Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Mobile working during the coronavirus crisis

How corporate customers are working from home

 “The benefits of mobile working were abstract before but are now plain to see”

The coronavirus crisis turned collaboration models on their head overnight. Friederike Hoffmann, Head of Connected Business Solutions, explains how her customers are coping with the situation and how people are working at Swisscom.

Text: Romana Bleisch, Image: Friederike Hoffmann,

What importance do you place on your mobile phone now and how significant is it for working with customers during the coronavirus crisis?

My mobile phone has always been very important to me. In the current situation, I notice it even more than usual because I want to be reachable on all channels and it is the same for our customers. Switching between phone calls, mail and chat functions has become smoother. All these channels come together on the mobile phone and it is the linchpin – now more than ever.

Friederike Hoffmann

Friederike Hoffmann is Head of Connected Business Solutions and a member of the Executive Board of Swisscom Business Customers. She began her career at Swisscom IT Services in 2013 as Head of the Lead Management programme. Since June 2019, Friederike Hoffmann has been responsible for the Connected Business Solutions B2B division and is driving forward the seamless networking of people, buildings and machines from 2G to 5G.

What is your analysis of how your customers are working from home?

Lots of customers had to make the switch in a very short time period. Models for home working had been introduced here and there in the past, but they were not used as extensively as they are now. Lots of people were thrown in at the deep end but our customers have made the switch with enormous speed.

 

Considering the implications for regulated industries such as banks, for example, this was an immense boost to digitisation. Within a few days everything was up and running and our customers could continue their work almost seamlessly. There has been a shift in infrastructure and culture.

What are the biggest challenges for corporate businesses working from home?

Social cohesion: long-term relationships are easier to maintain online over a longer period of time than new ones. Enterprise customers have always tended to have a relatively high proportion of new employees and it is a huge challenge to integrate and support them well.

 

It is similar with customer contacts; it is easy to maintain existing relationships by phone but much more difficult to acquire new customers. Digital communication offers lots of advantages in this regard and we can now see how it has strengthened some areas, like online marketing and sales. Companies that had not yet switched to new marketing channels, however, are finding the situation particularly challenging.

Where do you see new opportunities?

The crisis is a catalyst for digitisation. Companies must ensure that they network their sites as quickly as possible and that employees can work from home easily.

 

The importance of connectivity has become obvious and this is exactly what we provide our customers. Many companies have taken a huge step forwards in just a few days that would otherwise have taken months or years.

How important do you consider the Work Smart model?

Exceptionally important. I can’t imagine any other way of working because our clients and teams are spread all over Switzerland. We relied heavily on physical meetings to ensure unity between different regions in the past, but we see now that even meetings with lots of participants work smoothly online.

 

We will be able carry a lot of that forward into the future. Drawing on our own experience, we can show our customers how to deal with the changeover and take advantage of mobile working in an accelerated learning cycle.


What are the advantages of collaborating this way?

There are lots of benefits. From board meetings and team meetings to social gatherings such as catching up for a drink or a coffee break, everything now takes place virtually and companies and employees can all see the benefits.

 

One team leader explained that telephone conferencing had created more unity in the team than there was in the past. “We have become closer as a team because everyone is now the same distance away, regardless of where we are based in Switzerland.”

 

Of course, whether at work or in our personal lives, virtual communication can’t replace physical contact. I miss my team colleagues and look forward to being able to see them again in person soon.

What role does the mobile device play in this?

Our private and business lives have become very strongly intertwined and mobile connectivity is indispensable. People are even taking part in meetings while they walk the dog, which would have been unthinkable before. We are using time much more efficiently and whether we use a traditional telephone, Skype or Teams for this has become secondary. Mobile phones are accelerating this trend.

Personal meetings with customers are no longer possible right now. How do you meet customers now? What has changed?

It depends on how longstanding the relationship is. Negotiations are still extremely focused even when they are online but other discussions can be much more personal. This is exactly where we can show that Swisscom is a strong partner; we are facing the same challenges and are happy to share our experience with our customers.

What are your recommendations for successful remote meetings?

Use video calls as often as possible; people feel closer and more focused when they see each other.

 

Since we started working with video calls in the management team and with customers, we have developed much closer personal links with each other. You are speaking with someone sitting at their kitchen table at home, with a child jumping across the picture now and then. That is a completely different quality of collaboration and one I really value.

Is there anything you will do differently after the coronavirus crisis?

I will definitely work more from home in the future, which I didn’t like doing before, and I will reduce my travel. I expect our customers will make similar changes.

 

This means that our infrastructure will be in high demand. You need a network that works well, whether people are on the move, in company premises or at home. Having a good network is becoming increasingly important.

How sustainable is this change? What do you think collaboration models will look like after the crisis?

Online and videoconferencing was done very formally in the past. These have become much more informal with people enjoying virtual coffees and social time together. The formal character won’t return everywhere straightaway. I think we will use the opportunity to meet socially online to build team morale in the future.

Do you have any tips for enterprise customers on how to work together (even) more effectively in the future?

Connectivity is important not only within the company, but all the way to the employees' homes. It is important to consider the requirements that enable employees to work efficiently at home using a planned and sustainable approach. Issues like compliance, data storage and system access are highly significant in this regard. There is also the matter of trust: many companies worry that employees will work less at home. It’s a new way of working that needs to be learnt.

 

“The benefits of mobile working were abstract before but are now plain to see”.

As a global company, mobile working is also very important to our customer Coca-Cola. In the video, the soft drink manufacturer shares its experiences and recommendations for working from home. Maté Varga, Country Manager Business Solutions and Systems Coca-Cola Switzerland, explains how the dynamics among employees and customers have changed and the conditions required for successful working from home.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Overview of all special offers

If Homeoffice and online sales are your daily business: we support you with free offers.



More on the topic

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

Mobiles Arbeiten in Zeiten von Corona

Homeoffice im Corporate-Umfeld

«Die Vorteile des mobilen Arbeitens waren bisher abstrakt, jetzt liegen sie auf der Hand»

Die Corona-Krise hat Zusammenarbeitsmodelle von null auf hundert auf den Kopf gestellt. Wie Friederike Hoffmann, Head of Connected Business Solutions, die Situation bei ihren Kunden erlebt und wie bei Swisscom gearbeitet wird, erzählt sie im Interview.

Text: Romana Bleisch, Bild: Friederike Hoffmann,

Welchen Stellenwert hat das Mobiltelefon heute für Sie und wie wichtig ist es für die Zusammenarbeit in der Corona-Krise bei Ihren Kunden?

Für mich hatte das Mobiltelefon schon immer eine sehr grosse Bedeutung. In der aktuellen Situation merke ich das noch mehr als sonst, da ich auf allen Kanälen erreichbar sein möchte und genauso geht es auch unseren Kunden. Der Übergang zwischen Telefon, Mail und Chat ist fliessender geworden. Auf dem Mobiltelefon kommen alle diese Kanäle zusammen und es ist Dreh- und Angelpunkt – mehr denn je.

Friederike Hoffmann

Friederike Hoffmann ist Head of Connected Business Solutions sowie Mitglied des Executive Boards von Swisscom Business Customers. 2013 begann sie ihre Karriere bei Swisscom IT Services als Programmleiterin Lead Management. Seit Juni 2019 verantwortet Friederike Hoffmann den Geschäftsbereich Connected Business Solutions B2B und treibt die lückenlose Vernetzung von Menschen, Gebäuden und Maschinen von 2G bis 5G voran.

Wie nehmen Sie die Homeoffice-Situation bei Ihren Kunden wahr?

Viele Kunden mussten innerhalb kürzester Zeit umstellen. Vereinzelt wurden schon Homeoffice-Modelle eingeführt, aber nicht so umfangreich genutzt wie jetzt. Hier wurden viele ins kalte Wasser geworfen. Unsere Kunden haben dennoch enorm schnell umgesattelt.

 

Wenn man bedenkt, was das für regulierte Branchen wie zum Beispiel Banken bedeutet, war das ein immenser Digitalisierungsschub. Innert weniger Tage war alles aufgegleist und unsere Kunden konnten ihre Arbeit fast nahtlos weiterführen. Das ist einerseits ein Infrastrukturthema, andererseits eine Kulturfrage.

Was sind die grössten Herausforderungen für Grossunternehmen bezüglich Homeoffice?

Der soziale Zusammenhalt: Langjährige Beziehungen kann man leichter über einen längeren Zeitraum online pflegen als Neue. Grossunternehmen haben traditionellerweise immer einen relativ hohen Anteil an neuen Mitarbeitenden und es ist eine grosse Herausforderung, diese gut zu integrieren und zu unterstützen.

 

In eine ähnliche Richtung geht der Kundenkontakt. Bestehende Beziehungen kann man gut am Telefon pflegen, aber die Neukundengewinnung ist schwierig. Digitale Kommunikation bringt hier sehr viele Vorteile und aufgebaute Stärken beispielsweise in den Bereichen Online-Marketing und -Sales werden jetzt sichtbar. Aber Unternehmen, die nicht bereits auf neue Marketingkanäle umgestellt hatten, sind jetzt besonders gefordert.

Und wo eröffnen sich neue Chancen?

Die Krise wirkt wie ein Katalysator für die Digitalisierung. Unternehmen schauen, dass sie Standorte möglichst schnell vernetzen und dass Mitarbeitende auch von zuhause problemlos arbeiten können.

 

Es ist offensichtlich geworden, wie essentiell Konnektivität ist und genau die stellen wir unseren Kunden zur Verfügung. Viele Unternehmen haben in wenigen Tagen einen grossen Schritt gemacht, der sonst Monate oder Jahre gedauert hätte.

Wie wichtig ist für Sie das Work-Smart-Modell?

Ausgesprochen wichtig. Ich kann es mir nicht mehr anders vorstellen, denn unsere Kunden und Teams sind überall in der Schweiz verteilt. Um die verschiedenen Regionen zusammenzuhalten, haben wir früher sehr stark auf physische Meetings gesetzt, merken jetzt aber, dass sogar Meetings mit vielen Teilnehmenden auch online reibungslos funktionieren.

 

Davon werden wir in Zukunft sehr viel mitnehmen können. Unseren Kunden können wir dank unserer Erfahrung in einem beschleunigten Lernzyklus aufzeigen, wie sie mit der Umstellung umgehen und die Vorteile von mobilem Arbeiten nutzen können.

Welche Vorteile hat diese Form der Zusammenarbeit?

Es gibt sehr viele Vorteile. Von Verwaltungsratssitzungen über Teammeetings bis hin zu sozialen Runden wie Apéros und Kaffee-Pausen findet nun alles virtuell statt und Unternehmen sowie Mitarbeitende erkennen die Vorteile darin.

 

Eine Teamleiterin hat mir erzählt, dass sich ihr regional verteiltes Team durch die Telkos nicht mehr so stark aufspaltet, als es vorher der Fall war. Im Team sind wir uns näher gekommen, weil jetzt alle gleich weit weg sind, egal ob wir uns in der Romandie oder der Deutschschweiz befinden.

 

Der virtuelle Austausch auf geschäftlicher und privater Basis ersetzt aber den physischen Kontakt natürlich nicht. Ich vermisse meine Teamkolleginnen und -kollegen und freue mich sehr, sie bald wieder in natura zu treffen.

Welche Rolle spielt dabei das Mobile Device?

Das private und das geschäftliche Leben verschmelzen momentan sehr stark ineinander und da ist die mobile Connectivity unabdingbar. Teilweise wird sogar bei einem Spaziergang mit dem Hund online an einem Meeting teilgenommen, was davor undenkbar gewesen wäre. Wir nutzen die Zeit viel effizienter und es ist zweitrangig geworden, ob wir das klassische Telefon, Skype oder Teams dafür nutzen. Das Mobiltelefon ermöglicht diesen Trend.

Persönliche Meetings mit Kunden fallen aktuell weg. Wie führen Sie diese jetzt? Was hat sich geändert?

Das hängt von der Maturität der Beziehung ab. Verhandlungen sind natürlich auch online weiterhin sehr fokussiert, andere Gespräche können sehr viel persönlicher stattfinden. Genau da können wir zeigen, dass Swisscom eine starke Partnerin ist, denn wir haben dieselben Herausforderungen und teilen unsere Erfahrungen sehr gerne mit unseren Kunden.

Haben Sie eine Empfehlung für gelungene Remote-Meetings?

Videoanrufe tätigen, so oft es nur geht; Menschen fühlen sich dadurch näher und sind konzentrierter, wenn sie sich sehen.

 

Seit wir im Management Team und mit Kunden mit Videotelefonie arbeiten, haben wir uns nochmals viel persönlicher kennengelernt. Die Gesprächspartner sitzen zu Hause am Küchentisch, ab und zu springt ein Kind durchs Bild. Das ist eine ganz andere Qualität der Zusammenarbeit, die ich sehr schätze.

Gibt es etwas, das Sie nach der Corona-Krise anders machen werden als bisher?

Ich werde künftig sicher mehr im Homeoffice arbeiten, was ich vorher nicht gerne gemacht habe, und ich werde meine Reisetätigkeit reduzieren. Diese nachhaltige Entwicklung erwarte ich auch bei unseren Kunden.

 

Dafür ist unsere Infrastruktur sehr gefragt. Es braucht ein einwandfreies Netz, unterwegs, in den Gebäuden und bei den Menschen zuhause. Die Bedeutung einer guten Vernetzung nimmt stetig zu.

Wie nachhaltig ist diese Veränderung? Wie sehen Zusammenarbeitsmodelle nach Ihrer Einschätzung nach der Krise aus?

Früher waren Online- und Videokonferenzen formell. Und diese sind gerade mit den virtuellen Kaffeerunden und Apéros viel ungezwungener geworden. Der formelle Charakter wird nicht überall sofort zurückkehren. Ich denke, wir werden die virtuellen Apéros in Zukunft weiterhin als Teaminstrument nutzen.

Haben Sie einen Tipp für Grossunternehmen, um in Zukunft (noch) besser zusammenzuarbeiten?

Die Connectivity ist nicht nur in den Unternehmen, sondern bis zu den Mitarbeitenden nach Hause wichtig. Man muss rechtzeitig und nachhaltig überlegen, was es braucht, damit Mitarbeitende zuhause effizient arbeiten können. Themen wie Compliance, Datenhaltung, Systemzugriffe etc. spielen hier eine grosse Rolle. Es ist auch eine Vertrauensfrage: Viele Unternehmen fürchten, Mitarbeitende würden zu Hause weniger arbeiten. Es ist eine neue Arbeitsform, die gelernt sein will.

 

Die Vorteile des mobilen Arbeitens waren bisher abstrakt, jetzt liegen sie auf der Hand.

Als weltweit agierendes Unternehmen hat mobiles Arbeiten auch für unsere Kundin Coca-Cola einen hohen Stellenwert. Die Getränkeherstellerin teilt Erfahrungen und Empfehlungen zum Thema Homeoffice mit uns im Video. Maté Varga, Country Manager Business Solutions and Systems Coca-Cola Schweiz, erzählt, was sich in der Dynamik unter Mitarbeitenden und Kunden verändert hat und welche Voraussetzungen für eine geglückte Arbeit aus dem Homeoffice gegeben sein sollten.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal



Andere Leser interessierte auch: