How companies prevent unwanted data loss

Data loss prevention: between people and tech

Data loss prevention (i.e. preventing loss, leakage and exfiltration of confidential data) is not just a technical matter – it is equally important to involve employees, as the DLP measures will not work without them. These approaches are promising.

Text: Andreas Heer, 18 june 2019, updated on 21.07.2021

It happens fast: the email sender is in a hurry, selects the wrong recipient and, before they know it, a confidential product presentation has been revealed to the outside world. Or commercial data is stored in a private online storage space – and stolen shortly afterwards during a break-in. Worse still, an employee may disclose confidential information intentionally.

Fines and reputational damage from data loss

As these examples show, protecting confidential company data is both complex and important. As the name suggests, data loss prevention (DLP) – also referred to as data leakage prevention – describes all measures intended to prevent unwanted loss, leakage or exfiltration of company information. Compliance requirements imposed by data protection legislation and regulations play an important role here, as breaches can lead to heavy fines. But the company’s reputation is equally important, since it helps to generate trust among customers. ‘Customers rightly expect companies to treat the data entrusted to them in a confidential manner,’ says Raffael Peluso, Head of Product Management Cybersecurity at Swisscom. A data breach can thus also result in the business losing customers.


At the same time, data is becoming increasingly important for companies as a result of digitalisation. Intellectual property stored digitally must be kept hidden from outsiders, as must a product roadmap that could give a rival a competitive advantage. Again, DLP measures are required.

Data loss prevention as a combination of measures

The examples described above, with the wrong email recipient and private online storage, show that DLP must include a combination of technical measures, processes and employee awareness. Although it may have been technically possible to prevent dispatch of the product presentation, employees trained in handling confidential data would know that they should not send confidential files by email or use a personal cloud storage service to store them.


IBM’s Cost of a Data Breach study shows the importance of raising awareness alongside technical measures; about a quarter of all data theft worldwide in 2020 is said to have been made possible by human error. When trained employees apply their knowledge in their daily work, the error rate is minimised. In other words: awareness equals protection.

Balance between effort and residual risk

There are various ways to train employees, some easier than others. ‘I have found e-learning, such as instructional videos with test questions at the end, to be a good method,’ says Peluso. ‘The training should be accompanied by other information campaigns; for example, on the intranet.’


Preventive awareness activities such as these help to promote understanding of how to handle confidential data – and also of the necessary guidelines, processes and technical protective measures.


But you cannot guarantee complete security. If an employee has criminal tendencies, they will find a way to get around the protective measures. Raffael Peluso, too, does not have any illusions about this: ‘Like any security measure, data loss prevention is a trade-off between effort and residual risk.’


He believes that the success of data loss prevention depends on how it is implemented: ‘The measures must not interfere with day-to-day operations. Otherwise, employees will be reluctant to accept DLP and will find creative ways to bypass it.’

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Wie Unternehmen unerwünschten Datenabfluss verhindern

Data Loss Prevention: zwischen Mensch und Technik

Data Loss Prevention, der Schutz vor dem Abfluss vertraulicher Daten, ist keine rein technische Angelegenheit. Ohne Einbezug der Mitarbeitenden funktioniert es nicht. Diese Ansätze versprechen Erfolg.

Text: Andreas Heer, 18. Juni 2019, aktualisiert am 21.07.2021

Es ist schnell passiert: In der Eile den falschen Empfänger im Mail ausgewählt, und schon geht die vertrauliche Produktepräsentation nach aussen. Oder geschäftliche Daten werden auf dem privaten Online-Speicher abgelegt – und kurz darauf als Folge eines Einbruchs entwendet. Ganz zu schweigen von Fällen, in denen Mitarbeitende vertrauliche Informationen absichtlich weitergeben.

Bussen und Reputationsschäden als Folge

Der Schutz vertraulicher Firmendaten ist eine ebenso wichtige wie vielschichtige Angelegenheit, wie diese Beispiele zeigen. Data Loss Prevention (DLP) oder Data Leakage Prevention bezeichnet alle Massnahmen, die einen unerwünschten Abfluss von Unternehmensinformationen verhindern sollen. Die Compliance-Anforderungen aufgrund von Regulatorien und Datenschutzgesetzen spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle. Denn bei Verletzung dieser Regeln drohen empfindliche Bussen. Doch ebenso wichtig ist die Reputation als Basis fürs Kundenvertrauen. «Kunden erwarten zurecht, dass Firmen mit den anvertrauten Daten vertrauensvoll umgehen», sagt Raffael Peluso, Head of Product Management Cybersecurity bei Swisscom. Ein Datenabfluss kann deshalb auch einen Kundenabfluss zur Folge haben.


Gleichzeitig steigt im Zuge der Digitalisierung die Bedeutung von Daten für die Unternehmen. Das digital gespeicherte geistige Eigentum muss ebenso vor fremden Augen verborgen bleiben wie eine Produkte-Roadmap, die einem Konkurrenten einen Wettbewerbsvorteil verschaffen könnte. Auch hierzu sind DLP-Massnahmen nötig.

Data Loss Prevention als Kombination von Massnahmen

Die einleitenden Beispiele mit dem falschen Mail-Empfänger und dem privaten Online-Speicher zeigen, dass DLP eine Kombination aus technischen Massnahmen, Prozessen und der Sensibilisierung der Mitarbeitenden umfassen muss. Vielleicht hätte sich der Versand der Produktepräsentation technisch verhindern lassen. Aber Mitarbeitende, die im Umgang mit vertraulichen Daten geschult sind, wissen, dass sie vertrauliche Dokumente weder per Mail verschicken noch auf dem persönlichen Cloud-Speicher ablegen sollen.


Dass Sensibilisierung nötig ist als Ergänzung zu technischen Massnahmen, zeigt die Studie «Cost of a Data Breach» von IBM: 2020 soll rund ein Viertel aller Datendiebstähle weltweit aufgrund menschlichem Fehlverhaltens passiert sein. Wenn geschulte Mitarbeitende ihr Wissen im Alltag umsetzen, minimiert das die Fehlerquote. Oder anders gesagt: Bewusstsein schützt.

Balance zwischen Aufwand und Restrisiko

Für die Schulung von Mitarbeitenden gibt es unterschiedlich aufwändige Ansätze. «Ich habe die Erfahrung gemacht, dass sich E-Learning gut eignet. Beispielsweise in Form von Lernvideos mit abschliessenden Testfragen», sagt Raffael Peluso. «Die Schulung sollte von weiteren Informationskampagnen begleitet sein, beispielsweise im Intranet.»


Solche präventiven Sensibilisierungsaktivitäten helfen, das Verständnis für den Umgang mit vertraulichen Daten zu fördern – und auch dasjenige für die nötigen Richtlinien, Prozesse und technischen Schutzmassnahmen.


Eine absolute Sicherheit gibt es jedoch nicht. Wenn ein Mitarbeitender eine genügend hohe kriminelle Energie an den Tag legt, wird er Wege finden, die Schutzmassnahmen zu umgehen. Da macht sich auch Raffael Peluso keine Illusionen: «Data Loss Prevention ist, wie jede Sicherheitsmassnahme, ein Abwägen zwischen Aufwand und Restrisiko.»


Den Schlüssel für das erfolgreiche Verhindern eines Datenabflusses sieht er in der Art der Umsetzung: «Die Massnahmen dürfen das Business nicht behindern. Sonst ist die Akzeptanz nicht gegeben, und die Mitarbeitenden werden kreative Wege finden, um DLP zu umgehen.»

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema