Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab

A bridge between industry and academia: The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab 

Industry 4.0, IoT, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence and Blockchain are the latest technologies that many companies are keen to take advantage of. But how can you integrate these technologies at your company without the necessary specialist expertise or background? This is where Swisscom's IoT/5G Innovation Lab comes in.

Text: Martina Longo / Alexandru Rusu, 31 may 2019

New technologies are developing apace and offer great opportunities in a world where efficiency is becoming increasingly important. In line with this, Swisscom continues to invest in research into innovative concepts and develop instruments that help the industry to successfully integrate new technologies. We employ teams of experts to support our customers in the digitisation process. The latest technologies are researched in collaboration with leading universities and implemented in research and development projects. The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab is one such place of innovation.

Open and spacious rooms in the IoT /5G Innovation Lab make innovative work possible.  

Swisscom has set up the Innovation Lab as part of the IoT department to provide access to the latest technologies with the help of science. Swisscom’s IoT/5G Innovation Lab is based in the Innovation Park of the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). It serves as a bridge between the industry and academia. Alexandru Rusu manages the Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab and collaborates with a broad network of master students, post-doc students and professors on research projects that combine both professional and academic interests.

The IoT/5G Innovation Lab is also used for events and workshops.  

The main research topics in the Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab are:

 

  • Localisation algorithms
  • 5G and low power network architectures
  • Power management for efficient data transmission
  • Privacy preserving and decentralised data sharing systems
  • Data analytics using machine learning and artificial intelligence

 

The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab offers consulting and rapid prototyping based on IoT applications. IoT connects things such as devices, sensors and machines to the Internet and thus generates data. With the help of this data, applications are fed and trained to improve processes, develop new services or create innovative business models.

 

Innovation from the IoT/5G Innovations Labs efficiently improves processes, as this example shows:

 

In order to optimise transport routes within a construction site, several odometers and presence sensors were installed on the machines that transport the goods. The distance data and load status of the machine were recorded while the machine was moving and then transferred to the cloud via LoRa communication. There, the trip statistics were calculated, and possible route improvements were suggested. Use of the IoT permitted the efficient use of routes on the construction site and the swift transportation of material from A to B. The system was able to use the data of the construction site to calculate the route statistics and propose possible route improvements.

Everywhere you look you see innovation: Drones are used for various LoRaWAN projects.  

The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab offers all the advantages of collaboration between science and industry. Innovative ideas are developed in the laboratory, new technologies are researched, and their application is put into practice. Customers gain insights into the latest technology trends and experience how the introduction of new methods can optimise and improve the efficiency of processes in their company.


About the Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab 

The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab was founded in 2016. The innovation platform is dedicated to the latest digitisation trends and offers consulting for large companies to develop projects for digital transformation. Would you like to make your company fit for a digital future? Contact our expert.




Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab

Zwischen Industrie und Akademie: Das Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab

Industrie 4.0, IoT, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain – neue Technologien, die viele Unternehmen einsetzen möchten. Aber wie kann ein Unternehmen diese Technologien ohne vertiefte Fachkenntnisse in der eigenen Firma integrieren? Hier kommt das IoT/5G Innovation Lab von Swisscom ins Spiel.

Text: Martina Longo / Alexandru Rusu, 31. Mai 2019

Neue Technologien entwickeln sich extrem schnell weiter und bieten grosse Möglichkeiten in einer Welt, in der Effizienz immer wichtiger wird. Swisscom ist sich dessen bewusst; wir investieren daher weiterhin in die Erforschung innovativer Konzepte und entwickeln Instrumente, die der Industrie helfen, neue Technologien erfolgreich in ihr Unternehmen zu integrieren. Verschiedene Expertenteams unterstützen unsere Kunden bei der Digitalisierung. Die neusten Technologien werden in Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Universitäten erforscht und in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten realisiert. Ein solcher Ort der Innovation ist das Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab.

Offene und grosszügige Räume im IoT/5G Innovation Lab ermöglichen innovatives Arbeiten.  

Swisscom hat das IoT/5G Innovation Lab als Teil der IoT-Abteilung ins Leben gerufen, um mit Hilfe der Wissenschaft Zugang zu den neuesten Technologien zu schaffen. Es ist im Innovationspark der École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) untergebracht und dient als Brücke zwischen der Industrie und der akademischen Welt der Forschung. Alexandru Rusu leitet das Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab und arbeitet zusammen mit einem weiten Netzwerk aus Masterstudierenden, Postdoc-Studierenden und Professoren an Forschungsprojekten, die sowohl berufliche als auch akademische Interessen verbinden.

Das 5G/Innovation Lab wird auch für Events und Workshops genutzt.  

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte im Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab sind:

 

  • Lokalisierungsalgorithmen (wie LoRa-WAN)
  • 5G- und Low-Power-Netzwerkarchitekturen
  • Energiemanagement für eine effiziente Datenübertragung
  • Dezentrale Datenaustauschsysteme
  • Datenanalyse mit maschinellem Lernen und künstlicher Intelligenz

 

Im Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab wird Beratung sowie Rapid Prototyping angeboten, basierend auf IoT-Anwendungen. IoT verbindet Dinge wie Geräte, Sensoren und Maschinen mit dem Internet und erzeugt dadurch Daten. Mit Hilfe dieser Daten werden Anwendungen gefüttert und trainiert, um Prozesse zu verbessern, neue Services zu entwickeln oder innovative Geschäftsmodelle zu erschaffen.

 

Durch die Innovation aus dem IoT/5G Innovation Lab können Prozesse effizient verbessert werden, wie dieses Beispiel zeigt:

 

Um die Transportwege innerhalb einer Baustelle zu optimieren, wurden mehrere Kilometerzähler und Präsenzsensoren an den Maschinen installiert, die die Ware transportieren. Die Abstandsdaten und der Ladezustand der Maschine wurden während der Bewegung der Maschine erfasst und dann über die LoRa-Kommunikation in die Cloud übertragen. Dort wurden die Fahrtenstatistiken berechnet und mögliche Routenverbesserungen vorgeschlagen. Dank IoT konnten die Wege auf der Baustelle effizient genutzt und Material rasch von A nach B transportiert werden.

Überall trifft man auf Innovation: Drohnen sind für verschiedene LoRaWAN-Projekte im Einsatz.  

Das Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab bietet alle Vorteile der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft und Industrie. Im Labor entstehen innovative Ideen, neue Technologien werden erforscht und deren Anwendung in der Praxis umgesetzt. Kunden erhalten dadurch Einblick in die aktuellsten Technologie-Trends und erleben, wie Prozesse in ihrem Unternehmen durch den Einsatz neuer Methoden optimiert und effizienter gestaltet werden können.


Über das Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab

Das Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab wurde 2016 gegründet. Die Innovationsplattform widmet sich den neusten Digitalisierungstrends und bietet Beratung für Grossunternehmen, um Projekte für die digitale Transformation zu entwickeln. Möchten Sie Ihr Unternehmen digital fit machen? Melden Sie sich bei unserem Experten.




Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema

Whitepaper

IoT – Internet of Things kurz erklärt

Was ist "Internet of Things" (IoT)? Wie können Unternehmen und Kunden von IoT-Anwendungen profitieren? Wir zeigen Ihnen aus fünf Gesichtspunkten, was Sie wissen müssen.



White Paper

IoT-Zugangstechnologien

Dieses Whitepaper zeigt die Eigenschaften der wichtigsten Zugangstechnologien zur Verbindung von Geräten und bietet Anhaltspunkte, welche Technologie sich für welchen Einsatzzweck eignet.