Cybersecurity attack: Petya ransomware





Ransomware

To cry for: Ransomware attack brings companies to their knees


Petya ransomware is currently bringing tears to the eyes of Swiss companies. After Wanna Cry a few weeks ago, cybercriminals have again attacked Swiss companies with ransomware. Swisscom cybersecurity experts explain what’s going on.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




Ransomware – the latest attack

  • The current attack is a virus that is based in part on so-called Petya malware. It steals login credentials from users and spreads automatically in the network (psexec/wmic), also attacking patched systems. Once the virus has infected a system, it modifies the BIOS boot program, what is known as the master boot record (MBR), and encrypts the master file table.
  • The virus spreads in many ways. It exploits software vulnerabilities, spreads via compromised websites, and sneaks into systems in e-mails with Word or Excel attachments. The extortionists demand $300 in Bitcoin. The sender is an e-mail address hosted by German provider posteo. In the meantime, this account has been blocked.
  • According to security experts from Kapersky, there were some 2000 attacks. Swisscom itself is not affected. First reports were received by MELANI from affected Swiss companies.

Swisscom’s recommendation

The risk of spread over the network is low when you have the latest update status. Computers that have installed updates according to Swisscom’s recommendations are protected against exploitation of this vulnerability. The malware was analysed and its communication channels were blocked in the Swisscom network. The anti-virus solutions used by Swisscom recognise the previously known Trojan files and delete them automatically.


The biggest threat is users who are handling their e-mails with global administrator privileges, as the Trojan might use their privileges to infect other computers on the same network.






Further sources



Current informations


Would you like to receive up-to-date information and exciting content about security? Sign up here.




More on the topic


Mail Security

Provides your users with reliable and comprehensive protection against spam, viruses, spyware and phishing. The simple cloud solution for all mail servers.

Cybersecurity Attacke: Ransomware Petya





Ransomware

Heul doch: Ransomware-Attacke legt Unternehmen lahm


Petya-Ransomware lässt derzeit Schweizer Unternehmen Tränen in die Augen schiessen. Nach WannaCry vor ein paar Wochen, haben Cyberkriminelle erneut Schweizer Firmen mit Ransomware attackiert. Swisscom Cyber Security-Experten klären auf was dahinter steckt.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




Ransomware – die neuste Attacke

  • Bei der derzeitigen Attacke handelt es sich um einen Virus, der teilweise auf so genannter Petya-Malware basiert. Diese stiehlt die Anmeldedaten der Benutzer und breitet sich selbstständig im Netz aus (psexec/wmic) und kann auch gepatchte Systeme angreifen. Sobald der Virus ein System infiziert hat, modifiziert er das BIOS-Startprogramm, den so genannten Master Boot Record (MBR) und verschlüsselt die Master File Table.
  • Der Virus verbreitet sich auf vielfältige Weise. Er nutzt etwa Software-Schwachstellen aus, verbreitet sich über kompromittierte Websites oder schleicht sich per E-Mail mit Word oder Excel-Anhängen ein. Die Erpresser forderten 300 Dollar in Bitcoin. Absender ist eine Mailadresse beim deutschen Anbieter posteo gewesen. Diese ist mittlerweile gesperrt.
  • Laut Sicherheitsexperten von Kaspersky gab es rund 2000 Angriffe. Swisscom selbst ist nicht betroffen. Bei MELANI sind erste Meldungen von betroffenen Schweizer Firmen eingegangen.

Das empfiehlt Swisscom

Die Gefahr einer Ausbreitung über das Netzwerk mit aktuellem Update-Stand ist gering. Computer, die Updates gemäss den Empfehlungen von Swisscom installiert haben, sind vor der Ausnutzung der Schwachstelle geschützt. Die Malware wurde analysiert und ihre Kommunikations-Kanäle werden im Swisscom Netz blockiert. Die von Swisscom eingesetzten Antiviren-Lösungen erkennen die bisher bekannten Trojaner-Dateien und löschen sie automatisch.


Die grösste verbleibende Gefahr geht von Nutzern aus, die ihre E-Mails mit globalen Administratoren-Rechten bearbeiten, da der Trojaner mit ihren Privilegien auch andere Computer im selben Netzwerk infizieren könnte.






Weiterführende Quellen


  1. Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI) Ransomware: Bedrohungslage, Prävention & Reaktion
  2. Heise Security: Rückkehr von Petya – Kryptotrojaner legt weltweit Firmen und Behörden lahm
  3. Kaspersky: Schroedinger’s Pet(ya)
  4. Computer Emergency Response Team (GovCERT) der Schweizer Regierung

Aktuelle Informationen


Möchten Sie aktuelle Informationen und spannende Inhalte zum Thema Security erhalten? Melden Sie sich hier an.




Mehr zum Thema