Public cloud offering

Swisscom expands its global cloud services


Swisscom is expanding its public cloud portfolio by assuming full operational responsibility for Amazon Web Services and Azure on behalf of customers. Swisscom is also introducing a public version of its development environment (PaaS) for independent software vendors (ISV).


Text: Ann-Kristin Koch, 19 a




The global public cloud market, according to Gartner forecasts, is set to grow by 21.4 percent in 2018. This is mirrored in Switzerland, where there is considerable demand for more cost-effective, agile infrastructures from global market leaders Amazon and Microsoft. Hybrid and multi-cloud approaches, in particular, are becoming increasingly popular. For customers looking to find a local operator for their public cloud environment, Swisscom is now also providing managed services alongside its existing professional services.


Local managed IT Operations as a Service for global public clouds

Swisscom is assuming all the operations and support services for AWS and Azure solutions on behalf of customers: the network, backups, the operating system, databases and web services through to application server management. Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud at Swisscom Enterprise Customers, says: “This delivers genuine added value for our customers: a highly-scalable cloud infrastructure with a local Swiss focus and Swisscom's operational expertise.” The initial list of customers to benefit includes Mammut Soft Computing AG, whose payment transaction and cash management software is now offered from the cloud.


Application cloud for software manufacturers (ISV)

Swisscom is also strengthening its own public cloud services. The public application cloud – the platform as a service for software developers – featuring 24/7 support and up to 99.9 percent availability, is now available to independent software manufacturers. WealthArc is one of our first reference customers. Radomir Mastalerz, CTO at the FinTech company, says: “Our software development is now so quick and agile based on a platform that stores data in Switzerland and yet, thanks to the industry standard Cloud Foundry, is at the forefront of the technology. What’s more, with the managed services provided in the PaaS model, we no longer need a server specialist in our team.”


The cloud is becoming the driver for growth

The expanded public cloud services enable Swisscom to keep its promise to provide companies with secure, integrated and extensive cloud services to accelerate digitisation. The cloud is driving Swisscom’s growth, something which is also confirmed by the increase in customer interest. Since its launch, the Enterprise Service Cloud has gained six prestigious customers and the Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions is experiencing a boom resulting from the large number of companies migrating to S4/HANA.





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Portefeuille Public Cloud

Services cloud globaux

Swisscom étend services cloud globaux


Swisscom étend son offre Public Cloud et assure désormais l’exploitation complète du cloud pour les clients sur Amazon Web Services et Azure. De plus, l’entreprise propose une variante Public de son environnement de développement (PaaS) pour les éditeurs de logiciels indépendants (ISV).


Texte: Ann-Kristin Koch, 19




Selon Gartner, le marché mondial du Public Cloud va croître de 21,4% en 2018. La Suisse connaît elle aussi une forte demande pour l’infrastructure agile et économique des leaders mondiaux Amazon et Microsoft, avec en tête les approches hybrides et multi-cloud. Pour les clients souhaitant une gestion locale de leur environnement Public Cloud, Swisscom propose déjà ses Professional Services, et désormais aussi des Managed Services.


Exploitation locale «as a Service» pour Public Clouds globaux

Swisscom assure l’ensemble de l’exploitation et de l’assistance des solutions AWS et Azure pour ses clients – du réseau à la sauvegarde, en passant par le système d’exploitation, les bases de données, les services web ou encore l’Application Server Management. Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud chez Swisscom Enterprise Customers, a déclaré: «Nous créons ainsi une véritable valeur ajoutée pour nos clients: une infrastructure très évolutive depuis le cloud, couplée à la Swissness et au savoir-faire de Swisscom en exploitation.» Mammut Soft Computing AG, qui propose désormais un trafic des paiements et un Cash Management en solution logicielle depuis le cloud, compte d’ores et déjà parmi les premiers clients.


Application Cloud pour éditeurs de logiciels (ISV)

Swisscom renforce également son offre de Public Cloud. Le Public Application Cloud, pensé comme une «Platform as a Service» pour les développeurs de logiciels, est désormais proposé aux éditeurs de logiciels indépendants avec une assistance 7 × 24 h et une disponibilité allant jusqu’à 99,9%. L’un des premiers clients de référence est WealthArc. Radomir Mastalerz, CTO du prestataire Fintech, déclare: «Nous pouvons ainsi éditer des logiciels avec rapidité et agilité. Le tout sur une plateforme garantissant une sauvegarde des données en Suisse, mais capable de rivaliser avec l’élite mondiale grâce au standard CloudFoundry. Et avec les Managed Services proposés en modèle PaaS, nous n’avons plus besoin de spécialistes serveur au sein de l’équipe».


Le cloud, un moteur de croissance

En étendant ses services Public Cloud, Swisscom tient ainsi sa promesse de fournir aux entreprises des services cloud sûrs, intégrables et globaux afin d’accélérer leur passage au numérique. Le cloud est clairement un moteur de croissance pour Swisscom, et l’intérêt croissant des clients le démontre. L’Enterprise Service Cloud a séduit six clients de renom depuis son lancement, tandis que l’Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions s’impose dans de nombreuses entreprises grâce à la migration S4/HANA.


Informations supplémentaires





Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème