Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT)

IT security specialists at work

Paying a visit to the IT fire brigade

When it takes more than conventional security measures to respond to a cyberattack, the Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) is called in. But what tasks exactly do the IT security specialists from the “IT fire brigade” perform?

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock,

Today, all eyes are on Antoine Neuenschwander. As one of the IT security specialists in the CSIRT team at Swisscom, he is currently the acting Incident Handler. In other words, he looks into security-related incidents that cannot be dealt with in the scope of the Security Operation Center’s (SOC) normal tasks. Neuenschwander is sitting at his computer with two monitors in front of him, typing commands into one of the numerous windows open on his screen. “The CSIRT’s work is quite a mixed bag,” he says. “Every day is different. You never know what you’re going to come across.”

A security specialist who keeps his cool

Neuenschwander has spent the last ten years working in IT security and belongs to a rare breed of specialists currently in high demand in the face of ever-increasing digitalisation. In his expert opinion, the shortage can mainly be attributed to the highly demanding nature of his job: “In addition to having a curiosity to get to the bottom of things, it takes a lot of expertise, good analytical skills and soft skills that help you handle colleagues and customers.” Security specialists also have to keep calm in stressful situations and make prudent decisions. In that sense, it is not unlike an actual fire brigade.


Neuenschwander is currently looking into a brute force attack on SSH ports. This type of attack attempts to crack weak passwords to gain remote access to the infrastructure. Once a server has been hacked in this way, it can be plundered for valuable company data, or other types of attacks can be launched, such as DDoS (distributed denial of service) attacks, in order to overload and put systems out of commission. “Poorly secured systems that can be accessed via the internet are some of the most common security problems we see in our daily work,” says Neuenschwander as he discusses his experience working with various companies.

Benefiting from past experience with cyberattacks

In this case, Neuenschwander was notified about the incident by the SOC. But he also looks for patterns on his own to find possible signs of cyberattacks. The security specialist uses this sort of threat hunting to find out if the internal infrastructure has also been affected by an undetected wave of attacks. Defensive measures can then be taken at an early stage – ideally before cybercriminals get what they want.

 

When investigating attacks, it is important to have a grasp on cybercriminals’ various TTPs – tactics, techniques and procedures. “That way we can react much more quickly in the event of a new attack that employs similar methods,” says the security expert. “In turn, our customers benefit from this experience.”

 

It also helps that Neuenschwander has experience keeping Swisscom’s own infrastructure secure. “After all, Swisscom has had an IT security team since 1995,” he adds. “We have quite a bit of experience and reached a certain degree of maturity.”

 

But not every incident report involves a malware cyberattack. The CSIRT is increasingly receiving reports of emails sent by the “boss” urgently requesting payments – and they do not contain any suspicious links and look impressively realistic: “Business email compromise is a common social engineering tactic used by cybercriminals to skim away cash,” says Neuenschwander. In other words, the human factor also plays a role in cybersecurity and is part of Neuenschwander’s daily work.

SOC and CSIRT

The Security Operation Center (SOC) is the navigation bridge of sorts when it comes to dealing with cyberattacks. It monitors the infrastructure according to standardised processes and coordinates defensive measures in response to incidents. When handling these alerts, the security specialists decide whether an incident can be dealt with directly by the SOC or whether to escalate it and bring in the CSIRT.

 

The specialists belonging to the Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) handle the defence and threat removal tasks requiring a more in-depth analysis. These also include forensic tasks and threat hunting, or, in other words, actively monitoring security incidents. The CSIRT also helps the affected companies communicate with their customers and partners about the incident. Essentially, the CSIRT plays a complementary role to the SOC.

 

The following whitepaper discusses how you can develop a cyber defence strategy for your own company with an SOC and CSIRT.

 

> Download now


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?



More on the topic

Etat du réseau Contact
Etat du réseau Contact

Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT)

Spécialistes de la sécurité IT en action

Visite chez les secouristes informatiques

La Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) intervient lorsque les mesures de protection traditionnelles ne sont plus efficaces en cas de cyberattaque. Mais que font concrètement les spécialistes de la sécurité de ce service de secours informatique?

Texte: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock,

Nous suivons aujourd’hui Antoine Neuenschwander. Il est l’un des spécialistes de la sécurité informatique de l’équipe CSIRT de Swisscom et occupe actuellement le poste d’Incident Handler. Cela signifie qu’il enquête sur les incidents liés à la sécurité qui ne peuvent pas être traités dans le cadre du fonctionnement normal du Security Operations Center (SOC). M. Neuenschwander est assis devant les deux moniteurs de son ordinateur et saisit des commandes dans l’une des nombreuses fenêtres affichées. «Le travail à la CSIRT, c’est comme une boîte de chocolat», dit-il. «Chaque jour est différent et on ne sait jamais sur quoi on va tomber.»

Un spécialiste de la sécurité qui garde la tête froide

M. Neuenschwander travaille dans le domaine de la sécurité informatique depuis dix ans et fait partie des rares experts qui sont de plus en plus recherchés à mesure que la numérisation se développe. Le spécialiste voit principalement les raisons de cette pénurie dans les exigences élevées liées à son travail: «Outre la curiosité nécessaire pour aller au fond des choses, il faut posséder des connaissances spécialisées et approfondies, de bonnes capacités d’analyse et des compétences personnelles pour les contacts avec les collègues et les clients.» Sans oublier que les spécialistes de la sécurité doivent garder la tête froide et agir avec discernement, même dans des situations stressantes. Cela se rapproche beaucoup du travail d’un vrai secouriste.

 

M. Neuenschwander enquête sur une attaque par force brute sur les accès SSH. Les pirates tentent de craquer des mots de passe faibles afin d’obtenir un accès à distance à l’infrastructure. Une fois qu’un tel serveur est piraté, il est possible d’y chercher des données d’entreprise intéressantes ou de l’utiliser abusivement pour d’autres attaques, telles que les attaques DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service, attaques par déni de service, dans lesquelles les systèmes sont surchargés et mis hors service). «Les systèmes mal sécurisés qui sont accessibles via Internet figurent parmi les problèmes de sécurité les plus courants dans notre quotidien», explique M. Neuenschwander suite à son expérience avec différentes entreprises.

Tirer parti de l’expérience acquise en matière de cyberattaques

M. Neuenschwander a cette fois été informé de l’incident par le SOC. Mais il cherche également lui-même des modèles qui révèleraient des cyberattaques. Par cette action de Threat Hunting, le spécialiste de la sécurité vérifie si sa propre infrastructure est touchée par une vague d’attaques encore non découverte. Il peut ainsi prendre des mesures de défense à un stade précoce, idéalement avant que les cybercriminels n’atteignent leur objectif.

 

La traçabilité des attaques consiste à identifier les TTP, autrement dit les tactiques, les techniques et les procédures des cybercriminels. «Cela nous permet de réagir beaucoup plus rapidement en cas de nouvelle attaque avec des méthodes similaires», déclare le professionnel de la sécurité. «Nos clients profitent à leur tour de cette expérience.»

 

Le fait que M. Neuenschwander puisse s’appuyer sur l’expérience acquise dans la protection de l’infrastructure de Swisscom s’avère également très utile. «Après tout, Swisscom dispose d’une équipe de sécurité informatique depuis 1995», ajoute-t-il. «Cela fait beaucoup d’expérience et de maturité accumulées.»

 

Mais tous les messages ne concernent pas des cyberattaques par des malwares. La CSIRT reçoit de plus en plus de messages concernant des e-mails du «patron», demandant de déclencher un paiement urgent, sans aucun lien suspect et avec une mise en forme incroyablement réaliste: «Le Business E-Mail Compromise est une arnaque courante utilisée par les cybercriminels afin de détourner des fonds par le biais du Social Engineering», dit M. Neuenschwander. Le facteur humain joue donc également un rôle important dans la cyberdéfense et dans le quotidien de M. Neuenschwander.

SOC et CSIRT

Le Security Operation Center (SOC) est en quelque sorte le poste de contrôle dédié aux cyberattaques. Il surveille l’infrastructure en quête de processus standardisés et coordonne les mesures de défense en cas d’incidents. Dans le cadre de ce traitement des alertes, les spécialistes de la sécurité décident si un incident peut être traité directement dans le SOC ou s’il doit être transmis à la CSIRT.

 

Les spécialistes de la sécurité informatique de la Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) gèrent les mesures de défense et d’élimination qui nécessitent une analyse approfondie. Cela comprend également les tâches d’enquête et de Threat Hunting, c’est-à-dire la recherche active d’incidents de sécurité. La CSIRT conseille également les entreprises concernées en matière de communication des incidents à leurs clients et partenaires. La CSIRT élargit ainsi les missions du SOC. Lisez le livre blanc pour savoir comment construire une cyberdéfense stratégique pour votre entreprise avec un SOC et une CSIRT.

 

> Télécharger maintenant


Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?



En savoir plus sur ce thème