Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Software Defined Wide Area Networks (SD-WANs)

Network, Internet & Landline

More flexible and more reliable cloud connectivity

Cloud computing continues to grow rapidly, requiring public data networks to carry ever-increasing quantities of data. Intelligent cloud connectivity avoids potential bottlenecks and ensures data is transferred instantaneously, securely and with the right level of network performance.

Text: Rüdiger Sellin, Specialist journalist (MAZ/SFJ), Image: AdobeStock,

Booming cloud services

Cloud computing is growing at speeds far higher than the ICT market average. An increasing number of familiar services no longer run on local computers, but on server farms somewhere else in the world.

 

This is a big challenge for network operators and cloud providers because cloud-based data, storage capacity, apps etc. need to be available everywhere, all the time and on any device. This demands flexible, high-performance, cost-effective network connections between all company sites and the cloud.

 

Cloud services are very sensitive to data transfer delays (latency) or data losses. According to Gartner, over 50% of all cloud users experience these problems and complain of mediocre performance. Global cloud providers even report that up to 90% of users are dissatisfied in some countries.

 

It is clear that traditional networks no longer meet the requirements of modern cloud services. Such services require data networks with high performance and elasticity levels. This is because large quantities of data often need to be transmitted immediately but quickly, something that rigid network structures with fixed bandwidths cannot achieve.

SD-WANs provide suitable cloud connectivity

A well-structured, expertly operated data network is therefore essential if the wide selection of cloud apps now available are to be used seamlessly and without disruption. How cloud services are currently accessed varies enormously.

 

For example, access may involve dedicated point-to-point connections which, although they offer direct access to a specific provider’s cloud servers via Point of Presence (PoP), are expensive and inflexible. Another way of accessing the cloud is over the public Internet – certainly a cheaper option, but one that comes without any performance guarantees.

 

Software Defined Wide Area Networks (SD-WANs), on the other hand, respond to individual network requirements proactively and in real time. They provide the best available path for the relevant cloud application through dynamic routing. SD-WANs are based on so-called Software Defined Networks (SDNs) and offer fully managed cloud connectivity with high transmission speeds and low latency, coupled with high security, availability, flexibility and elasticity.

Cloud connectivity from Swisscom

Swisscom’s Service Connect platform is a specific communication hub offering access to cloud services and forms an integral part of the Enterprise Connect offer. Via the central Service Connect bus, just a few mouse clicks can provide cloud connectivity between customers and the cloud, a traditional data centre or third-party services.

b2b-gra-cloud-connectivity

Service Connect users do not need to set up numerous expensive links to individual cloud providers. Rather, a single link via Enterprise Connect is enough. From there, the user can access the clouds they want via the Service Connect bus.

 

Ultra-broadband, georedundant data links guarantee secure, high-performance access to Swisscom’s own cloud as well as to external clouds (e.g. AWS, SAP or Azure cloud). This link via Enterprise Connect is more powerful and much less expensive than multiple point-to-point data connections to the PoPs of various cloud providers.

 

Users can also protect themselves from malicious Internet-based attacks using the inhouse DDoS Protection Service – up to OSI layer 4 or across all seven layers, depending on their requirements. DDoS complements Swisscom cloud connectivity and offers a high level of protection and security.

Summary

As a full service provider, Swisscom has extensive know-how and many years’ experience in the network and IT sector. Our ICT infrastructures are continuously being developed and improved, benefiting users of Swisscom cloud connectivity.

Swisscom is your reliable partner in the digital world. All customer data is encrypted and stored in Switzerland. This not only reduces latency, but also increases security.


Do you have questions?

Urs Haag

Deputy Head of Product Management


Contact expert



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

Software Defined Wide Area Network (SD-WAN)

Netzwerk, Internet und Festnetz

Flexibler und zuverlässiger in die Clouds

Das Cloud Computing wächst weiterhin stark. Dadurch müssen die öffentlichen Datennetze laufend steigende Datenmengen transportieren. Eine intelligente Cloud Connectivity vermeidet
dabei potentielle Engpässe und sorgt für verzögerungsfreie Datenübertragungen mit hoher Sicherheit und passender Network Performance.

Text: Rüdiger Sellin, Fachjournalist (MAZ/SFJ), Bild: AdobeStock, 02 Oktober

Boomende Cloud-Services

Das Cloud Computing verzeichnet Zuwachsraten, welche den Durchschnitt des ICT-Marktes bei weitem übersteigen. Immer mehr gewohnte Dienste laufen nicht mehr auf lokalen Rechnern, sondern auf Server-Farmen irgendwo auf der Welt.

 

Das fordert die Netzbetreiber und Cloud-Anbieter heraus. Denn Daten, Speicherplatz, Apps etc. aus der Cloud sollten an jedem Ort, zu jeder Zeit und auf jedem Endgerät verfügbar sein. Dies bedingt eine flexible, leistungsfähige und kosteneffiziente Vernetzung aller Unternehmensstandorte mit der Cloud.

 

Cloud Services reagieren sehr empfindlich auf Verzögerungen bei der Datenübertragung (Latenz) oder auf Datenverluste. Über 50% aller Cloud-Nutzer beklagen gemäss Gartner solche Effekte und bemängeln eine mässige Performance. Nach Angaben globaler Cloud Provider sind es in einigen Ländern sogar bis zu 90% unzufriedener Nutzer.

 

Offensichtlich entsprechen traditionelle Netze den Anforderungen moderner Cloud Services nicht mehr. Solche Dienste bedingen Datennetze mit hoher Leistungsfähigkeit und Elastizität. Denn grosse Datenmengen sind oft spontan und trotzdem schnell zu übertragen, was bei starren Netzstrukturen mit festen Bandbreiten nicht funktionieren kann.

SD-WANs als passende Cloud Connectivity

Ein gut strukturiertes und hochstehend betriebenes Datennetz ist darum essentiell, damit die grosse Auswahl an Cloud-Apps ungestört und flüssig genutzt werden kann. Dabei bestehen grosse Unterschiede in der Art und Weise, wie heute auf Cloud-Services zugegriffen wird.

 

So kann der Zugang z.B. über dedizierte Punkt-zu-Punkt-Verbindungen erfolgen, welche zwar einen Direktzugang zu den Cloud Servern eines spezifischen Anbieters via Point of Presence (PoP) bieten, aber teuer und inflexibel sind. Eine weitere Möglichkeit könnte ein Cloud-Zugang über das öffentliche Internet sein – eine zwar günstige Möglichkeit, aber ohne garantierte Performance.

 

Software Defined Wide Area Networks (SD-WANs) hingegen reagieren proaktiv und in Echtzeit auf individuelle Netzwerkanforderungen. Sie ermitteln über dynamisches Routing den für die jeweilige Cloud-Anwendung optimalen Pfad. SD-WANs basieren auf so genannten Software Defined Networks (SDNs) und bieten eine voll gemanagte Cloud Connectivity mit hoher Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit bei tiefer Latenz, gekoppelt mit hoher Sicherheit, Verfügbarkeit, Flexibilität und Elastizität.

Cloud Connectivity von Swisscom

Eine spezifische Kommunikationsdrehscheibe für den Zugang zu den Cloud Services ist die Swisscom-eigene Plattform Service Connect. Sie bildet einen integralen Baustein des Enterprise Connect Angebots. Über den zentralen Service Connect Bus entsteht mit nur wenigen Mausklicks eine Cloud Connectivity vom Kundenzugang zur Cloud, zum klassischen Rechenzentrum oder zu Drittanbieterdiensten.

b2b-gra-cloud-connectivity

Nutzer von Service Connect müssen keine eigenen und kostspieligen Mehrfachlinks zu einzelnen Cloud Providern einrichten. Vielmehr genügt ein einziger Link via Enterprise Connect. Von dort aus kann der Nutzer seinen Zugang zu den gewünschten Clouds über den Service Connect Bus selbst festlegen.

 

Ultrabreitbandige und doppelt vorhandene, georedundante Datenlinks garantieren dabei sichere und hoch performante Zugänge zur Swisscom-eigenen Cloud sowie zu den externen Clouds (z. B. zur AWS-, SAP- oder Azure-Cloud). Dieser Link via Enterprise Connect ist performanter und deutlich preiswerter als mehrere Punkt-zu-Punkt-Datenverbindungen zu den PoPs diverser Cloud Provider.

 

Zudem kann sich der Nutzer gegen böswillige Angriffe aus dem Internet über den hauseigenen DDoS Protection Service schützen – je nach Anforderung bis OSI-Layer 4 oder über alle sieben Layers. DDoS rundet die Cloud Connectivity von Swisscom ab und bietet ein hohes Mass an Schutz und Sicherheit.

Fazit

Als Full Service Provider verfügt Swisscom über ein breites Know-how mit langjähriger Erfahrung im Netzwerk- und IT-Bereich. Unsere ICT-Infrastrukturen werden laufend ausgebaut und verbessert. Davon profitieren auch die Nutzer der Cloud Connectivity von Swisscom.

 

Swisscom ist die vertrauenswürdige Begleiterin in der digitalen Welt. Kundendaten werden verschlüsselt und an Schweizer Standorten gespeichert. Das verringert nicht nur Latenzen, sondern erhöht auch die Sicherheit.


Haben Sie noch Fragen? Wir sind persönlich für Sie da.

Urs Haag

Head of Enterprise Connect Product Family




Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: