IoT 

Down on the farm with the Internet of Things: how smart irrigation systems work

If plants get the right amount of water exactly when they need it, they will thrive so well. This is made possible by the internet of things. Swiss company PlantCare leverages IoT enabled soil moisture sensors, which are networked using the Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN (Long Range Wide Area Network). The sensors are in use on the vegetable fields of Reto Minder in Jeuss (FR) and provide the experienced farmer with important information about soil moisture.

Text: Martina Longo, 12 july 2019

Smart agriculture is the future

New technologies, particularly the IoT, are increasingly important in agriculture and vegetable production. They simplify time-consuming jobs, take care of routine activities, save time and money, and enable resources to be used efficiently. In the future, productive, sustainable, conservation-focused agriculture will be the norm, a fact which is borne out by current research projects being undertaken by Agroscope. Through the use of smart technologies, farms can remain competitive and increase their income. This is certainly true of Reto Minder’s farming business, where IoT technology is deployed in the form of a smart, automated irrigation system.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe

“The leaves don’t get wet, making the plants more resilient to pests. What’s more, the system saves me around 50% on my water and electricity bills”

Reto Minder

Automated irrigation: efficient and sustainable

From some distance away, the narrow, red sensors can be seen rising between the fields of Brussels sprouts. Robust yet flexible and attached to a long pole, a probe is inserted into the ground and collects important data. The sensors register the amount of water the plants need and when it is needed, sending this data to the installed irrigation system. This information simplifies farmer Minder's daily work: “Since installing the PlantCare sensors in the fields, we haven’t had to carry out any time-consuming soil-moisture monitoring or water the vegetable fields. Now, once the moisture in the soil falls below a predefined moisture threshold, the plants are watered automatically.” Water is fed automatically through the specially designed drip-irrigation pipes, irrigating the roots of the Brussels sprouts with pinpoint accuracy. As Minder explains: “The leaves don’t get wet, making the plants more resilient to pests. What’s more, the system saves me around 50% on my water and electricity bills”. Reason enough to implement such an irrigation system.

 

Thanks to automated irrigation Brussels sprouts grow under ideal conditions.

The sensors also offer other environmentally beneficial advantages: as well as reducing the consumption of water and electricity, the system allows a more targeted use of fertilisers and pesticides, minimising their environmental impact. Furthermore, the smart irrigation system ensures that Minder benefits from a uniform, high-quality crop. “My customers want consistently high quality. I can only sell my sprouts at the agreed price if they meet expectations. And you can only grow consistently high-quality Brussels by giving them precisely the right amount of water.”

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Reto Minder explains the added value of automated irrigation.

Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN: sensors communicate across vast distances

The sensors are connected wirelessly to each other and send the collected data over Swisscom’s Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN network. Since the introduction of this new IoT technology in automated irrigation systems, it has been possible to install the sensors in fields quite some distance from each other; something confirmed by Reto Minder: “Despite the significant distance between the sensors, the automated irrigation system works fine. The data is analysed reliably and displayed on my app.”

 

Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN is the ideal network for IoT applications. With nationwide coverage of 97%, Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN is guaranteed virtually anywhere in Switzerland. It enables small data volumes to be transmitted across large distances using very little energy: “My sensors run off conventional batteries which will easily last an entire season. And once the batteries do finally start to run out, I receive an automatic message, ensuring that I know they’ll need replacing soon,” Minder explains. 

The electronics of the soil moisture sensors are weatherproof and have a long service life.

Testing and tinkering his way to success

There is huge potential for other IoT applications in the agricultural sector. Indeed, other new technologies will soon be deployed on Reto Minder’s farm. “My tractors operate with automated steering systems. These collect information on the sections of field covered. At the moment, each tractor can only retrieve the data relating to its own route; however, soon all the vehicles will have constant access to the data from all the other tractors thanks to cloud-based data storage. This will allow us to use our resources in a more effective, targeted way,” explains the innovative farmer.

 

This passionate vegetable grower is interested in technology, has an affinity for innovative methods, is curious and demonstrates a willingness to take risks: “I always love to try out new things. I sometimes trial organic pesticides or experiment with different field management methods.” He keeps his finger on the pulse, trying out unconventional methods and sometimes having to deal with setbacks. Reto Minder describes his approach as follows: “Sometimes I have bad luck and things don’t turn out as expected. However, most of the time, things work out and all the trials are worth it,” he says with a smile. The latest advances in technology mean it is now possible to reconcile economic efficiency with ecology, conserving resources while at the same time guaranteeing a good yield and income.



More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact

IoT dans l'agriculture

IoT 

L’Internet des objets dans les champs de légumes: comment l’irrigation intelligente fonctionne

Pour se développer, les plantes ont besoin de la bonne quantité d’eau. C'est possible avec une technologie IoT: Les capteurs d’humidité du sol de PlantCare sont connectés via le Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN (Long Range Wide Area Network). À Jentes (FR), Reto Minder, un agriculteur expérimenté, utilise ces capteurs qui lui fournissent d’importantes informations sur l’humidité des sols.

Texte: Martina Longo, 12 juillet 2019

L’avenir est dans l’agriculture intelligente

Les nouvelles technologies, et en particulier l’ldO, gagnent en importance dans la culture maraîchère. Elles facilitent certaines tâches chronophages, remplacent certains travaux de routine, permettent de réaliser une économie de temps et de coûts et, enfin, de gérer les ressources de manière efficace. Comme le confirment les projets de recherche en cours d’Agroscope, une agriculture à la fois productive, durable et respectueuse des sols fera, à l’avenir, partie du quotidien. L’utilisation de technologies intelligentes permet aux exploitations agricoles de rester concurrentes et d’accroître leurs rendements. C’est notamment le cas pour celle de Reto Minder, qui utilise la technologie IoT via un système d’irrigation intelligent automatisé.

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?

> Inscription

«Les feuilles ne sont pas trop humidifiées, ce qui permet de limiter la présence de ravageurs sur les plantes. En plus, je réalise environ 50% d’économies sur les coûts d’eau et d’électricité»

Reto Minder

L’irrigation automatisée: efficace et durable

On aperçoit de loin les minces capteurs rouges qui dépassent au milieu des champs de choux de Bruxelles. À la fois robuste et flexible, une sonde fixée à une grosse barre pénètre dans le sol et collecte des informations importantes. Les capteurs enregistrent la quantité d’eau dont les plantes ont besoin et à quel moment, et envoient ces informations au système d’irrigation en place. Ces dernières facilitent le travail de Reto Minder au quotidien: «L’installation de capteurs de PlantCare dans mes champs m’évite de perdre beaucoup de temps à contrôler l’humidité des sols puis arroser les champs de légumes. Les plantes sont automatiquement irriguées quand le sol passe sous un certain seuil d’humidité». L’eau s’écoule automatiquement à travers les tuyaux installés à cet effet et arrose les choux de Bruxelles au niveau des racines grâce à une irrigation «en goutte à goutte» de haute précision. «Les feuilles ne sont pas trop humidifiées, ce qui permet de limiter la présence de ravageurs sur les plantes. En plus, je réalise environ 50% d’économies sur les coûts d’eau et d’électricité», explique Reto Minder pour motiver le choix de cette méthode d’irrigation.

Grâce à l'irrigation automatisée, les choux de Bruxelles poussent dans des conditions idéales.

Les capteurs présentent d’autres avantages, sur le plan écologique notamment: en plus de réduire les besoins en eau et en électricité, ils permettent une utilisation ciblée des engrais et pesticides et ainsi une réduction de l’impact environnemental. Grâce à l’irrigation intelligente, Minder bénéficie d’un rendement constant et de bonne qualité. «Mes acheteurs apprécient la constance de la qualité. Je ne peux vendre que de bons choux de Bruxelles au prix fixé. Et ce n’est que lorsqu’il reçoit une quantité d’eau optimale que le chou de Bruxelles peut pousser avec le même niveau de qualité.»

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Reto Minder explique les avantages de l'irrigation automatisée.

Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN: les capteurs communiquent sur de grandes distances

Les capteurs sont connectés entre eux sans fil et transmettent les données collectées par le biais du réseau Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN de Swisscom. Depuis que cette nouvelle technologie IoT est également utilisée pour l’irrigation automatique, les capteurs peuvent être installés dans des champs éloignés. Reto Minder confirme: «L’arrosage automatique fonctionne sans problème même lorsque les capteurs sont placés à une grande distance les uns des autres. Les données sont analysées de manière fiable et affichées sur mon app.»

 

Le Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN est le réseau idéal pour les applications IoT. Une couverture réseau de 97% sur le territoire suisse assure son utilisation presque partout. Le Enterprise IoT LPN LoRaWAN permet une transmission peu vorace en énergie de petites quantités de données sur d’importantes distances: «Mes capteurs marchent avec des batteries standard. Elles fonctionnent sans problème sur toute une saison. Lorsque les batteries arrivent en fin de vie, je reçois une notification automatique qui me permet de savoir que je dois bientôt les remplacer», explique Reto Minder.

 

L'électronique des capteurs d'humidité du sol est résistante aux intempéries et a une longue durée de vie.

Tester et bricoler pour réussir

L’agriculture abrite un important potentiel pour l’utilisation d’autres application IoT. Reto Minder prévoit ainsi d’utiliser bientôt d’autres nouvelles technologies dans sa ferme. «Mes tracteurs fonctionnent avec des systèmes de direction automatiques. Ceux-ci collectent des informations sur les trajets parcourus sur un champ. Pour le moment, chaque tracteur ne peut accéder qu’aux données de son propre parcours, mais bientôt, l’ensemble des véhicules aura à tout moment accès aux données de tous les tracteurs via un stockage des données dans le cloud. Nous pourrions ainsi récolter plus d’informations sur l’état des sols et optimiser et cibler encore davantage l’utilisation de nos ressources», précise l’agriculteur innovateur.

 

Ce maraîcher passionné se distingue par son intérêt pour les technologies, les nouvelles méthodes, sa curiosité et sa disposition à prendre quelques risques: «Je teste régulièrement de nouvelles choses, j’essaye aussi volontiers des produits phytosanitaires homéopathiques ou expérimente avec différentes méthodes agricoles». Persévérer, sortir des sentiers battus et essuyer parfois quelques échecs, voilà comment Reto Minder procède: «Parfois je n’ai pas de chance et quelque chose ne fonctionne pas comme prévu. Mais c’est souvent le contraire, et les tests portent leurs fruits», ajoute-t-il en souriant. Faire rimer efficacité économique et écologie, préserver les ressources tout en garantissant un rendement constant, c’est désormais possible grâce aux nouvelles technologies.



En savoir plus sur ce thème