Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Threat Hunting

Active incident detection

On the hunt for hidden attackers

Why wait until attackers slip up and gives themselves away? Threat hunting is a method for early detection of security incidents. Security specialists actively trawl their own infrastructures on the hunt for traces of an attack – to prevent something an even worse outcome.

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Plainpicture,

In June of this year, a number of media outlets reported that a large-scale cyber attack had targeted a European telecommunications service provider. “Naturally our ears pricked up,” says Andreas Hunkeler, a security specialist on the Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) at Swisscom. “And we asked ourselves if our infrastructure could be attacked in this way.”

 

This sort of public information can be a catalyst for threat hunting – the search for undetected attackers on your own network. “We use different sources as catalysts for threat hunting,” adds Andreas Hunkeler. “In addition to public information, this also includes information shared with us by groups we trust, specialist sources such as the MITRE ATT&CK Framework or talking with colleagues from other CSIRTs.” The lone hunter in cyberspace is, at most, a plot line in a movie. Cybersecurity is all about teamwork, and the same is true of threat hunting. At the end of the day, sharing information about the results with one another helps every company to better protect itself against attacks.

Threat hunting: the search for the unknown

Following the aforementioned attack on the telecommunications company, a safety specialist at Swisscom took on the role of hunter and scanned the company’s own internal infrastructure for traces of an attack. Threat hunting is a method for detecting security incidents. It involves searching for attack patterns that go undetected by automated systems because the pattern is either too complex or too subtle. Andreas Hunkeler explains: “If a user logs in to a system at an unusual time or from an unusual location, is that a cyber attack or a legitimate occurrence? If attackers abuse standard software, how does this differ from legitimate use?” Simple questions that are difficult to answer and, in the case of legitimate use, could result in false positives when detected by automatic systems.

 

These types of questions are the first step in threat hunting. “First we establish a hypothesis in terms of the kinds of patterns we want to look for,” says Andreas Hunkeler. “This fingerprinting is a complicated process in which we need to compile information from a number of different systems.” This means an innocent system command here, an attempt to log in to a server there – threat hunters need to be able to identify footprints and use them to derive patterns. It’s a task that Andreas Hunkeler enjoys. “It is a creative and extremely exciting aspect of my job. I have lots of room to experiment with various approaches to detecting these patterns.”

 

Sometimes the pattern is still unknown because the type of attack is new and has not yet been sufficiently documented. “Then we check the infrastructure for anomalies,” explains Andreas Hunkeler. “After all, we know what it looks like under normal circumstances.” This also allows them to discover unknown attacks. And sometimes the threat hunters just need a bit of luck – much like real hunters in the forest.

Increasing the degree of maturity of IT security systems

Once the cyber hunters have detected an attack, they have two tasks: On the one hand, they need to analyse the TTPs (techniques, tactics and procedures), while on the other, they need to fight off the attacker. This is the job of the Incident Handling team. “The objective of threat hunting is to make the results available later on for the automated systems,” says Andreas Hunkeler. Then, in the future, a similar attack will be detected and, ideally, stopped in its tracks by the security infrastructure. This helps Swisscom increase the degree of maturity of its own IT security.

 

And, if the threat hunters fail to find anything, the hunt is nevertheless a worthwhile endeavour, as Andreas Hunkeler emphasises: “It gives us a high level of certainty that we have avoided a certain attack pattern.” Threat hunting therefore lets you “take the temperature” of your own infrastructure.

 

And, according to Andreas Hunkeler, sometimes the cyber hunters come across surprising finds. “Once when we were threat hunting we came across a simulated attack that was being carried out by our own Red Team – we had no idea they were doing it.”

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Newsletter Partner Login Netzstatus Kontakt
Newsletter Partner Login Netzstatus Kontakt

Threat Hunting

Aktive Incident Detection

Auf der Jagd nach verborgenen Angreifern

Weshalb warten, bis sich ein Angreifer möglicherweise selbst verrät? Threat Hunting ist eine Methode, um Sicherheitsvorfälle möglichst früh zu erkennen. Dabei durchforsten Security-Spezialisten die eigene Infrastruktur aktiv nach Angriffsspuren. Und können so Schlimmeres verhindern.

Text: Andreas Heer, Bild: Plainpicture,

Im Juni dieses Jahres berichteten verschiedene Medien über einen grossangelegten Cyberangriff auf einen europäischen Telekommunikationsanbieter. «Da sind wir natürlich hellhörig geworden», sagt Andreas Hunkeler, der als Security-Spezialist beim Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) von Swisscom arbeitet. «Und haben uns gefragt, ob ein solcher Angriff auch auf unsere Infrastruktur erfolgen könnte.»


Eine solche öffentliche Information kann ein Auslöser für Threat Hunting sein, der Suche nach unerkannten Angreifern im eigenen Netz. «Wir nutzen verschiedene Quellen als Auslöser fürs Threat Hunting», meint dazu Andreas Hunkeler. «Neben öffentlichen Hinweisen sind das auch mit uns geteilte Informationen aus Vertrauensgruppen, spezialisierte Quellen wie das MITRE ATT&CK Framework oder der Austausch mit Kollegen von anderen CSIRTs.» Den einsamen Jäger im Cyberspace, den gibt’s höchstens im Film. Cybersecurity ist Teamwork, das gilt auch fürs Threat Hunting. Ein gegenseitiger Informationsaustausch über die Erkenntnisse hilft am Ende allen Unternehmen, sich besser vor Angriffen zu schützen.

Threat Hunting: Die Jagd nach dem Unbekannten

Der Angriff auf das Telekommunikationsunternehmen führte auch bei Swisscom dazu, dass ein Sicherheitsspezialist in die Rolle des Jägers schlüpfte und die unternehmenseigene Infrastruktur auf Angriffsspuren untersuchte. Threat Hunting ist eine Methode zur Erkennung von Sicherheitsvorfällen. Dabei geht es um die Suche nach Angriffsmustern, die für die automatisierten Systeme unerkannt bleiben, weil die Muster zu komplex oder zu unauffällig sind. Dazu Andreas Hunkeler: «Wenn sich ein Benutzer zu einer unüblichen Zeit oder von einem unüblichen Ort aus an einem System anmeldet, ist das jetzt ein Cyberangriff oder ein legitimer Vorgang? Wenn eine Standardsoftware von Angreifern missbraucht wird, wie unterscheidet sich das von der legitimen Nutzung?» Simple Fragen, die aber schwierig zu beantworten sind und im legitimen Fall bei einer automatisierten Erkennung «False Positives», also Fehlalarme, provozieren würden.


Fragen dieser Art stehen am Anfang des Threat Hunting. «Wir stellen zuerst eine Hypothese auf, nach welchen Mustern wir überhaupt suchen wollen», beschreibt Andreas Hunkeler das Vorgehen. «Dieses Fingerprinting ist ein aufwändiger Prozess, bei dem wir Informationen aus verschiedenen Systemen zusammentragen müssen.» Heisst: da ein an sich unverdächtiger Systembefehl, dort ein Anmeldeversuch an einem Server – Threat Hunter müssen Spuren lesen und daraus Muster ableiten können. Eine Aufgabe, die Andreas Hunkeler gefällt: «Das ist ein kreativer und sehr spannender Teil meiner Arbeit. Denn dabei gibt es Spielraum für das Ausprobieren von Detektions-Ansätzen.»


Manchmal ist dieses Muster noch unbekannt, weil die Art des Angriffs zu neuartig und noch zu wenig dokumentiert ist. «Dann untersuchen wir die Infrastruktur auf Anomalien», erklärt Andreas Hunkeler. «Denn den Regelfall kennen wir ja.» So lassen sich auch unbekannte Attacken entdecken. Und manchmal brauchen die Threat Hunter auch einfach etwas Glück – so wie ihre Kollegen in den Wäldern.

Den Reifegrad der IT-Security steigern

Wenn die Cyberjäger einen Angriff erkannt haben, gibt es zwei Aufgaben: Zum einen müssen die TTPs (Techniken, Taktiken und Prozeduren) analysiert werden. Zum anderen gilt es aber, den Angreifer wieder loszuwerden. Dies ist wiederum die Aufgabe des Incident-Handling-Teams. «Ziel des Threat Huntings ist es, die Erkenntnisse nachher für die automatisierten Systeme verfügbar zu machen», beschreibt Andreas Hunkeler den Zweck. Ein gleich gelagerter Angriff würde dann künftig von der Security-Infrastruktur erkannt und idealerweise unterbunden. Damit steigert Swisscom auch den Reifegrad der eigenen IT-Security.

 

Und wenn die Threat Hunter nichts finden, war die Jagd trotzdem sinnvoll, wie Andreas Hunkeler betont: «Wir haben dann eine hohe Gewissheit, dass wir von einem bestimmten Angriffsmuster verschont geblieben sind.» Threat Hunting dient also auch als «Fiebermesser» für die eigene Infrastruktur.


Manchmal stossen die Cyberjäger auch auf überraschende Funde, erzählt Andreas Hunkeler: «Wir haben beim Threat Hunting auch schon einen simulierten Angriff unseres eigenen Red Teams erkannt, von dem wir nichts wussten.»

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: