Who will get the most out of RISE with SAP?

Is the new RISE with SAP bundle a genuine all-rounder?

Before now, most companies have acquired S/4HANA software and services individually. Now, SAP is offering a comprehensive software subscription for the first time to help companies navigate the digital transformation: RISE with SAP. Swisscom experts Lars Künzler and Hanspeter Groth explain who the offering is intended for.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, Images: iStock, 25th 

Mr Groth, Mr Künzler, hello. We need to talk about RISE with SAP. SAP is billing its bundle, which it launched in January, as a comprehensive, simplified full-service offering. It is focused on the SAP S/4HANA ERP system, which is purchased via a subscription model. SAP installs and operates it on a cloud provider's platform. Because the entire software platform infrastructure is vertical in nature, meaning that everything comes from a single source, the idea is that companies should receive the best possible support in their digital transformation processes. Furthermore, there is no longer any need for an upfront investment.

How do you rate the new service?

Künzler: The cloud is the mainstay of the digital transformation. RISE with SAP sets new standards in that respect alone. However, the bundle is not the worry-free, no-strings-attached package that some might have hoped for. The 'one offer, one contract, one partner' concept requires a willingness to commit to a long-term exclusive partnership with SAP. That comes with clear benefits, because companies have a guarantee that SAP will ensure that all the SAP systems continue to run smoothly. However, it does require them to become even more inextricably tethered to SAP. Plus, if a company wants to use more computing power from the cloud on account of seasonal business, it will have to pay for this capacity during the less lucrative part of the year as well. If it were to stay that way, that would run counter to the adaptability that I expect from a cloud.



Groth: Many customers have previously purchased their software from SAP. However, they also use other partners where necessary to run the SAP application landscape. With RISE with SAP, companies can have all of it done in one place. However, that won't always be the best option for every customer. After all, SAP partners generally not only have closer links to customers but can also offer alternatives. They may also operate non-SAP applications, for example.

RISE with SAP is based on intensive use of the cloud. Who benefits from that, and what are the advantages?

Künzler: Yes, RISE does make intensive use of the cloud. That adds extra flexibility in the company's process management and makes it easier to maintain the applications. It is particularly beneficial for individual corporate groups. One example is an SME that wants to use SAP's ERP software and focus entirely on its core business.

This company would then be able to rely on the services of a capable partner.

Groth: Correct, but that's not all. Because in a case like that, RISE can help in financial terms as well. Smaller companies usually don't have IT departments, and if they do, they tend not to be very big. With RISE, they get comprehensive service from SAP. This ensures that all SAP applications work at all times and that any problems are dealt with swiftly. That applies regardless of whether they arise at infrastructure, platform or application level.


Künzler: However, it's a bit different when a company is more diverse and the IT landscape becomes more complex as a result. In that case, a horizontal approach should be considered, whereby rather than SAP, a service partner handles the operation of the systems, and particularly systems from other providers.

RISE with SAP offers companies a complete package. Does that mean that implementing it is generally cheaper than purchasing and integrating separate applications?

Groth: We often hear that. But there is no robust set of data yet to back up a sweeping statement along those lines. If we compare available services assuming various customer situations, RISE is not always automatically the most attractively priced option.



Künzler: Especially as you need to consider the contract term, which is normally three or five years in the case of RISE. With the RISE model, customers lease the SAP software. That means you need to consider sign-up conditions, such as prices and fees, as well as your options for switching if the model turns out not to be the right fit.

Is RISE a genuine all-rounder as advertised?

Künzler: RISE is a kind of stepping stone between a pure SaaS system and complete individuality with the aid of an on-premise S/4HANA solution. As for how useful the service is, every company needs to decide that for itself based primarily on strategic assessments and its existing IT landscape. The support of experienced, independent experts is generally a great help in these situations.

This includes the experts at Swisscom.

Groth: We operate independently, we're familiar with the needs of Swiss companies when it comes to SAP, and we can offer a comprehensive overview of the market. That applies to not only technical aspects but also the fully integrated implementation of the strategy in question.



Künzler:
As far as we are concerned, the question of which products and services make sense for which of a customer's departments and how they are coordinated with each other is
fundamental. Our many years of experience have allowed us to put together checklists and processes that help our customers to arrive at informed decisions on the best choice of products and services.

How would you sum up RISE with SAP?

Groth: RISE with SAP is still new to the market, and we anticipate that it will continue to develop in a rapid and clear manner. RISE with SAP is something that we're focusing on quite closely, so we are following the subject proactively. We are keeping in touch with the experts at SAP as well as the DSAG, an organisation of German-speaking SAP users – and, of course, with our customers.


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More information:

À qui RISE with SAP s’adresse-t-elle?

Est-ce que la nouvelle offre combinée RISE with SAP répond à tous les besoins?

Jusqu’ici, la plupart des entreprises ont acheté le logiciel S/4HANA et ses services séparément. Avec RISE with SAP, SAP leur propose pour la première fois un abonnement global à un logiciel qui aide l’entreprise dans sa transformation numérique. Les experts de Swisscom Lars Künzler et Hanspeter Groth expliquent à qui s’adresse l’offre.

Texte: Andreas Kunkel, Images: iStock, 25 août

Bonjour Monsieur Groth, bonjour Monsieur Künzler. Il est temps de parler de RISE with SAP. SAP vend les mérites de son offre lancée en janvier et la décrit comme une offre full service complète et qui simplifie les choses. La solution ERP de SAP S/4HANA achetée via un modèle d’abonnement est au cœur de cette offre. SAP l’installe et l’exploite sur la plateforme d’un fournisseur de cloud. Comme toute l’infrastructure de la plateforme du logiciel est établie de manière verticale, et provient donc d’un seul fournisseur, les entreprises doivent être accompagnées au mieux dans leur transformation numérique. Par ailleurs, elles n’ont plus besoin d’effectuer des préinvestissements.

Que pensez-vous de la nouvelle offre?

Künzler: Le cloud est la question centrale de la transformation numérique. RISE with SAP est donc révolutionnaire en soi. Mais l’offre ne correspond pas pour tout le monde au paquet tant escompté capable de répondre à toutes les attentes. Le concept One Offer, One Contract, One Partner se fonde sur la volonté d’établir un partenariat de longue durée et exclusif avec SAP. Cela comporte des avantages indéniables puisque les entreprises ont la garantie que SAP va assurer toute l’exploitation sans accrocs des systèmes SAP. Mais pour ce faire, les entreprises doivent renforcer leurs liens avec SAP. En plus, si une entreprise souhaite, par exemple, utiliser plus de performances du cloud en raison de son activité saisonnière, elle va payer pour cette même capacité, y compris pendant la période où elle enregistre moins de chiffre d’affaires. Si ce point n’est pas revu, cela viendrait contredire la capacité d’adaptation dont un cloud est censé faire preuve.

 


Groth: Aujourd’hui, de nombreux clients achètent leur logiciel auprès de SAP. Pour l’exploitation du paysage des applications SAP, ils font toutefois appel à d’autres partenaires, en fonction de leurs besoins. Avec RISE with SAP, les entreprises peuvent bénéficier d’une exploitation complète par un seul fournisseur. Cette option ne conviendra cependant pas à tous les clients car les partenaires SAP ne se contentent en général pas d’être plus proches du client. Ils mettent également des alternatives à leur disposition. Notamment lorsqu’ils exploitent aussi des applications non SAP.

RISE with SAP mise sur une utilisation intensive du cloud. Qui en bénéficie et quels sont les avantages?

Künzler: En effet, RISE utilise le cloud de manière intensive. Cela permet d’augmenter la flexibilité de la gestion des processus des entreprises et de faciliter l’entretien des applications. Pour certains groupes d’entreprises, cela représente une forte valeur ajoutée. On peut citer comme exemple l’entreprise de taille moyenne qui souhaite utiliser le système ERP de SAP et se concentrer entièrement sur son activité principale.

Cette entreprise peut alors compter sur un partenaire fort à ses côtés.

Groth: C’est vrai, mais ce n’est pas tout. Car dans ce cas, RISE peut aussi être avantageux sur le plan financier. En effet, les petites entreprises n’ont généralement pas de service informatique, ou alors il est minuscule. RISE leur apporte un service complet de SAP. Cela garantit un fonctionnement permanent de toutes les applications SAP et une résolution rapide des problèmes. Peu importe s’ils concernent l’infrastructure, la plateforme ou l’application.



Künzler:
Mais si la complexité du paysage informatique augmente avec la diversité de l’entreprise, c’est une autre histoire. Il faut alors envisager une démarche horizontale: ce n’est plus SAP, mais un partenaire de service qui s’occupe de l’exploitation des systèmes, notamment des systèmes d’autres fournisseurs.

RISE with SAP offre aux entreprises une solution complète. Est-ce que cela veut dire que la mise en œuvre est généralement moins chère que l’achat et l’intégration de différents programmes?

Groth: C’est ce qu’on entend souvent. Mais pour le moment, rien de solide ne permet d’appuyer une telle affirmation d’ordre général. Si on se fonde sur différentes situations de clients et compare les offres, RISE n’est pas forcément parmi les moins chères.


Künzler: D’autant plus qu’il faut prendre en compte la durée, et pour les contrats RISE, elle est généralement de trois ou cinq ans. Pour un modèle RISE, les clients louent le logiciel SAP. Il faut aussi prendre en compte les conditions de raccordement tels que les prix et les frais ainsi que les possibilités de changement au cas où le modèle ne convient pas parfaitement.

RISE est-elle vraiment la solution qui répond à tous les besoins?

Künzler: RISE est à mi-chemin entre une solution SaaS pure et l’individualité totale à l’aide d’une solution sur site S/4HANA. Chaque entreprise doit décider si l’offre lui est utile, surtout à partir des évaluations stratégiques et de leur paysage actuel. Pour ce faire, il est généralement recommandé de faire appel à des experts indépendants.

Les experts de Swisscom en font partie.

Groth: Nous travaillons en toute indépendance, connaissons les besoins des entreprises suisses dans le domaine SAP et proposons un aperçu complet du marché. Et nous le faisons pas seulement sur le plan technique, mais aussi dans la mise en œuvre complète de la stratégie concernée.


Künzler: La question de savoir quels produits et services correspondent à tel ou tel domaine au sein des clients et comment les coordonner est pour nous
une question essentielle. Grâce à notre vaste expérience, nous avons mis au points des check-listes et processus afin d’amener nos clients vers une décision réfléchie pour le bon choix de services et produits.

Quel est votre bilan au sujet de RISE with SAP?

Groth: RISE with SAP est encore nouvelle sur le marché et nous pensons que l’offre va se développer très rapidement et fortement. RISE with SAP est essentielle pour nous. C’est pourquoi nous suivons cela de près. Nous échangeons avec les experts de SAP, mais aussi avec la DSAG (le groupe des utilisateurs de SAP allemands), et bien sûr avec nos clients.


Vous avez des questions? Nous sommes à votre disposition.

Groth Hanspeter

SAP Business Development Executive






En savoir plus sur ce thème: