Study: ISG Provider Lens™ 2021

Sustained demand for cyber security services – with Swisscom leading the field

As companies remain under constant pressure from possible attacks, cyber security services are in high demand. So says the ISG Provider Lens™ study, which analysed Swiss IT security providers. There are many reasons Swisscom was named the leading provider of Managed Security Services in Switzerland.

Text: Andreas Heer, image: Adobe Stock, 21 July 2021

In the first half of 2021, the National Cybersecurity Centre (NCSC) registered around 25 percent more reports than in the previous six months. And the trend was already rising even then. Not only are the attacks becoming more numerous, their severity is also increasing. With extortion attempts involving threatened DDoS attacks or ransomware, which not only encrypts data but also publishes it if the ransom is not paid, CIOs and CISOs have plenty to keep them occupied.

Ensuring that the IT security measures remain up to date and able to deal with all forms of attack is a never-ending task. A process which, according to the ISG Provider Lens™: Cyber Security – Solutions & Services study, is made more difficult by the struggle to secure scarce investment budgets.

Managed Security Services are the answer

The security arms race is a rather uneven playing field. While cyber attackers are able to invest all of their energies in their criminal activities, corporate IT security managers are facing ever increasing obstacles. According to the authors of the study, they are hampered not only by tight budgets but also by the shortage of skilled staff and a lack of expertise.

 

This situation favours the outsourcing of IT security tasks to providers of cyber security services. After all, Managed Security Services (MSS) are budgetable and do not require high investment in IT security equipment or the hunt for scarce specialists.

Swisscom’s standing in the MSS field

In its current Provider Lens Study on the subject of “Cyber Security – Solutions & Services”, the international technological research and consulting company Information Services Group (ISG) compared various providers in Switzerland. The criteria included market relevance, breadth and depth of portfolio, strategy and vision, and degree of innovation.

“With its extensive range and its distinctive ‘Swissness’, Swisscom is the leading provider of Managed Security Services in Switzerland.”

ISG Provider Lens™ 2021

And, as in last year’s study, the authors ranked Swisscom as the leading provider of Managed Security Services in Switzerland. As well as Swisscom’s extensive range of services, the study also highlights the advantageous combination of manpower and automation and its ability, as a network operator, to detect security-related incidents at an early stage. As a further point in its favour, the study mentions the company’s proximity to customers with its Security Operations Center in Switzerland, and support provided in the national languages.

Graphic: Cyber Security Solutions & Services 2021

Alongside the extensive Managed Security Services, the study also investigated technical services such as integration and maintenance, and strategic consulting services. This took into account providers that do not focus only on their own products and offer “best of breed” solutions, with the authors giving Swisscom credit for their comprehensive range of products and services including robust technological partnerships and an in-depth understanding of the needs of Swiss companies. These factors also explain why the study also ranks Swisscom the Swiss market leader for Strategic Security Services and Technical Security Services.

 

Moreover, the Swisscom subsidiary United Security Providers (USP) also secured a lead position in Identity & Access Management (IAM) and Managed Security Services. In IAM, according to the study, it was the ‘Swissness’ of the USP solution that stood out in particular.

Switzerland-based SOC an advantage

Because of data protection regulations such as the GDPR or the forthcoming revised Swiss Data Protection Act (DPA), the location of a Security Operation Center (SOC) is increasingly important. This is because compliance with the statutory requirements must be guaranteed. However, it is not only large companies subject to local regulations that benefit from the SOC being based in Switzerland. According to the study, medium-sized companies also attach importance to having local security services – and are increasingly using them.

 

To deal with the quantity and complexity of attacks, says the study, the MSS providers must also remain innovative. And they must take proactive measures. Machine learning and artificial intelligence help to identify attacks at an early stage – and also to remain armed and ready for whatever cybercriminals come up with.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Studie: ISG Provider Lens™ 2021

Ungebrochene Nachfrage nach Cyber Security Services – Swisscom als Leader

Der Angriffsdruck auf Unternehmen bleibt unvermindert hoch, weshalb Cyber Security Services stark gefragt sind. Zu diesem Schluss kommt die Studie «ISG Provider Lens™», die Schweizer IT-Sicherheitsanbieter analysiert hat. Und Swisscom aus mehreren Gründen als den führenden Provider von Managed Security Services in der Schweiz positioniert.

Text: Andreas Heer, Bild: Adobe Stock,

Fürs erste Halbjahr 2021 verzeichnet das Nationale Zentrum für Cybersicherheit (NCSC) rund 25 Prozent mehr Meldungen als in der Jahreshälfte davor. Und schon damals war die Tendenz steigend. Doch die Attacken werden nicht nur zahlreicher, sondern auch perfider. Erpressungsversuche mit angedrohten DDoS-Angriffen oder Ransomware, die Daten nicht nur verschlüsselt, sondern bei Nichtbezahlung gleich noch veröffentlicht: Die Sorgenfalten der CIOs und CISOs werden nicht kleiner.

Es ist und bleibt eine Daueraufgabe, die IT-Security-Massnahmen laufend auf die aktuellen Angriffsmuster auszurichten. Ein Vorgang, der gemäss den Autoren der Studie «ISG Provider Lens™: Cyber Security – Solutions & Services» durch den Kampf um die knappen Investitionsbudgets erschwert wird.

Managed Security Services als Ausweg

Entsprechend verschieden zeigt sich die Situation auf beiden Seiten der Sicherheitslücken. Während Cyberangreifer ihre ganze kriminelle Energie darin investieren können, kämpfen IT-Sicherheitsverantwortliche in Unternehmen mit zusätzlichen Hindernissen. Gemäss den Autoren der Studie sind dies nicht nur die knappen Budgets, sondern auch der Fachkräftemangel und das fehlende Know-how.

 

Diese Ausgangslage begünstigt die Auslagerung von IT-Security-Aufgaben an Cyber Security Services Provider. Denn Managed Security Services (MSS) sind kalkulierbar und erfordern keine hohen Investitionen in IT-Security-Equipment und in die Suche nach raren Spezialisten.

Wie sich Swisscom bei MSS positioniert

Das international tätige Technologieforschungs- und Beratungsunternehmen Information Services Group (ISG) hat in der aktuellen Provider-Lens-Studie zum Thema «Cyber Security – Solutions & Services» verschiedene Anbieter in der Schweiz verglichen. Kriterien waren etwa Marktrelevanz, Breite und Tiefe des Portfolios, Strategie und Vision sowie der Innovationsgrad.

«Mit ihrem umfangreichen Angebot und ihrer ausgeprägten Swissness ist Swisscom führende Anbieterin von Managed Security Services in der Schweiz.»

ISG Provider Lens™ 2021

Und wie schon bei der letztjährigen Studie stuften die Autoren Swisscom als führende Anbieterin von Managed Security Services in der Schweiz ein. Neben einem umfassenden Dienstleistungsangebot hebt die Studie auch vorteilhafte Kombination von Manpower und Automatisierung hervor sowie die Fähigkeit, dass Swisscom als Netzbetreiberin sicherheitsrelevante Vorfälle früh erkennt. Als weiteren Pluspunkt erwähnt die Studie die Kundennähe mit Security Operations Center in der Schweiz und Support in den Landessprachen.

Grafik: Cyber Security Solutions & Services 2021

Neben den umfassenden Managed Security Services untersuchte die Studie auch technische Dienstleistungen wie Integration und Wartung und strategische Beratungsangebote. Berücksichtigt wurden dabei Anbieter, die sich nicht nur auf eigene Produkte fokussieren und «Best of Breed»-Lösungen anbieten. Dabei attestieren die Autoren Swisscom ein umfassendes Angebot inklusive starker Technologiepartnerschaften und ein tiefgreifendes Verständnis für die Bedürfnisse von Schweizer Unternehmen. Diese Faktoren tragen dazu bei, dass die Studie Swisscom bei den «Strategic Security Services» und «Technical Security Services» ebenfalls als Leader im Schweizer Markt positioniert.

 

Die Swisscom Tochtergesellschaft United Security Providers (USP) konnte sich zudem bei Identity & Access Management (IAM) und den Managed Security Services ebenfalls im Leader-Quadranten positionieren. Bei IAM sticht gemäss Studie insbesondere die Swissness der USP-Lösung hervor.

SOC mit Standort Schweiz als Vorteil

Aufgrund von Datenschutzbestimmungen wie der DSGVO oder dem kommenden revidierten Schweizer Datenschutzgesetz (DSG) gewinnt der Standort eines SOC an Bedeutung. Denn die gesetzlichen Vorgaben müssen garantiert eingehalten werden. Vom Standort Schweiz profitieren aber nicht nur Grossfirmen, die hiesigen Regulatorien unterliegen. Gemäss Studie sind es insbesondere mittelständische Unternehmen, die Wert auf lokale Security Services legen – und diese vermehrt auch nutzen.

 

Um die Menge und Komplexität der Angriffe zu bewältigen, müssen die MSS-Provider aber innovativ bleiben, so die Studie. Und proaktive Massnahmen ergreifen. Machine Learning und künstliche Intelligenz helfen, Attacken frühzeitig zu erkennen. Und gewappnet zu bleiben für was auch immer sich Cyberkriminelle einfallen lassen.

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: