Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Endpoint Detection & Response

Sophisticated cyber attacks are on the rise

End devices are the preferred points of entry for cybercriminals

Preventive measures alone are not enough to protect notebooks, desktop computers and smartphones. Additional measures are essential in order to detect and combat sophisticated cyber attacks – like a system for endpoint detection and response.

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: iStock,

End devices are often just the start. According to the “Endpoint Security Trends Report” published by the US security provider Absolute Software, around 70 percent of cyber attacks use endpoints as the first point of attack. Endpoints can be notebooks, PCs and smartphones, but also local servers on a company’s network.

 

The large number of successful attacks demonstrates that purely preventive protection with antivirus software and firewalls is often not enough. This is because the attacks are becoming increasingly sophisticated. Take fileless attacks. This could be a PowerShell script run solely on the RAM of a Windows PC, without leaving any traces in the file system. This makes this kind of attack invisible to signature-based antivirus software. And because the actual payload is often downloaded via a compromised website, it also slips right past the firewall.

Increased protection with endpoint detection and response

This means that end devices require additional protective measures that can detect sophisticated attacks – only then can a company introduce measures for combating the attack. An endpoint detection and response (EDR) system is able to do both. In contrast to signature-based antivirus software, it evaluates the behaviour of the end device and can detect anomalies. EDR also uses machine learning to analyse patterns of behaviour, guaranteeing a highly accurate detection rate. The term “EDR” is relatively new, coined by Gartner analyst Anton Chuvakin in 2013.

 

EDR is not a standalone solution, however. The alerts triggered by anomalies need to be integrated into a monitoring system such as SIEM (security information and event management) or SOAR (security orchestration, automation and response). This makes it possible to respond with appropriate measures such as automatically blocking the end device’s network access or having the event manually analysed by security specialists. These are tasks that are generally performed by a security operation centre (SOC). An SOC is therefore the logical – and practical – prerequisite for effective EDR.

Integration into processes and systems required

This requires an EDR solution to be integrated into the existing processes and security systems. Depending on the existing infrastructure, this could be a challenging proposition, for example when it comes to adapting the automated response measures. The available resources of the internal IT security department pose another challenge. Are there sufficient resources available to manage larger attacks?

 

Completely foregoing EDR is not a viable alternative. Instead, the combination of EDR and SOC as a service offers an economic and, above all, practicable alternative for counteracting cost uncertainty and the lack of skilled workers – without jeopardising the maturity expected of IT security systems today.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

Endpoint Detection & Response

Ausgeklügelte Cyberangriffe nehmen zu

Endgeräte, das Lieblingstor der Cyberkriminellen

Präventive Massnahmen alleine reichen nicht, um Notebooks, Desktops und Smartphones zu schützen. Um raffinierte Cyberattacken zu erkennen und beseitigen, sind zusätzliche Massnahmen unumgänglich. Wie ein System für Endpoint Detection & Response.

Text: Andreas Heer, Bild: iStock,

Endgeräte sind meistens der Anfang: Etwa 70 Prozent der Cyberattacken nutzen als ersten Angriffspunkt Endpoints, wie der «Endpoint Security Trends Report» des US-amerikanischen Securityanbieters «Absolute Software» ermittelt hat. Mit Endpoints sind zum einen Notebooks, PCs und Smartphones gemeint, aber auch lokale Server im Firmennetz.

 

Die grosse Zahl erfolgreicher Attacken zeigt, dass ein rein präventiver Schutz mit Antivirensoftware und Firewall oft nicht reicht. Das liegt daran, dass die Angriffe immer ausgeklügelter werden. So nehmen sogenannte dateilose Attacken zu. Sie können etwa aus einem PowerShell-Skript bestehen und laufen ausschliesslich im Arbeitsspeicher eines Windows-Rechners, ohne Spuren im Dateisystem zu hinterlassen. Für signaturbasierte Antivirensoftware ist ein solcher Angriff deshalb unsichtbar. Und weil die eigentliche Payload oftmals über eine kompromittierte Website heruntergeladen wird, schöpft auch die Firewall keinen Verdacht.

Mit Endpoint Detection & Response den Schutz steigern

Endgeräte benötigen also zusätzliche Schutzmassnahmen, die auch ausgeklügelte Angriffe erkennen können – erst dann kann ein Unternehmen Massnahmen zur Beseitigung des Angriffs einleiten. Ein System für Endpoint Detection & Response (EDR) ist dazu in der Lage. Im Gegensatz zu signaturbasierter Antivirensoftware untersucht es das Verhalten des Endgeräts und kann Anomalien feststellen. Zur Analyse der Verhaltensmuster nutzt EDR auch Machine Learning, um eine möglichst präzise Erkennungsrate zu bieten. Den Begriff «EDR» prägte der Gartner-Analyst Anton Chuvakin im Jahr 2013, also vor nicht allzu langer Zeit.

 

EDR ist aber keine Standalone-Lösung. Denn die Alerts bei Anomalien werden sinnvollerweise in Monitoring-Systeme wie ein SIEM (Security Information and Event Management) oder ein SOAR (Security Orchestration, Automation and Response) integriert. Das erlaubt es, die passenden Massnahmen zu ergreifen wie beispielsweise die automatische Blockierung des Netzzugriffs des Endgeräts. Oder auch die manuelle Analyse des Vorfalls durch die Security-Spezialisten. Das sind Aufgaben, die üblicherweise ein Security Operations Center (SOC) übernimmt. Ein SOC ist denn auch die logische – und sinnvolle – Voraussetzung für ein wirkungsvolles EDR.

Integration in Prozesse und Systeme nötig

Das bedingt, dass eine EDR-Lösung in die bestehenden Prozesse und Security-Systeme integriert wird. Das kann sich je nach bestehender Infrastruktur als Herausforderung erweisen, etwa bei der Anpassung der automatisierten Response-Massnahmen. Eine weitere Hürde stellen die verfügbaren Ressourcen der internen IT-Security-Abteilung dar. Sind genügend Ressourcen vorhanden, um auch grössere Angriffe zu bewältigen?

 

Deshalb auf EDR zu verzichten, wäre eine schlechte Alternative. Stattdessen stellt die Kombination von EDR und SOC as a Service einen wirtschaftlichen und vor allem gangbaren Weg dar, um der Kostenunsicherheit und dem Fachkräftemangel zu begegnen. Ohne den heute benötigten Reifegrad bei der IT-Security zu gefährden.

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: