Threat intelligence: Identifying threats in time by monitoring the darknet

Threat Intelligence Darknet

Keeping the dark side of the web under control


The darknet is more than just a place for dubious characters to deal weapons. Important commercial information increasingly turns up there. Find out how businesses can protect themselves from this.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




It’s 5 o’clock on Friday evening and the management meeting has finished. Before going home, one of the managers quickly e-mails the internal documents to their private address so that they can look at the innovations from the R&D department at leisure over the weekend. What they don't know is that the same evening, this confidential information will be for sale on the darknet.

All too frequently, cybercriminals gain access to sensitive data – often via compromised social media or e-mail accounts. Users often have the same password for different e-mail addresses, social networks and their business profile. This small act of carelessness poses a great security risk and can be exploited in many ways, for example for industrial espionage or selling insider information.


Heading off threats

One way to counteract this is to raise staff awareness and take precautions. Professional attacks must be proactively identified and fought off with the help of security experts. A targeted search of the net and all its hidden chambers can reveal valuable information in time to prevent the worst from happening. Many CEOs are shocked by what the experts they appoint find there: passwords, credit card details, M&A details, social media profiles and indications of planned attacks such as DDoS attacks. Targeted searches like this require the appropriate expertise and experience. Cyrill Peter, Head of Product Management Enterprise Network & Security, says: “As a major local network and infrastructure operator which uses big data and threat intelligence, we immediately recognise suspicious patterns and anomalies.” Every month, Swisscom detects and blocks millions of malware attacks and several thousand attacks on business clients and private customers.


Infiltrating the darknet

However, deliberately searching the net for sensitive data and analysing the current threat situation are only two components of a successful protection strategy. Simply knowing that product patents are for sale on the darknet does not in itself do any good. This is where security specialists come in, who act as infiltrators in the dark corners of the internet. These are highly specialised experts who know how anonymous marketplaces work, how to pay with cryptocurrency and how to get the state authorities involved. Swisscom has more than 100 security experts, which means it can offer companies a comprehensive threat intelligence service.


Threat Detection & Response


Companies which want professional oversight and control of the current threat situation can rely on Threat Detection & Response from Swisscom. From simply analysing and reporting on threats in a dashboard, to recommending actions, to deployments on site, Swisscom and its more than 100 security experts offer everything necessary to provide companies with all-round protection.


Find out more at: https://www.swisscom.ch/detection





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Threat Intelligence: identifier rapidement les risques grâce au monitoring du Darknet

Threat Intelligence

Maîtriser le côté obscur du réseau


C’est une erreur de croire que le Darknet n’est qu’un terrain de jeu pour des figures douteuses telles que des trafiquants d’armes. On y trouve aussi de plus en plus des informations concernant les affaires. Découvrez comment les entreprises peuvent s’en prémunir.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




Vendredi soir, 17 heures – fin de la réunion de la direction. Il ne reste plus qu’à transmettre rapidement par mail les documents à l’adresse privée de manière à pouvoir parcourir tranquillement le week-end toutes les innovations du département recherche. Mais celui qui envoie ainsi ces documents internes ne s’attendait pas à ce qu’ils soient mis en vente le soir même sur le Darknet.

Les criminels informatiques n’ont aucun mal à mettre la main sur des données sensibles, souvent via des médias sociaux compromis ou sur des comptes de messagerie. Leurs utilisateurs emploient souvent le même mot de passe pour leurs différentes adresses de messagerie, sur les réseaux sociaux ainsi que pour leur profil professionnel. Une petite négligence qui présente un risque élevé pour la sécurité et qui peut être exploitée de diverses manières, par exemple pour l’espionnage industriel ou la vente d’informations internes.


Identifier un risque permet de l’écarter

La solution: sensibiliser les collaborateurs et faire de la prévention. Lorsqu’un profil fait l’objet d’une attaque, il importe d’identifier cette dernière de manière proactive afin de prendre des contre-mesures avec les experts en sécurité. Pour identifier rapidement les informations mises en avant et éviter que la situation n’empire, il convient de lancer des recherches ciblées dans le réseau, en incluant les espaces cachés. De nombreux CEO sont effarés de découvrir tout ce que les experts mandatés peuvent trouver: des mots de passe, des informations sur les cartes de crédit, des détails sur des fusions et acquisitions, des données extraites de profils d’utilisateurs de réseaux sociaux ainsi que des informations sur des attaques planifiées comme des attaques DDoS. La recherche ciblée est une question d’expertise et d’expérience. Cyrill Peter, Head of Product Management Enterprise Network & Security précise: «Étant le plus important opérateur de réseau et d’infrastructures local, nous identifions immédiatement avec les technologies Big Data et Threat Intelligence les motifs suspects et nous détectons les anomalies». Swisscom identifie et bloque tous les mois des millions d’attaques de malware et plusieurs milliers d’attaques visant les clients professionnels et privés.


Informateurs dans le Darknet

Les mandats de recherche ciblée de données sensibles et l’analyse de l’état actuel des menaces ne constituent toutefois que deux éléments dans le cadre d’une protection globale. Il ne suffit pas en effet de savoir que des brevets de produits sont proposés dans le Darknet. C’est là qu’interviennent les spécialistes en Security, qui évoluent à la manière d’informateurs dans les recoins obscurs du réseau Internet. Des experts très pointus connaissant le fonctionnement des places de marché anonymes, comment payer avec des cryptomonnaies et comment impliquer les administrations des États. Swisscom fait appel à plus de 100 experts en Security, de manière à permettre aux entreprises de bénéficier de la Threat Intelligence dans le cadre d’un service global.


Threat Detection & Response


La Threat Detection & Response de Swisscom est la solution pour connaître et maîtriser de manière professionnelle l’état actuel des menaces pour son entreprise. Swisscom s’appuie sur plus de 100 experts en sécurité pour offrir aux entreprise une protection globale allant de la simple analyse et de la présentation des risques sur un dashboard, à des recommandations d’action, en passant par des interventions sur site.


Pour en savoir plus: https://www.swisscom.ch/detection





Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème