Work Smart

Promote teamwork

Promoting teamwork despite Work Smart


Under the Work Smart programme, line managers and team-members will not see each other for some weeks in certain cases. Two experts explain what can be done to maintain a sense of team spirit.


Jörg Rothweiler, 16




"Work Smart" offers a great many advantages, but it also provides us with challenges. Such as the issue concerning how we can possibly work as part of a team, if the members of that team are working in geographically separate locations and operating a system of flexible working hours. Dr. Hans Werner, Chief Personnel Officer at Swisscom, believes that the key to success lies in a "consistent and reflective culture consisting of openness, trust and honest feedback." It is essential that (any flexibility in) the scope for each task and the necessary parameters are communicated in unequivocal terms. These must not, however, be imposed upon the workforce by those in management, but should be developed within the team itself. "The rules of Work Smart must apply to everyone. They are based upon performance targets and a distribution of roles – and those are highly individual and can only be developed from within the team itself," said Werner. If the roles are distributed in accordance with the individual strengths of team-members, it will be easier for each member to perform at his or her best. "This creates satisfaction and motivation instead of frustration and the team will pull together and become more efficient."


Utilising the team as the source

Dr. Johann Weichbrodt, an organisational psychologist and member of the academic staff of the Department of Applied Psychology of the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland who is researching Work Smart and the processes that are necessary in order to implement it, also takes the view that this "power of self-organisation" offers a great deal of potential: "The employees are the true masters of their job. They have the most knowledge about what can be achieved within a particular space of time – and what is required in order to work in the most efficient possible way and we must therefore put that knowledge to use!"




Dr. Johann Weichbrodt, Organisational psychologist FHNW


Creating psychological security

This, on the other hand, requires the honest feedback called for by Dr. Hans Werner. "Ensuring that the ideal mix and the team culture can be developed jointly and situationally adapted to the organisational structure in the most effective possible way, not only requires a sense of individual responsibility, but also an entrepreneurial mindset and, most of all honesty, on the part of each person involved. Each person must be in a position to state what he/she requires and what is unsuitable for him/her." Dr. Johann Weichbrodt refers to this as "psychological security". The knowledge that it is possible to express criticism or make statements outside the norm, without falling from grace, forms an essential requirement for success. After all, criticism is just as indispensable during processes of positive change as appreciation. For that matter, specialists are unanimous in the view that appreciation is extremely important.




Hans Werner, Chief Personnel Officer at Swisscom



How do you deal with cultural change?

To make it easier to cope with the cultural change in your company, the Swisscom's Work Smart Coaching Team offers advice and support.  

Find out more

Conveying honest appreciation

But just how do we convey appreciation, if we only see someone in person from time to time? Dr. Hans Werner: "The types of feedback that are perceived as genuine and honest appreciation differ significantly, depending on the individual and the generation to which he or she belongs. One person may be happy if he or she is praised during a group chat, whereas another person may need an individual pat on the back. It is therefore important that appreciation is shown in a completely individual way" and "that must also be the case within the team," added Dr. Johann Weichbrodt. "Celebrating successes together or a few private words in an e-mail or group chat demonstrate that the other person is valued and is perceived as a human being and not only as a colleague."


« Dependable rules and agreed targets are generated from within the team - not by the management team in isolation»



Encouraging informal exchange

"Informal conversation between colleagues" is especially valuable in this regard. Weichbrodt: "The conversations during the coffee break, on the corridor or at the photocopier are extremely important. Work Smart therefore requires focused opportunities for such informal exchanges to take place." Teams should enjoy the same degree of freedom when selecting the channels for that type of exchange as they do when configuring their own schedules. "Teams are as individual as the people that make up the team. Some want to be able to meet up on a weekly basis, whilst others will be satisfied with one video conference per month, plus a group chat," the psychologist explained.


« Teamwork cannot work without trust and an open feedback culture.»



Defining technology and ethics

To this end, Dr. Weichbrodt gives the following advice regarding meta-communications: "Not only is it a case of establishing within the team who will be doing what and who will be working where, but also how and using what systems team members will communicate with one another. What is needed is almost an agreement regarding the ethics and technology of team communications." An agreement of that type would provide a means of avoiding digital presenteeism, in which each person always puts everyone else in "cc", in order to cover themselves and to demonstrate his or her active involvement. "In addition," said Dr. Hans Werner, "what is needed is a powerful collaboration platform, on which the essential documents are easily accessed by everyone working on the same issue, regardless of their location and on which transparency prevails." After all, openness and honesty when collaborating with others and providing mutual feedback are essential for good, efficient teamwork and therefore form a key factor that will enable the benefits of Work Smart to be utilised effectively.

 






Internal communications – a new dimension


With Swisscom Sharespace, your employees will be kept up to date and can play an active part in events, for example by adding comments or by sharing knowledge. Information flows smoothly, while the flood of e-mails is reduced significantly.

Find out more




More on the topic

Work Smart

Teamarbeit fördern

Teamgeist fördern trotz Work Smart


Mit Work Smart sehen sich Vorgesetzte und Teammitglieder unter Umständen wochenlang nicht. Wie man trotzdem für einen guten Teamspirit sorgt, verraten zwei Experten.


Jörg Rothweiler, 16




«Work Smart» bietet viele Vorteile. Doch es gibt auch Herausforderungen. Etwa die Frage, wie Teamwork funktionieren kann, wenn die Mitglieder des Teams örtlich verstreut und zeitlich flexibel arbeiten. Dr. Hans Werner, Chief Personnel Officer bei Swisscom, ortet den Schlüssel zum Erfolg in einer «konsistenten, reflektiven Kultur von Offenheit, Vertrauen und ehrlichem Feedback.» Spielräume und Grenzen müssten klar kommuniziert werden. Sie dürften aber nicht einseitig durch die Führung aufgedrängt werden, sondern müssten im Team entstehen. «Die Regeln für Work Smart sollen für alle gelten. Sie basieren auf Zielvorgaben und Rollenverteilungen – und die sind hoch individuell, können nur im Team selbst entstehen», so Werner. Wenn die Rollen entsprechend der jeweiligen Stärken der Teammitglieder verteilt würden, könne jeder leichter sein Bestes geben. «Dann entsteht Zufriedenheit und Motivation statt Frustrationen, das Team rückt zusammen und wird effizienter.»


Das Team als Quelle nutzen

Auch Dr. Johann Weichbrodt, der als Organisationspsychologe und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz, Hochschule für Angewandte Psychologie, Work Smart und die dafür nötigen Prozesse erforscht, ortet in dieser «Kraft der Selbstorganisation» viel Potenzial: «Die Mitarbeitenden sind die wirklichen Meister ihres Fachs. Sie wissen am besten, was sie in welcher Frist leisten können – und was nötig ist, um optimal arbeiten zu können. Dieses Wissen muss man nutzen!»




Dr. Johann Weichbrodt, Organisationspsychologe FHNW


Psychologische Sicherheit schaffen

Das wiederum bedingt das von Dr. Hans Werner geforderte ehrliche Feedback: «Damit der ideale Mix, die Teamkultur, gemeinsam erarbeitet und situativ optimal an die Aufgaben, die organisatorische Struktur, angepasst werden können, braucht es neben Eigenverantwortung und Unternehmerdenken jedes Einzelnen vor allem Ehrlichkeit. Jeder muss offen sagen können, was er braucht und was ihm nicht passt.» Dr. Johann Weichbrodt nennt dies «psychologische Sicherheit.» Das Wissen, dass auch Kritik oder Äusserungen ausserhalb der Norm möglich sind, ohne in Ungnade zu fallen, sei eminent für den Erfolg. Denn Kritik sei ebenso unabdingbar für Veränderung zum Positiven wie Wertschätzung. Letztere übrigens ist, da sind sich die Spezialisten einig, extrem wichtig.




Hans Werner, Chief Personnel Officer bei Swisscom

Download: Whitepaper

Die 5 grössten Irrglauben zur modernen Arbeitswelt

Dieses Paper räumt mit den grössten Irrglauben rund um moderne Arbeitstools wie UCC auf. So beschleunigen Chats die Kommunikation im Unternehmen, und die Arbeit von zuhause aus kann die Produktivität erhöhen.





Ehrliche Wertschätzung vermitteln

Doch wie vermittelt man Wertschätzung, wenn man sich nur noch selten persönlich sieht? Dr. Hans Werner: «Was als echte, ehrliche Wertschätzung empfunden wird, ist stark generationen- und personenabhängig. Einem reicht eine lobende Erwähnung im Gruppenchat – der andere braucht den persönlichen Klaps auf die Schulter. Wichtig ist also, dass Wertschätzung ganz individuell gezeigt wird» «Und das auch innerhalb des Teams», ergänzt Dr. Johann Weichbrodt: «Erfolge gemeinsam feiern oder ein paar private Worte in einer Mail oder im Gruppenchat zeigen, dass man den anderen auch als Mensch und nicht nur als Kollegen wahrnimmt und schätzt.»


«Verlässliche Regeln und abgestimmte Zielvorgaben entstehen im Team - nicht im isolierten Führungsstab.»



Informellen Austausch fördern

Daher sei auch das «kollegiale Plaudern» so wertvoll. Weichbrodt: «Die Gespräche in der Kaffeepause, auf dem Flur oder am Kopierer sind extrem wichtig. Bei Work Smart braucht es daher gezielte Möglichkeiten für diesen informellen Austausch.» Bei der Wahl der Kanäle dafür sollten Teams ebenso frei sein wie bei der Fixierung des Zeitplans. «Teams sind so individuell wie die Menschen, die sie bilden. Die einen sollten sich wöchentlich persönlich treffen können – anderen reicht eine Videokonferenz pro Monat, ergänzt um einen Gruppenchat», so der Psychologe.


«Ohne Vertrauen und eine offene Feedbackkultur kann Teamwork nicht funktionieren!»



Technik und Ethik definieren

Deshalb rät er zur Meta-Kommunikation: «Man muss nicht nur im Team festlegen, wer was macht und wer wann wo arbeitet, sondern auch, wie und womit man miteinander kommuniziert. Quasi eine Vereinbarung zur Ethik und zur Technologie der Teamkommunikation.» So lasse sich auch der digitale Präsentismus vermeiden, bei dem jeder jeden immer ins «cc» nimmt, um sich abzusichern und zu zeigen, wie aktiv er mitwirkt. «Ergänzend», so Dr. Hans Werner, «braucht es eine leistungsstarke Kollaborations-Plattform, auf der die wesentlichen Dokumente für alle, die gemeinsam an einem Thema arbeiten, einfach und von überall her zugänglich abgelegt sind – und auf der somit Transparenz herrscht.» Denn Offenheit und Ehrlichkeit, bei der Zusammenarbeit wie beim Feedback untereinander, sind essenziell für gutes, effizientes Teamwork – und damit ein zentraler Schlüssel, um die Vorteile von Work Smart nutzen zu können.






Neue Dimension der internen Kommunikation


Mit Swisscom Sharespace bleiben Ihre Mitarbeitenden informiert und können sich aktiv am Geschehen beteiligen, zum Beispiel mit Kommentaren oder durch Wissensaustausch. Der Informationsfluss verläuft reibungslos, während sich die E-Mail-Flut deutlich reduziert.

Mehr erfahren




Mehr zum Thema


Vorgespräch

Work Smart Coaching

Unsere Coaches unterstützen Sie dabei, neuen Arbeitsweisen zu etablieren und den kulturellen Wandel zu meistern.