Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

SAP BW/4HANA interview on use cases

SAP BW/4HANA data warehouse: three customer examples

The data warehouse in practice

Swisscom has successfully implemented the SAP BW/4HANA data warehouse application package at numerous companies. The added value achieved is significant. Expert Martin Gutmann highlights some of the key application benefits for a range of customers.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, Bilder: iSTock,

Hello, Mr Gutmann. You’re part of the expert team at Swisscom responsible for, among other things, the SAP BW/4HANA data warehouse system. What kind of company benefits most from implementing this solution?

Almost any company can benefit from making the switch, including because it can be implemented independently of other SAP applications. SAP BW/4HANA offers companies a variety of benefits when it comes to consolidating data, streamlining processes and utilising real-time insights from data. I explained this in detail in the January newsletter. What’s ultimately important to me above all is the feedback from the customers for whom we have implemented SAP BW/4HANA …

… including a pharmaceutical start-up.

That’s right. Major added value in this case came in the form of real-time reporting. The data models required for an analysis – from the production area or accounting, for example – are now created in virtual form only, meaning that the data no longer need to be replicated. So this means that whenever a document is entered, for example, it’s instantly available in the reporting function. And because we also installed the SAP Business Planning and Consolidation (BPC) planning tool, it’s never been easier to perform real-time comparisons of planned and actual values. This form of comparison used to be possible only once a month and involved a great deal of manual work.

For a company in the automotive industry, the focus is on another form of added value: usability

One problem was that employees who wanted to be better able to interpret a standard report were unable to identify the causes in the details or set important filters for these. This was possible only by taking a ‘detour’ via other IT systems, which involved a lot of extra, time-consuming work and even sapped people’s motivation to contribute to continuous improvement processes. So using SAP BW/4HANA as a basis, we replaced the existing data warehouse system from Microsoft, implemented the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) end user tool and created a powerful self-service platform. The crucial added value in this example is that the different specialist areas can now prepare their own analyses by themselves.

SAP BW/4HANA was also the basis for consolidating the IT infrastructure at Swisscom. B2B trade magazine Computerworld reported on this.

Our challenge was to consolidate more than 100 data flows and logical models. We also had to integrate a complex architecture comprising three SAP business warehouses and applications from third parties. The heterogeneity of the IT infrastructure meant that we were lacking the vital real-time data that would help us to plan product deliveries to Swisscom shops. Thanks to SAP BW/4HANA, we now have a comprehensive platform that manages all our company data in standardised form, enhances customer satisfaction and identifies previously unseen interrelationships and dependencies through data analyses. Another factor that can’t be underestimated is the extensive, in-depth experience that we have acquired and can now pass on to other companies.

The use cases prove that the added value actually achieved can vary depending on the focus. Does that mean it can’t be quantified?

Absolute figures applicable across the board don’t exist, but let me highlight a typical example. At one company operating in the banking world, night-time data processing took eleven hours, meaning that some analyses were not available until midday on the following day. But after the company switched to BW/4HANA, it was possible to begin data analyses in the early hours of the morning. The processing time had almost halved.

Every implementation project involves some outlay.

Of course. But it’s my and my team’s job to keep this outlay to a minimum. We guide our customers’ employees through the different processes step by step – from project initiation to go-live. What’s really important here is the agile approach that we pursue at Swisscom. A series of iteration loops allow companies to benefit from the gradual introduction of ever more features, which they can then use instantly. This ensures a step-by-step introduction to the broadened perspectives now available to companies. Employees enjoy a complete overview of the situation at all times and become gradually acquainted with all the different benefits, features and functions.

What is your approach?

It’s important that we look beyond the idea of a purely analytic application; for example, by putting our heads together and answering some key questions in the analysis phase, such as which data are processed? In what way? When? Why? What peripheral systems and interfaces are there? Who are the consumers? This is important for many reasons, including because our experience shows that the specific system and project context is much more extensive and wide-ranging than many think. And this is exactly why Swisscom’s creativity, ingenuity and, above all, many years of experience are so valuable: we can respond instantly and appropriately to any sudden project risks. This gives our customers peace of mind across all project phases – from costing, staffing, requirements analysis and stakeholder management through to consistent quality assurance, data migration and the scheduled go-live.


Do you have questions?

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting






More on the topic:

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

SAP BW/4HANA Interview zu Use Cases

Data-Warehouse SAP BW/4HANA: Drei Kundenbeispiele

Data-Warehouse in der Praxis

Swisscom hat das Data-Warehouse-Anwendungspaket SAP BW/4HANA schon bei zahlreichen Unternehmen erfolgreich eingeführt. Der erzielte Mehrwert ist signifikant. Experte Martin Gutmann erklärt wesentliche Anwendungsvorteile bei unterschiedlichen Kunden.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, Bilder: iSTock,

Hallo Herr Gutmann, Sie gehören zum Expertenteam, das bei der Swisscom unter anderen für die Data-Warehouse-Lösung SAP BW/4HANA zuständig ist. Für welches Unternehmen lohnt sich der Umstieg?

Fast alle Unternehmen können von dem Umstieg profitieren, auch weil es unabhängig von anderen SAP-Anwendungen umgesetzt werden kann. SAP BW/4HANA bringt Unternehmen eine Vielzahl von Vorteilen, um Daten zu konsolidieren, Prozesse zu straffen und Echtzeiterkenntnisse aus Daten zu nutzen. Im Januar-Newsletter hatte ich das ausführlich beschrieben. Letztlich zählt für mich vor allem die Resonanz unsere Kunden, bei denen wir SAP BW/4HANA eingeführt haben …

… dazu gehört unter anderem ein Start-Up aus dem Bereich Pharma.

Das stimmt. Grundlegender Mehrwert war hier die Berichterstattung in Echtzeit. Die für eine Analyse nötigen Datenmodelle – beispielsweise aus dem Produktionsbereich oder dem Rechnungswesen - werden nun nur noch virtuell aufgebaut. Die bisherige Replikation der Daten ist nicht mehr notwendig. Und das bedeutet: Sobald beispielsweise ein Beleg erfasst wird, ist er sofort auch im Reporting sichtbar. Weil wir zusätzlich auch das Planungstool SAP Business Planning and Consolidation (BPC) installiert haben, ist nun auch die Echtzeitgegenüberstellung von Plan- und Istwerten kein Problem mehr. Früher waren solche Abgleiche nur einmal monatlich möglich. Und sie waren mit hohem manuellem Aufwand verbunden.

Bei einem Unternehmen aus der Automobilbranche steht ein anderer Mehrwert im Fokus: die Usability

Ein Problem war, dass Mitarbeiter, die einen Standardbericht besser verstehen wollten, sich die Ursachen in den Details nicht ansehen oder dafür wichtige Filter setzen konnten. Das ging nur mit Umweg über die IT. Dieser Zusatzaufwand aber ist zeitaufwendig und er mindert die Motivation, selbst zur kontinuierlichen Verbesserung beizutragen. Auf Grundlage von SAP BW/4HANA haben wir deshalb eine vorhandene Data-Warehouse-Lösung von Microsoft abgelöst, das Endanwendertool SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) implementiert und eine leistungsstarke Self-Service Plattform aufgebaut. Der für dieses Beispiel entscheidenden Mehrwert dabei: Fachbereiche können nun eigenständig eigene Auswertungen erstellen.

SAP BW/4HANA war auch die Grundlage, die IT-Infrastruktur bei der Swisscom zu konsolidieren. Das B2B-Fachmagazin Computerworld hatte darüber berichtet.

Wir standen vor der Aufgabe, mehr als 100 Datenflüsse und logische Modelle zusammenzuführen. Zudem sollte eine komplizierte Architektur aus drei SAP Business Warehouses und Anwendungen von Drittarbeitern integriert werden. Wegen der Heterogenität der IT-Infrastruktur fehlten uns wichtige Echtzeitinformationen, die für eine Planung von Produktlieferungen an Swisscom-Shops aber nötig sind. Mit SAP BW/4HANA haben wir nun eine übergreifende Plattform, die alle Unternehmensdaten einheitlich verwaltet, die Kundenfreundlichkeit weiter erhöht und durch Datenanalysen bislang unbekannte Zusammenhänge aufdeckt. Nicht zu unterschätzen dabei: Wir haben auch grundlegende Erfahrungen gesammelt, die wir nun an interessierte Unternehmen weitergeben können.

Die Use-Cases zeigen, dass der erreichte Mehrwert je nach Akzentuierung in jedem Unternehmen unterschiedlich sein kann. Heisst das, dass er sich nicht quantifizieren lässt?

Absolute und allgemeingültige Zahlen gibt es nicht. Aber ich kann ein typisches Beispiel nennen: Bei einem Unternehmen aus dem Banking-Umfeld dauerte die nächtliche Verarbeitung der Daten rund elf Stunden. Das hatte zur Folge, dass manche Auswertungen erst am nächsten Mittag zur Verfügung standen. Nachdem wir auf BW/4HANA umgestellt hatten, konnte die Datenanalyse bereits in den frühen Morgenstunden beginnen – die Verarbeitungszeit hatte sich fast halbiert.

Jeder Um- oder Einstieg ist mit Aufwand verbunden.

Natürlich. Aber es ist meine und die Aufgabe meiner Kollegen, diesen Aufwand so gering wie möglich zu halten. Wir führen Mitarbeitende unserer Kunden Schritt für Schritt durch den Prozess - von der Projektinitiierung bis zum Go-Live. Wichtig dabei ist der agile Ansatz, den wir bei der Swisscom verfolgen: Über Iterationsschleifen erhalten Unternehmen nach und nach immer mehr Features, die sie sofort nutzen können. Das gewährleistet eine schrittweise Einführung in die erweiterten Perspektiven, die sich den Unternehmen nun bieten. Der Überblick ist zu jederzeit gegeben und die Mitarbeitenden werden sukzessive in die Vorteile und Funktionsweisen eingearbeitet.

Wie gehen Sie vor?

Wichtig ist es, über den Tellerrand einer reinen analytischen Applikation zu sehen. Beispielsweise, indem wir in der Analysephase gemeinsam wesentliche W-Fragen beantworten: Wie werden wann welche Daten verarbeitet und warum? Was sind die Umsysteme und die Schnittstellen? Wer sind die Konsumenten? Wichtig ist das unter anderem deshalb, weil der konkrete System- und Projektkontext nach unserer Erfahrung deutlich umfangreicher ist, als viele vermuten. Hier zeigt sich dann, warum Kreativität, Einfallsreichtum und vor allem die langjährige Erfahrung der Swisscom wertvoll sind: Wir können auf plötzlich auftretende Projektrisiken schnell und angemessen reagieren. Damit haben unsere Kunden die Sicherheit über alle Projektphasen hinweg. Von der Aufwandschätzung, dem Staffing, der Anforderungsanalyse und dem Stakeholder Management bis hin zu einer konsistenten Qualitätssicherung & Datenmigration und dem planmässigen Go-Live.


Haben Sie noch Fragen? Wir sind persönlich für Sie da.

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting





Andere Leser interessierte auch: