fiables et les objectifs fixés en commun doivent être décidés au sein de l’équipe, et non de manière isolée, au niveau de la direction.»



Favoriser les échanges informels

C’est pourquoi le «bavardage entre collègues» est si précieux. Pour Weichbrodt: «Les conversations pendant la pause-café, dans le couloir ou devant la photocopieuse sont extrêmement importantes. Le Work Smart exige donc des opportunités ciblées permettant ces échanges informels.» Pour ces échanges, les équipes devraient être libres de choisir elles-mêmes le planning et les moyens de communication. «Les équipes sont tout aussi individuelles que les personnes qui les forment. Les unes devraient pouvoir se réunir personnellement chaque semaine, les autres se satisferont d’une vidéoconférence mensuelle, complétée par un chat de groupe», explique le psychologue.


«Sans la confiance et sans une culture de feedback sincère, le travail d’équipe ne peut pas fonctionner!»



Définir technique et éthique

C’est pourquoi il conseille de faire appel à la métacommunication: «Au sein de l’équipe, on ne doit pas seulement définir qui fait quoi et qui travaille où et quand, mais aussi comment et par quels moyens les membres communiquent entre eux. Il s’agit en quelque sorte d’un accord sur l’éthique et la technologie de la communication de l’équipe.» Cela permet également d’éviter le présentéisme numérique qui consiste à ajouter chacun dans le «cc» pour assurer ses arrières et montrer à quel point on est actif. «En complément», ajoute Dr. Hans Werner, «on a besoin d’une plateforme de collaboration performante et transparente grâce à laquelle tous ceux travaillant sur un même sujet peuvent accéder aux principaux documents de partout et facilement.» Car la transparence et la sincérité, que ce soit dans la collaboration ou pour le feedback entre collaborateurs, sont essentiels pour un travail d’équipe efficace et jouent ainsi un rôle fondamental pour pouvoir profiter des avantages du Work Smart.






Nouvelle dimension de la communication interne


Grâce à Swisscom Sharespace, vos collaborateurs restent informés et peuvent participer à la vie de l’entreprise, par exemple à travers des commentaires ou des échanges de connaissances. Le flux d’informations s’écoule parfaitement tandis que le flot d’e-mails diminue sensiblement.

En savoir plus




En savoir plus sur ce thème