SAP BW/4HANA

Data performance in a different league

SAP BW/4HANA is an excellent tool for consolidating data throughout the entire company, streamlining processes and utilising real-time insights. The data warehouse solution is based on SAP HANA and is one the most interesting tools in the recent history of SAP.

Text: Sapayev Anvar, Images: iSTock,

The Tower of Babel? That certainly does not have anything to do with SAP BW/4HANA! You would think so. But there is an important analogy here: Construction could not be completed because the peoples involved spoke different dialects and used differing methods. All of the approaches were justified, all of them had developed over time, and all were intrinsically logical and robust. And yet the cooperation did not work. A Babylonian mish-mash of languages resulted that first hampered the efficiency of individual measures and then thwarted the success of the entire enterprise.

 

Many Swiss companies also have stories like this one to tell when it comes to the diminishing efficiency of their processes and the diversity of their systems. The new standalone data warehouse solution SAP BW/4HANA can solve this growing problem. The application package makes it possible to streamline processes extensively and provides an insight into synergies to increase efficiency. With this solution based on SAP HANA, all of the information is held securely in one place. Everything fits together. Everything can be used instantly. And the performance level that can be achieved as a result is unrivalled.

Hot or not

The first trick that SAP uses to increase performance is its specially developed in-memory database: Unlike conventional databases that have to transfer data from the hard drive to the fast random access memory each time in order to analyse it, now the random access memory is also used as data memory. And the data is prioritised. True to the slogan ‘hot or not’, frequently used information is kept warm there and is therefore on a higher level. Less frequently used, cold data is also kept at the ready, albeit on a less attractive level but one which still responds promptly. Only unused data stays in the archive. In addition, the data structures are always prepared so that they can be used without wasting any time on computing.

 

This new league in terms of performance has a variety of benefits for companies, all of which can ultimately be summed up in one: all data is accessible immediately – without having to take any detours. The evaluation time, for example, is reduced accordingly. In our experience, it is not uncommon to see it reduced by half. But there are also comparable increases in the efficiency of other functions.

More openness, less complexity

I have already hinted at the second, massive benefit of SAP BW/4HANA: Thanks to the platform’s substantial openness to other systems, the “Babylonian mish-mash of languages” disappears. Companies save on translations between the individual formats. Owing to the large number of interfaces, all common data formats (also non-SAP formats) can now be read and standardised. So, anybody who uses an SQL or Oracle database, for example, can continue to do so. The data is prepared in such a way that it can be analysed in real time. This option is also becoming more and more important because companies will be increasingly turning their attention to data that requires live processing in the coming years. After all, this is the only way to enable it to be used for automated forecasts or for decision-making, for example.

 

The marked reduction in complexity is the third significant benefit of SAP BW/4HANA. You no longer need various modelling objects in order to create reports, for example. What is more, data no longer needs to be replicated because the interface issues no longer apply. And it is increasingly the case that users are spared the ‘materialisation’ of data. To put it crudely, if you do not need to print or scan anything, you will save time and paper.

Sound solution for specialist areas

And finally, SAP BW/4HANA offers clear advantages in terms of usability. Via the SAP Analytics Cloud end user tool, it is now also possible for the first time for specialist areas to create their own reports, dashboards or even data marts – without having to request assistance from the IT department every time. In addition, it is now possible to use planning, predictive and machine learning functionalities independently. That spares resources. Especially as the tool can also be controlled via a web-based interface and can be conveniently accessed via a PC or a mobile device.

 

We at Swisscom have already introduced SAP BW/4HANA at a large number of companies in the last few years. Thanks to the strengths indicated here and the openness of the HANA platform, the feedback has been consistently positive. The same is also true within our own company, where we have brought several data warehouses together permanently and extremely efficiently via SAP BW/4HANA. In the upcoming newsletter, my colleague Martin Gutmann [Link] will therefore take up the topic once more and present some case studies.


Do you have questions?

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting






More on the topic:

SAP BW/4HANA

Un nouveau niveau de performance des données

SAP BW/4HANA est un instrument puissant permettant la consolidation des données à l’échelle de l’entreprise, la rationalisation des processus et l’exploitation d’informations en temps réel. Cette solution d’entrepôt de données basée sur SAP HANA est l’un des outils les plus intéressants de l’histoire récente de SAP.

Texte: Sapayev Anvar, Image: iSTock,

La tour de Babel? Rien à avoir avec SAP BW/4HANA! …pense-t-on au premier abord. Mais à y regarder de plus près, les deux ont un point commun important: la construction de la tour n’avait pu être achevée car les populations qui y participaient parlaient des dialectes différents et appliquaient des méthodes hétérogènes. Toutes les approches avaient leur justification, s’étaient développées au fil du temps, étaient logiques et cohérentes en soi. Mais elles n’ont pas su fonctionner en synergie. L’entreprise a débouché sur la proverbiale confusion babylonienne des langues, qui a tout d’abord entravé l’efficacité des mesures individuelles, puis condamné l’ensemble du projet à l’échec.

 

Une mésaventure partagée par bon nombre d’entreprises suisses, qui ont eu à déplorer la perte progressive d’efficacité de leurs processus et l’hétérogénéité de leurs systèmes. La nouvelle solution autonome d’entrepôt de données SAP BW/4HANA peut permettre de remédier à ce problème toujours plus prégnant. Ce package d’applications permet de rationaliser les processus en profondeur et met en lumière les synergies pour permettre un accroissement de l’efficacité. Avec cette solution basée sur SAP HANA, toutes les informations sont réunies à un emplacement unique sécurisé. Tous les rouages s’assemblent. Toutes les données sont immédiatement accessibles. Et l’ensemble permet d’atteindre un niveau d’efficience qui n’a pas son pareil à ce jour.

Froides, chaudes, brûlantes…

Le premier point fort de cette solution, que SAP met à profit pour accroître les performances, est sa base de données développée «in memory»: contrairement aux bases de données classiques, qui doivent rapidement transférer les données du disque dur vers la mémoire vive afin de les analyser, la mémoire vive est ici directement utilisée comme entrepôt de données. En outre, les données sont hiérarchisées. Les informations fréquemment consultées, dites «hot» ou «brûlantes», sont gardées au chaud et se trouvent sur une couche supérieure. Les données moins consultées, dites «froides», sont également disponibles, mais se trouvent sur une couche moins sollicitée et néanmoins très réactive. Seules les données inutilisées sont conservées dans les archives. À cela s’ajoute que les structures de données sont toujours préparées de manière à rester accessibles sans nécessiter de temps de calcul.

 

Ce nouveau niveau de performance présente de multiples avantages pour les entreprises, qu’il est possible de résumer au constat suivant: toutes les données sont immédiatement accessibles, sans détours ou étapes intermédiaires. Cela se traduit notamment par une réduction des temps d’analyse, qui sont fréquemment divisés par deux selon notre expérience. D’autres fonctions bénéficient également de gains d’efficacité comparables.

Plus d’ouverture, moins de complexité

Le second atout, décisif, de cette solution est celui auquel j’ai déjà fait allusion: la grande ouverture de la plate-forme à l’égard d’autres systèmes, qui met fin à la «confusion babylonienne des langues». Les entreprises font l’économie des opérations de conversion entre les formats. Grâce à la multitude d’interfaces, tous les formats usuels (y compris les formats non SAP) peuvent être importés et unifiés: les utilisateurs de bases de données SQL ou Oracle, par exemple, peuvent continuer à les utiliser. Les données sont traitées de manière à pouvoir être analysées en temps réel. Une possibilité dont l’importance ne cesse de croître, car dans les années à venir, les entreprises se concentreront de plus en plus sur des données qui devront être traitées en direct, condition indispensable pour pouvoir les exploiter en vue d’établir des prévisions automatisées ou à des fins décisionnelles, par exemple.

 

La nette réduction des complexités est le troisième avantage significatif de SAP BW/4HANA. Pour générer des rapports, il n’est plus nécessaire de recourir à différents objets de modélisation; aucune réplication des données n’est nécessaire, puisque les interfaces ne sont plus un problème. Et les utilisateurs peuvent de plus en plus fréquemment se passer de «matérialiser» les données. Pour le dire simplement: ne plus avoir à imprimer ou scanner des documents permet de gagner du temps et de l’argent.

Solution solide pour les différents métiers de l’entreprise

Enfin, SAP BW/4HANA présente des avantages importants en matière de convivialité. Par le biais de l’outil pour utilisateurs finaux SAP Analytics Cloud, les différents métiers ont pour la première fois la possibilité de générer des rapports, des tableaux de bord, voire même des Data Marts (mini-entrepôts de données) spécifiques, sans devoir systématiquement faire appel au service informatique. De même qu’ils peuvent utiliser de façon indépendante les fonctionnalités de planification, de prédiction et d’apprentissage automatique. Les gains de ressources sont conséquents, d’autant plus que l’outil peut être piloté par l’intermédiaire d’une interface Web aisément accessible depuis un PC ou un appareil mobile.

 

Au cours des dernières années, notre société, Swisscom, a mis en place SAP BW/4HANA dans un grand nombre d’entreprises. Grâce aux points forts et à l’ouverture de la plate-forme HANA détaillés ici, les retours ont toujours été positifs. C’est également le cas en interne, où SAP BW/4HANA nous a permis de réunir plusieurs entrepôts de données de manière efficace et durable. Dans notre prochaine newsletter, mon collègue Martin Gutmann [lien] reprendra d’ailleurs ce sujet et présentera plusieurs études de cas.


Vous avez des questions? Nous sommes à votre disposition.

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting






En savoir plus sur ce thème: