Interview Petra Schmidhalter, Work Smart Coach

Work Smart Coaching

Work Smart stands and falls with the corporate culture


The working world, value systems and what is expected of employers are changing. Petra Schmidhalter, Work Smart Coach at Swisscom, explains the significance of new, smart working methods.


Published in the Handelszeitung and Bilanz, December 2017




Ms Schmidhalter, what consequences does the unstoppable progression of networks have for our work?


Employees are flexible and self-determining as never before. Networks enable collaborations without limits – regardless of time, location or device. However, in order for employees to be able to use the new solutions gainfully, they must learn new skills and practices and break with old patterns. The organisation must take on a great deal of responsibility. Because networks can also be very demanding. So we have to learn to deal with networks and structure them.


And what does this mean for the ICT systems?


New technologies, when used correctly, help us to work more efficiently. However, along with the right tools we also need the right methodology and a suitable corporate culture. Because despite the mass of technology, each solution is only as good as the person who is using it.


So what does the state-of-the-art workplace look like?


There’s so such thing as “the” state-of-the-art workplace. The important thing is for the workplace to adapt to the roles and needs of the users. Ideally, employees are able to select their own working location and times freely: For example, for “deep work” they stay in their home office so as not to be distracted. To save themselves the train journey and be creative, they go to the co-working space around the corner, and for team meetings they head to the office. Anyone rethinking their office cannot ignore the concept of “activity-based working”, which is when I select the workplace based on the work content, because I want it to enable me to perform my activities well.


What happens when there are no more fixed locations and times?


It’s not the case the all employees are going to be able and willing to work flexibly in the future. Rather, the opportunity should be there for those who want it. Certain boundaries are however set down, on the customer front, for example. But it is interesting that, in general, we’re seeing a tendency to return to the office. Agile forms of working and organisation in particular thrive on physical communication. Therefore, companies should maintain a flexible office concept in their buildings in order to keep their working environment versatile and also suitable for different activities.


What are the effects of these new, flexible working methods?


Organisations are developing from “storing organisations” where data and documents are only accessible to limited user groups into “sharing organisations” where everything is saved centrally and is accessible to everyone. The new technologies are shaping these new forms of collaboration to a high degree. And the type of collaboration in turn shapes the corporate culture, for instance our understanding of leadership.


So the style of leadership is also under scrutiny?


Yes, the role of leadership is changing completely. In the 20th century, the boss’s role was mainly a supervisory one. The work was repetitive and could be planned and controlled. Today’s complex systems require managers who inspire and who share a jointly defined vision with the teams. Thus, the supervisor should assume the role of the coach, creating the general conditions that enable employees to realise their full potential.







Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Interview avec Petra Schmidhalter, Work Smart Coach

Work Smart Coaching

Work Smart est fonction de la culture d’entreprise


Le monde du travail, les systèmes de valeurs et les attentes vis-à-vis des employeurs sont en mutation. Petra Schmidhalter, Work Smart Coach auprès de Swisscom, explique l’importance des nouveaux modes de travail intelligents.


Publié dans PME, Janvier 2018




Quelles sont les conséquences sur les modes de travail d’une interconnexion toujours croissante?


Les collaborateurs sont plus flexibles et autonomes que jamais. Grâce à l’interconnexion, il devient possible de collaborer sans limite, indépendamment du temps, du lieu et de l’appareil. Mais afin que les collaborateurs puissent utiliser les nouvelles solutions avec bénéfice, ils doivent acquérir de nouvelles aptitudes et habitudes et rompre avec les anciens schémas. Sur ce point, l’entreprise a une grande responsabilité. Car l’interconnexion peut aussi s’avérer très exigeante. Nous devons donc apprendre à apprivoiser l’interconnexion et à la façonner.


Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour les systèmes IT?


Bien utilisées, les nouvelles technologies nous aident à travailler plus efficacement. Mais pour ce faire, au-delà des bons outils, il faut aussi la bonne méthodologie et une culture d’entreprise adéquate. Car en dépit de la profusion de technologie, chaque solution n’est qu’aussi bonne que l’humain qui s’en sert.


A quoi ressemble le poste de travail moderne?


Il n’existe pas «un» poste de travail moderne. Ce qui importe, c’est que le poste de travail soit adapté aux rôles et aux besoins des utilisateurs. Dans le meilleur des cas, les collaborateurs peuvent choisir librement leur lieu et leur horaire de travail: ils restent par exemple chez eux pour faire un travail en profondeur, afin de ne pas être distraits. Pour éviter un trajet en train et réaliser un travail créatif, ils vont à l’espace de coworking au coin de la rue et, pour la réunion de leur équipe, ils se rendent au bureau. Lorsqu’on remodèle le concept de bureau, on ne saurait faire l’impasse sur la notion d’«activity based working»: je choisis mon poste de travail en fonction du contenu de mon travail, car il doit m’aider à bien m’acquitter de mes tâches.


Que se passe-t-il quand il n’y plus de lieu ni d’horaire?


N’allez pas croire qu’à l’avenir tous les employés pourront et voudront travailler de manière flexible. Il s’agit plutôt d’en donner la possibilité à ceux qui le souhaitent. Il y a cependant certaines limites, notamment sur le front de la clientèle. Reste qu’il est intéressant de noter que, de façon générale, nous constatons une tendance au retour au bureau. Car les formes de travail et d’entreprise agiles se nourrissent de l’échange physique. Aussi les entreprises devraient-elles maintenir dans leurs locaux un concept de bureau flexible, afin que l’environnement de travail soit polyvalent et se prête à des activités multiples.


Quelles sont les répercussions des nouveaux modes de travail flexibles?


Les entreprises évoluent de «storing organizations», où les données et les documents ne sont accessibles qu’à un groupe restreint d’utilisateurs, vers des «sharing organizations», où tout est garanti accessible à tout le monde. Les nouvelles technologies influencent de façon décisive ces nouvelles formes de collaboration. Et ce mode de collaboration influence à son tour la culture d’entreprise, notamment la notion de direction de collaborateurs.


Donc le style de direction repasse lui aussi au banc d’essai?


Oui, le rôle de direction se modifie complètement. Au XXe siècle, le chef était encore avant tout une instance de contrôle. Le travail était répétitif, programmable et maîtrisable. Dans les systèmes complexes actuels, il faut un encadrement qui enthousiasme et qui affiche une vision définie en commun avec les équipes. Du coup, le supérieur doit assumer un rôle de coach: celui qui crée les conditions-cadres permettant aux collaborateurs d’exploiter pleinement leur potentiel.







Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème