Software-defined networking

Software-defined networking

Why there is no getting around software-defined networking


The next step after the virtualisation of processing power and storage: software-defined networking brings agility to networks, removes the need for expensive hardware and is easy to configure.


Text: Florian Waelfler/Urs Binder,




Every day, gigantic quantities of data run through today’s networks. Companies and public authorities are also experiencing an explosion in data traffic. This increase in data is placing ever greater demands on network infrastructure – thus increasing the costs and the complexity. Software-defined networking (SDN) offers relief. And virtualisation fever has also reached the network sector. According to IDC, the SDN market worldwide is expected to grow to eight billion US dollars by 2018. But what is SDN and what purpose does it serve?


Fully thought-out virtualisation

The term software-defined networking goes back to a Stanford article about network operating systems published in 2005. Its authors describe how complex networks are and how complicated they are to manage. Unlike modern operating systems, which are simpler to handle due to an abstraction layer, within a network everything is maintained at the lowest configuration level in individual components. So why not virtualise the network too? Three years later, the first companies, including Google, Yahoo and Verizon, founded the “Open Networking Foundation”, which dedicated itself to adapting SDN.


Cloud forces a rethink

IT today makes wide use of flexibilisation and virtualisation. Within the data networks, however, a lot of things have stayed the same. This is because existing networks represent considerable investment in expensive hardware such as Cisco, Juniper etc. In combination with this hardware, network providers and users have gathered a lot of specific know-how – making it difficult to throw all of this overboard and implement network functionality virtually via software.


However, there is no getting around the virtualisation of all network aspects, particularly in large cloud environments. A quick look at the daily work of a network administrator makes clear: within the virtual machines (VMs) of the cloud environment, virtual network interfaces (NICs) that can be configured using software are responsible for the connection to the outside world. However, the cloud provider must take care of all network aspects outside of the VMs: in typical installations, every cloud customer has an assigned virtual Local Area Network (VLAN) into which the virtual NICs need to be integrated. For the administrator, this is a nightmare of maintenance and scaling – every time a new VM needs to be integrated, difficult manual work is required.


Within cloud environments at the latest – whether the cloud of a provider or a Private Cloud within a company’s data centre – manually maintained networks are hitting their limits. This is because a cloud means agility: customers want to set up and start virtual machines, including a network connection, in just a few seconds via self service.


Decoupled and agile

In the case of SDN, the lower function levels of the network are abstracted from the hardware in the form of virtual services. Customers use a dashboard to access all relevant functions, have a complete end-to-end view of all communication services at the same time, can monitor the network’s behaviour in real time and receive information about compliance with the Service Level Agreement.


Services can be booked or cancelled online, bandwidths can be adapted within minutes, and functionalities such as firewalls can be implemented in no time – just as one is used to doing within the cloud for the management of computing and storage resources. Activating a firewall, for example, used to take up to six weeks. With SDN it happens at the touch of a button. Services such as TV, PWLAN, mobiles or telephony can be integrated within minutes, depending on the provider, and can be combined on request.


And the users are not the only ones to benefit from SDN. Administrators can also breathe a sigh of relief: the new paradigm of the software-controlled network offers security and stability. The working day is made so much easier. Administrators can smoothly adapt the network to requirements without complicated hardware configuration changes, even if there are sudden, significant fluctuations. And the cloud providers not only benefit from the increased productivity of network administrators. An SDN-based network can be set up with open network operating systems and cost-effective “open networking” hardware instead of expensive proprietary switches.


Without SDN, nothing will work in future

“Software is eating the world,” announced Netscape founder Marc Andreessen as early as 2011. In the network of the future, software defines all network services. Control is being emancipated from hardware. A standard piece of hardware can become a firewall, a switch or a modem – all thanks to virtualisation.


Until now, there was a close link between the data and control channels for technical reasons; they were both processed directly within the network hardware. Virtualisation is breaking down this link, which slows down the network during scaling and extension. In the future, there will be no getting around software-defined networking. Within record time, SDN will be on the agenda of all IT managers who are planning or already using scalable virtual environments. Only with SDN can the network finally become a service – technology is taking a back seat.







Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Software Defined Networking

Software Defined Networking

An Software Defined Networking führt kein Weg vorbei


Der nächste Schritt nach der Virtualisierung von Rechenleistung und Speicher: Software Defined Networking bringt Agilität in die Netzwerke, macht unabhängig von teurer Hardware und ist einfach zu konfigurieren.


Text: Florian Waefler/Urs Binder,




Über die heutigen Netzwerke laufen täglich gigantische Datenmengen. Auch in Unternehmen und Behörden explodiert der Datenverkehr regelrecht. Immer mehr Daten stellen immer höhere Ansprüche an die Netzwerkinfrastruktur – und damit steigen die Kosten und die Komplexität. Abhilfe verspricht Software Defined Networking (SDN). Damit hat das Virtualisierungsfieber auch die Netzwerkbranche gepackt. Laut IDC soll der SDN-Markt weltweit bis 2018 auf acht Milliarden US-Dollar wachsen. Doch was ist SDN und wozu ist es gut?


Virtualisierung zu Ende gedacht

Der Begriff Software Defined Networking geht zurück auf einen 2005 publizierten «Stanford-Artikel über Netzwerk-Betriebssysteme». Die Autoren beschrieben, wie komplex Netzwerke sind und wie kompliziert zu managen. Im Gegensatz zu modernen Betriebssystemen, die über eine Abstraktionsschicht einfacher zu handhaben sind, wird im Netzwerk alles auf unterster Konfigurationsebene an einzelnen Komponenten gewartet. Wieso nicht auch das Netz virtualisieren? Drei Jahre später gründeten die ersten Unternehmen wie Google, Yahoo und Verizon die «Open Networking Foundation», die sich der Adaption von SDN verschrieb.


Cloud zwingt zum Umdenken

Die IT setzt heute auf breiter Ebene auf Flexibilisierung und Virtualisierung. Bei den Datennetzen hingegen bleibt bisher vieles beim Alten. Denn in den bestehenden Netzen stecken erhebliche Investitionen in teure Hardware von Cisco, Juniper & Co. Und damit verbunden haben sowohl Netzwerkanbieter als auch Anwender viel spezifisches Know-how angesammelt – man tut sich deshalb schwer, all das über Bord zu werfen und die Netzwerkfunktionalität virtuell per Software zu implementieren.


Doch an der Virtualisierung sämtlicher Netzwerk-Aspekte führt kein Weg vorbei, gerade in grossen Cloud-Umgebungen. Ein kurzer Blick auf die tägliche Arbeit eines Netzwerkadministrators macht es deutlich: In den virtuellen Maschinen (VMs) der Cloud-Umgebung sind zwar per Software konfigurierbare virtuelle Netzwerk-Interfaces (NICs) für die Verbindung zur Aussenwelt zuständig. Um alle Netzwerkaspekte ausserhalb der VMs muss sich jedoch der Cloud-Anbieter kümmern: In typischen Installationen ist jedem Cloud-Kunden ein virtuelles Local Area Network (VLAN) zugeteilt, in das die virtuellen NICs eingebunden werden müssen. Für den Administrator ein Albtraum in Sachen Wartung und Skalierung – so ist jedes Mal, wenn eine neue VM integriert werden soll, mühsame Handarbeit angesagt.


Spätestens in Cloud-Umgebungen – sei es die Cloud eines Providers oder eine Private Cloud im Rechenzentrum eines Unternehmens – stossen händisch gepflegte Netzwerke an ihre Grenzen. Denn Cloud heisst Agilität: Kunden wollen virtuelle Maschinen inklusive Netzwerkanbindung sekundenschnell per Self-Service aufsetzen und in Betrieb nehmen.


Entkoppelt und agil

Bei SDN werden die unteren Funktionsebenen des Netzwerks in Form virtueller Services von der Hardware abstrahiert. Die Kunden greifen über ein Dashboard auf alle relevanten Funktionen zu, haben gleichzeitig eine komplette End-to-End-Sicht auf alle Kommunikationsservices, können das Verhalten des Netzwerks in Echtzeit überwachen und erhalten Auskunft über die Einhaltung der Service-Level-Agreements.


Services lassen sich online buchen oder kündigen, Bandbreiten innert Minuten anpassen und Funktionalitäten wie Firewalls im Handumdrehen implementieren – genauso, wie man es sich in der Cloud von der Verwaltung von Computing- und Speicherressourcen her gewohnt ist. So nahm das Zuschalten einer Firewall früher bis zu sechs Wochen in Anspruch. Mit SDN passiert es auf Knopfdruck. Services wie TV, PWLAN, Mobile oder Telefonie können je nach Provider binnen Minuten integriert und nach Wunsch kombiniert werden.


Aber nicht nur die Anwender profitieren von SDN. Auch die Administratoren können aufatmen: Das neue Paradigma des softwaregesteuerten Netzwerks bietet Sicherheit und Stabilität. Der Arbeitsalltag wird massiv erleichtert. Administratoren können das Netzwerk ohne komplizierte Hardware-Konfigurationsänderungen agil dem Bedarf anpassen, sogar bei plötzlichen starken Schwankungen. Und die Cloud-Provider profitieren nicht nur von der gesteigerten Produktivität der Netzwerkadministratoren. Denn ein SDN-basiertes Netzwerk kann mit offenen Netzwerkbetriebssystemen und mit preisgünstiger «Open Networking»-Hardware anstelle teurer proprietärer Switches aufgebaut werden.


Ohne SDN künftig nichts los

«Software is eating the world», verkündete Netscape-Gründer Marc Andreessen bereits 2011. Im Netz der Zukunft definiert Software alle Netzwerkdienste. Die Steuerung emanzipiert sich von der Hardware. Eine Standardhardware wird zur Firewall, zum Switch oder zum Modem – alles möglich dank der Virtualisierung.


Bisher bestand technisch bedingt eine enge Verknüpfung zwischen den Daten- und Steuerungskanälen, die beide direkt in der Netzwerkhardware verarbeitet wurden. Virtualisierung bricht diese Liaison auf, die das Netz bei der Skalierung und Erweiterung ausbremst. An Software Defined Networking geht führt in der Zukunft kein Weg vorbei. SDN wird in Rekordzeit die Agenda aller IT-Verantwortlichen besetzen, die skalierbare virtuelle Umgebungen planen oder schon im Einsatz haben. Denn nur mit SDN wird das Netz endlich zum Service – die Technologie rückt in den Hintergrund.






Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema