Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

SAP Commerce testimonial: Möbel Pfister AG

SAP Commerce

Room for inspiration:
The Möbel Pfister AG digital retail platform

No other sector is evolving quite as rapidly as trading and retail at the moment. The digitalisation of processes and the use of SAP Commerce are key elements of this. Möbel Pfister AG is working with webtiser/Swisscom to give its customers a shopping experience that benefits all parties.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, 

Shopping is about more than just acquiring and paying for goods. Shopping is an experience. It is one that is underpinned by choice, customer service and wide-ranging advice, whether online or from well-informed and flexible sales teams This is a philosophy that is shared by Möbel Pfister AG. With support from the e-commerce experts at webtiser, the furniture specialist has now implemented this approach in a forward-looking system. Swisscom acquired webtiser at the beginning of 2021 as a means of enhancing its existing expertise and experience in SAP Customer Experience.

Möbel Pfister AG’s objective was to build up a comprehensive and flexible SAP-based digital retail platform. Based on digitalised processes with automatic synchronisation with SAP ERP, the aim was to give customers an integrated shopping experience, target advice more specifically at customer needs and shine the spotlight on its range of products and services in the best possible way. Möbel Pfister AG, based in the town of Suhr, is Switzerland’s leading furniture retailer. The company operates 18 branches across the country and, with 40,000 products available to buy through its website, is one of the biggest online providers on the Swiss furniture market. It employs more than 1,200 people.

Putting the product range centre stage

Part of Pfister’s exclusivity includes the option to customise furniture. Specific colours, materials, shapes and additional elements and accessories can be configured to suit each customers tastes and factored into the price. To find out details or check stock and delivery options, sales representatives have previously had to traipse back and forth between the customer, standing by an item of furniture in the showroom, and a central desk. Moreover, for example, a sofa in the shop would feature only a certain fabric in a certain colour. If the customer wanted something different, the salesperson would have to refer to little swatches and hope that the customer had a sufficiently vivid imagination.

 

Special stylus-operated tablets introduced as part of the project have significantly improved the customer experience. Interior design consultants can now use the tablet to present all the relevant information in real time, including all the details about warranties, delivery times, discounts and product care, for example. In addition, the screen can reveal the desired configurations before the customer’s very eyes in almost no time at all. If the interior design consultant is visiting the customer at home, he or she can also use a tool on the tablet to furnish a room with virtual versions of the chosen items.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Digital sales representative for an optimised customer experience in store and at home.

SAP Commerce Accelerator

All information and options are gathered on a retail platform based on SAP Commerce, and it is possible to add more features to the platform at any time. SAP Commerce is, in turn, linked to SAP ERP. SAP Commerce is the basis for the use of SAP Accelerator modules, which already offer a wealth of functions for a retail platform. That gives Pfister a sophisticated system of available data, clearly structured processes and various means of providing information, filtered by level of access. Möbel Pfister AG’s websites now offer its customers a range of information and configuration options comparable to what they would find in one of its showrooms, including for training purposes and for online points of sale. The virtual sales presentations on offer also gave Pfister a crucial competitive advantage when shops had to be closed due to COVID-19. Furthermore, the system has been designed from the outset to allow it to be adapted to suit specific requests and accommodate new ideas at any time. ‘In the retail platform, we now have a digital assistant that provides an enormous amount of added value and allows us to act quickly – we really couldn’t be without it,’ as Dominik Müller, project manager at Möbel Pfister AG, says in the following video.

Benchmark for other companies

Pfister went live with the initial version of the platform just four months after webtiser/Swisscom took on the project. From that point onwards, its interior design consultants also had the opportunity to suggest improvements and set an agenda for which aspects should be implemented next. The prioritisation was then adjusted in collaboration with webtiser/Swisscom, and the experts put the modifications into practice in the space of two weeks. This involved testing minute details of every ticket. All told, the project took 14 months.

 

The basic concept, the implementation of the retail platform and the success of Pfister’s customer experience management (CEM) are standard-setting for other Swiss companies wanting to focus their services and customer-facing work on future requirements and expectations with the aid of digital processes. All the more so as the project has shown that companies can boost their agility and resilience to respond rapidly and confidently to challenges such as the COVID-19 pandemic.


Do you have questions?

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries





More on the topic:

SAP Commerce

Raum für Inspiration: Die digitale Verkaufsplattform der Möbel Pfister AG

Keine Branche entwickelt sich aktuell so schnell weiter wie Handel und Verkauf. Die Digitalisierung der Prozesse und der Einsatz von SAP Commerce sind dafür eine wichtige Grundlage. Gemeinsam mit webtiser/Swisscom ermöglicht die Möbel Pfister AG ihren Kunden ein Einkaufserlebnis, von dem alle Seiten profitieren.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, 

Einkaufen ist mehr als Ware zu beziehen und zu bezahlen. Einkaufen ist ein Erlebnis. Untermauert durch Auswahlmöglichkeiten, Service und umfassende Beratung – online oder durch informierte und flexibel agierende Verkäufer. Genau diese Philosophie vertritt auch die Möbel Pfister AG. Mit Unterstützung des E-Commerce Experten von webtiser hat der Möbelspezialist diesen Ansatz nun in ein zukunftstragendes System umgesetzt. Webtiser war Anfang des Jahres 2021 von der Swisscom übernommen worden, um ihre Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen im Bereich SAP Customer Experience zu komplettieren.

Das Ziel der Möbel Pfister AG: Eine umfassende und flexible digitale Verkaufsplattform (VKP) auf Grundlage von SAP. Gestützt auf digitalisierte Prozesse mit automatischer Synchronisierung zum SAP ERP sollte das Einkaufserlebnis für die Kunden ganzheitlich gestaltet, die Beratung stärker auf die Bedürfnisse des Kunden ausgerichtet und das Sortiment sowie Serviceangebote optimal in Szene gesetzt werden. Die Möbel Pfister AG mit Sitz in Suhr ist das führende Einrichtungshaus in der Schweiz. Das Unternehmen betreibt 18 Filialen in allen Landesteilen und gehört mit 40’000 online erwerbbaren Produkten zu den grössten Online-Anbietern im Schweizer Einrichtungsmarkt. Über 1'200 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sind hier aktiv.

Inszenierung des Sortiments

Zur Exklusivität bei Pfister gehört das Angebot, Möbel spezifisch zu konfigurieren. Farbe, Stoffe, Formen oder ergänzende Elemente und Accessoires können für Interessenten gezielt ausgesucht, individuell zusammengestellt und kalkuliert werden. Um Details zu eruieren oder den Bestand und Liefermöglichkeiten abzufragen, mussten die Verkaufsberater bislang zwischen den Kunden beim Möbelstück im Ausstellungsraum und einem zentralen Desk hin- und her wechseln. Zudem hat beispielsweise ein Sofa vor Ort nur einen bestimmten Bezug und eine bestimmte Farbe. Wird etwas anders gewünscht, mussten Verkäufer auf kleine Muster zurückgreifen und dann auf die Fantasie der Kaufinteressenten hoffen.

 

Mit speziellen, im Rahmen des Projekts eingeführten, stiftgestützten Tablets hat sich das Kundenerlebnis grundlegend verbessert. Über das Tablet können nun alle verkaufsrelevanten Informationen von den Wohnberatern in Echtzeit einschliesslich aller Sonderinformationen wie beispielsweise Gewährleistungen, Lieferzeiten, Rabattaktionen oder der Pflege eingesehen werden. Ausserdem können die gewünschten Konfigurationen auf dem Bildschirm sofort virtuell vor Augen geführt werden. Ist der Wohnberater beim Kunden vor Ort, kann zusätzlich ein Tool genutzt werden, um einen Raum via Tablet virtuell mit den ausgesuchten Möbeln auszustatten.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Digitaler Verkaufsberater für ein optimales Kundenerlebnis im Laden und von Zuhause aus.

SAP Commerce Accelerator

Alle Informationen und Möglichkeiten sind auf einer (jederzeit ergänzbaren) Verkaufsplattform auf Basis von SAP Commerce zusammengeführt. Das wiederum ist mit SAP ERP verknüpft. SAP Commerce ist die Grundlage für den Einsatz von SAP Accelerator-Modulen, die bereits eine Fülle von Funktionalitäten für eine Verkaufsplattform mitbringen. Damit verfügt Pfister über ein ausgereiftes System aus bereitstehenden Daten, klar strukturierten Prozessen und unterschiedlichsten Wegen, Informationen zur Verfügung zu stellen – gefiltert je nach Tiefe des Zugangs. Unter anderem für Schulungen oder für Points of Sale im Internet bietet die Webseiten der Möbel Pfister AG ihrer Kundschaft nun einen vergleichbare Informations- und Konfigurationsumfang wie im Einrichtungshaus. Durch das Angebot virtueller Verkaufsgespräche hatte Pfister auch einen entscheidenden Wettbewerbsvorteil, als wegen Covid-19 Läden geschlossen werden mussten. Zudem ist das System von Anfang an so angelegt, dass es jederzeit erneut an spezifische Wünsche angepasst und um Ideen erweitert werden kann. „Wir haben nun in der Verkaufsplattform einen digitalen Assistenten, der uns einen Riesenmehrwert und eine Schnelligkeit erlaubt, die wir nicht mehr missen wollen“, resümiert Dominik Müller, Projektleiter bei der Möbel Pfister AG im Filmbeitrag oben.

Benchmark für andere Unternehmen

Bereits vier Monate nach Übernahme des Projekts durch webtiser/Swisscom konnte Pfister mit einer ersten Version live gehen. Ab dann hatten auch die Wohnberater die Möglichkeit, Verbesserungen anzuregen und eine Agenda festzulegen, welche Punkte als nächste umgesetzt werden sollten. Gemeinsam mit webtiser/Swisscom wurde die Priorisierung angepasst. Die Experten setzten die Modifikationen dann innerhalb von zwei Wochen um. Dabei wurde jedes Ticket bis ins Detail getestet. Die Projektdauer betrug 14 Monate.

 

Konzept, Umsetzung der VKP und der Erfolg des Customer Experience Management (CEM) von Pfister sind richtungweisend für weitere Schweizer Unternehmen, die ihre Services und ihre Kundenfreundlichkeit mit Hilfe digitaler Prozesse an künftigen Erfordernissen und Erwartungen ausrichten wollen. Zumal das Projekt gezeigt hat, dass Unternehmen ihre Agilität und Resilienz steigern können, um auf Herausforderungen wie die Covid-19 Pandemie rasch und souverän zu reagieren.


Haben Sie noch Fragen? Wir sind persönlich für Sie da.

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries




Andere Leser interessierte auch: