Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Managed Security Services

IT security in distributed environments

Plugging the holes in the security wall

Think you can still protect your company’s IT with a security cordon? Things have moved on. There’s no clear-cut perimeter any more. But that doesn’t spell the end for IT security. Think of it instead as a new beginning, where the right security provider can play a pivotal role.

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock,

‘The perimeter is dead.’ As a statement this is nothing new – it’s something IT experts have been saying for a long time now. This article in the US CSO magazine was already talking about the end of the perimeter as we knew it and the search for a new one back in 2011. There are various, well-known reasons behind this change. Mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets and flexible forms of working that aren’t tied to a specific location have challenged the limits of the classic, local infrastructure. The perimeter has been worn away. As a result, IT managers can no longer draw a cybersecurity cordon around their entire IT infrastructure. We also have to recognise that cyberattacks in the form of phishing e-mails and bogus websites often simply bypass in-house security measures anyway.

No trust without a cordon

This doesn’t mean that there is no longer a need for the traditional firewall and IDS/IPS protection. But it no longer protects the company’s entire infrastructure – just the local network environment. This is because today’s corporate IT centres around the cloud. Geographically speaking, ‘centres’ isn’t quite the right term, given that the cloud is often outside the perimeter in an external provider’s data centre.

 

The company’s cloud-based applications can, of course, be accessed via monitored and managed devices inside the company’s security cordon, but they can also be accessed  from anywhere outside the cordon. Mobile employees can access and use the company applications online, wherever they are. And, for a long time now, systems have digitally integrated suppliers and partners via different interfaces. On top of this, we have customers accessing the increasing number of online services via a web browser or app. This kind of connectivity is essential for efficient, digital processes. So what options do security managers looking to control all of these connections and devices have? None. Or, to put it another way, zero.

 

‘Zero Trust policy’ is one of the approaches being used to maintain a high level of IT security. Here, there is no longer a distinction between ‘good’ traffic within the cordon and ‘bad’ traffic from outside. Instead, reflecting the kind of paranoia an IT security specialist needs, all data traffic is seen as potentially ‘bad’. In short: no cordon, no trust.

Logs to keep everything under control

The consequence of this situation is that all data traffic has to be monitored for malicious activities. Every time a system is accessed from a device, the event has to be logged and centrally evaluated using a threat detection system. It is a good idea for a company to integrate the physical access systems here too, since vulnerabilities sometimes only become apparent when different data sources are combined – for example, if Mr Smith enters the office and then logs on to the ERP five minutes later some significant geographical distance away.

 

Measures that have replaced the simple perimeter protection extend from a central monitoring system to a complete security operation centre (SOC). Tiered security zones instead of a thick cordon with a central monitoring system. All of which makes eminent sense. But where to find the specialists who can de-escalate ‘false positives’ and intervene where the monitoring systems reach their limits?

Outsourcing as a solution

One effective approach is the use of managed security services (MSS). Outsourcing parts of IT security to a specialist provider can help bridge gaps in the company’s in-house expertise. Or simply offer an economical alternative to establishing your own comprehensive security infrastructure. Hybrid forms are a perfectly feasible option. Perhaps it makes sense for systems in the local network and in your own data centre to be monitored in-house, while the security of the outsourced cloud environments is delegated to the cloud provider. So, to a certain extent, the elements that lay inside the former perimeter would continue to be controlled as before and only the extensions would be outsourced.

 

And, last but not least, some good news: even if we declare the perimeter dead, certain security concepts still remain valid. IT security still requires a balanced mix of prevention, recognition of attempted attacks and an appropriate reaction. With the right security provider, companies can outsource certain security responsibilities and focus more on raising awareness among the workforce.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

Managed Security Services

IT-Sicherheit in dezentralen Umgebungen 

Die Löcher im Sicherheitszaun stopfen

Mit einem Schutzzaun die Unternehmens-IT schützen? Überholt. Denn die Grenzen des Perimeters sind längst verwischt. Doch das ist nicht das Ende der IT-Security. Sondern ein Neuanfang, bei dem ein passender Security-Provider eine wichtige Rolle spielt.

Text: Andreas Heer, Bild: Adobe Stock,

«Der Perimeter ist tot.» Diese Erkenntnis ist nicht neu, sondern kursiert – für IT-Verhältnisse – seit Ewigkeiten in Fachkreisen. So spricht beispielsweise dieser Artikel aus dem US-amerikanischen CSO Magazine bereits 2011 vom Ende des bekannten Perimeters respektive der Suche nach einem neuen. Die Gründe dafür sind so vielfältig wie bekannt. Mobile Geräte wie Smartphones und Tablets und flexible, ortsunabhängige Arbeitsformen sprengen die Grenzen der klassischen, lokalen Infrastruktur. Der Perimeter fasert aus. Das verunmöglicht es den IT-Verantwortlichen, einen Cybersecurity-Zaun um die gesamte Infrastruktur zu ziehen. Hinzu kommen Cyberattacken mit Phishing-Mails und präparierten Webseiten, die den Zaun oftmals einfach überspringen.

Ohne Zaun kein Vertrauen

Das heisst nicht, dass der klassische Perimeterschutz mit Firewall und IDS/IPS nicht mehr notwendig ist. Aber er schützt nicht mehr die gesamte Infrastruktur eines Unternehmens, sondern nur noch die lokale Netzwerkumgebung. Denn im Zentrum einer modernen Unternehmens-IT steht die Cloud. Oder eben, geografisch gesehen, nicht im Zentrum, sondern oftmals ausserhalb des Perimeters im Rechenzentrum eines Providers.

 

Der Zugriff auf die Unternehmensapplikationen in der Cloud erfolgt nicht nur über die gut kontrollierten und gemanagten Geräte innerhalb des Firmenzauns, sondern von überall her. Mobile Mitarbeitende nutzen die Unternehmensanwendungen unterwegs über irgendeinen Internetzugang. Und längst sind Lieferanten und Partner über verschiedene Schnittstellen digital eingebunden. Währenddessen greifen die Kunden via Webbrowser oder App auf die immer zahlreicheren Online-Services zu. Diese Vernetzung ist Voraussetzung für effiziente, digitale Prozesse. Kontrollmöglichkeiten für die Sicherheitsverantwortlichen über all diese Verbindungen und Geräte? Keine. Zero.

 

«Zero Trust Policy» ist denn auch einer der Ansätze, um die IT-Sicherheit trotzdem hochzuhalten. Es gibt keine Unterscheidung mehr zwischen «gutem» Traffic innerhalb des Zauns und «bösem» Traffic von ausserhalb. Stattdessen gilt mit der notwendigen Paranoia eines IT-Security-Spezialisten jeder Datenverkehr als potenziell «böse». Oder abgekürzt: kein Zaun, kein Vertrauen.

Mit allen Logs alles unter Kontrolle

Die Konsequenz dieser Situation ist, dass sämtlicher Datenverkehr auf bösartige Aktivitäten überwacht werden muss. Jeder Zugriff auf jedes System von jedem Gerät aus muss festgehalten und an zentraler Stelle mit einem Threat-Detection-System ausgewertet werden. Und am besten integriert ein Unternehmen auch gleich die physischen Zutrittssysteme. Denn manchmal zeigen sich Auffälligkeiten erst, wenn man verschiedene Datenquellen kombiniert. Etwa, wenn Herr Meier das Büro betritt und sich fünf Minuten später aus grosser geografischer Distanz am ERP anmeldet.

 

Vom einem zentralen Monitoring bis hin zum kompletten Security Operations Center (SOC) reichen die Überwachungsmassnahmen, die den reinen Perimeterschutz abgelöst haben. Abgestufte Sicherheitszonen statt eines dichten Zauns, mit einem zentralen Monitoring überwacht. So weit so einleuchtend. Doch woher die Fachkräfte nehmen, die «false Positives» deeskalieren und dort eingreifen, wo die Automatismen der Überwachungssysteme an ihre Grenzen stossen?

Auslagerung als Lösung

Ein wirksamer Ansatz besteht in der Nutzung von Managed Security Services (MSS). Eine solche Auslagerung von Teilen der IT-Security an einen spezialisierten Provider kann Lücken im eigenen Personalbestand überbrücken. Oder einfach eine wirtschaftliche Alternative darstellen zum Aufbau einer eigenen umfassenden Security-Infrastruktur. Mischformen sind dabei durchaus denkbar. Vielleicht werden Systeme im lokalen Netz und im eigenen Rechenzentrum inhouse überwacht, während die Security der ausgelagerten Cloud-Umgebungen sinnvollerweise auch an den Cloud-Provider delegiert wird? Also gewissermassen das, was innerhalb des früheren Perimeters blieb, wie gehabt kontrolliert wird und nur die Erweiterungen ausgelagert werden.

 

Und zu guter Letzt doch noch eine gute Nachricht: Auch wenn der Perimeter totgesagt wird, gewisse Sicherheitskonzepte behalten ihre Gültigkeit. IT-Security verlangt nach wie vor nach einem ausgewogenen Mix aus Prävention, Erkennung von Angriffsversuchen und der passenden Reaktion darauf. In Zusammenarbeit mit einem geeigneten Security-Provider können Unternehmen gewisse Sicherheitsaufgaben auslagern und sich vermehrt auf die Sensibilisierung der Mitarbeitenden konzentrieren.

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: