Predictive Analytics: Data knows the future

Predictive Analytics

Data can predict the future


Learning from the past in order to master the future – for companies this means: Using Predictive Analytics to estimate the probability of future events in order to draw relevant conclusions for the future.


Text: Felix Raymann, Images: Alamy, Keystone, Strandperle, 20




Getting a crystal ball or relying on the services of a fortune teller is not really an option for most companies looking to improve their HR performance. So how can you find out which valuable employees are about to leave their jobs? How do you track down those employees in the company who will reveal themselves to be talents worth nurturing in the future? Predictive Analytics can help achieve these goals: Company data is used to calculate the probabilities of events occurring. The method enables statistical patterns of behaviour to be used to predict complex economic interrelationships.


The data collected has a great deal of potential

The lack of skilled workers in certain industries is worrying. The best employees leave before the new generation in the company is ready to take their place. To find a solution to this disadvantageous HR situation, the company has to know how to hold on to its valuable employees and how hidden talents within the company’s ranks can be unearthed.

Not an easy task, because resignations often seem to appear out of the blue. And it is not always the loudest employees, those who are good at selling themselves, whose promotion will add to the value of the company. A company’s employees are its most valuable resource. So it is worthwhile taking a closer look and making use of the available information by examining the relationships between various HR data.





“The basis is made up of the widest range of indicators, such as salary, salary development in recent years, years of service, employee review evaluations and age,” explains Martin Gutmann, Head of Analytics & Data Consulting at Swisscom. For example, the SAP Predictive Analytics analysis software investigates along its “Job termination” row how all of the characteristics in the columns match up. “The more of these characteristics one uses, the greater the chance of being able to detect significant matches and thus make predictions,” says Gutmann. “This is also a way of finding those indicators that are not obvious at first glance, but that still influence a job termination. For example, the evaluation of the employee’s superior and even the evaluation of this superior’s boss,” says Gutmann.


Isolated data tells us nothing

In order to be able to generate meaningful data, the information and raw data must be aggregated. “The cleaning, enriching and preparation of the data accounts for around 80-90 % of the work,” says Martin Gutmann, illustrating this with a simple example: “If you want to make predictions for sandwich sales figures in front of Bern train station, the sales figures from the past give you only very limited information for future sales. However, when you enrich this data with other indicators such as the weather conditions, the day of the week or events taking place nearby at the same time, useful predictions can be made.” The system uses algorithms to find out which combination of indicators is most probable for a specific event to occur.


Predicting customer requirements

Knowing in advance how customers are going to behave, when the ideal time is for maintenance, or when fraud is going to be perpetrated, gives a significant competitive advantage and protects against unpleasant surprises. The uses of Predictive Analytics are wide-ranging and encompass all industries. A few examples: In marketing it can be used to determine the target group and the right communication channel. In industry – and especially in machine engineering and IoT projects – accumulated data volumes can be analysed. The focus here is on detecting anomalies in order to make maintenance more straightforward. The process is also applied to invoicing in order to predict customers’ payment practices. If you know that a customer will pay a bill late, but in all probability is going to pay it, you do not send a reminder and the customer experience remains positive as a result.





Optimisations in the finance sector

In the finance sector, Predictive Analytics enables you to optimise your cash flow and make better predictions about it. Banks can improve their credit risk management, optimise their client portfolio or foresee money laundering activities more reliably. “The better a bank understands its customers, the better the consulting it can offer. Instead of making standard offers to customers, a targeted evaluation of the customer data enables you to prepare for specific, relevant offers,” says Gutmann. For example, a large bank in Zurich would conduct an appropriate analysis to find out which customers are very likely not to renew their mortgage. Churn Prediction is used to find the customers most likely to terminate their contracts and then approach them individually. “Along with the characteristics age, gender, type of property etc., other indicators such as ownership of securities, bank balance fluctuations or the use of e-banking are also taken into account,” Gutmann explains.


More than just gathering data

Evaluating historical data is nothing new as such, and has been used for a long time already in the insurance and retail industries in particular. However, what has changed fundamentally is the data volume and especially the ease of access to powerful algorithms with which predictions can be made. In contrast to Business Intelligence (BI), Predictive Analytics does not merely transform unstructured data into usable information, but also describes meaningful correlations that shed light on future events.

To use Predictive Analytics, however, certain prerequisites must be fulfilled: In particular, there must be data of sufficient quantity and quality. And data protection is an important factor here. It is not merely that the data protection laws must be observed at all times, but also that questions relating to ethics and security need to be asked.


Self-learning tools

Predictive models are now able to automatically supply themselves with new data at regular intervals, and to incorporate previous results autonomously. This enables a prediction to be continuously reassessed and refined. The recommendation from the algorithms adjusted in this way is analysed and discussed with business experts and then implemented step by step. The tendency is toward end-to-end automation, from the data collection and processing to the preparation and selection of the best models and their automatic implementation in IT systems based on specified criteria.




Predictive Analytics in Human Capital Management

Risks and trends can be detected early using data analysis. HR data in particular can be used to create detailed reports that enable companies to be proactive in, for example, nurturing valuable employees and also holding on to them. Specifically, Swisscom offers an Ideation Workshop in which companies can work on their own HR application cases.

> More on the Smart Data Lab



“Analytics and data are the key to measurably better solutions.”



Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting







   

Business Intelligence

Central data storage, multi-dimensional data analysis, reporting at the push of a button thanks to modern Business Intelligence tools.

Go to offer


Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Predictive Analytics: Die Daten kennen die Zukunft

Predictive Analytics

Daten sagen die Zukunft voraus


Aus der Vergangenheit zu lernen, um die Zukunft zu meistern – für Unternehmen heisst das: Die Wahrscheinlichkeit von zukünftigen Ereignissen mittels Predictive Analytics abzuschätzen, um so relevante Schlüsse für die Zukunft zu ziehen. 


Text: Felix Raymann, Bilder: Alamy, Keystone, Strandperle, 20




Eine Kristallkugel anzuschaffen oder auf die Dienste einer Wahrsagerin zu zählen, dürfte für die meisten Unternehmen keine Option sein, um ihre HR-Performance zu verbessern. Was also tun, um herauszufinden, welche wertvollen Mitarbeiter bald kündigen? Wie spürt man intern jene Mitarbeitenden auf, die sich in Zukunft als förderungswürdige Talente entpuppen? Zielführend dürfte Predictive Analytics sein: Anhand von Unternehmensdaten werden Wahrscheinlichkeiten für eintretende Ereignisse berechnet. Die Methode erlaubt es, mittels statistischer Verhaltensmuster komplexe wirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge vorherzusagen.


In den gesammelten Daten steckt viel Potenzial

Der Fachkräftemangel in gewissen Branchen ist beängstigend: Die besten Mitarbeitenden kündigen, während der interne Nachwuchs noch nicht bereitsteht. Um aus dieser unvorteilhaften Personalsituation einen Ausweg zu finden, muss das Unternehmen wissen, wie es die wertvollen Mitarbeitenden halten kann und wie die verborgenen Talente in der eigenen Belegschaft aufgespürt werden können.

Keine leichte Aufgabe, denn oft kommen Kündigungen scheinbar wie aus heiterem Himmel. Und nicht immer sind es die lautesten, sich am besten verkaufenden Mitarbeitenden, bei denen eine Beförderung dem Unternehmen einen Mehrwert bringt. Die Mitarbeitenden sind die wertvollste Ressource eines Unternehmens. Da lohnt es sich, genauer hinzuschauen und die vorhandenen Daten zu nutzen. 





Dazu werden die Personaldaten zueinander in Relation gesetzt. «Als Grundlage dienen möglichst viele Indikatoren wie beispielsweise der Lohn, die Lohnentwicklung der letzten Jahre, das Dienstalter, die Bewertung im Mitarbeitergespräch oder das Alter», erklärt Martin Gutmann, Leiter Analytics & Data Consulting bei Swisscom. Man kann sich das so vorstellen, dass die Analyse-Software SAP Predictive Analytics auf der Zeile «Kündigung» die Übereinstimmung mit sämtlichen Merkmalen in den Spalten überprüft. «Je mehr solche Merkmale man beizieht, umso grösser ist die Chance, dass signifikante Übereinstimmungen erkennbar sind und somit Voraussagen gemacht werden können», sagt Gutmann. «Auf diese Weise finden sich auch solche Indikatoren, die auf den ersten Blick nicht offensichtlich sind, die aber trotzdem einen Einfluss auf die Kündigung haben. So etwa die Bewertung des Vorgesetzten und sogar die Bewertung des Chefs dieses Vorgesetzten», sagt Gutmann. 


Isolierte Daten sind nichtssagend

Um aussagekräftige Daten generieren zu können, müssen die Informationen und Rohdaten entsprechend aggregiert werden. «Das Bereinigen, Anreichern und Aufbereiten der Daten machen rund 80–90 % der Arbeit aus», sagt Martin Gutmann, und schildert dies an einem einfachen Beispiel: «Sollen Prognosen für die Sandwich-Verkaufszahlen vor dem Bahnhof Bern gemacht werden, liefern die Verkaufszahlen aus der Vergangenheit nur wenig Anhaltspunkte für künftige Verkäufe. Doch mit der Anreicherung von weiteren Indikatoren wie den Wetterverhältnissen, dem Wochentag oder gleichzeitig stattfindenden Veranstaltungen in der Nähe können brauchbare Vorhersagen gemacht werden.» Mittels Algorithmen findet das System heraus, welche Kombination von Indikatoren am wahrscheinlichsten sind, damit ein bestimmtes Ereignis eintritt.


Kundenbedürfnisse voraussehen

Schon vorher zu wissen, wie sich Kunden verhalten werden, wann der ideale Wartungszeitpunkt ist oder wann ein Betrug stattfindet, bringt einen wesentlichen Wettbewerbsvorteil und schützt vor unliebsamen Überraschungen. Die Anwendungsfälle für Predictive Analytics sind vielfältig und in allen Branchen möglich. Ein paar Beispiele: Im Marketing lassen sich damit die Zielgruppe und der geeignete Kommunikationskanal ermitteln. In der Industrie – insbesondere im Maschinenbau und in IoT-Projekten – können anfallende Datenvolumen analysiert werden. Hier liegt der Schwerpunkt darin, Anomalien aufzudecken, um die Wartung zu erleichtern. Das Verfahren wird zudem in der Fakturierung eingesetzt, um die Zahlungsmoral der Kunden zu prognostizieren: Wer weiss, dass ein Kunde die Rechnung zwar verspätet, aber mit grosser Wahrscheinlichkeit bezahlen wird, verzichtet auf eine Mahnung – somit bleibt das Kundenerlebnis positiv.





Optimierungen im Finanzbereich

Im Finanzbereich lässt sich mit Predictive Analytics der Cashflow optimieren und besser voraussagen. Banken können ihr Kreditrisikomanagement verbessern, ihr Kundenportfolio optimieren oder Geldwäscheaktivitäten besser voraussehen. «Je besser eine Bank ihre Kunden versteht, umso besser ist die Beratung. Statt den Kunden Standardangebote zu unterbreiten, kann man sich mit einer gezielten Auswertung der Kundendaten auf spezifische, relevante Angebote vorbereiten», sagt Gutmann. So versuche man bei einer grossen Bank in Zürich mit einer entsprechenden Analyse herauszufinden, welche Kunden mit einer hohen Wahrscheinlichkeit ihre Hypothek nicht erneuern werden. Mittels Churn Prediction (Kundenabwanderungsprognosen) findet man die kündigungsfreudigen Kunden und kann so gezielt auf sie zugehen. «Dazu werden beispielsweise neben den Merkmalen Alter, Geschlecht, Art der Immobilie etwa auch Indikatoren wie Wertschriftenbesitz, die Veränderungen des Kontostands oder die Nutzung von E-Banking miteinbezogen», erklärt Gutmann.


Mehr als nur Daten sammeln

Die Auswertung von historischen Daten ist per se nichts Neues und wird vor allem bei Versicherungen und im Handel schon seit Längerem angewendet. Was sich jedoch grundlegend verändert hat, ist die Datenmenge und vor allem der einfache Zugriff auf leistungsstarke Algorithmen, mit denen Prognosen erstellt werden können. Anders als bei Business Intelligence (BI) werden mit Predictive Analytics nicht bloss unstrukturierte Daten in brauchbare Informationen transformiert, sondern auch aussagekräftige Korrelationen beschrieben, die Aufschluss über künftige Ereignisse geben.

Um Predictive Analytics zu nutzen, braucht es allerdings gewisse Voraussetzungen: Insbesondere müssen die Daten in ausreichender Menge und Qualität vorhanden sein. Der Datenschutz ist dabei ein wichtiger Faktor. Es geht nicht nur darum, dass die Datenschutzgesetze jederzeit vollumfänglich befolgt, sondern auch, dass Fragen der Ethik und der Sicherheit gestellt werden.


Selbstlernende Tools

Prädiktive Modelle sind heute in der Lage, sich regelmässig automatisch mit neuen Daten zu versorgen und vergangene Ergebnisse selbstständig einzupflegen. Dies führt zu einer kontinuierlichen Neubewertung und Verfeinerung der Prognose. Die so angepasste Empfehlung der Algorithmen wird mit den Businessexperten analysiert, diskutiert und dann Schritt für Schritt eingeführt. Die Tendenz geht in Richtung End-to-End-Automatisierung: Von der Datensammlung und -bearbeitung über die Erstellung und Auswahl der besten Modelle bis hin zu ihrer automatischen Umsetzung in den IT-Systemen aufgrund von festgelegten Kriterien.




Predictive Analytics im Human Capital Management

Risiken und Trends können per Datenanalyse frühzeitig erkannt werden. Insbesondere aus HR-Daten entstehen detaillierte Reports, die es erlauben, proaktiv zu handeln, um beispielsweise die wertvollen Mitarbeitenden zu fördern und diese auch zu halten. Konkret bietet Swisscom einen Ideation-Workshop, in dem Unternehmen ihre eigenen HR-Anwendungsfälle bearbeiten können.

> Mehr zum Smart Data Lab



«Analytik und Daten sind der Schlüssel zu messbar besseren Lösungen.»



Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting







Business Intelligence

Zentrale Datenhaltung, mehrdimensionale Datenanalyse, Reporting auf Knopfdruck dank Einsatz moderner Business-Intelligence-Werkzeuge.


Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema