Interview: Roger Semprini & Berthold Kaib

Joining forces to connect customers worldwide

Equinix and Swisscom are now working together in the area of interconnection. We talked to Roger Semprini, Chief Executive of Equinix Switzerland, and Berthold Kaib, Senior Vice President Global Accounts at Swisscom, about the background to the cooperation and how it will benefit customers.

Text: Martina Longo, 26 june 2019

Swisscom and Equinix announced their partnership in March. What was the motivation behind this step?

Roger Semprini: Through this partnership with Equinix, Swisscom’s many international customers will enjoy the benefits of direct, private and secure access to all big-name cloud providers worldwide. Swisscom is offering its multi-national customers Equinix Cloud Exchange Fabric (ECX Fabric) to support rollout to the cloud. The ECX Fabric allows clouds, networks and services to be connected to 200 data centres worldwide over secure, private connections.

 

Berthold Kaib: We want to offer connectivity services to our customers with international locations. To achieve this aim, we have to work with partners that are able to handle the technical implementation and whose market dynamics are a good fit with Swisscom. Equinix meets all of these criteria, making it the ideal partner.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Equinix offers a whole host of products. Why did you opt for Equinix Cloud Exchange Fabric (ECX Fabric)?

Berthold Kaib: The market is moving towards hybrid clouds. With ECX Fabric, Swisscom customers are able to connect to a wide selection of clouds, benefit from easy access to multi-cloud solutions, increase their security, improve performance and also reduce costs. These are all advantages that we can offer our customers swiftly and easily thanks to our cooperation with Equinix.

 

Roger Semprini: Cloud connectivity is integral to current and future IT transformation. ECX Fabric is an SDN-enabled, on-demand interconnection service that helps companies to connect their own, distributed infrastructure both internally and with other companies on the Equinix platform; including the world’s biggest cloud providers and network operators AWS, Azure, Alicloud, Google and Oracle to name just a few.

How does the Equinix service differ from that of other providers?

Roger Semprini: ECX Fabric is based on interconnection, which means it bypasses the ‘normal’ public Internet, which is neither fast nor secure. Companies should opt for private data traffic to ward off digital threats and protect themselves from cyber attacks. Interconnection - the direct and private exchange of data - is increasingly becoming the standard for companies looking to assert themselves in the digital world.

Berthold Kaib (left) and Roger Semprini explain the background to the new cooperation.  

What are the benefits of the extended portfolio for Swisscom customers?

Berthold Kaib: ECX Fabric gives Swisscom customers a direct, private and secure connection to all leading cloud service providers. They are able to connect to all of their cloud and IT service providers via a single portal. Global companies can offer both hybrid cloud and multi-cloud solutions at different locations at the same time. ECX Fabric supports our multi-national Swisscom customers in optimising the performance of their cloud applications, reducing latency as well as improving and scaling network control.

What is your opinion of the move away from the private cloud and towards the hybrid cloud?

Berthold Kaib: The move towards the hybrid cloud is a consequence of digital progress. What customers want is a flexible, efficient and economical IT architecture that can be customised to their specific requirements. Hybrid systems give us the freedom to do this.

 

Roger Semprini: In addition to local data centres, applications are increasingly being operated in public clouds. With hybrid multi-clouds, customers are able to simplify their IT environment by connecting different locations with multiple clouds over a single portal.

About Equinix

With 200 data centres, Equinix is the biggest provider of Interconnection and data centre services in the world. The Equinix network handles approximately 90 percent of all global and national Internet traffic. Leading cloud providers such as Amazon Web Services (AWS), Microsoft Azure and Google Cloud Platform as well as all well-known social media and content streaming service providers (including Netflix and Spotify) use the Equinix network. The company is listed on the stock exchange with a capital of 30 billion dollars. Equinix operates five data centres in Switzerland: three in Zurich and two in Geneva. As such, Equinix is considered the enabler of digitisation.


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe


More on the topic

Interconnection

Entretien: Roger Semprini & Berthold Kaib

Interconnecter les clients dans le monde entier

Equinix et Swisscom ont récemment entamé une collaboration dans le domaine de l’interconnexion. Dans un entretien, Roger Semprini, directeur général d’Equinix Suisse, et Berthold Kaib, Senior Vice President Global Accounts chez Swisscom, présentent les coulisses de la collaboration et ses avantages pour les clients.

Texte: Martina Longo, 26 juin 2019

Swisscom et Equinix ont annoncé leur collaboration en mars. Qu’est-ce qui a motivé ce choix?

Roger Semprini: Swisscom a de nombreux clients présents dans le monde entier qui, grâce à la collaboration avec Equinix, bénéficient à l’échelle internationale d’un accès direct, privé et fiable à tous les fournisseurs de cloud de renom. Swisscom propose Equinix Cloud Exchange Fabric (ECX Fabric) pour la mise en place du cloud chez les clients multinationaux. Cette solution permet de connecter des clouds, des réseaux et des services à 200 centres de calcul dans le monde, via des connexions privées et sécurisées.

 

Berthold Kaib: Nous souhaitons offrir des Connectivity Services à nos clients disposant de sites internationaux. Cela implique de collaborer avec des partenaires en mesure de mettre cela en œuvre et dont la dynamique de marché est en adéquation avec Swisscom. Equinix répond à ces exigences de manière optimale et était donc le partenaire idéal.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Equinix propose une large palette de produits. Pourquoi avoir opté pour Equinix Cloud Exchange Fabric (ECX Fabric)?

Berthold Kaib: Le marché se tourne vers les Hybrid Clouds. Grâce à ECX Fabric, les clients Swisscom peuvent se connecter à une large sélection de clouds, ils bénéficient d’un accès simplifié à des solutions Multi Cloud, renforcent leur sécurité, améliorent leur performance et peuvent réduire les coûts. Grâce à la collaboration avec Equinix, nous pouvons offrir tous ces avantages à nos clients, de manière simple et rapide.

 

Roger Semprini: La connectivité cloud est un élément clé de la transformation IT actuelle et future. ECX Fabric est un service On Demand Interconnection compatible SDN qui aide les entreprises à connecter leurs propres infrastructures éparses entre elles, mais aussi à d’autres entreprises via la plateforme Equinix – y compris aux principaux fournisseurs de cloud et opérateurs de réseau dans le monde, comme par exemple AWS, Azure, Alicloud, Google et Oracle.

En quoi l’offre d’Equinix se distingue-t-elle des services d’autres prestataires de services? 

Roger Semprini: ECX Fabric est basé sur l’interconnexion, et ne passe donc pas par l’Internet «normal», qui n’est ni rapide ni sécurisé. Les entreprises ont tout intérêt à s’orienter vers des trafics de données privés pour se défendre des menaces numériques et ainsi se protéger des cyberattaques. L’interconnexion – échange direct et privé de données – devient progressivement la norme pour les entreprises qui veulent avoir leur place dans le monde numérique.

Berthold Kaib (à gauche) et Roger Semprini expliquent le contexte de la nouvelle coopération.  

Quels avantages les clients Swisscom tirent-ils de l’extension du portefeuille?

Berthold Kaib: Avec ECX Fabric, les clients Swisscom ont accès à une connexion directe, privée et sécurisée à tous les principaux fournisseurs de services cloud. Ils peuvent se connecter à tous leurs prestataires cloud et IT par le biais d’un portail unique. Les entreprises internationales peuvent proposer des solutions Hybrid Cloud ou Multi Cloud sur différents sites en parallèle. ECX Fabrix permet à nos clients Swisscom multinationaux d’améliorer la performance de leurs applications cloud, de réduire les temps de latence, d’optimiser et de développer les contrôles et la gestion du réseau.

Le Private Cloud fait place à l’Hybrid Cloud, un modèle d’avenir. Comment voyez-vous cette évolution?

Berthold Kaib: Les évolutions vers l’Hybrid Cloud sont une conséquence du développement numérique. Les clients valorisent une architecture IT flexible, efficace et économique, à la fois modulable et personnalisée en fonction des besoins. Grâce aux systèmes hybrides, nous pouvons satisfaire à ces exigences de manière optimale.

 

Roger Semprini: Les applications sont de plus en plus exploitées sur des clouds publics, en plus de l’être dans des centres de calcul locaux. Grâce aux Multi Clouds hybrides, les clients simplifient leur service IT en se connectant à plusieurs clouds à partir de différents sites par le biais d’un portail unique.

À propos d’Equinix

Avec 200 centres de calcul à travers le monde, Equinix est le plus grand fournisseur de services d’interconnexion et de centres de calcul au monde. Environ 90% du trafic Internet national et international passe par le réseau d’Equinix. De grands fournisseurs cloud tels qu’Amazon Web Services (AWS), Microsoft Azure ou Google Cloud Platform ainsi que les principaux réseaux sociaux et fournisseurs de services de streaming (p. ex. Netflix et Spotify) utilisent le réseau d’Equinix. L’entreprise est cotée en bourse avec un capital de 30 milliards de dollars. En Suisse, Equinix exploite cinq centres de calcul – trois à Zurich et deux à Genève – et fait ainsi figure d’«Enabler de la numérisation».


Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?

> Inscription


En savoir plus sur ce thème