Interview with Glenn Gore

The cloud: present and future

“I don’t think companies can ignore the cloud anymore.”

The Chief Architect of Amazon Web Services is convinced that cloud technologies are in the early stages, that they are indispensable for companies and an essential prerequisite for IoT and artificial intelligence.

Text: Urs Binder, Images: Raisa Durandi, 19 February 2018

Glenn Gore is the Chief Solutions Architect for Amazon Web Services and is a genuine “shooting star” of the cloud. Australian-born Gore has worked on internet technologies since the 1990s. His stellar career began with the first retail ISP in Australia; he later had various positions with a backbone provider, a hosting provider and, from 2013, AWS. He now supports customers on their journey towards the cloud and helps them to find the perfect solution. At the World Web Forum 2018, we were able to talk to him about the status and future development of cloud computing.

Glenn, is it still possible for a company to ignore the cloud these days?

I don’t think that any organisation can give the cloud the cold shoulder any more. Companies have to keep abreast of this topic and develop a strategy for cloud transformation. It is certainly a journey – a journey that begins with moving individual applications to the cloud. At the same time, the skills and processes which make these transitions possible also have to be developed. Depending on the complexity, it can be a short trip or a long journey that takes several years.

What does “cloud” mean in this context?

It encompasses everything from IaaS to SaaS via PaaS. Ironically, some companies say they have no interest in the cloud; but then they talk about software like Salesforce... there’s a great deal of misunderstanding about what the cloud is and whether or not an organisation uses it.

Initially, “Private Clouds” were very popular. Now, the talk is mainly on “Hybrid Clouds” – do you also observe this development?

“Private Cloud” was always a completely inaccurate term, because the actual advantages of the cloud – its elasticity and the “pay-as-you-go” tariff model – are only provided by Public Cloud Services, supplemented where necessary by the company’s own IT system in a hybrid model. With a private cloud, you always pay for the entire infrastructure, whether you use it or not . Of course, old-guard providers did sell complete infrastructure packages as “clouds”; but in 2018, that has virtually disappeared.

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect of Amazon Web Services

It’s easy for a start-up to move directly to the cloud from scratch. But how does an established company with an existing IT infrastructure do this?

The best way is just to start it. Many companies get stuck in feasibility studies, and nothing happens. Take an application, a small team, and do an experiment. You don’t have to move everything to the cloud all at once, and you can learn a lot just by moving one thing.

Initially, the idea was to move processing power and data storage into the cloud. Nowadays, IT systems are built for the cloud from the start. Are the available tools adequate for this task?

Yes, there is a whole ecosystem of development tools, services, partners and software providers that can be combined. These include open-source tools such as Puppet, Chef and Jenkins, but also partnerships with commercial providers such as Atlassian and services by Cisco and F5, which companies use to manage security in the cloud.

On average, are developers ready for the cloud?

The role of the software developer is currently undergoing a transition. Developers and development teams have to become “cloud natives”, which means they have to understand what faster release cycles, microservice-based architectures and DevOps mean – for the organisation and corporate culture, as well.

Major changes to the job profile, constant flux – is software development an attractive occupation?

I think there's never been a better time to be a developer. Cloud Services give developers superpowers. They can build solutions, which were simply not possible in the past.

What does that mean for the significance of IT as a whole?

Not so long ago, it was normal for the IT department in an organisation to have a low status – the CIO reported to the CFO, and IT was outsourced and seen only as a cost factor. Now, companies realise that technology can make a fundamental contribution to their business success and bring competitive advantages. IT is now rising to the surface more and more: the CIO is directly subordinated to the CEO, and development teams are part of the company’s strategic future.

Are we currently already experiencing the cloud’s technological peak, or are we still at the beginning?

It's pretty much Day 1 of what customers can do with the cloud. New technologies and services are constantly being added, as you can see from AWS’s product range. We launched Amazon Web Services in 2006. Since then, the rate of innovation has been increasing each year: our platform had 1,017 significant new features and services in 2016, but over 1,400 in 2017.

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

Do customers really use these innovations?

When I talk to customers, they want to tackle more, and more diverse, IT problems using Cloud Services. They want us to simplify problems, which would otherwise be difficult to solve. Cloud Computing now encompasses lots of things which were unthinkable just a few years ago – for example, artificial intelligence, machine learning, language, image and video processing.

What significance do research and innovation have for a cloud provider?

We have a lot of research and innovation underway, across the entire product range. One example is elastic GPUs: previously, a GPU had to be connected 1:1 to a particular server; today, GPU power can be virtually assigned and removed according to need. Another is field programmable gate arrays (FPGA) in the computing cloud, which enable “hardware microservices” – that’s extremely innovative.

How do you make technological decisions?

On the basis of data. We passionately measure everything that can be measured – we are strongly driven by operations metrics. With this data in the background, we discuss and debate and are able to make a sound decision about what to do. We also use customer feedback, which we obtain from customer advisory boards, for example.

What will the cloud look like in 5 years’ time?

This is difficult to say. In general, the service range will continue to grow. We will increasingly be supporting customers in transforming their legacy technology into the cloud. The scope of services will also increase, and there will be additional regions across the globe. For example, we have just announced the Stockholm region and a region in Bahrain for the Middle East.

AWS offers over 100 services. Isn’t it difficult to keep so many Cloud Services under control?

Of course, it is a much bigger challenge today than in 2013, when I started working for AWS. On the other hand, the platform is also far more powerful. The choice of technologies is larger, and the services go deeper. The expectations of employees are changing: developers are transforming into machine learning engineers, and entirely new disciplines such as chaos engineering are being born – creating new skills and career paths. And that’s a good thing. Imagine if instead there was less choice ...

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

What about the customers – aren’t they confused by the enormous range on offer?

I don’t think so. The platform is this varied because that’s what customers want. An SME in a particular sector will be unlikely to use all the services – it will choose the precise combination that it needs. There is also more than one way to solve a problem. Customers are free to decide what they need in their current situation and to adapt their choice of technology to new requirements later.

Machine learning, AI and IoT are the hot topics of IT. What is the connection between them and the cloud?

With IoT, we connect up billions of devices. Each one provides measurement data, and they can interact, which produces even more data. The cloud is the natural habitat in which to store and process this data. This immediately gives us another challenge: the data volume is becoming extremely large – we’re talking petabytes. It’s getting more and more difficult to see what is happening. That’s where machine learning comes into play, to identify patterns and processes. This, in turn, generates even more data – a self-fulfilling cycle. Cloud, machine learning and IoT are closely linked together; you can’t have one without the other.

This is surely great news for cloud providers...

Of course. But also for companies which want to reinvent themselves and exploit new revenues. You only have to look at all the start-ups which are doing things which, 10 years ago, were literally science fiction.

AWS is the world’s largest provider of Cloud Services and runs a lot of mission-critical applications. How do you handle this systemic relevance?

Firstly, the security of the AWS platform is our highest priority. Secondly, we have a very good understanding of scalability and availability. The underlying architecture is built to be resilient. We have the concept of regions – there are currently 18 worldwide – and of availability zones which are independent of each other. If one of them fails, the others are still available. Customers are free to choose the regions and zones in which their applications can run. We generally recommend an active to active configuration across two or more availability zones.

What does working with local providers such as Swisscom mean for you?

Our customers like to see local faces, and they already have a relationship with local partners. The advantage of partners like Swisscom is that they can cover everything: from support for existing IT up to cloud transformation. They also have the experience of numerous transition projects. This benefits customers for whom the world of the cloud is still new.

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

What influence do you have, personally, on the cloud business?

Amazon’s uppermost management principle is “customer obsession”. Everything starts with the customer. Our innovation process works on the principle of “working backwards” from the customer: the initial basis is always the customer requirement. I myself and my teams go to the customers, collect feedback and suggestions for innovations and pass these findings onto the engineering department.

Does that work to your satisfaction?

The engineering teams love customer input. It’s a fantastic working relationship. At other providers, engineering is often pretty isolated and far removed from the customer for whom it is actually working.

What do you find fascinating about your job?

I am happiest when working with customers who have a very difficult problem to solve. When they arrive, you see their frustration. They want to build something up, to transform their business and inspire their customers, but aren’t getting anywhere. Accompanying the customer on the way to a solution, making the impossible possible – that’s what drives me and that’s why I love to get up each morning.

From morning to night: is there anything about AWS that makes you wake up in a cold sweat?

No, nothing about AWS. I wake up happy and full of energy each morning. To be more accurate, I don’t sleep that much at all because my brain is always active and thinking about all the things I want to do the next day.


Amazon Web Services by Swisscom

Swisscom professional services for companies seeking access to Amazon’s global cloud. The focus is on integration and migration.

Go to offer


Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.

More on the topic

Interview de Glenn Gore

Présent et avenir du cloud

«Aujourd’hui, à mon avis, aucune entreprise ne peut plus ignorer le cloud.»


Pour l’architecte en chef d’Amazon Web Services, les technologies cloud n’en sont qu’à leurs débuts. Indispensables aux entreprises, elles sont une condition essentielle à l’IoT et à l’IA.


Texte: Urs Binder, Images: Raisa Durandi, 19 février 2018




Glenn Gore est Chief Solutions Architect chez Amazon Web Services et une vraie étoile montante du cloud. Depuis les années 1990, cet Australien s’est spécialisé dans les technologies Internet. Après avoir débuté sa carrière chez le premier détaillant de services Internet australien, il a assumé différentes fonctions chez un fournisseur de dorsales, un fournisseur d’hébergement et, depuis 2013, chez AWS. Aujourd’hui, il soutient les clients sur la voie qui mène au cloud et les aide à trouver la solution optimale. À l’occasion du Worldwebforum 2018, nous avons pu nous entretenir avec lui au sujet de l’état actuel et de l’évolution future du cloud computing.


Glenn, les entreprises peuvent-elles encore ignorer le cloud?


Je ne pense pas qu’une organisation, quelle qu’elle soit, puisse encore dédaigner aujourd’hui le cloud. Les entreprises doivent se pencher sur le sujet et élaborer une stratégie pour la transformation vers le cloud. C’est un véritable voyage. Un voyage qui commence d’abord par l’utilisation du cloud pour certaines applications. En même temps, il est nécessaire de développer les compétences et les processus permettant ces transitions. Selon le degré de complexité, ce voyage peut s’avérer être une petite excursion ou un long périple qui durera plusieurs années.


Que signifie exactement «cloud» dans ce contexte?


Le cloud englobe tout: d’IaaS à SaaS en passant par PaaS. Bizarrement, certaines entreprises prétendent ne pas s’intéresser au cloud, mais vous parlent ensuite de logiciels comme Salesforce... Il y a beaucoup de malentendus sur la définition du cloud et la question de savoir si une organisation l’utilise ou pas.


Au début, le «Private Cloud» était très en vogue. À l’heure actuelle, on entend surtout parler de l’«Hybrid Cloud». Vous aussi, vous constatez cette évolution?


Le terme de «Private Cloud» a toujours été une désignation incorrecte. Les véritables avantages du cloud, son élasticité et le modèle de tarif «Pay-as-you-go», existent uniquement avec les services cloud publics, complétés, si nécessaire, par le propre service informatique pour former un modèle hybride. Avec une Private Cloud, on paie toujours l’infrastructure complète, qu’on l’utilise ou non. Naturellement, les anciens fournisseurs ont vendu des paquets d’infrastructure complets en tant que «cloud». Mais actuellement, en 2018, cette pratique a quasiment disparu.



Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect chez Amazon Web Services



Pour une start-up, il est facile de passer au cloud à partir de rien. Mais comment une entreprise existante déjà dotée d’un service informatique doit-elle s’y prendre?


La meilleure méthode: se jeter simplement à l’eau. Beaucoup d’entreprises s’embourbent dans des études de faisabilité et des planifications sans fin et rien ne se passe. Prenez une application, une petite équipe et faites une expérience. Il n’est pas nécessaire de tout transformer à la fois vers le cloud. Même en déplaçant un seul élément, on apprend déjà beaucoup de choses.


Au début, il s’agissait de transférer la puissance de calcul et le stockage des données dans le cloud. Aujourd’hui, les systèmes informatiques sont construits dès le départ pour le cloud. Les tools disponibles sont-ils suffisants?


Oui, il existe tout un écosystème d’outils de développement, de services, de partenaires et de fournisseurs de logiciels que l’on peut combiner. On compte parmi eux des outils Open Source tels que Puppet, Chef et Jenkins, mais également des partenariats avec des fournisseurs commerciaux comme Atlassian et des services, entre autres, de Cisco et F5, qui permettent aux entreprises de gérer la sécurité dans le cloud.


Et les développeurs, sont-ils en majorité déjà prêts pour le cloud?


Le rôle des développeurs de logiciels est actuellement en pleine transformation. Les développeurs et les équipes de développement doivent devenir des «cloud native», c’est-à-dire comprendre ce qu’impliquent le rythme plus rapide des cycles de release, les architectures basées sur les micro-services et les DevOps, entre autres, pour l’organisation et la culture d’entreprise.


Changements importants de la profession, évolutions permanentes: est-ce que le développement de logiciels est une activité attrayante?


À mon avis, la profession de développeur n’a jamais été aussi intéressante qu’à l’heure actuelle. Grâce aux services cloud, les développeurs bénéficient en effet de superpouvoirs. Ils sont en mesure de construire des solutions qui étaient impossibles par le passé.


Quelles sont les conséquences pour les services informatiques des entreprises?


Il n’y a pas très longtemps encore, il était habituel que le service informatique soit situé plutôt en bas de l’échelle: le CIO fait rapport au CFO, le service informatique est externalisé et est uniquement considéré comme un facteur de coût. Mais, à présent, les entreprises s’aperçoivent que la technologie contribue grandement à leur succès commercial et leur apporte des avantages concurrentiels. Les services informatiques gagnent à nouveau en importance: le CIO se trouve directement sous les ordres du CEO, les équipes de développement font partie de l’avenir stratégique.


Le cloud a-t-il maintenant atteint son zénith technologique ou n’en est-il qu’à ses débuts?


Nous n’en sommes pratiquement qu’au commencement de ce que les clients peuvent réaliser avec le cloud. De nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux services viennent sans cesse s’ajouter. On le constate également dans l’offre d’AWS. Nous avons lancé Amazon Web Services en 2006. Depuis, le taux d’innovation augmente chaque année: tandis que, durant l’année 2016, notre plateforme avait enregistré 1 017 nouveaux services et features importants, il y en a eu plus de 1 400 en 2017.



Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services


Les clients utilisent-ils vraiment les nouveautés?


Lorsque je m’entretiens avec des clients, je constate qu’ils veulent résoudre, avec les services cloud, des problèmes informatiques de plus en plus divers et d’un nombre toujours plus grand. Ils souhaitent que nous simplifions les problèmes qui seraient sinon difficiles à résoudre. Le Cloud Computing comprend aujourd’hui beaucoup de choses qui étaient encore impensables il y a quelques années: par exemple l’intelligence artificielle, le machine learning et le traitement de la parole, d’images et de vidéos.


Quel rôle jouent la recherche et l’innovation pour les fournisseurs de cloud?


Chez nous, la recherche et l’innovation jouent un rôle très important, et ce sur l’ensemble de notre portefeuille de produits. Les GPU élastiques en sont un exemple: autrefois, on était obligé de relier exactement un GPU à un serveur déterminé. De nos jours, la puissance de GPU peut être virtuellement attribuée et retirée en fonction des besoins. Ou bien des réseaux de portes programmables (FPGA) dans le cloud computing permettent des «Hardware Microservices». Cela est extrêmement novateur.


Comment prend-on les décisions concernant la technologie?


En se basant sur les données. Nourris par la métrique opérationnelle, nous mesurons systématiquement tout ce que l’on peut mesurer. C’est sur la base de ces données que nous discutons et pouvons prendre des décisions bien fondées. Les réactions des clients sont également importantes. Nous les recueillons entre autres au moyen de comités consultatifs de clients.


Où en sera le cloud dans 5 ans?


C’est difficile à dire. Dans l’ensemble, l’éventail de services devient de plus en large. Nous aiderons de plus en plus les clients à transformer leurs anciennes technologies vers le cloud. L’étendue des prestations va elle aussi augmenter, chez AWS, par exemple, par l’extension à de nouvelles régions dans le monde entier. Nous avons annoncé entre autres la région de Stockholm et une région au Bahreïn pour le Proche Orient.


AWS propose plus d’une centaine de services. N’est-il pas difficile de maîtriser tant de services cloud?


Il est évident que c’est, aujourd’hui, un plus grand challenge qu’en 2013, l’année où j’ai débuté chez AWS. Mais, d’ un autre côté, la plateforme permet bien plus qu’à l’époque. Le choix de technologies s’élargit, les services sont plus approfondis. Les collaborateurs doivent remplir de nouvelles attentes: les développeurs deviennent des ingénieurs de machine learning, de toutes nouvelles disciplines comme le Chaos Engineering apparaissent, de nouvelles compétences et carrières professionnelles voient le jour. Et c’est une bonne chose. Je ne veux pas m’imaginer ce qui se passerait s’il y avait moins de choix...



Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services


Et les clients ne sont pas dépassés par l’énorme quantité de possibilités?


Non, je ne pense pas. La plateforme est très variée parce que la clientèle le veut ainsi. Une PME opérant dans un secteur précis n’utilisera certainement pas tous les services, elle choisira exactement la combinaison dont elle a besoin. Et puis, il n’y a pas qu’un seul moyen de résoudre un problème. Les clients peuvent décider librement de ce dont ils ont besoin dans une situation particulière et modifier ultérieurement leur choix technologique si de nouveaux besoins apparaissent.


Le machine learning, l’intelligence artificielle et l’Internet des objets sont les sujets brûlants du monde de l’informatique. Quel est le rapport avec le cloud?


L’Internet des objets permet d’interconnecter des milliards d’appareils. Chacun d’entre eux livre des données de mesure et ils sont capables d’interagir. Il en résulte un nombre croissant de données. Le cloud est alors le lieu idéal pour sauvegarder et traiter ces données. Cela nous confronte à un challenge supplémentaire: le volume de données atteint des dimensions immenses, on entre dans le monde du pétaoctet. Il devient de plus en plus difficile de voir ce qui se passe. C’est là que le machine learning entre en jeu afin d’identifier les modèles et processus. Le cloud, le machine learning et l’Internet des objets sont étroitement liés. Ils ne vont pas l’un sans l’autre.


Cela fait sans doute le bonheur des fournisseurs de cloud, n’est-ce pas?


Bien sûr. Mais aussi celui des entreprises qui souhaitent se réinventer et créer de nouveaux chiffres d’affaires. Il suffit de songer à toutes les start-up qui réalisent des choses qui, il y a 10 ans, relevaient encore du domaine de la science-fiction.


AWS est le plus grand fournisseur de services cloud du monde et a affaire à beaucoup d’applications critiques. Comment gérez-vous cette importance systémique?


Premièrement, la sécurité de la plateforme AWS est notre priorité principale. Deuxièmement, nous maîtrisons très bien la modularité et la disponibilité. L’architecture de base est conçue pour être très robuste. Nous disposons d’un concept de régions, actuellement 18 au total, ainsi que de zones de disponibilité indépendantes les unes des autres. Si l’une d’entre elles est défaillante, les autres restent disponibles. Les clients peuvent choisir librement les régions et les zones dans lesquelles leurs applications sont disponibles. En général, nous recommandons une configuration active-active sur deux zones de disponibilité ou davantage.


Quelle est l’importance de la collaboration avec des fournisseurs locaux tels que Swisscom?


Nos clients veulent des visages locaux. Et ils ont déjà des relations avec des partenaires locaux. C’est ce qu’il y a de bien chez des partenaires comme Swisscom: ils sont en mesure de couvrir le tout. Du support de la structure informatique existante à la transformation vers le cloud. À cela vient s’ajouter l’expérience acquise dans de nombreux projets de transition. Cela profite aux clients pour lesquels le monde du cloud est encore nouveau.



Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services


Quelle influence avez-vous personnellement sur le cloud business?


La «Customer Obsession» est le principe de direction primordial d’Amazon. Tout part du client. Notre processus d’innovation fonctionne selon le principe de «working backwards», c’est-à-dire par l’élaboration d’une solution en partant du problème du client: le besoin du client est toujours le point de départ. Mes équipes et moi-même, nous nous rendons chez les clients, nous y recueillons réactions et suggestions d’innovations et transmettons ces enseignements à notre service d’engineering.


Et cela fonctionne de manière satisfaisante?


Les équipes d’engineering aiment particulièrement le feedback des clients. C’est une excellente relation de travail. Chez d’autres fournisseurs, le service d’engineering mène souvent une existence isolée et est très éloigné des clients pour lesquels il travaille.


Qu’est-ce qui vous fascine dans votre travail?


Ce que j’aime le plus, c’est de travailler avec des clients qui ont un problème très difficile à résoudre. On voit d’abord leur insatisfaction. Ils veulent construire quelque chose, transformer leur business, contenter leurs clients, mais ils n’avancent pas. Accompagner les clients sur la voie de leur solution, rendre possible l’impossible, voilà ce qui me motive et me fait lever avec plaisir chaque matin.


Passons du matin à la nuit: y a-t-il quelque chose chez AWS qui vous donne des cauchemars?


Non, rien en ce qui concerne AWS. Je me réveille chaque matin heureux et plein d’énergie. En fait, je ne dors pas tant que ça, vu que mon cerveau fonctionne en permanence et réfléchit déjà à tout ce que je veux faire le lendemain.




   

Amazon Web Services by Swisscom

Les managed services et les services professionnels Swisscom s’adressent aux entreprises souhaitant entrer dans le cloud global d’Amazon. Sujets principaux: intégration et migration.

Vers l'offre





Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème