Into the cloud without any reservations

Cloud migration without any concerns

A smooth move to the cloud with the Cloud Empowerment Team


The cloud prepares the way for the digital transformation, but misconceptions and concerns can often stand in the way of its introduction. How Swiss Re moved past its legacy concerns, dorma+kaba overcame its scepticism about performance and a bank resolved its security reservations.


Text: Christoph Widmer, Images: Keystone, 08 February 2018




As Swiss IT decision-makers are aware, the cloud smooths the pathway for the digital transformation. This was backed up by last year’s CIO study carried out by the University of Applied Sciences of Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW), in which 57 CIOs from companies of different industries and sizes were surveyed. Of these, 75 per cent see the cloud as a digitalisation enabler and an asset to their business – with good reason. Because the service provider is responsible for updating and maintaining the cloud, this reduces the workload of the company’s own IT department. Business processes can be run efficiently without any losses or media discontinuities. And applications developed in the cloud can be scaled and provided very easily, enabling companies to react quickly to market changes. The cloud promises agility and flexibility and enables companies to concentrate fully on their core business.

But even while recognising the potential of the cloud, companies still approach the migration with certain reservations. “Many companies fear that the cloud migration will have serious consequences, often for no good reason,” explains Mathis Kretz, leader of Swisscom’s Cloud Empowerment Team. “During the technical implementation phase, it is often necessary to dispel misconceptions or concerns.” In particular, companies often worry about legacy architectures or performance and security aspects relating to a move to the cloud.


Swisscom Cloud Empowerment Team


Swisscom provides support for the move to the cloud: The Swisscom Cloud Empowerment Team helps companies to choose the right solution from the Swisscom cloud portfolio and shows them how they can use the cloud platforms to enable their own individual digitalisation.


Legacy concerns at Swiss Re

For example, reinsurer Swiss Re had concerns about legacy systems when introducing new digital business models as they switched to a hybrid cloud-based solution: The plan was to run internally developed business-critical applications in the Swisscom Enterprise Application Cloud. However, certain applications had been written around 15 years earlier and were thus not originally designed for the cloud migration: “When they move to the cloud, companies don’t just change the way that they implement and run software, but also the way that they write software,” Kretz explains.

It is certainly true that legacy systems present a big challenge. To solve this problem, Swisscom collaborated closely with a team of developers at Swiss Re. They studied the architecture of a specific business application together and rewrote it for the migration to the cloud infrastructure. From then on, this case was used as a guide for all of the applications that followed. For more than two years, Swiss Re has been migrating its applications and platforms as part of a cloud-only strategy.


Scepticism about performance at dorma+kaba

The dorma+kaba Group, on the other hand, had concerns about performance issues with the use of cloud-based solutions. With “exivo”, an internet-based access solution for SME, the security and access solution provider transformed its business model from product to service business. Because dorma+kaba is using the private Enterprise Application Cloud for the solution and simultaneously Swisscom’s Public Cloud as a test environment for new applications, the demands for processing power were high: It was necessary for both the access solution at the company’s customers and the internal development of business-critical applications to function perfectly. However, because server resources are shared by cloud customers, there was at first some scepticism about the move to the cloud. After the successful migration of smaller services, the service and the development environment are now running on a central platform. In particular, dorma+kaba is benefiting from the microservice architecture that is native to the cloud. This enables the individual applications to be scaled horizontally and adjusted according to the resources required.


Compliance and security at a Swiss bank

Some customers also worry that the migration to the cloud could mean a loss of compliance or security. This was the case for a Swiss bank that is currently planning to migrate standard solutions and its own in-house software to the Swisscom Enterprise Service Cloud. The change often gives rise to questions about authorisation, system accesses or auditing. This is because the DevOps approach, whereby the development team collaborates closely with those responsible for running the systems, can unsettle customers who have particularly sensitive data. “This is why we prepare a compliance framework concept that specifies all of the legal requirements,” Kretz explains. “And we adhere strictly to these regulations during the development phase.”


The cloud necessitates a cultural shift

Swisscom’s Cloud Empowerment Team takes all of these concerns seriously. It works together with the customer in an early phase of the project to develop proofs of concept that directly address any concerns that are raised. Subsequently, the team accompanies its customers through the transformation of an initial small project. This not only enables them to gain their first experience of the cloud environment, it also provides a basis and guidelines for the migration of all of the other services and applications.

The biggest challenges for the move to the cloud are of a cultural nature. For a switch to cloud environments to be successful, companies must move away from rigid, strictly controlled change management processes. Internal organisational units must work with each other, but also with the cloud provider, in order to be able to provide software on an ongoing basis. This is the only way that the cloud can realise its full potential in terms of flexibility, agility and scalability. Kretz is also convinced of this: “The move to the cloud only succeeds when companies recognise its advantages and are willing to question entrenched structures and processes.”




More on the topic

Ohne Zweifel in die Cloud

Cloud Migration ohne Sorgen

Dank dem Cloud Empowerment-Team entspannt in die Cloud


Die Cloud ist der Wegbereiter für die digitale Transformation, falsche Vorstellungen und Bedenken bei Unternehmen verhindern jedoch oft die Einführung. Wie Swiss Re ihre Legacy-Bedenken los wurde, dorma+kaba ihre Skepsis zur Peformance überwand und eine Bank ihre Sicherheits-Vorbehalte aus dem Weg räumte.


Text: Christoph Widmer, Bilder: Keystone, 08. Februar 2018




Schweizer IT-Entscheidungsträger wissen: Die Cloud ebnet den Weg für die digitale Transformation. Das belegt die letztjährige CIO-Studie der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (FHNW), für die 57 CIOs aus Unternehmen von unterschiedlichen Branchen und Firmengössen befragt wurden. Von ihnen sehen 75 Prozent die Cloud als Digitalisierungs-Enabler und wertvoll fürs Geschäft – aus gutem Grund: Da der Service-Provider für die Aktualisierung und Wartung der Cloud zuständig ist, entlastet sie die eigene IT-Abteilung. Geschäftsprozesse können effizient und ohne Verluste oder Medienbrüche abgewickelt werden. Und in der Cloud entwickelte Applikationen lassen sich mühelos skalieren und bereitstellen, so dass Unternehmen schnell auf Marktveränderungen reagieren können. Die Cloud verspricht Agilität, Flexibilität, und ermöglicht Unternehmen, sich vollends auf ihr Kerngeschäft konzentrieren zu können.

Auch wenn das Potenzial der Cloud erkannt wird – der Migration begegnen Unternehmen dann doch mit gewissen Vorbehalten. «Viele Unternehmen befürchten bei der Cloud-Migration oft zu Unrecht massive Konsequenzen», erklärt Mathis Kretz, Leiter des Cloud Empowerment Teams von Swisscom. «Bei der technischen Umsetzung müssen oft falsche Vorstellungen oder Bedenken aus dem Weg geräumt werden.» Gerade wegen Legacy-Architekturen oder Performance- und Security-Bedenken hegen Unternehmen Zweifel am Einstieg in die Cloud.


Swisscom Cloud Empowerment Team


Beim Weg in die Cloud bietet Swisscom Unterstützung: Das Swisscom Cloud Empowerment Team hilft Unternehmen, aus dem Swisscom-Cloud-Portfolio die richtige Lösung zu finden – und zeigt ihnen, wie sie die Cloud-Plattformen nutzen können, um für die individuelle Digitalisierung gerüstet zu sein.


Legacy-Bedenken bei Swiss Re

Bedenken bezüglich Legacy-Systemen hatte beispielsweise die Rückversicherungsgesellschaft Swiss Re, die mit der Einführung neuer digitaler Geschäftsmodelle nun auf eine hybride Cloud-Lösung setzt: Intern entwickelte businesskritische Applikationen sollten in der Swisscom Enterprise Application Cloud betrieben werden. Gewisse Anwendungen wurden allerdings schon vor rund 15 Jahren geschrieben und sind daher ursprünglich nicht für die Cloud-Migration ausgelegt: «Mit dem Schritt in die Cloud ändern Unternehmen nicht nur die Art, wie sie Software einsetzen und betreiben, sondern auch die Art, wie sie Software schreiben», erklärt Kretz.

Legacy-Systeme sind tatsächlich eine grosse Herausforderung. Zur Lösung dieses Problems arbeitete Swisscom eng mit dem Entwicklerteam von Swiss Re zusammen: Sie studierten gemeinsam die Architektur einer konkreten Business-Applikation und schrieben sie für die Migration in die Cloud-Infrastruktur um. Dieser Fall diente fortan als Orientierung für alle weiteren Applikationen: Swiss Re ist nun seit über zwei Jahren daran, im Rahmen einer Cloud-only Strategie seine Applikationen und Plattformen zu migrieren.


Skepsis bezüglich Performance bei dorma+kaba

Bei der dorma+kaba-Gruppe ging der Einsatz von Cloud-Lösungen dagegen mit Performance-Bedenken einher. Die Anbieterin von Sicherheits- und Zutrittslösungen vollzog mit «exivo», einer internetbasierten Zutrittslösung für KMU, einen Wandel ihres Geschäftsmodells: vom Produkt zum Servicegeschäft. Da dorma+kaba für die Lösung die private Enterprise Application Cloud, gleichzeitig aber auch die Public Cloud von Swisscom als Testumgebung für neue Anwendungen im Einsatz hat, waren die Ansprüche an die Rechenleistung gross: Sowohl die Zutrittslösung bei den Kunden als auch die interne Entwicklung businesskritischer Applikationen hatten einwandfrei zu funktionieren. Da Serverressourcen aber unter Cloud-Kunden geteilt werden, war der Weg in die Cloud mit anfänglicher Skepsis verbunden. Nach der erfolgreichen Migration kleinerer Services läuft heute der Service und die Entwicklungsumgebung auf einer zentralen Plattform. dorma+kaba profitiert vor allem von der Cloud-nativen Microservice-Architektur: Dank ihr können einzelne Applikationen horizontal skaliert und angepasst werden – je nach Ressourcenbedarf.


Compliance und Security bei einer Schweizer Bank

Mit der Migration in die Cloud fürchten Kunden oft auch Compliance- oder Security-Einbussen. So etwa eine Schweizer Bank, die derzeit eigens entwickelte Software und Standard-Lösungen in die Swisscom Enterprise Service Cloud migrieren will. Dabei stellen sich oft Fragen nach Autorisierung, Systemzugriffe oder Auditierung. Denn der DevOps-Ansatz, unter dem das Entwicklungsteam eng mit den Betriebsverantwortlichen zusammenarbeitet, wirkt auf Kunden mit besonders sensiblen Daten oft abschreckend. «Deshalb erarbeiten wir ein Compliance-Rahmenkonzept, dass alle rechtlichen Anforderungen festhält», erklärt Kretz. «Wir halten uns bei der Entwicklung streng an diese Regularien.»


Die Cloud setzt Kulturwandel voraus

Das Cloud Empowerment Team von Swisscom nimmt all diese Zweifel ernst: Gemeinsam mit dem Kunden entwickelt es schon in einem frühen Stadium Proofs of Concept, in denen geäusserte Bedenken direkt adressiert werden. Anschliessend begleitet das Team seine Kunden bei der Transformation eines ersten kleinen Projekts. Mit diesem können nicht nur erste Erfahrungen in der Cloud-Umgebung gesammelt werden; es dient auch als Grundlage und Richtwert für die Migration aller weiterer Services und Applikationen.

Die grössten Herausforderungen beim Weg in die Cloud sind kulturell bedingt. Für einen erfolgreichen Umstieg auf Cloud-Umgebungen müssen Unternehmen Abstand von rigiden, streng kontrollierten Change-Management-Prozessen nehmen. Interne Organisationseinheiten müssen untereinander, aber auch mit dem Cloud-Provider zusammenarbeiten, um fortlaufend Software bereitstellen zu können. Nur so kommt das Potenzial der Cloud auch zum Tragen: Flexibilität, Agilität und Skalierbarkeit. Davon ist auch Kretz überzeugt: «Der Weg in die Cloud gelingt nur, wenn Unternehmen ihre Vorteile erkennen und bereit sind, auch festgefahrene Strukturen und Prozesse zu hinterfragen.»





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema