New services for B2B and B2C

 ‘autoSense is real IoT’

autoSense was founded in May 2018. Today, the car connectivity business is running smoothly. CEO Jaap Vossen explains why his Swiss ecosystem for cars is growing so fast and the role IoT is playing.

Text: Tanja Kammermann, Image: Nadja Etter,

Jaap Vossen, your autoSense solution is not the only connectivity product available for cars. What makes your business model unique?

Two things: we are bringing the worlds of B2B and B2C closer together, because we offer products both for businesses and for private customers. Secondly, and most importantly, we are completely focused on Switzerland, where we are building a national ecosystem dedicated to cars. I don’t know anyone else who is putting end users’ data in an open ecosystem with their consent.

AMAG, Migrol, driving schools and now Zurich Insurance Group. The autoSense ecosystem is growing rapidly. How have you persuaded companies to work with you?

In a lot of different ways. It depends greatly on the particular partner or company. We always ask the question: where are the partner’s pain points? Do they know their customers? Do they want to improve efficiency? Do they want to increase customer loyalty or bring new business models to market? With these questions in mind, we talked with people and showed them what added value and benefits autoSense has to offer.

Your original background is in fact in IoT. What role does the Internet of Things play for autoSense?

To be completely honest, I don’t think in terms of AI, IoT, or Big Data. For me, we are IoT. We connect cars and things – which is, basically, what IoT is. So for us, IoT is a means to an end, but the connectivity is crucial to us, because we can’t do anything without connectivity, and we even have two connections running simultaneously. Firstly, we have to constantly transmit all of the data from the vehicle. Secondly, we provide the customer a hotspot in their vehicle. And for the connections to be stable while both are working simultaneously and independently of each other is a really big technical challenge.

Tell us, what’s your favourite autoSense feature?

Well, we’re standing here at a Migrol petrol station, so it would have to be the autoSense Fuel app, our new refuelling assistant. Let me show you.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Jaap Vossen, CEO of autoSense says, ‘We are IoT’ and shows us how easy it is to use the new refuelling app.  

You recently launched a new car insurance model. Tell us all about it.

We partnered up with the insurance company Dextra to market an insurance model for occasional drivers. It only bills the effective number of kilometres driven and is called Flexdrive. The idea is simple: less driving, less risk, lower premiums.


About autoSense 

Founded in 2018, autoSense has quickly gained a foothold in the Swiss market as a major player in connectivity for smart vehicles. autoSense is a Zurich-based joint start-up owned by Swisscom (Switzerland) Ltd and AMAG Group AG. It focuses on developing innovative automobile services for private individuals and companies. The company uses an open ecosystem platform with plug-and-play functionality. It offers advanced fleet management solutions and driver-centric data intelligence together with partner services that are constantly being further developed.

 

> More about autoSense



Data-driven business models

What applies to cars is conceivable for every other type of device and object. Once connected to the Internet of Things, it is possible to tap into previously unused data. With the right combination of other technologies, such as cloud, analytics, security and new ecosystem partners, this data can be used for entirely new, lucrative service models and to provide a greater customer focus as a recipe for success.

 

Enterprise IoT from Swisscom combines various access technologies, platforms and a large ecosystem. Thanks to a modular approach that is not tied to specific technologies, customers can easily connect and manage IoT objects, process IoT data in useful ways and grow their businesses as a result. Swisscom also offers access to a well-established IoT ecosystem and other elements, such as cloud, security and data analytics solutions to integrate IoT projects at every level. Swisscom has 15 years of experience as an IoT pioneer.

 

> Swisscom Enterprise IoT


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

IoT-Ökosystem für das Auto

Neue Services für B2B und B2C

«autoSense ist de facto IoT»

Im Mai 2018 wurde autoSense gegründet – inzwischen läuft das Business ums vernetzte Auto rund. Geschäftsführer Jaap Vossen verrät im Interview, warum sein Schweizer Ökosystem rund um Autos so schnell wächst und welche Rolle IoT dabei spielt.

Text: Tanja Kammermann, Bild: Nadja Etter,

Jaap Vossen, Ihr seid mit autoSense nicht die Einzigen, die Fahrzeuge vernetzen. Was ist das Besondere an eurem Geschäftsmodell?

Das sind zwei Dinge: Wir bringen die Welten von B2B (Business to Business) und B2C (Business to Consumer) zusammen, denn wir haben Angebote sowohl für Business- wie auch für Privatkunden. Und das Zweite, das Allerwichtigste ist, dass wir uns zu 100 Prozent auf die Schweiz konzentrieren und hier vor Ort ein nationales Ökosystem rund um das Auto aufbauen. Ich kenne niemand anderen, der die Daten des Endkunden, nach dessen Einwilligung, in einem offenen Ökosystem zur Verfügung stellt.

Amag, Migrol, Fahrschulen und jetzt Zurich Versicherung. Das Ökosystem rund um autoSense wächst schnell. Wie habt ihr die Firmen von einer Zusammenarbeit mit euch überzeugt?

Sehr unterschiedlich. Das ist sehr partner- sprich firmenindividuell. Wir haben uns immer gefragt, wo liegt der Pain des Partners? Kennt er seine Kunden nicht? Will er effizienter werden? Möchte er seine Kunden loyalisieren oder möchte er neue Businessmodelle an den Markt bringen? Anhand dessen haben wir jeweils das Gespräch gesucht und den Mehrwert und die Vorteile von autoSense vorgestellt.

Du kommst ja ursprünglich aus dem IoT-Bereich. Welche Rolle spielt das Internet of Things bei autoSense?

Ich muss dir ganz ehrlich sagen, ich denke nicht in den Begriffen AI, IoT oder Big Data. Für mich sind wir IoT. Wir vernetzen Fahrzeuge und Dinge - das ist de facto IoT. Für uns ist IoT also ein Mittel zum Zweck, doch die Connectivity ist für uns sehr zentral. Denn ohne Connectivity passiert bei uns nichts und wir haben sogar zwei Verbindungen, die parallel gleichzeitig laufen. Das eine ist, dass wir konstant alle Daten aus dem Fahrzeug auslesen. Das zweite: Wir stellen dem Kunden einen Hotspot im Fahrzeug zur Verfügung. Und dass beide Verbindungen gleichzeitig und unabhängig voneinander stabil laufen, ist technisch eine sehr grosse Herausforderung.

Welches ist eigentlich deine Lieblingsfunktion bei autoSense?

Wir stehen ja hier an einer Migrol-Tankstelle und darum ist es die autoSense-Fuel App, unsere neue Tankfunktion. Ich zeige Sie dir.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Jaap Vossen, Chef von autoSense sagt «Wir sind IoT» und zeigt uns, wie einfach die neue Tank-App funktioniert.  

Kürzlich habt ihr ein neues Modell für Autoversicherungen lanciert. Was hat es damit auf sich?

Wir haben zusammen mit dem Versicherer Dextra ein Versicherungsmodell für Wenig-Fahrer auf den Markt gebracht. Dieses verrechnet nur die effektiv gefahrenen Kilometer und heisst Flexdrive. Die Idee ist einfach: Wenig fahren, weniger Risiko, tiefere Prämie.


Über autoSense

Das 2018 gegründete Unternehmen autoSense hat sich auf dem schweizerischen Markt rasch als einer der wichtigsten Akteure für die Vernetzung von intelligenten Fahrzeugen etabliert. autoSense ist ein gemeinsames Start-up-Unternehmen von Swisscom (Schweiz) AG und der AMAG Group AG mit Sitz in Zürich und konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung innovativer Automobildienstleistungen für Privatpersonen und Unternehmen. Das Unternehmen nutzt eine offene Ökosystem-Plattform und Plug & Play-Funktionalität. Es bietet erweiterte Flottenmanagement-Lösungen und fahrerzentrierte Datenintelligenz und Partnerdienste, die ständig weiterentwickelt werden.

 

> Mehr zu autoSense



Datengetriebene Geschäftsmodelle

Was für Autos gilt, ist für jede Art von Geräten und Objekten denkbar. Einmal mit dem Internet der Dinge vernetzt, schafft es den Zugang zu bisher ungenutzten Daten. Mit der richtigen Kombination weiterer technologischer Bausteine wie Cloud, Analytics oder Security sowie neuen Ökosystempartnern wird die Nutzung dieser Daten für ganz neue, lukrative Servicemodelle und eine stärkere Kundenorientierung zum Erfolgsrezept.

 

Enterprise IoT von Swisscom vereint verschiedene Zugangstechnologien, Plattformen und ein grosses Ökosystem. Dank eines modularen und technologieunabhängigen Ansatzes können Kunden IoT-Objekte einfach vernetzen, verwalten, IoT-basierte Daten sinnvoll verarbeiten und so ihr Geschäft weiterbringen. Swisscom bietet zudem den Zugang zu einem etablierten IoT-Ökosystem und weitere Bausteine wie Cloud-, Security- oder Data Analytics-Lösungen, um IoT-Vorhaben ganzheitlich zu realisieren. Swisscom blickt als IoT Pionier auf 15 Jahre Erfahrung zurück.

 

> Swisscom Enterprise IoT


Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema