Mainframe as a Service 

The mainframe has moved into the cloud

Swisscom has migrated its entire mainframe workload into the cloud. But it took a long time before Team Leader Werner Pfäffli could press the “off” button. A review of a historical project.

Text: Nina Fehr, 16 may 2019

Werner Pfäffli remembers the old times well – even the systems that once used punch cards. You might think that Werner was at Swisscom forever. After all, he worked for the company for more than 38 years. And as Team Leader Mainframe Base Services, he accompanied the development and change of the host environment. On 9 March, he was finally able to press the “off” button.

Walter Pfäffli, former Team Leader Mainframe Base Services, switches the mainframe off after more than 35 years of operation.  

With this migration, Swisscom has reached a milestone in corporate IT by moving business-critical mainframe applications and data into its own enterprise cloud infrastructure without recompiling the applications or reformatting data. This new solution saves Swisscom about half of its regular mainframe operating costs. The migrated business-critical applications – measured at 2500 installed MIPS (million instructions per second) – manage billing, geographical and address information as well as line administration for the entire Swisscom fixed network.

Walter Pfäffli, former Team Leader Mainframe Base Services, at the mainframe more than 35 years ago.  

Project duration: One year became about two-and-a-half 

This pleasing result was the outcome of a truly mammoth task. Back in 2009, Swisscom planned to shut its mainframe down by mid-2011. But all the deadlines came and went without a “power off” – quite the contrary. It would take another five years until the issue became more concrete again. In 2016, Swisscom again gave serious thought to how the mainframe applications could be replaced. On the one hand, it was about cutting costs. On the other, fewer and fewer employees had the necessary know-how to support host environments.

 

Swisscom had been talking to LzLabs since 2015 in its search for solutions. The entire project then lasted two-and-a-half years, with constant ups and downs, setbacks and minor successes. “At first we very much doubted whether this would actually work,” says Werner Pfäffli. The project drained a lot of energy and resources, but someone on the team always “yanked at the reins” and things started moving again. Belief in the solution was extremely important. And yet Werner Pfäffli is certain: “If we had known at the outset that it would take us two-and-a-half years to get a working solution, the project would never have got off the ground.” However, as the phrase goes, good things take time.

A global novelty: MaaS for Swisscom customers 

The new solution is not only a world premiere for Swisscom, but also for the market. And it gives Swisscom an opportunity to offer its customers mainframe as a service (MaaS); a solution with enormous market potential. After all, a study conducted by Microsoft and LzLabs found that 94% of IT decision-makers polled in the US, Canada, France and Germany are considering replacing their mainframes. Indeed, 77% of the respondents think their company should have started migrating long ago in order to minimise risks such as resource depletion, high costs and a lack of flexibility. Werner Pfäffli will be able to observe the developments in a relaxed manner. He recently retired.

Mainframe from the cloud 

Swisscom now offers companies the re-hosting of mainframe applications in the Swisscom Enterprise Service Cloud (x86). In this, Swisscom acts as an integrator and operator: analysing, planning and migrating native mainframe applications into the cloud using four transformation modules and based on open source solutions. After the migration, customers can count on a comparable performance and stability as before – but it will be much more flexible, cost-effective and modern.

 

> More information (PDF)


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Mainframe as a Service 

Der Mainframe wandert in die Cloud

Swisscom hat den gesamten Mainframe Workload in die Cloud migriert. Doch bis Teamleader Werner Pfäffli den Aus-Knopf drücken durfte, war es ein langer Weg. Ein Rückblick auf ein historisches Projekt.

Text: Nina Fehr, 16. Mai 2019

Werner Pfäffli kennt sie gut, die alten Zeiten – sogar noch die mit den Lochkarten. Er ist das, was man ein Swisscom Urgestein nennt – mehr als 38 Jahre war er im Unternehmen tätig und hat als Teamleader Mainframe Base Services die Entwicklung und Veränderung der Host-Umgebung mitbegleitet. Am 9. März durfte er schliesslich den «Aus»-Knopf drücken.

Walter Pfäffli, ehemaliger Teamleader Mainframe Base Services, schaltet nach über 35 Jahren Betrieb den Mainframe ab.

Mit dieser Migration hat Swisscom einen Meilenstein in der Unternehmens-IT erreicht, indem die geschäftskritischen Mainframe-Anwendungen und -Daten in die eigene Enterprise Cloud-Infrastruktur verlagert wurden, ohne dass die Anwendungen neu kompiliert oder Daten umformatiert werden mussten. Dank der neuen Lösung spart Swisscom rund die Hälfte der herkömmlichen Grossrechner-Betriebskosten. Die migrierten geschäftskritischen Anwendungen – gemessen an 2500 installierten MIPS (Millionen Instruktionen pro Sekunde) - verwalten Rechnungsstellung, Geographie- und Adressinformationen sowie die Leitungsadministration für das gesamte Swisscom Festnetz.

Walter Pfäffli, ehemaliger Teamleader Mainframe Base Services, vor über 35 Jahren beim Mainframe.

Projektdauer: aus einem wurden rund zweieinhalb Jahre 

Doch hinter diesem erfreulichen Resultat steckt eine wahre Mammut-Aufgabe. Bereits 2009 plante Swisscom, den Grossrechner Mitte 2011 abzustellen. Doch die Deadlines sind alle verstrichen ohne «Power-Off», im Gegenteil. Es sollte nochmals über fünf Jahre dauern, bis das Thema wieder konkret wurde. 2016 machte Swisscom sich erneut ernsthaft Gedanken darüber, wie sich die Mainframe-Applikationen ablösen liessen. Einerseits ging es darum, Kosten zu sparen. Andererseits hatten immer weniger Mitarbeitende das entsprechende Know-How, um Host-Umgebungen zu betreuen.

 

Mit LzLabs war Swisscom seit 2015 im Gespräch und auf der Suche nach Lösungen. Es folgten insgesamt 2,5 Jahre Projektdauer mit stetigen Aufs und Abs, Rückschlägen und kleinen Erfolgen. «Zu Beginn waren wir sehr kritisch, ob das tatsächlich funktionieren kann», sagt Werner Pfäffli. Das Projekt habe zum Teil sehr viel Energie und Ressourcen gebraucht, aber einer aus dem Team habe immer «am Charre grisse», und dann gings wieder weiter. Der Glaube an die Lösung war extrem wichtig. Und trotzdem ist sich Werner Pfäffli sicher: «Wenn wir zu Beginn gewusst hätten, dass es zweieinhalb Jahre dauert, bis wir eine funktionierende Lösung haben, wäre das Projekt nie zustande gekommen.» Aber wie sagt man so schön? Gut Ding will Weile haben.

Neuheit auf dem Weltmarkt – MaaS für Swisscom Kunden

Die neue Lösung ist nicht nur für Swisscom eine Weltpremiere, sondern auch für den Markt. Und sie gibt Swisscom die Möglichkeit, ihren Kunden mit Mainframe-as-a-Service (MaaS) eine Dienstleistung anzubieten, der viel Marktpotential hat. Denn laut einer Studie von Microsoft und LzLabs erwägen 94 Prozent der befragten IT-Entscheidungsträger in den USA, Kanada, Frankreich und Deutschland, ihre Mainframes abzulösen. 77% der Befragten sind sogar der Meinung, ihr Unternehmen hätte bereits längst mit der Migration beginnen sollen, um Risiken wie Ressourcenschwund, hohe Kosten und fehlende Flexibilität zu minimieren. Werner Pfäffli wird die Entwicklung entspannt beobachten können. Er geniesst seit kurzem den Ruhestand.

Mainframe aus der Cloud

Swisscom bietet Unternehmen ab sofort das Re-Hosting von Mainframe-Anwendungen in der Swisscom Enterprise Service Cloud (x86) an. Dabei agiert Swisscom als Integrator und Operator: Analysieren, Planen und Migrieren von nativen Mainframe-Anwendungen in die Cloud mittels vier Transformationsmodulen und auf Basis von Open-Source-Lösungen. Nach der Migration können die Kunden auf vergleichbare Leistung und Stabilität wie vorher zählen – nur wesentlich flexibler, kostengünstiger und moderner.

 

> Weitere Informationen (PDF, englisch)


Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema