Reacting to new threats

Detection is the best defence

Successful cyber attacks show that today's protection is no longer sufficient. IT security needs to be transformed. “Assume the breach” is a new approach that takes account of changing IT infrastructures, the inevitable destination.

 

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock, 

Barely six weeks into the 2021, the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) announced a new record: over 800 cybercrime incident reports were received for the first week in February. And security managers in companies are not having a quiet time of it, either. “In recent months, we have observed an increase in DDoS attacks and further ransomware attacks,” recounts Stefan Marzohl. As Head of Cyber Security Sales B2B at Swisscom, he has his finger firmly on the customer pulse.

 

 

Attacks like these are increasingly successful. In mid-April, for instance, a company from Eastern Switzerland reported that it had to shut down all of its IT systems to deal with the consequences of a ransomware attack. These incidents might not hit the headlines, but the companies are still very active behind the scenes. “The companies are aware that prevention measures alone are not enough,” says Stefan Marzohl. “We are seeing a transformation towards threat detection & response.”

Known dangers, new gateways

The types of attack are not new. But the starting points have changed. Instead of being confined to the company network, employees now work on the move and from their homes too. Many companies are transforming their infrastructure by putting it in the cloud. The benefits are undisputed, but it presents new challenges in terms of IT security. Systems and applications can now be accessed through the Internet, beyond the confines of the secure corporate network. This calls for a different security architecture, as Stefan Marzohl explains: “One example: in the local network, companies can model their security policies using a physical firewall. Now, specialists are confronted with different types of firewalls and security systems: their own, and those in the cloud.”

The effects of configuration errors are all the greater because systems are much more exposed. With no need to gain access to the corporate network first, attackers can strike the infrastructure directly in the cloud. For Stefan Marzohl, the threat is clear: “Policy management is a big challenge in such decentralised environments.”

Transforming IT security

The result, logically, is that the change in IT infrastructure needs a similar transformation in IT security. “Assume the breach” is the new starting position, with the trend towards threat detection & response and enhanced Security Incident Management. SIEM (Security Information and Event Management), SOC (Security Operations Center) and Security Incident Response (CSIRT) are issues increasingly at the forefront, even outside sensitive sectors like banking and insurance.

Yet permanent infrastructure monitoring and security incident response requires highly trained security specialists, who are still as scarce as ever. The demand for external expertise in the form of Managed Security Services is therefore just as unlikely to diminish as the cyber attacks themselves.

 



Whitepaper Security Transformation

Increasing interconnection of networks, the use of cloud services and the multiplicity of endpoints are leading to a significant increase in attack areas and new vulnerabilities. Cybersecurity must therefore transform too, to meet these new challenges appropriately and resolutely.

 





More on the topic:

Réaction aux nouvelles menaces

La meilleure défense: la détection

Les cyberattaques réussies révèlent que le niveau de protection actuel est insuffisant. La sécurité informatique doit donc se transformer. «Assume the breach» est le nouveau paradigme assumé compte tenu de l’évolution des infrastructures informatiques. Reste à voir où cela mènera.

Texte: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock, 

Il n’aura pas fallu attendre longtemps pour que le Centre national pour la cybersécurité (NCSC) annonce un record en 2021, avec plus de 800 actes cybercriminels enregistrés pour la première semaine du mois de février. Les responsables de la sécurité dans les entreprises ne s’ennuient pas non plus. «Ces derniers mois, nous avons observé une recrudescence des attaques DDoS et par rançongiciel», précise Stefan Marzohl. En tant que Head of Cyber Security Sales B2B chez Swisscom, il œuvre au plus près de la clientèle.

 

 

Ces attaques aboutissent de temps en temps. À la mi-avril, une entreprise située en Suisse orientale annonçait avoir dû mettre tous ses systèmes informatiques à l’arrêt pour venir à bout d’une infection par rançongiciel. Toutefois, la plupart de ces incidents ne sont pas rendus publics. Cela ne veut pas dire pour autant que les entreprises ne s’activent pas en coulisses. «Les entreprises prennent conscience que de simples mesures préventives ne suffisent plus», ajoute Stefan Marzohl. «Nous assistons à une transformation au profit de la Threat Detection & Response.»

Menaces connues, nouveaux vecteurs d’attaque

En soi, les formes d’attaque ne sont pas nouvelles. Mais le contexte a changé. Les collaborateurs travaillent à la fois sur le réseau de l’entreprise, mais aussi à l’extérieur et en télétravail. De nombreuses entreprises transfèrent leur infrastructure dans le cloud. Avec à la clé des avantages indéniables, mais aussi son lot de nouveaux défis en matière de sécurité informatique. En effet, les systèmes et les applications sont désormais accessibles par le biais du réseau sécurisé de l’entreprise, mais aussi via Internet. D’où la nécessité de revoir l’architecture de sécurité, comme l’explique Stefan Marzohl: «Un exemple: la politique de sécurité des entreprises peut prévoir l’installation d’un pare-feu physique sur leur réseau local. Les spécialistes sont alors confrontés à différents types de pare-feux et de systèmes de sécurité: ceux des entreprises propres et ceux du cloud.»

 

Les conséquences en cas d’erreur de configuration sont encore plus importantes, car les systèmes sont beaucoup plus exposés. En effet, plus besoin d’accéder en premier au réseau de l’entreprise, les assaillants peuvent attaquer directement l’infrastructure dans le cloud. «La gestion des politiques d'accès constitue un défi majeur dans ces environnements décentralisés», précise Stefan Marzohl pour résumer la situation.

Transformation de la sécurité informatique

Conséquence logique: la transformation de l’infrastructure IT induit aussi un bouleversement de la sécurité informatique. «Assume the breach», telle est l’approche actuelle. La tendance est à la Threat Detection & Response et au Security Incident Management renforcé. Les questions de SIEM (Security Information and Event Management), de SOC (Security Operations Center) et de Security Incident Response (CSIRT) ne sont plus l’apanage des banques et des assurances, mais font aussi débat dans les secteurs d’activité moins sensibles.

Cela étant, pouvoir surveiller en continu l’infrastructure et réagir aux incidents de sécurité nécessite des experts en sécurité bien formés, qui sont encore rares. La demande en expertise externe sous forme de Managed Security Services ne devrait donc pas baisser, tout comme le nombre de cyberattaques.



Whitepaper Security Transformation

La mise en réseau croissante, l’utilisation de services cloud et la diversité des endpoints entraînent une augmentation sensible des cibles et de nouvelles vulnérabilités. Par conséquent, la cybersécurité doit se transformer afin de relever les nouveaux défis de manière adaptée et décisive.





En savoir plus sur ce thème: