Cloud security thanks to shared responsibility

Shared Responsibility 

How providers and user companies protect the cloud

When it comes to protecting the public cloud, the provider and the company using the cloud share the responsibility. The shared responsibility model defines precisely how.

Text: Christoph Widmer, Images: tnt-graphics, 28 may 2019

Computing power at the touch of a button. Business-relevant applications that can be accessed at any time. Prefabricated development environments that are available to IT departments: The cloud has fundamentally changed the way IT is consumed. However, the issue of information security (IT security, information and data protection) has also become more complex as a result. The security of the public cloud in particular often leads to misunderstandings and false assumptions among cloud consumers. As much as they are used to classic outsourcing models and want to be unburdened in terms of security, they cannot simply pass on the issue of cloud security entirely to the cloud provider. Cloud consumers are jointly responsible for cloud security if they really want to obtain applications, development environments and/or virtualised server instances securely from the public cloud.

“In principle, the cloud provider is responsible for the security of the cloud infrastructure, while the cloud consumer is responsible for security within the cloud.”

Klaus Gribi, Swisscom Senior Security Consultant

The shared responsibility model defines the respective areas of responsibility of cloud users and cloud providers. Originally formulated by Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure, the division underlying this responsibility model for security and compliance is now also employed by other cloud providers. “Essentially, shared responsibility distinguishes between the security of the public cloud itself and security within the public cloud,” explains Swisscom Senior Security Consultant Klaus Gribi. “In principle, the cloud provider is responsible for the security of the cloud infrastructure, while the cloud consumer is responsible for security within the cloud”

Microsoft Azure shared responsibility model.  

The responsibilities vary depending on the cloud service model that the cloud consumer is using:

  • Infrastructure as a service: Cloud providers assume little responsibility
    In the majority of cases, cloud consumers bear sole responsibility for the security of IaaS solutions. They are responsible for the security of the operating system, the data and the applications. The cloud provider is only responsible for protecting the virtualisation platform.

  • Platform as a service: The cloud provider has greater obligations
    With PaaS, cloud providers take care of the security of the entire development environment as well as the operating systems and databases. For his part, the cloud consumer is responsible for the security and management of the applications developed and running on the platform and the data.

  • Software as a service: Users are unburdened
    With SaaS solutions, the service provider is responsible for the majority of the security aspects. Aside from user management and the data stored in the cloud, the service provider takes care of all the cloud security. The SaaS users are responsible for protecting the data and information. “Users of SaaS solutions are still essentially responsible for ensuring that identity and access management is implemented correctly and that only the data which they really want in the cloud gets into the cloud,” says Gribi. “Cloud consumers can protect outsourced data further by encrypting it.”

Areas of responsibility may differ

Although the shared responsibility model is often merely a rule of thumb, the technical areas for which cloud consumers and providers are responsible can differ from case to case. “Although an IaaS customer is responsible for cloud security from the operating system level, some providers also install components in the operating system, e.g. to monitor the performance of virtualised instances,” Gribi explains. “Shared responsibility is therefore subject to provider-specific limits that may be dynamic.”

 

What’s more, a cloud consumer may also outsource individual tasks. If, for example, he chooses a managed OS of an IaaS instance, responsibility for the operating system no longer lies with him, but with the cloud provider or third-party provider. However, under certain circumstances, firewall management may remain a task for the cloud consumer. Shared responsibility is thus becoming more complex. The service level agreements (SLAs) of the cloud provider define exactly how the responsibilities are divided between the provider and the consumer in each case. That’s why cloud consumers must study the SLAs in detail. Only then can they take appropriate security measures themselves and provide the best possible protection at their end for the cloud services they use.

Technical and organisational factors are also decisive

In addition to these technical aspects, shared responsibility also extends to other factors. For example, cloud consumers need to determine how their chief information security officer can collaborate with the cloud provider’s security organisation:

 

  • How exactly are vulnerability management processes handled?
  • How does the provider conduct security incident management?
  • How is the information made available by the cloud provider’s cloud security portal integrated into the consumer’s own security processes?

 

“The topic of cloud security thus does not end at the technical security level, but also affects cloud consumers from an administrative and organisational perspective,” Gribi notes. “These factors are therefore fundamental from as early as the evaluation and selection of a suitable cloud provider.”

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Cloud-Sicherheit dank Shared Responsibility

Shared Responsibility 

So schützen Provider und Anwenderunternehmen die Cloud

Beim Schutz der Public Cloud teilen sich Anbieter und das Unternehmen, das die Cloud nutzt, die Verantwortung. Wie genau, regelt das Shared-Responsibility-Modell.

Text: Christoph Widmer, Bilder: tnt-graphics, 28. Mai 2019

Rechenleistung auf Knopfdruck. Business-relevante Applikationen, auf die jederzeit zugegriffen werden kann. Vorgefertigte Entwicklungsumgebungen, die IT-Abteilungen zur Verfügung stehen: Mit der Cloud hat sich die Art und Weise, wie IT konsumiert wird, grundlegend verändert. Damit einhergehend wurde aber das Thema Informationssicherheit (IT Sicherheit, Informations- und Datenschutz) komplexer. Gerade die Sicherheit der Public Cloud führt bei Cloud Consumern immer wieder zu Missverständnissen und Falschannahmen. So sehr sie sich an klassischen Outsourcing-Modellen orientieren und in Sachen Security entlastet werden wollen: Das Thema Cloud-Sicherheit lässt sich nicht vollends auf den Cloud Provider abwälzen. Für die Cloud-Security ist der Cloud Consumer mitverantwortlich, möchte er Applikationen, Entwicklungsumgebungen oder virtualisierte Server-Instanzen wirklich sicher aus der Public Cloud beziehen.

«Grundsätzlich ist der Cloud Provider für die Sicherheit der Cloud-Infrastruktur, der Cloud Consumer dagegen für die Sicherheit innerhalb der Cloud zuständig.»

Klaus Gribi, Senior Security Consultant von Swisscom

Das Shared Responsibility-Modell regelt dabei die Zuständigkeitsbereiche von Cloud-Nutzer und -Anbieter. Ursprünglich wurde dieses Verantwortungsmodell für Sicherheit und Compliance von Amazon Web Services und Microsoft Azure formuliert; heute setzen aber auch andere Cloud Provider auf diese Aufteilung. «Im Wesentlichen unterscheidet Shared Responsibility zwischen der Sicherheit der Public Cloud selbst (Security of the Cloud) und der Sicherheit in der Public Cloud (Security in the Cloud)», erklärt Klaus Gribi, Senior Security Consultant von Swisscom. «Grundsätzlich ist der Cloud Provider für die Sicherheit der Cloud-Infrastruktur, der Cloud Consumer dagegen für die Sicherheit innerhalb der Cloud zuständig».

Das Shared-Responsibility-Modell von Microsoft Azure.  

Die Verantwortlichkeiten unterscheiden sich je nach Cloud-Service-Modell, das der Cloud Consumer bezieht:

  • Infrastructure as a Service: Cloud Provider übernehmen nur wenig Verantwortung
    Für die Sicherheit von IaaS-Lösungen sind Cloud Consumer mehrheitlich allein zuständig: Er verantwortet die Sicherheit des Betriebssystems, der Daten und der Applikationen. Der Cloud Provider sorgt lediglich für den Schutz der Virtualisierungsplattform.
  • Platform as a Service: Der Cloud Provider ist stärker in der Pflicht
    Bei PaaS kümmern sich Cloud Provider um die Sicherheit der ganzen Entwicklungsumgebung wie auch der Betriebssysteme und der Datenbanken. Der Anwender dagegen ist verantwortlich für die Sicherheit und Verwaltung von den auf der Plattform entwickelten und betriebenen Applikationen und der Daten.
  • Software as a Service: Nutzer werden entlastet
    Bei SaaS-Angeboten verantwortet der Service-Provider den Grossteil aller Sicherheitsaspekte: Abgesehen von der Benutzer-Verwaltung und der Daten, die in der Cloud gespeichert werden, nimmt er sich der gesamten Cloud-Sicherheit an. SaaS-Anwender sind entsprechend für den Daten- und Informationsschutz zuständig. «Nutzer von SaaS-Lösungen sind im Wesentlichen noch dafür zuständig, dass das Identity und Access Management korrekt umgesetzt wird und dass nur die Daten in die Cloud gelangen, die sie auch wirklich in der Cloud haben möchten», sagt Gribi. «Die Cloud Consumer können die ausgelagerten Daten noch zusätzlich schützen, indem sie die Daten verschlüsseln.»

Verantwortungsbereiche können abweichen

Zwar stellt das Shared-Responsibility-Modell oftmals eine Faustregel dar; für welche technischen Bereiche Cloud Consumer und Provider aber genau zuständig sind, kann sich von Fall zu Fall unterscheiden. «Zwar ist ein IaaS-Kunde ab Betriebssystem-Ebene für die Cloud-Sicherheit verantwortlich; dennoch installieren einige Anbieter z.B. für die Performance-Überwachung der virtualisierten Instanzen auch Komponenten ins Betriebssystem», hält Gribi fest. «Bei Shared Responsibility gibt es also durchaus anbieterspezifische Grenzen, die dynamisch verlaufen können.»

 

Kommt dazu, dass der Cloud Consumer einzelne Aufgabenbereiche auslagern kann: Entscheidet er sich beispielsweise für ein Managed OS einer IaaS-Instanz, verantwortet nicht mehr er, sondern der Cloud- oder ein Dritt-Provider das Betriebssystem. Unter Umständen bleibt aber etwa das Firewall-Management weiterhin Aufgabe des Cloud Consumers – die Shared Responsibility wird komplexer. Die Service Level Agreements (SLAs) des Cloud Providers regeln für jeden Fall genau, wie die Zuständigkeiten von Provider und Consumer aufgeteilt werden. Deshalb müssen sich Cloud Consumer genau mit den SLAs auseinandersetzen. Nur so sind sie in der Lage, selbst die geeigneten Security-Massnahmen zu ergreifen – und die genutzten Cloud-Services auch von ihrer Seite aus bestmöglich zu schützen.

Auch technische und organisatorische Faktoren sind entscheidend

Nebst diesen technischen Aspekten umfasst Shared Responsibility auch weitere Faktoren. Etwa müssen Cloud Consumer in Erfahrung bringen, wie ihr Chief Information Security Officer mit der Sicherheitsorganisation des Cloud Providers zusammenarbeiten kann:

 

  • Wie genau werden Vulnerability-Management-Prozesse abgewickelt?
  • Wie betreibt der Provider das Security Incident Management?
  • Wie werden die Informationen, welche das Cloud Security Portal des Cloud Providers bereitstellt, in die eigenen Sicherheitsprozesse integriert?

 

«Das Thema Cloud-Sicherheit hört somit nicht auf technischer Sicherheitsebene auf, sondern betrifft Cloud Consumer auch in administrativer und organisatorischer Hinsicht», hält Gribi fest. «So sind auch diese Faktoren bereits bei der Evaluation und Wahl eines geeigneten Cloud-Providers elementar.»

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema