Interview with Glenn Gore

The cloud: present and future

“I don’t think companies can ignore the cloud anymore.”

The Chief Architect of Amazon Web Services is convinced that cloud technologies are in the early stages, that they are indispensable for companies and an essential prerequisite for IoT and artificial intelligence.

Text: Urs Binder, Images: Raisa Durandi, 19 February 2018

Glenn Gore is the Chief Solutions Architect for Amazon Web Services and is a genuine “shooting star” of the cloud. Australian-born Gore has worked on internet technologies since the 1990s. His stellar career began with the first retail ISP in Australia; he later had various positions with a backbone provider, a hosting provider and, from 2013, AWS. He now supports customers on their journey towards the cloud and helps them to find the perfect solution. At the World Web Forum 2018, we were able to talk to him about the status and future development of cloud computing.

Glenn, is it still possible for a company to ignore the cloud these days?

I don’t think that any organisation can give the cloud the cold shoulder any more. Companies have to keep abreast of this topic and develop a strategy for cloud transformation. It is certainly a journey – a journey that begins with moving individual applications to the cloud. At the same time, the skills and processes which make these transitions possible also have to be developed. Depending on the complexity, it can be a short trip or a long journey that takes several years.

What does “cloud” mean in this context?

It encompasses everything from IaaS to SaaS via PaaS. Ironically, some companies say they have no interest in the cloud; but then they talk about software like Salesforce... there’s a great deal of misunderstanding about what the cloud is and whether or not an organisation uses it.

Initially, “Private Clouds” were very popular. Now, the talk is mainly on “Hybrid Clouds” – do you also observe this development?

“Private Cloud” was always a completely inaccurate term, because the actual advantages of the cloud – its elasticity and the “pay-as-you-go” tariff model – are only provided by Public Cloud Services, supplemented where necessary by the company’s own IT system in a hybrid model. With a private cloud, you always pay for the entire infrastructure, whether you use it or not . Of course, old-guard providers did sell complete infrastructure packages as “clouds”; but in 2018, that has virtually disappeared.

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect of Amazon Web Services

It’s easy for a start-up to move directly to the cloud from scratch. But how does an established company with an existing IT infrastructure do this?

The best way is just to start it. Many companies get stuck in feasibility studies, and nothing happens. Take an application, a small team, and do an experiment. You don’t have to move everything to the cloud all at once, and you can learn a lot just by moving one thing.

Initially, the idea was to move processing power and data storage into the cloud. Nowadays, IT systems are built for the cloud from the start. Are the available tools adequate for this task?

Yes, there is a whole ecosystem of development tools, services, partners and software providers that can be combined. These include open-source tools such as Puppet, Chef and Jenkins, but also partnerships with commercial providers such as Atlassian and services by Cisco and F5, which companies use to manage security in the cloud.

On average, are developers ready for the cloud?

The role of the software developer is currently undergoing a transition. Developers and development teams have to become “cloud natives”, which means they have to understand what faster release cycles, microservice-based architectures and DevOps mean – for the organisation and corporate culture, as well.

Major changes to the job profile, constant flux – is software development an attractive occupation?

I think there's never been a better time to be a developer. Cloud Services give developers superpowers. They can build solutions, which were simply not possible in the past.

What does that mean for the significance of IT as a whole?

Not so long ago, it was normal for the IT department in an organisation to have a low status – the CIO reported to the CFO, and IT was outsourced and seen only as a cost factor. Now, companies realise that technology can make a fundamental contribution to their business success and bring competitive advantages. IT is now rising to the surface more and more: the CIO is directly subordinated to the CEO, and development teams are part of the company’s strategic future.

Are we currently already experiencing the cloud’s technological peak, or are we still at the beginning?

It's pretty much Day 1 of what customers can do with the cloud. New technologies and services are constantly being added, as you can see from AWS’s product range. We launched Amazon Web Services in 2006. Since then, the rate of innovation has been increasing each year: our platform had 1,017 significant new features and services in 2016, but over 1,400 in 2017.

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

Do customers really use these innovations?

When I talk to customers, they want to tackle more, and more diverse, IT problems using Cloud Services. They want us to simplify problems, which would otherwise be difficult to solve. Cloud Computing now encompasses lots of things which were unthinkable just a few years ago – for example, artificial intelligence, machine learning, language, image and video processing.

What significance do research and innovation have for a cloud provider?

We have a lot of research and innovation underway, across the entire product range. One example is elastic GPUs: previously, a GPU had to be connected 1:1 to a particular server; today, GPU power can be virtually assigned and removed according to need. Another is field programmable gate arrays (FPGA) in the computing cloud, which enable “hardware microservices” – that’s extremely innovative.

How do you make technological decisions?

On the basis of data. We passionately measure everything that can be measured – we are strongly driven by operations metrics. With this data in the background, we discuss and debate and are able to make a sound decision about what to do. We also use customer feedback, which we obtain from customer advisory boards, for example.

What will the cloud look like in 5 years’ time?

This is difficult to say. In general, the service range will continue to grow. We will increasingly be supporting customers in transforming their legacy technology into the cloud. The scope of services will also increase, and there will be additional regions across the globe. For example, we have just announced the Stockholm region and a region in Bahrain for the Middle East.

AWS offers over 100 services. Isn’t it difficult to keep so many Cloud Services under control?

Of course, it is a much bigger challenge today than in 2013, when I started working for AWS. On the other hand, the platform is also far more powerful. The choice of technologies is larger, and the services go deeper. The expectations of employees are changing: developers are transforming into machine learning engineers, and entirely new disciplines such as chaos engineering are being born – creating new skills and career paths. And that’s a good thing. Imagine if instead there was less choice ...

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

What about the customers – aren’t they confused by the enormous range on offer?

I don’t think so. The platform is this varied because that’s what customers want. An SME in a particular sector will be unlikely to use all the services – it will choose the precise combination that it needs. There is also more than one way to solve a problem. Customers are free to decide what they need in their current situation and to adapt their choice of technology to new requirements later.

Machine learning, AI and IoT are the hot topics of IT. What is the connection between them and the cloud?

With IoT, we connect up billions of devices. Each one provides measurement data, and they can interact, which produces even more data. The cloud is the natural habitat in which to store and process this data. This immediately gives us another challenge: the data volume is becoming extremely large – we’re talking petabytes. It’s getting more and more difficult to see what is happening. That’s where machine learning comes into play, to identify patterns and processes. This, in turn, generates even more data – a self-fulfilling cycle. Cloud, machine learning and IoT are closely linked together; you can’t have one without the other.

This is surely great news for cloud providers...

Of course. But also for companies which want to reinvent themselves and exploit new revenues. You only have to look at all the start-ups which are doing things which, 10 years ago, were literally science fiction.

AWS is the world’s largest provider of Cloud Services and runs a lot of mission-critical applications. How do you handle this systemic relevance?

Firstly, the security of the AWS platform is our highest priority. Secondly, we have a very good understanding of scalability and availability. The underlying architecture is built to be resilient. We have the concept of regions – there are currently 18 worldwide – and of availability zones which are independent of each other. If one of them fails, the others are still available. Customers are free to choose the regions and zones in which their applications can run. We generally recommend an active to active configuration across two or more availability zones.

What does working with local providers such as Swisscom mean for you?

Our customers like to see local faces, and they already have a relationship with local partners. The advantage of partners like Swisscom is that they can cover everything: from support for existing IT up to cloud transformation. They also have the experience of numerous transition projects. This benefits customers for whom the world of the cloud is still new.

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

What influence do you have, personally, on the cloud business?

Amazon’s uppermost management principle is “customer obsession”. Everything starts with the customer. Our innovation process works on the principle of “working backwards” from the customer: the initial basis is always the customer requirement. I myself and my teams go to the customers, collect feedback and suggestions for innovations and pass these findings onto the engineering department.

Does that work to your satisfaction?

The engineering teams love customer input. It’s a fantastic working relationship. At other providers, engineering is often pretty isolated and far removed from the customer for whom it is actually working.

What do you find fascinating about your job?

I am happiest when working with customers who have a very difficult problem to solve. When they arrive, you see their frustration. They want to build something up, to transform their business and inspire their customers, but aren’t getting anywhere. Accompanying the customer on the way to a solution, making the impossible possible – that’s what drives me and that’s why I love to get up each morning.

From morning to night: is there anything about AWS that makes you wake up in a cold sweat?

No, nothing about AWS. I wake up happy and full of energy each morning. To be more accurate, I don’t sleep that much at all because my brain is always active and thinking about all the things I want to do the next day.


Amazon Web Services by Swisscom

Swisscom professional services for companies seeking access to Amazon’s global cloud. The focus is on integration and migration.

Go to offer


Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.

More on the topic

Gegenwart und Zukunft der Cloud

«Ich glaube nicht, dass ein Unternehmen die Cloud heute noch ignorieren kann.»


Für den Chefarchitekten von Amazon Web Services ist klar: Cloud-Technologien stehen erst am Anfang, sind für Unternehmen unverzichtbar und essentielle Voraussetzung für IoT und künstliche Intelligenz.


Text: Urs Binder, Bilder: Raisa Durandi, 19. Februar 2018




Glenn Gore ist Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services – ein regelrechter Shooting Star der Cloud. Der Australier beschäftigt sich seit den 1990er-Jahren mit Internet-Technologien. Seine steile Karriere begann beim ersten Retail-ISP von Australien, später war er in verschiedenen Funktionen bei einem Backbone-Provider, einem Hosting-Anbieter und seit 2013 bei AWS tätig. Heute unterstützt er Kunden auf der Reise in die Cloud und hilft ihnen, die optimale Lösung zu finden. Im Umfeld des Worldwebforum 2018 konnten wir uns mit ihm über den Status und die zukünftige Entwicklung des Cloud-Computing unterhalten.


Glenn, kann ein Unternehmen die Cloud überhaupt noch ignorieren?


Ich glaube nicht, dass irgendeine Organisation der Cloud heute noch die kalte Schulter zeigen kann. Unternehmen müssen das Thema verfolgen und eine Strategie für die Cloud-Transformation entwickeln. Es ist auf jeden Fall eine Reise. Eine Reise, die damit beginnt, dass zunächst einzelne Applikationen in der Cloud laufen. Gleichzeitig müssen die Skills und Prozesse entwickelt werden, um diese Transitionen überhaupt zu ermöglichen. Je nach Komplexität kann das ein kurzer Trip oder eine grosse, mehrjährige Reise werden.


Was heisst «Cloud» in diesem Kontext?


Es umfasst alles, von IaaS über PaaS bis SaaS. Pikanterweise sagen manche Unternehmen, sie hätten mit der Cloud nichts am Hut. Und dann reden sie von Software wie Salesforce… Es gibt eine Menge Missverständnisse, was die Cloud ist und ob eine Organisation sie nutzt oder nicht.


Zu Beginn stand die «Private Cloud» hoch im Kurs. Nun spricht man vor allem von «Hybrid Cloud» - eine Entwicklung, die Sie auch sehen?


«Private Cloud» war immer eine völlig unzutreffende Bezeichnung. Denn die eigentlichen Vorteile der Cloud, die Elastizität und das Preismodell «Pay-as-you-go», gibt es nur mit Public Cloud Services, bei Bedarf ergänzt durch die eigene IT in einem Hybridmodell. Mit einer Private Cloud bezahlt man immer die vollständige Infrastruktur, egal ob man sie ausnutzt oder nicht. Natürlich haben Anbieter der alten Garde komplette Infrastrukturpakete als «Cloud» verkauft – 2018 ist das aber praktisch verschwunden.



Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services

Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services



Für ein Start-up ist es einfach, von der grünen Wiese aus direkt in die Cloud zu gehen. Wie soll ein gestandenes Unternehmen mit bestehender IT vorgehen?


Der beste Weg: Einfach beginnen. Viele Unternehmen fahren sich in Machbarkeitsstudien und Planungen fest, und nichts geschieht. Nehmen Sie eine Anwendung, ein kleines Team, und machen Sie ein Experiment. Man muss nicht alles auf einmal in die Cloud transformieren – und wenn man auch nur ein einziges Ding bewegt, lernt man schon eine Menge.


In den Anfangszeiten ging es darum, Rechen- und Speicherleistung in die Cloud zu verlagern. Heute werden IT-Systeme von Anfang an für die Cloud gebaut. Genügen die verfügbaren Tools, um dem gerecht zu werden?


Ja, es gibt ein ganzes Ökosystem von Entwicklungswerkzeugen, Diensten, Partnern und Softwareanbietern, die sich kombinieren lassen. Dazu gehören Open-Source-Tools wie Puppet, Chef und Jenkins, aber auch Partnerschaften mit kommerziellen Anbietern wie Atlassian, bis hin zu Diensten etwa von Cisco und F5, mit denen Unternehmen die Security in der Cloud managen können.


Und die Entwickler – sind die im Schnitt schon Cloud-ready?


Die Rolle der Softwareentwickler ist momentan im Umbruch. Entwickler und Entwicklungsteams müssen «cloud native» werden, also verstehen, was schnellere Release-Zyklen, Microservice-basierte Architekturen und DevOps bedeuten – auch für die Organisation und Unternehmenskultur.


Starke Veränderungen im Berufsbild, ständiger Wandel – ist Softwareentwicklung eine attraktive Tätigkeit?


Ich finde, es gab nie eine bessere Zeit, ein Entwickler zu sein als heute. Mit Cloud-Services bekommen die Entwickler nämlich Superkräfte. Sie können Lösungen bauen, die in der Vergangenheit schlicht nicht möglich waren.


Was heisst das für die Bedeutung der IT insgesamt?


Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit war es üblich, dass die IT in der Organisation eher unten angesiedelt war – der CIO rapportiert an den CFO, die IT wird ausgelagert und bloss als Kostenfaktor gesehen. Jetzt erkennen Unternehmen, dass Technologie einen fundamentalen Beitrag an den Geschäftserfolg leisten und Wettbewerbsvorteile liefern kann. Die IT schwimmt zunehmend wieder ganz oben: Der CIO ist direkt dem CEO unterstellt, die Entwicklungsteams sind Teil der strategischen Zukunft.


Erleben wir heute schon den technologischen Höhepunkt der Cloud oder stehen wir erst am Anfang?


Es ist praktisch erst Tag 1 dessen, was Kunden mit der Cloud anfangen können. Es kommen ständig neue Technologien und Services hinzu. Man sieht es auch am Angebot von AWS. Lanciert haben wir Amazon Web Services 2006. Seither steigt die Innovationsrate Jahr für Jahr: Während unsere Plattform 2016 noch 1017 signifikante neue Features und Services erlebte, waren es 2017 über 1400.



Glenn Gore, im Gespräch


Nutzen die Kunden die Neuerungen auch wirklich?


Wenn ich mit Kunden spreche, wollen Sie mit Cloud Services immer mehr und unterschiedlichere IT-Probleme bewältigen. Sie möchten, dass wir Probleme vereinfachen, die sonst schwierig zu lösen wären. Cloud Computing umfasst heute vieles, was noch vor ein paar Jahren undenkbar war – zum Beispiel künstliche Intelligenz, Machine Learning, Sprach-, Bild- und Videoverarbeitung.


Welche Bedeutung haben Forschung und Innovation für einen Cloud-Anbieter?


Bei uns passiert viel Forschung und Innovation, über die gesamte Produktpalette hinweg. Ein Beispiel sind elastische GPUs: Früher musste man eine GPU 1:1 an einen bestimmen Server binden, heute kann GPU-Leistung nach Bedarf virtuell zugeteilt und entfernt werden. Oder feldprogrammierbare Gate-Arrays (FPGA) in der Computing-Cloud, mit denen «Hardware Microservices» möglich werden – das ist höchst innovativ.


Wie trifft man Technologieentscheidungen?


Auf Basis von Daten. Wir messen leidenschaftlich alles, was überhaupt messbar ist – wir sind stark getrieben durch Operations Metrics. Mit diesen Daten im Hintergrund diskutieren und debattieren wir und können fundiert entscheiden, was wir tun sollen. Wichtig ist auch das Feedback von Kunden, das wir etwa über Customer Advisory Boards einholen.


Wie sieht die Cloud in 5 Jahren aus?


Das ist schwer zu sagen. Generell wird die Servicepalette immer breiter. Wir werden die Kunden vermehrt unterstützen, ihre Legacy-Technologien in die Cloud zu transformieren. Und auch der Leistungsumfang wird zunehmen, bei AWS zum Beispiel durch zusätzliche Regionen rund um den Globus. Angekündigt haben wir etwa die Region Stockholm und eine Region in Bahrain für den Nahen Osten.


AWS bietet über 100 Dienste an. Ist es nicht schwierig, so viele Cloud Services im Griff zu halten?


Es ist heute ganz klar eine grössere Herausforderung als 2013, als ich bei AWS einstieg. Auf der anderen Seite leistet die Plattform auch sehr viel mehr. Die Auswahl an Technologien wird breiter, die Services gehen tiefer. Die Anforderungen an die Mitarbeitenden verändern sich: Entwickler verwandeln sich in Machine-Learning-Ingenieure, ganz neue Disziplinen wie Chaos Engineering werden geboren – neue Skills und Karrierepfade entstehen. Und das ist gut so. Man stelle sich vor, es gäbe stattdessen weniger Auswahl…



Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services


Und die Kunden, werden die durch das enorm breite Angebot nicht verwirrt?


Meiner Meinung nach nein. Die Plattform ist so vielfältig, weil die Kunden es wünschen. Ein KMU einer bestimmten Branche wird kaum alle Services nutzen – es wählt genau die Kombination, die es braucht. Ausserdem gibt es mehr als einen Weg, ein Problem zu lösen. Kunden können frei entscheiden, was sie in der aktuellen Situation benötigen und die Technologiewahl später neuen Bedürfnissen anpassen.


Machine Learning, AI und IoT sind die heissesten Themen der IT. Welcher Zusammenhang besteht mit der Cloud?


Mit IoT vernetzen wir Milliarden von Geräten. Jedes liefert Messdaten, und sie können interagieren. Dabei fallen noch mehr Daten an. Die Cloud ist das natürliche Habitat, um diese Daten zu speichern und zu verarbeiten. Und schon folgt eine weitere Herausforderung: Die Datenmenge wird extrem umfangreich, wir sprechen von Petabytes. Es wird immer schwieriger zu sehen, was passiert. Jetzt kommt Machine Learning ins Spiel, um Muster und Prozesse zu erkennen. Cloud, Machine Learning und IoT sind eng miteinander verbunden. Das eine kann man nicht ohne das andere haben.


Das ist für Cloud-Anbieter sicher ein gefundenes Fressen…


Natürlich. Aber auch für Unternehmen, die sich selbst neu erfinden und neue Umsätze erzielen möchten. Man muss nur all die Startups betrachten, die Dinge tun, die vor 10 Jahren buchstäblich noch Science-Fiction waren.


AWS ist der weltgrösste Anbieter von Cloud-Services und bedient viele missionskritische Anwendungen. Wie gehen Sie mit dieser Systemrelevanz um?


Erstens ist die Sicherheit der AWS-Plattform unsere höchste Priorität. Zweitens verstehen wir uns sehr gut auf Skalierbarkeit und Verfügbarkeit. Die zugrundeliegende Architektur ist ganz auf Strapazierfähigkeit ausgelegt. Wir haben das Konzept von Regionen – im Moment 18 weltweit – und voneinander unabhängigen Verfügbarkeitszonen. Wenn eine ausfällt, stehen die anderen weiterhin zur Verfügung. Die Kunden haben Wahlfreiheit, in welchen Regionen und Zonen ihre Anwendungen laufen. Generell empfehlen wir eine Aktiv-Aktiv-Konfiguration über zwei oder mehr Verfügbarkeitszonen.


Was hat die Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Providern wie Swisscom für eine Bedeutung?


Unsere Kunden mögen lokale Gesichter. Und sie haben bereits Beziehungen zu lokalen Partnern. Das Gute an Partnern wie Swisscom: Sie können alles abdecken. Von der Unterstützung der bestehenden IT bis zur Cloud-Transformation. Dazu kommt die Erfahrung aus zahlreichen Transitionsprojekten. Sie kommt den Kunden zugute, für die die Cloud-Welt noch neu ist.



Glenn Gore, Chief Solutions Architect von Amazon Web Services


Was haben Sie persönlich für einen Einfluss auf das Cloud-Business?


Das oberste Führungsprinzip von Amazon heisst «Customer Obsession». Alles fängt mit dem Kunden an. Unser Innovationsprozess arbeitet nach dem Prinzip «working backwards», also ausgehend vom Problem des Kunden eine Lösung zu erarbeiten: Die Ausgangsbasis ist immer das Bedürfnis des Kunden. Ich selbst und meine Teams gehen zu den Kunden, nehmen Feedback und Anregungen für Innovationen mit und geben diese Erkenntnisse ans Engineering weiter.


Funktioniert das zufriedenstellend?


Die Engineering-Teams lieben den Input der Kunden. Es ist eine grossartige Arbeitsbeziehung. Bei anderen Anbietern lebt das Engineering oft ziemlich isoliert und ist weit weg von den Kunden, für die es eigentlich arbeitet.


Was fasziniert Sie an Ihrem Job?


Am glücklichsten bin ich, wenn ich mit Kunden arbeite, die ein sehr schwieriges Problem zu lösen haben. Man sieht zunächst ihre Frustration. Sie wollen etwas aufbauen, ihr Business transformieren, ihre Kunden begeistern und kommen nicht weiter. Die Kunden auf dem Weg zur Lösung zu begleiten, das Unmögliche möglich zu machen – das ist es, was mich antreibt und wieso ich am Morgen gerne aufstehe.


Vom Morgen zur Nacht: Gibt es etwas rund um AWS, das Sie schweissgebadet aufwachen lässt?


Nein, nichts was AWS betrifft. Ich wache jeden Morgen glücklich und energiegeladen auf. Genauer gesagt schlafe ich gar nicht so viel, weil mein Gehirn ständig in Gang ist und schon daran denkt, was ich am nächsten Tag alles tun will.




   

Amazon Web Services by Swisscom

Managed Services und Professional Services von Swisscom für Unternehmen, die den Weg in die globale Cloud von Amazon suchen. Im Fokus: Integration & Migration.

Zum Angebot







Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?




Mehr zum Thema