Interview: Roger Semprini & Berthold Kaib

Joining forces to connect customers worldwide

Equinix and Swisscom are now working together in the area of interconnection. We talked to Roger Semprini, Chief Executive of Equinix Switzerland, and Berthold Kaib, Senior Vice President Global Accounts at Swisscom, about the background to the cooperation and how it will benefit customers.

Text: Martina Longo, 26 june 2019

Swisscom and Equinix announced their partnership in March. What was the motivation behind this step?

Roger Semprini: Through this partnership with Equinix, Swisscom’s many international customers will enjoy the benefits of direct, private and secure access to all big-name cloud providers worldwide. Swisscom is offering its multi-national customers Equinix Cloud Exchange Fabric (ECX Fabric) to support rollout to the cloud. The ECX Fabric allows clouds, networks and services to be connected to 200 data centres worldwide over secure, private connections.

 

Berthold Kaib: We want to offer connectivity services to our customers with international locations. To achieve this aim, we have to work with partners that are able to handle the technical implementation and whose market dynamics are a good fit with Swisscom. Equinix meets all of these criteria, making it the ideal partner.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Equinix offers a whole host of products. Why did you opt for Equinix Cloud Exchange Fabric (ECX Fabric)?

Berthold Kaib: The market is moving towards hybrid clouds. With ECX Fabric, Swisscom customers are able to connect to a wide selection of clouds, benefit from easy access to multi-cloud solutions, increase their security, improve performance and also reduce costs. These are all advantages that we can offer our customers swiftly and easily thanks to our cooperation with Equinix.

 

Roger Semprini: Cloud connectivity is integral to current and future IT transformation. ECX Fabric is an SDN-enabled, on-demand interconnection service that helps companies to connect their own, distributed infrastructure both internally and with other companies on the Equinix platform; including the world’s biggest cloud providers and network operators AWS, Azure, Alicloud, Google and Oracle to name just a few.

How does the Equinix service differ from that of other providers?

Roger Semprini: ECX Fabric is based on interconnection, which means it bypasses the ‘normal’ public Internet, which is neither fast nor secure. Companies should opt for private data traffic to ward off digital threats and protect themselves from cyber attacks. Interconnection - the direct and private exchange of data - is increasingly becoming the standard for companies looking to assert themselves in the digital world.

Berthold Kaib (left) and Roger Semprini explain the background to the new cooperation.  

What are the benefits of the extended portfolio for Swisscom customers?

Berthold Kaib: ECX Fabric gives Swisscom customers a direct, private and secure connection to all leading cloud service providers. They are able to connect to all of their cloud and IT service providers via a single portal. Global companies can offer both hybrid cloud and multi-cloud solutions at different locations at the same time. ECX Fabric supports our multi-national Swisscom customers in optimising the performance of their cloud applications, reducing latency as well as improving and scaling network control.

What is your opinion of the move away from the private cloud and towards the hybrid cloud?

Berthold Kaib: The move towards the hybrid cloud is a consequence of digital progress. What customers want is a flexible, efficient and economical IT architecture that can be customised to their specific requirements. Hybrid systems give us the freedom to do this.

 

Roger Semprini: In addition to local data centres, applications are increasingly being operated in public clouds. With hybrid multi-clouds, customers are able to simplify their IT environment by connecting different locations with multiple clouds over a single portal.

About Equinix

With 200 data centres, Equinix is the biggest provider of Interconnection and data centre services in the world. The Equinix network handles approximately 90 percent of all global and national Internet traffic. Leading cloud providers such as Amazon Web Services (AWS), Microsoft Azure and Google Cloud Platform as well as all well-known social media and content streaming service providers (including Netflix and Spotify) use the Equinix network. The company is listed on the stock exchange with a capital of 30 billion dollars. Equinix operates five data centres in Switzerland: three in Zurich and two in Geneva. As such, Equinix is considered the enabler of digitisation.


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe


More on the topic

Newsletter Partner Login Kontakt
Newsletter Partner Login Kontakt

Interconnection

Interview: Roger Semprini & Berthold Kaib

Gemeinsam Kunden weltweit vernetzen

Equinix und Swisscom arbeiten neu im Bereich Interconnection zusammen. Im Interview erklären Roger Semprini, Geschäftsführer von Equinix Schweiz, und Berthold Kaib, Senior Vice President Global Accounts bei Swisscom, die Hintergründe der Zusammenarbeit und wie Kunden davon profitieren.

Text: Martina Longo, 26. Juni 2019

Swisscom und Equinix haben im März die Zusammenarbeit bekanntgegeben. Was war die Motivation für diesen Schritt?

Roger Semprini: Swisscom hat viele global tätige Kunden, die dank der Zusammenarbeit mit Equinix von einem weltweiten direkten, privaten und sicheren Zugang zu allen namhaften Cloud-Anbietern profitieren. Swisscom bietet Equinix Cloud Exchange Fabric (ECX Fabric) für die Einführung der Cloud bei multinationalen Kunden an. Clouds, Netzwerke und Services können damit über private und damit sichere Verbindungen mit weltweit 200 Rechenzentren verbunden werden.

 

Berthold Kaib: Wir möchten unseren Kunden mit globalen Standorten Connectivity-Services anbieten können. Das setzt voraus, dass wir mit Partnern zusammenarbeiten, die dies technisch umsetzen können und auch in ihrer Marktdynamik zu Swisscom passen. Mit Equinix haben wir einen Partner gefunden, der diese Anforderungen optimal erfüllt.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Equinix bietet eine grosse Palette an Produkten an. Wieso fiel die Wahl auf Equinix Cloud Exchange Fabric (ECX Fabric)?

Berthold Kaib: Der Markt bewegt sich in Richtung Hybrid Clouds. Swisscom Kunden können sich dank ECX Fabric mit einer grossen Auswahl an Clouds verbinden, erhalten einfachen Zugriff auf Multicloud-Lösungen, erhöhen ihre Sicherheit, verbessern die Leistung und können auch die Kosten senken. Das sind alles Vorteile, die wir unseren Kunden dank der Zusammenarbeit mit Equinix rasch und unkompliziert anbieten können.

 

Roger Semprini: Die Cloud-Konnektivität ist ein Schlüsselelement der gegenwärtigen und auch zukünftigen IT-Transformation. ECX Fabric ist ein SDN-fähiger On-Demand-Interconnection-Dienst, der Unternehmen dabei unterstützt, ihre eigene, verteilte Infrastruktur untereinander, aber auch mit anderen Unternehmen auf der Plattform Equinix zu verbinden - einschliesslich der weltweit grössten Cloud-Provider und Netzwerkanbieter, wie beispielsweise AWS, Azure, Alicloud, Google und Oracle.

Was unterscheidet das Angebot von Equinix von den Services anderer Dienstleister?

Roger Semprini: ECX Fabric basiert auf Interconnection, umgeht also das ‚normale‘ Internet, denn das öffentliche Internet ist weder schnell noch sicher. Unternehmen sollten auf privaten Datenverkehr setzen, um digitale Bedrohungen abzuwehren und sich so vor Cyberattacken zu schützen. Interconnection - der direkte und private Austausch von Daten - wird immer mehr zum Standard für Unternehmen, die sich in der digitalen Welt behaupten wollen.

Berthold Kaib (links) und Roger Semprini erklären alle Hintergründe zur neuen Zusammenarbeit.

Welche Vorteile haben Swisscom Kunden dank der Erweiterung des Portfolios?

Berthold Kaib: Mit ECX Fabric ist für Swisscom Kunden eine direkte, private und sichere Verbindung zu allen führenden Cloud Service Providern möglich. Sie können sich über ein einziges Portal mit all ihren Cloud- und IT Service-Dienstleistern verbinden. Globale Unternehmen können sowohl hybride Cloud- als auch Multi-Cloud-Lösungen an verschiedenen Standorten parallel anbieten. ECX Fabric ermöglicht es unseren multinationalen Swisscom Kunden, die Leistung ihrer Cloud-Anwendungen zu steigern, Latenzzeiten zu reduzieren, Netzwerkkontrolle und -Steuerung zu verbessern und zu skalieren.

Weg von der Private Cloud hin zur Hybrid Cloud als Zukunftsmodell. Wie beurteilen Sie diese Entwicklung?

Berthold Kaib: Die Entwicklungen in Richtung Hybrid Cloud sind eine Konsequenz der digitalen Entwicklung. Kunden schätzen eine flexible, effiziente und kostengünstige IT-Architektur, die sich modular und individuell an die eigenen Bedürfnisse anpassen lässt. Diese Anforderungen können wir mit hybriden Systemen optimal erfüllen.

 

Roger Semprini: Anwendungen werden zunehmend nicht nur in lokalen Rechenzentren, sondern auch in öffentlichen Clouds betrieben. Mit hybriden Multiclouds vereinfachen Kunden ihre IT, indem sie sich von verschiedenen Standorten mit mehreren Clouds über ein einziges Portal verbinden.

Zu Equinix

Equinix ist mit 200 Rechenzentren der weltweit grösste Anbieter von Interconnection- und Rechenzentrums-Dienstleistungen. Ca. 90 Prozent des globalen und nationalen Internet-Traffics findet im Netz von Equinix statt. Führende Cloud-Provider wie Amazon Web Services (AWS), Microsoft Azure oder Google Cloud Platform sowie alle bekannten Social-Media und Content Streaming-Service Anbieter (z.B. Netflix und Spotify) nutzen das Netzwerk von Equinix. Die Firma ist mit einem Kapital von 30 Milliarden Dollar börsenkotiert. In der Schweiz betreibt Equinix fünf Rechenzentren, drei in Zürich und zwei in Genf, und gilt damit als der «Enabler der Digitalisierung».


Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?

> zur Anmeldung


Mehr zum Thema

Whitepaper

The Digital‐Native Network

Um ein Digital-Native-Unternehmen zu werden, benötigen Sie ein flexibles, effizientes und skalierbares Netz.