Reacting to new threats

Detection is the best defence

Successful cyber attacks show that today's protection is no longer sufficient. IT security needs to be transformed. “Assume the breach” is a new approach that takes account of changing IT infrastructures, the inevitable destination.

 

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock, 

Barely six weeks into the 2021, the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) announced a new record: over 800 cybercrime incident reports were received for the first week in February. And security managers in companies are not having a quiet time of it, either. “In recent months, we have observed an increase in DDoS attacks and further ransomware attacks,” recounts Stefan Marzohl. As Head of Cyber Security Sales B2B at Swisscom, he has his finger firmly on the customer pulse.

 

 

Attacks like these are increasingly successful. In mid-April, for instance, a company from Eastern Switzerland reported that it had to shut down all of its IT systems to deal with the consequences of a ransomware attack. These incidents might not hit the headlines, but the companies are still very active behind the scenes. “The companies are aware that prevention measures alone are not enough,” says Stefan Marzohl. “We are seeing a transformation towards threat detection & response.”

Known dangers, new gateways

The types of attack are not new. But the starting points have changed. Instead of being confined to the company network, employees now work on the move and from their homes too. Many companies are transforming their infrastructure by putting it in the cloud. The benefits are undisputed, but it presents new challenges in terms of IT security. Systems and applications can now be accessed through the Internet, beyond the confines of the secure corporate network. This calls for a different security architecture, as Stefan Marzohl explains: “One example: in the local network, companies can model their security policies using a physical firewall. Now, specialists are confronted with different types of firewalls and security systems: their own, and those in the cloud.”

The effects of configuration errors are all the greater because systems are much more exposed. With no need to gain access to the corporate network first, attackers can strike the infrastructure directly in the cloud. For Stefan Marzohl, the threat is clear: “Policy management is a big challenge in such decentralised environments.”

Transforming IT security

The result, logically, is that the change in IT infrastructure needs a similar transformation in IT security. “Assume the breach” is the new starting position, with the trend towards threat detection & response and enhanced Security Incident Management. SIEM (Security Information and Event Management), SOC (Security Operations Center) and Security Incident Response (CSIRT) are issues increasingly at the forefront, even outside sensitive sectors like banking and insurance.

Yet permanent infrastructure monitoring and security incident response requires highly trained security specialists, who are still as scarce as ever. The demand for external expertise in the form of Managed Security Services is therefore just as unlikely to diminish as the cyber attacks themselves.

 



Whitepaper Security Transformation

Increasing interconnection of networks, the use of cloud services and the multiplicity of endpoints are leading to a significant increase in attack areas and new vulnerabilities. Cybersecurity must therefore transform too, to meet these new challenges appropriately and resolutely.

 





More on the topic:

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

Transformation der IT-Security

Reaktion auf neue Bedrohungen

Erkennung ist die beste Verteidigung

Erfolgreiche Cyberangriffe zeigen, dass der heutige Schutz nicht mehr genügt. Die IT-Security muss sich also transformieren. «Assume the breach» ist das neue Paradigma, das veränderten IT-Infrastrukturen Rechnung trägt. Wohin die Reise geht.

Text: Andreas Heer, Bild: Adobe Stock, 

Das Jahr 2021 war noch keine sechs Wochen alt, da meldete das Nationale Zentrum für Cybersicherheit (NCSC) bereits einen Rekord: Über 800 Meldungen zu cyberkriminellen Vorfällen gingen für die erste Februarwoche ein. Und auch Sicherheitsverantwortliche in Unternehmen haben keine ruhige Zeit. «In den letzten Monaten beobachteten wir eine Zunahme an DDoS-Angriffen und weiterhin Ransomware-Attacken», resümiert Stefan Marzohl. Als Head of Cyber Security Sales B2B bei Swisscom ist er nahe am Puls der Kunden.

 

Immer wieder sind solche Angriffe erfolgreich. So kommunizierte Mitte April ein Ostschweizer Unternehmen, dass es sämtliche IT-Systeme herunterfahren musste, um die Folgen eines Ransomware-Befalls zu beseitigen. Die meisten dieser Vorfälle gelangen nicht an die Öffentlichkeit. Was aber nicht heisst, dass die Unternehmen hinter den Kulissen nicht aktiv sind. «Den Unternehmen wird bewusst, dass Präventionsmassnahmen alleine nicht ausreichen», sagt dazu Stefan Marzohl. «Wir sehen eine Transformation in Richtung Threat Detection & Response.»

Bekannte Gefahren, neue Einfallstore

Nun sind die Angriffsformen nicht neu. Aber die Ausgangslage hat sich verändert. Die Mitarbeitenden arbeiten nicht mehr nur innerhalb des Firmennetzes, sondern auch unterwegs und im Homeoffice. Viele Unternehmen transformieren ihre Infrastruktur in die Cloud. Das bringt unbestritten Vorteile, stellt aber neue Herausforderungen an die IT-Security. Denn die Systeme und Applikationen sind nun nicht mehr nur über das gut abgesicherte Firmennetzwerk erreichbar, sondern auch übers Internet. Das verlangt nach einer anderen Security-Architektur, wie Stefan Marzohl erläutert: «Ein Beispiel: Im lokalen Netz können Unternehmen ihre Security Policies über eine physische Firewall abbilden. Nun sind die Spezialisten mit verschiedenen Arten von Firewalls und Sicherheitssystemen konfrontiert, der eigenen und derjenigen in der Cloud.»

 

Konfigurationsfehler haben dadurch umso grössere Auswirkungen, weil Systeme viel exponierter sind. Denn Angreifer müssen sich nicht mehr zuerst Zugriff ins Firmennetzwerk verschaffen, sondern können direkt die Infrastruktur in der Cloud attackieren. «Das Policy-Management ist in solchen dezentralen Umgebungen eine grosse Herausforderung», fasst Stefan Marzohl die Situation zusammen.

IT-Security in Transformation

Die – logische – Folge: Mit der Transformation der IT-Infrastruktur muss sich auch die IT-Security transformieren. «Assume the breach» ist die heutige Ausgangslage. Der Trend geht zu Threat Detection & Response und einem verstärkten Security Incident Management. SIEM (Security Information and Event Management), SOC (Security Operations Center) und Security Incident Response (CSIRT) sind Themen, die nun auch ausserhalb sensibler Branchen wie Banken und Versicherungen vermehrt diskutiert werden.

 

Doch das permanente Monitoring der Infrastruktur und die Reaktion auf Security Incidents verlangen nach gut ausgebildeten Security-Fachleuten, die nach wie vor rar sind. Die Nachfrage nach externem Know-how in der Form von Managed Security Services dürfte deshalb genauso wenig nachlassen wie die Cyberangriffe selbst.



Whitepaper Security Transformation

Die steigende Vernetzung, die Nutzung von Cloud-Diensten und die Vielfalt der Endpoints führen zu einer deutlichen Vergrösserung der Angriffsflächen und neuen Schwachstellen. Folglich muss sich auch die Cybersicherheit transformieren, um den neuen Herausforderungen situationsgerecht und entschieden begegnen zu können.

 



Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema