Data breach: the correct response to cyber attacks

Data-Breach

First aid for a hacker attack


Companies are constantly being attacked by hackers. If data is stolen, the correct actions must be carried out as quickly as possible. One scenario shows how to limit the damage.


Text: Felix Raymann in collaboration with Lorenz Inglin, Images: Luca Zanier




“The website is not available” – this is the alarm SMS received by Arno P. in the middle of the night. As he is responsible for the IT of an online retailer, Arno P. gets up and logs into the system in the usual way to see what the problem is. “This could really wait until the morning,” he thinks to himself, because hardly anyone uses the Swiss web shop during the night.


But when he sees the traffic figures he can hardly believe his eyes – there’s an inexplicably high level of data traffic on the servers. Evidently attackers are using a multitude of automated attacks in an attempt to make the website inaccessible.


However, when he examines the logs on the servers he discovers that customer data is also being stolen at the same time. The attack on the website might only be a distraction. He is unable to shut down individual servers, and he is unsure whether he should start blocking the data theft himself, or even how to do this.


An emergency plan is indispensable

The incident described can either be a catastrophe for the company, or it can get off lightly. In the optimum scenario, an emergency plan informs Arno P. what to do. He calls the support number at Swisscom, whose services and infrastructures are used by the company. Swisscom is up to speed and has already blocked a number of areas in which suspicious activities were detected.


“This is a DDoS attack,” says the responsible member of the security team. “We were able to filter out the malicious network traffic, and the service will be available again soon.” However, the hackers also managed to exploit a weakness in a database and copy customer data.

The first thing we want to do is stop these activities. Only then do the security specialists use the log files to try to find out how the attackers were able to access the sensitive data.




Emergency plan: actions following an attack


Even with the best preventive actions, hackers may still be able to steal data using a wide range of attacking methods. After an incident is detected, every second counts. Swisscom’s Computer Security Incident Response Team deploys the following actions to defend against threats:

 

  • Evaluate the available information on the incident. What is going on? Is it necessary to send a Swisscom team to the company?
  • Initiate immediate actions (stop activities and evaluate the extent of the damage and the data losses)
  • Find the cause of the problem
  • Initiate actions to contain / remove the problem
  • Improve the protection and identify comparable problems
  • Restoring, validating, monitoring
  • Preserving evidence (source of attacks, potentially for legal purposes)
  • Debriefing, documentation, implementing corrective actions


Because the company is not using all of the services at Swisscom, the goal is now to limit the damage on the company’s own servers. So Arno P. goes into work. There he pulls the ethernet plugs of the servers in accordance with the instructions in his emergency plan, but he does not shut down the computers, in order to be able to reconstruct any potential manipulation later. “The memory can tell us a lot about the nature of the interference with the system,” says Lorenz Inglin, Head of the Security Monitoring & Incident Response Team (CSIRT) at Swisscom.


The subsequent analysis of the log files will reveal that the attacker got into the system via a weakness in the application (using an “SQL injection”). Swisscom’s forensic team now has the task of preserving evidence and finding out who could be behind the attack. They have to analyse where the attack came from, what data was stolen and how significant the damage is. It is equally important to block the communication channels for the attackers and repair the weakness in the application. The employees and customers also have to be told what they need to do. An official statement should also be prepared for the media and customer services.



1/5 Swisscom’s security team provides first aid after a hacker attack.

2/5 The specialists analyse the log files in order to detect suspicious activity.

3/5 First aid on site: On the way to the customer with a forensic kit.

4/5 Creating forensic copies of hard disks, identifying causes, containing Problems: Swisscom's CSIRT Team at work.

5/5 Pulling the plug: In serious cases, every second counts.

1/5 Swisscom’s security team provides first aid after a hacker attack.


Costly aftermath of an attack

After the initial actions have been carried out, the concern is now to limit the damage as far as possible. It is very difficult to determine the extent of the actual damage. Financial damage can occur directly or indirectly. Potential factors are:

 

  • Internal workload to remove problem and restore systems
  • External forensic workload and restoring leased systems
  • New security measures
  • Reputation: damage to image, loss of customer trust, drop in share price




Current threats to companies


Hackers use a wide range of methods to access sensitive data such as customer information, credit card details, passwords etc. Lorenz Inglin: “Attacks are made on a daily basis and we are permanently on alert, trying to detect and repel such attacks.”


Between March and December 2016, there were 83,928 incidents of blocking 74,602 e-mail addresses at Swisscom alone. “We are continuously monitoring our networks, looking for unusual occurrences. For example, we detect and block around 2,500 phishing websites every month,” says Lorenz Inglin.


At present, companies are mainly exposed to the following threats:

 

  • Phishing
  • DDoS attacks (disabling of services and websites)
  • Ransomware (data encryption followed by blackmailing)
  • Social engineering (using tricks to obtain data and passwords). Example: “Fake President Fraud”: A scammer pretends to be a member of the company management and gets employees to make bank transfers.

Hacker typology:


  • Lone individuals: “Script kiddies” or digital vandals who try to break into systems or disable them.
  • Hackers: Hacktivists who are capable of making DDoS attacks, for instance.
  • Criminal organisations: Organised groups and organisations that have the manpower and resources necessary to make targeted attacks and steal money.
  • Terror activists: Ideologically motivated hackers who want to manipulate infrastructures.
  • State hackers: Politically or economically motivated? Capable of making major attacks, infiltrating companies etc.







More on the topic


Threat Detection & Response

Obtain an overview of potential security incidents and get professional support in the event of cyber security attacks.

Data-Breach: Richtige Reaktion bei Cyber-Attacken

Data-Breach

Erste Hilfe beim Hacker-Angriff


Unternehmen werden permanent von Hackern angegriffen. Erfolgt ein Datendiebstahl, müssen möglichst schnell die richtigen Massnahmen ergriffen werden. Ein Szenario zeigt, wie die Schäden geringgehalten werden können.


Text: Felix Raymann in Zusammenarbeit mit Lorenz Inglin, Bilder: Luca Zanier




«Die Website ist nicht erreichbar» steht auf dem Alarm-SMS, das Arno P. mitten in der Nacht erhält. Wohl oder übel rafft sich der IT-Verantwortliche eines Online-Händlers auf und loggt sich routinemässig ins System ein um zu sehen, was nicht in Ordnung ist. «Eigentlich hätte das ja auch Zeit bis morgen früh», denkt er sich, schliesslich kauft kaum jemand nachts im Schweizer Web-Shop ein.


Doch als er die Traffic-Zahlen kontrolliert, traut er seinen Augen kaum: Auf den Servern herrscht reger Datenverkehr, den er nicht deuten kann. Offenbar versuchen Angreifer mit einer Vielzahl automatisierter Zugriffe, die Webseite unzugänglich zu machen.


Aber bei der Durchsicht der Logs auf den Servern stellt er noch etwas fest: Offenbar werden gleichzeitig auch noch Kundendaten gestohlen. Der Angriff auf die Webseite könnte bloss ein Ablenkungsmanöver sein. Einzelne Server herunterzufahren gelingt ihm nicht, zudem weiss er gar nicht, ob und wie er beginnen soll, den Datendiebstahl selbst zu stoppen.


Ein Notfallplan ist unverzichtbar

Der beschriebene Vorfall kann entweder zur Katastrophe für das Unternehmen werden, oder aber glimpflich ausgehen. Im besseren Fall weiss Arno P. dank eines Notfallplans, was zu tun ist. Er ruft die Support-Nummer von Swisscom an, bei dem das Unternehmen Services und Infrastrukturen nutzt. Dort ist man bereits im Bilde und hat inzwischen einige Bereiche, auf denen verdächtige Aktivitäten entdeckt wurden, unzugänglich gemacht.

«Es handelt sich um eine DDoS-Attacke», sagt der zuständige Mitarbeiter vom Security-Team. «Wir konnten den bösartigen Netzwerkverkehr herausfiltern, der Dienst wird in Kürze wieder erreichbar sein. Doch konnten die Hacker zusätzlich eine Schwachstelle auf einer Datenbank ausnutzen um Kundendaten zu kopieren.


Nun gilt es als erstes, diese Vorgänge zu stoppen. Erst in einem nächsten Schritt versuchen die Security-Spezialisten anhand der Log-Files herauszufinden, auf welchem Weg die Angreifer Zugriff auf die sensiblen Daten erlangen konnten.




Notfallplan: Massnahmen nach einem Angriff


Trotz bester präventiver Massnahmen ist es möglich, dass Hacker mit verschiedensten Angriffsmethoden Daten stehlen können. Bemerkt man einen Vorfall, zählt jede Sekunde. Das Computer Security Incident Response Team von Swisscom sieht folgende Massnahmen zur Abwehr von Bedrohungen vor:

 

  • Vorhandene Informationen über den Vorfall auswerten. Worum handelt es sich? Ist ein Vor-Ort-Team von Swisscom nötig?
  • Sofortmassnahmen einleiten (Vorgänge stoppen, Schadensmass, Datenverluste eruieren)
  • Ursache des Problems finden
  • Massnahmen einleiten, um das Problem einzudämmen / Behebung des Problems
  • Verbesserung des Schutzes und vergleichbare Probleme identifizieren
  • Wiederherstellung, Validierung, Überwachung
  • Beweissicherung (Quelle der Angriffe, evt. für gerichtliche Zwecke)
  • Debriefing, Dokumentation, Anwenden der Korrekturmassnahmen


Da das Unternehmen nicht alle Dienste bei Swisscom nutzt, gilt es nun, den Schaden auf den eigenen Servern in Grenzen zu halten. Deshalb begibt sich Arno P. ins Büro. Dort zieht er gemäss Anweisung seines Notfallplans zwar die Ethernet-Stecker der Server, fährt die Rechner aber nicht herunter, so dass eventuelle Manipulationen im Nachhinein rekonstruiert werden können. «Der Arbeitsspeicher kann uns viele Hinweise darüber geben, welche Eingriffe auf das System gemacht wurden» sagt Lorenz Inglin, Head Security Monitoring & Incident Response Team (CSIRT) bei Swisscom.


Die spätere Analyse der Log-Files wird ergeben, dass der Angreifer durch eine Schwachstelle in der Applikation (mittels «SQL Injection») ins System eingedrungen ist. Die Aufgabe des Forensik-Teams von Swisscom ist es nun, Beweismittel zu sichern und herauszufinden, wer dahinterstecken könnte. Die Forensiker müssen analysieren, woher der Angriff kam, welche Daten gestohlen wurden bzw. wie gross der Schaden überhaupt ist. Ebenso wichtig ist es, die Kommunikationskanäle zu den Angreifern zu sperren, die Schwachstelle in der Applikation zu schliessen. Zudem müssen die Mitarbeitenden und Kunden informiert werden, wie sie sich verhalten sollen. Auch eine Sprachregelung für den Medien- und Kundendienst sollte erstellt werden.



1/5 Das Security-Team von Swisscom leistet erste Hilfe bei Hacker-Angriffen.

2/5 Die Spezialisten analysieren die Log-Files, um verdächtige Bewegungen festzustellen.

3/5 Erste Hilfe vor Ort: Mit dem Forensik-Koffer unterwegs zum Kunden.

4/5 Forensische Kopien von Festplatten erstellen, Ursachen identifizieren, Probleme eindämmen: Das CSIRT-Team von Swisscom im Einsatz.

5/5 Stecker ziehen: Im Ernstfall zählt jede Sekunde.

1/5 Das Security-Team von Swisscom leistet erste Hilfe bei Hacker-Angriffen.


Teure Folgen eines Angriffs

Konnten erste Massnahmen ergriffen werden, geht es darum, die Schäden möglichst gering zu halten. Wie hoch tatsächliche Schäden sind, ist nur schwer herauszufinden. Finanzieller Schaden kann direkt entstehen oder indirekt. Mögliche Faktoren sind:

 

  • Interner Aufwand für Behebung und Wiederherstellung
  • externe Forensik, Wiederherstellung der gemieteten Systeme
  • neue Sicherheitsmassnahmen
  • Reputation: Imageschaden, Vertrauensverlust der Kunden, sinkender Aktienkurs




Die Bedrohungslage für Unternehmen


Um an sensible Daten wie Informationen über Kunden, Kreditkarteninformationen, Passwörter etc. zu kommen, werden Hacker die unterschiedlichsten Methoden an. Lorenz Inglin: «Angriffe sind alltäglich, wir befinden uns ständig in Alarmbereitschaft und versuchen, Angriffe aufzuspüren und abzuwehren.»


Von März bis Dezember 2016 gab es alleine bei Swisscom 83’928 Sperrungen von 74’602 Mail-Adressen. «Wir überwachen permanent unsere Netze und suchen nach ungewöhnlichen Ereignissen. So finden und sperren wir unter anderem monatlich rund 2’500 Phishing-Seiten», sagt Lorenz Inglin.


Zurzeit sind es vor allem folgende Bedrohungen, denen Unternehmen ausgesetzt sind:

 

  • Phishing
  • DDoS-Attacken (Lahmlegen von Diensten, Websites)
  • Ransomware (Datenverschlüsselung und anschliessende Erpressung)
  • Social Engineering (Erschleichen von Daten, Passwörtern mittels Tricks. Beispiel: «Fake President Fraud»: Betrüger geben sich als Mitglied des Managements eines Unternehmens aus und bewegen Angestellte dazu, Geldüberweisungen zu tätigen.

Hacker-Typologie:


  • Einzeltäter: Sogenannte Script Kiddies oder digitale Vandalen, die ausprobieren, irgendwo einzudringen oder Systeme lahmzulegen.
  • Hacker: Hacktivists, die in der Lage sind, beispielsweise DDOS-Attacken auszuführen.
  • Kriminelle Organisationen: Organisierte Banden und Organisationen, die mit viel Aufwand und ausreichend Mitteln gezielte Angriffe tätigen, um an Geld zu kommen.
  • Terror-Aktivisten: Ideologisch motivierte Hacker mit dem Ziel, Infrastrukturen zu manipulieren.
  • Staatliche Hacker: Politisch oder wirtschaftlich motiviert? Sind in der Lage, grosse Angriffe zu tätigen, Leute einzuschleusen etc.







Mehr zum Thema


Threat Detection & Response

Übersicht über potentielle Sicherheitsvorfälle erhalten und bei Cyber Security Attacken professionelle Unterstützung beziehen.