Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Robotic Process Automation (RPA)

Digitisation and AI

Faster processes and greater efficiency thanks to software robots

Robotic Process Automation (RPA) is an innovative software solution that automates existing business processes. This eliminates manual, repetitive and time-consuming tasks, while lowering the process costs. Here we show you the specific applications and advantages offered by RPA.

Text: Rüdiger Sellin (technical journalist, MAZ/SFJ), Image: Unsplash,

What is RPA?

Robotic Process Automation (RPA) consists of the automated processing and handling of structured business processes. Digital software robots, known as RPA bots, form the core of this innovative technology.

 

The strengths of RPA are reflected in clearly structured, repetitive or rule-based processes and tasks that were previously performed by humans. The RPA bots have access to graphical user interfaces (GUI) or other interfaces and can execute almost any process.

 

The RPA bots take over the roles and tasks of users and interact with other software systems. The spectrum of robots used ranges from simple procedures such as editing Excel sheets to the use of complex software on virtual machines.

Applications at Swisscom

Although RPA is still a relatively new technology, Swisscom has already implemented over 400 RPA applications both for customers and within the Group, and therefore has extensive experience of this technology.

 

For example, thanks to RPA, Swisscom was able to significantly improve and simplify its interaction with Internet service providers (ISPs). ISPs use Swisscom’s cabling infrastructure and depend on exact information to make sure that faults and administrative requests can be dealt with quickly and efficiently. Every day, around 100–150 tickets are raised in this area, which are precisely recorded and processed by the RPA bots. Each ticket goes through a systematic triage process in order to determine the cause of the error by querying various IT systems and assigning it correctly.

 

Success proves Swisscom right: Whereas previously only 50% of the manually performed triages established the correct cause of error, thanks to RPA this has now increased to more than 98% of all cases. In addition, triage via RPA only takes about three minutes, which saves time and money but also significantly increases customer satisfaction.

 

There are almost no limits to the applications of RPA and they also offer immediate practical benefits. Almost every large company maintains a pool of company vehicles. There are around 3,000 vehicles at Swisscom. If a driver is given parking or speeding fines, for example, this quickly results in a large administrative burden. But the solution is simple: RPA bots scan the documents and invoices, assign them to the relevant driver and deduct the amount owed from the employee’s salary. This solution is now also being used successfully by other companies.

RPA for banks

Whether share trading, exchange rates or interest rates – there’s a lot happening here. Keeping all key figures constantly up to date previously required monotonous work that was also prone to transmission errors.

 

RPA bots automatically upload the current mortgage interest rates to various platforms such as comparis.ch or moneypark.ch on a daily basis. First of all, the current reference interest rates are loaded from an internal system and then transferred to the various platforms. Finally, the RPA bot creates a summary and sends it to the responsible employee, who can then focus on more demanding tasks.

 

What is learned from this implementation has a double benefit. On the one hand, bank employees are relieved of monotonous work. On the other hand, it has shown that even larger use cases do not always require extensive business cases. This is because the implementation of RPA does not require high investments in new platforms or specialised interfaces in IT systems. What’s more, RPA does not affect any existing business processes.

Numerous advantages

Overall, the implementation of RPA leads to:

  • improved customer service

  • stricter compliance with regulations and standards

  • faster business workflows and processes

  • noticeable efficiency improvement measures through digitisation and auditing of process data

  • cost reductions through the elimination of manual and repetitive tasks, and

  • increased productivity of the employees.

Swisscom has extensive experience in planning and implementing RPA bots in companies. Get in touch – we’ll be happy to help you automate your business processes.



Do you have questions?

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting





Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More information


   

Banking Management Consulting

Banking Management Consulting: comprehensive, ongoing advice for your bank’s digital transformation.

Go to offer

Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact
Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact

Robotic Process Automation (RPA)

Numérisation et IA

Des processus accélérés et une efficacité accrue grâce à des robots logiciels

Robotic Process Automation (RPA) est une solution logicielle innovante qui automatise les processus commerciaux existants. Elle permet d’éliminer les tâches manuelles, répétitives et fastidieuses, ce qui réduit les coûts de processus. Vous trouverez ici les applications et les avantages concrets de RPA.

Texte: Rüdiger Sellin (journaliste spécialisé, MAZ/SFJ), Image: Unsplash,

Qu’est-ce que RPA?

Robotic Process Automation (RPA) comprend le traitement et la manipulation automatisés de processus commerciaux structurés. Les robots logiciels numériques, appelés «bots RPA», sont au cœur de cette technologie innovante.

 

RPA se distingue par des tâches et processus clairement structurés, répétitifs ou basés sur des règles, qui étaient auparavant effectués par des humains. Pour ce faire, les bots RPA accèdent à des interfaces utilisateur graphiques (GUI) ou à d’autres interfaces et peuvent exécuter presque tous les processus.

 

Ils prennent en charge les rôles et les tâches des utilisateurs, et interagissent avec d’autres systèmes logiciels. L’éventail des robots utilisés va de procédures simples telles que l’édition de feuilles Excel à l’utilisation de logiciels complexes sur des machines virtuelles.

Applications chez Swisscom

Bien que la technologie de RPA soit encore relativement nouvelle, Swisscom a déjà mis en œuvre plus de 400 applications RPA pour ses clients et au sein du groupe, et dispose donc d’une vaste expérience.

 

A titre d’exemple, grâce à RPA, Swisscom a pu améliorer et simplifier considérablement son interaction avec les fournisseurs de services Internet (ISP) qui utilisent son infrastructure de lignes et dépendent d’informations précises pour garantir que les perturbations et les demandes administratives puissent être traitées rapidement et efficacement. Chaque jour, environ 100 à 150 tickets, saisis et traités par les bots RPA, sont émis. Un tri systématique est effectué pour chaque ticket afin de déterminer la cause de l’erreur en interrogeant différents systèmes informatiques et de l’attribuer correctement.

 

Le succès donne raison à Swisscom: alors qu’auparavant, seuls 50% des tris effectués manuellement permettaient de trouver la cause exacte de l’erreur, grâce à RPA, ce chiffre dépasse désormais 98% de l’ensemble des cas. En outre, le tri via RPA ne prend que trois minutes environ, ce qui permet non seulement de gagner du temps et de l’argent, mais aussi d’accroître notablement la satisfaction des clients.

 

Les applications de RPA sont quasi illimitées et ses avantages pratiques sont immédiats. Presque toutes les grandes entreprises disposent d’un parc de véhicules de société. Chez Swisscom, cela représente environ 3000 véhicules. Les amendes pour stationnement gênant ou excès de vitesse adressées à leur conducteur, par exemple, entraînent rapidement une lourde charge administrative. Pourtant, la solution est simple: les bots RPA scannent les reçus et les factures, les attribuent au collaborateur qui conduisait et déduisent le montant dû de son salaire. Cette solution est désormais également utilisée avec succès par d’autres entreprises.

RPA pour les banques

Qu’il s’agisse de négoce d’actions, du cours des devises ou de taux d’intérêt, les choses évoluent rapidement. Afin de conserver à jour tous les chiffres clés, un travail monotone, au cours duquel des erreurs de transmission pouvaient également se produire, était auparavant nécessaire.

 

Les bots RPA téléchargent automatiquement et quotidiennement les taux d’intérêt hypothécaires en vigueur sur différentes plateformes telles que comparis.ch ou moneypark.ch. Les taux d’intérêt de référence actuels sont d’abord chargés à partir d’un système interne avant d’être transférés vers les différentes plateformes. Enfin, le bot RPA crée un résumé et l’envoie au collaborateur responsable, qui peut alors se consacrer à des tâches plus exigeantes.

 

Les enseignements tirés de cette implémentation présentent un double avantage. D’une part, les employés de banque sont déchargés d’un travail monotone. D’autre part, il est apparu que même les cas d’application plus importants ne nécessitent pas toujours des Business Cases approfondies. En effet, l’implémentation de RPA ne nécessite pas d’investissements importants dans de nouvelles plateformes ou des interfaces spécialisées dans les systèmes informatiques. En outre, elle n’affecte aucun processus commercial existant.

De nombreux avantages

L’implémentation de RPA conduit à

  • un meilleur service à la clientèle;

  • un plus grand respect des réglementations et des normes;

  • des processus et des procédures commerciales plus rapides;

  • des gains d’efficacité notables grâce à la numérisation et à l’audit des données de processus;

  • une réduction des coûts en éliminant les tâches manuelles et répétitives, et en

  • augmentant la productivité des collaborateurs.

Swisscom a une grande expérience de la planification et de l’implémentation des bots RPA au sein des entreprises. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter - nous serons heureux de vous aider à automatiser vos processus commerciaux.



Vous avez des questions? Nous sommes à votre disposition.

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting





Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?

> Inscription


En savoir plus sur ce thème