SAP Field Service Management in action

More savings and efficiency in field service

SAP Field Service Management enables companies to manage their field service activities in a holistic and intelligent way. This results in more efficient service on the ground and far greater customer satisfaction. The Swisscom experts Reto Hildbrand and Hanspeter Groth explain the background.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, 

Hello Mr Hildbrand, hello Mr Groth, there is frequent annoyance – not only in Switzerland – with service personnel who have the wrong tool, the wrong instructions or none of the appropriate spare parts with them.

Hildbrand:

Digitalisation is providing us with good opportunities to put an end to such negative experiences. Tools like SAP Field Service Management mean that field service personnel and customers are better informed and service is coordinated efficiently. The processes are becoming far more service-oriented and cost-efficient.


Groth:

SAP Field Service Management supports every company in Switzerland that offers maintenance and repair services for more complex products and wants to strengthen customer loyalty. The motivations for this include avoiding the situations you mentioned and strengthening customer loyalty. Studies carried out by Bain & Company have shown that increasing customer retention by only five percent can lead to an increase in profits of up to 95 percent.

 

Hildbrand:

Two personal examples: My dishwasher had broken down shortly before the holidays. On-site service and repair were so unreliable that next time I am going to buy a different brand. But when I had a service technician in my home some time ago in connection with another matter, he was able to print out a work order and invoice straight away. That was transparent and – as he told me – also ideal for his company, because completed work and the invoice become a single unit and the number of complaints is thus reduced.

SAP Field Service Management represents the current status, which can then be called up at any time from anywhere!

Groth:

Correct. All key data for field service is available in real time and clearly presented graphically. All those overseeing operations receive a comprehensive overview of customers, products and service personnel. This way, they can guarantee that the technician in the field has all the relevant information and the right materials at their disposal at the right time. This knowledge management creates more certainty for the company.

 

Hildbrand:

The customers benefit too, because they can be provided with self-service solutions as a first step. For example, customers can use instructions that have been prepared so that they are easy to understand, have been adapted for the relevant piece of equipment and can be easily retrieved. A technician does not need to come unless and until a deeper level of understanding is required. And then I can request preferred dates and track their inbound journey.

Added to this are real-time analyses that can support planning over the long term.

Groth:

Think of service agreements that are expected to be fulfilled on a regular basis – without a lack of resources rearing its head in an emergency. Or intelligent prioritisation in dispatching. Thanks to a wide variety of optimisation algorithms, distances travelled and therefore travel times can be improved and customers can be grouped and looked after more economically.

 

Hildbrand:

SAP Field Service Management can be combined with analytics or with artificial intelligence. In the supply industry, for example, this would be done to predict the life cycle for spare parts, plan maintenance with foresight or coordinate routes efficiently.

There are also tools from other manufacturers that are similarly powerful.

Groth:

Viewed in isolation, that is correct. But then they generally work in conjunction with different system landscapes. So the various systems need to be integrated. And that can become complex very quickly. Especially if the service technician needs an all-encompassing overview of the customer, their individual products and the total life cycle of these products. A very large number of customers in Switzerland use SAP. Therefore, also using SAP Field Service Management gives them the great advantage of getting everything from a single source and being able to utilize comprehensive end-to-end processes as a result.

What are the particular credentials of Swisscom when it comes to offering implementation, adaptation and training for SAP Field Service Management?

Groth:

What I hear from our customers: In addition to our experience and the strength of our team, it is the fact that we provide extensive advice and carry out the implementation. In an area like field services in particular, the use of the tool is fundamental because it acts as an intermediary between field sales and other IT systems to coordinate, analyse and predict.

 

Hildbrand:

The practical experience of Swisscom in dealing with SAP Field Service Management is also important. For example, we recently introduced the tool at a client. That will not only improve the coordination of hundreds of employees in field service considerably but also provide us with further experience with special functions.

In your view, which preconditions are fundamental for efficiently exploiting the benefits of SAP Field Service Management?

Hildbrand:

With SAP Field Service Management, the obstacles are relatively minor – also with regard to the size of the company. Of course, the greatest benefits are derived when the tool is incorporated in the ‘back-end’ processes, preferably in SAP systems such as SAP R/3 or SAP S/4HANA.

 

Groth:

To enable companies to differentiate themselves strategically with the aid of SAP Field Service Management, a corresponding culture is important. The employees should not only want to accept the system but also take pleasure in using the functions. Training and a culture of trust also become more important because field service takes on more individual responsibility for service reports and invoices, for example …

 

Hildbrand:

But the implementation of SAP Field Service Management can only be a part of change management. That is why it is not the sole focus of our work. Instead, our task is to provide companies with comprehensive support and successfully advance their transformation at all levels step by step.


Do you have questions?

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries






More on the topic:

SAP Field Service Management im Einsatz

Mehr Einsparungen und Effizienz im Aussendienst

SAP Field Service Management ermöglicht Unternehmen eine ganzheitliche und intelligente Aussendienststeuerung. Das führt zu einem wirtschaftlicheren Service vor Ort und zu deutlich mehr Kundenzufriedenheit. Die Swisscom-Experten Reto Hildbrand und Hanspeter Groth erklären die Hintergründe.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, 

Hallo Herr Hildbrand, hallo Herr Groth, nicht nur in der Schweiz gibt es immer wieder Ärger über Servicekräfte, die das falsche Werkzeug, die falschen Instruktionen oder keine passenden Ersatzteile dabeihaben.

Hildbrand:

Die Digitalisierung bietet uns gute Chancen, diesem Malus den Boden zu entziehen. Denn durch Tools wie SAP Field Service Management werden Aussendienst und Kunden besser informiert und der Service effizient koordiniert. Die Prozesse entwickeln sich deutlich serviceorientierter und kostengünstiger.


Groth:

SAP Field Service Management unterstützt jedes Unternehmen in der Schweiz, das die Wartung und Reparatur komplexerer Produkte anbietet und die Kundenbindung festigen will. Unter anderem, um die von Ihnen angesprochen Situationen zu vermeiden und die Kundenbindung zu festigen. Studien von Bain & Company haben gezeigt, dass eine Steigerung der Kundenbindung um nur fünf Prozent zu einer Gewinnsteigerung von bis zu 95 Prozent führen kann.

 

Hildbrand:

Zwei persönliche Beispiele: Meine Spülmaschine war kurz vor den Feiertagen kaputt gegangen. Service und Reparatur vor Ort waren so unzuverlässig, dass ich beim nächsten Mal eine andere Marke kaufen werde. Als ich aber vor einiger Zeit einen Servicetechniker in einer anderen Sache bei mir zuhause hatte, konnte er Arbeitsauftrag und Rechnung sofort ausdrucken. Das war transparent und – wie er mir erzählte – auch ideal für sein Unternehmen, weil erfolgreiche Arbeit und Rechnung eine Einheit werden und sich so die Zahl von Reklamationen reduziert.

SAP Field Service Management bildet den Status Quo ab, der dann jederzeit von überall her abrufbar ist!

Groth:

Richtig. Alle Aussendienstkennzahlen stehen in Echtzeit und grafisch übersichtlich aufbereitet zur Verfügung. Alle Verantwortlichen erhalten eine Rundumsicht auf Kunden, Produkte und Servicemitarbeiter. So können sie gewährleisten, dass dem Techniker vor Ort zum richtigen Zeitpunkt alle relevanten Informationen und das richtige Material zur Verfügung stehen. Dieses Wissensmanagement schafft mehr Sicherheit für das Unternehmen.

 

Hildbrand:

... auch die Kunden haben Vorteile. Denn in einer ersten Stufe können ihnen Selfservice-Lösungen zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Kunden können so beispielsweise eine für die jeweilige Anlage angepasste, verständlich aufbereitete und unkompliziert abrufbare Anleitung nutzen. Ein Techniker muss erst dann kommen, wenn eine tiefere Stufe des Verständnisses benötigt wird. Und dann kann ich Terminwünsche äussern und die Anfahrt tracken.

Dazu kommen Echtzeitanalysen, die die Planung nachhaltig unterstützen können.

Groth:

Denken Sie an Service-Verträge, die regelmässig bedient werden sollen – ohne dass bei einem Notfall Ressourcen fehlen. Oder eine intelligente Priorisierung beim Dispatching. Dank verschiedenster Optimierungsalgorithmen lassen sich Wegstrecke und damit Zeitverbrauch verbessern und Kunden wirtschaftlicher segmentieren und betreuen.

 

Hildbrand:

SAP Field Service Management ermöglicht das Kombinieren mit Analytics oder mit einer Künstlichen Intelligenz beispielsweise für die Versorgungsindustrie, um den Lebenszyklus für Ersatzteile vorauszuberechnen, Wartungen vorausschauend zu planen oder Routen effizient zu koordinieren.

Es gibt Tools auch von anderen Herstellern, die ebenfalls leistungskräftig sind.

Groth:

Für sich genommen ist das richtig. Aber Sie haben es dann in der Regel mit unterschiedlichen Systemlandschaften zu tun. Die verschiedenen Systeme müssen also integriert werden. Und das kann sehr rasch komplex werden. Vor allem, wenn der Service-Techniker eine vollumfassende Rundumsicht über den Kunden, seine individuellen Produkte und deren gesamten Lebenszyklus benötigt. Sehr viele Kunden in der Schweiz nutzen SAP. Deshalb haben sie bei SAP Field Service Management den grossen Vorteil, alles aus einer Hand zu bekommen und damit umfassende End-zu-End-Prozesse nutzen zu können.

Wo sehen Sie die besonderen Qualifikationen der Swisscom beim SAP Field Service Management, um Implementierung, Anpassung und Schulung zu übernehmen?

Groth:

Was ich von unseren Kunden höre: Neben der Erfahrung und der Teamstärke ist es vor allem der Umstand, dass wir umfassend beraten und umsetzen. Gerade bei einem Thema wie Field Services ist der Einsatz des Tools grundlegend, weil es als Mittler fungiert zwischen Aussendienst und anderen IT-Systemen zur Koordinierung, Analyse und Prognose.

 

Hildbrand:

Wichtig ist auch die praktische Erfahrung der Swisscom im Umgang mit SAP Field Service Management. Wir haben das Tool beispielsweise vor kurzem bei einem Kunden eingeführt. Das wird nicht nur die Koordination von Hunderten Kollegen im Außendienst deutlich verbessern, sondern uns weitere Erfahrungswerte bei speziellen Funktionen bieten.

Welche Voraussetzungen sind Ihrer Ansicht nach grundlegend, um die Vorteile von SAP Field Service Management effizient zu nutzen?

Hildbrand:

Die Hürden beim SAP Field Service Management sind relativ klein – auch was die Grösse des Unternehmens anbetrifft. Die grössten Vorteile ergeben sich natürlich, wenn das Tool in die "Back-End" Prozesse eingebunden wird, vorzugsweise in SAP Systeme wie SAP R/3 oder SAP S/4HANA.

 

Groth:

Damit sich Unternehmen mit Hilfe von SAP Field Service Management strategisch differenzieren können, ist eine entsprechende Kultur wichtig: Die Mitarbeiter sollten das System nicht nur akzeptieren wollen, sondern Freude daran entwickeln, die Funktionalitäten einzusetzen. Auch werden die Ausbildung und eine Kultur des Vertrauens wichtiger, weil der Aussendienst mehr Eigenverantwortung beispielsweise für Serviceberichte und Rechnungen übernimmt …

 

Hildbrand:

Das Implementieren von SAP Field Service Management kann aber nur ein Teil des Change-Managements sein. Es steht deshalb nicht alleine im Mittelpunkt unserer Arbeit. Unsere Aufgabe ist es vielmehr, das Unternehmen umfassend zu unterstützen und die Transformation auf allen Ebenen Schritt für Schritt erfolgreich voranzubringen.  


Haben Sie noch Fragen? Wir sind persönlich für Sie da.

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries




Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: