External expertise still required

RISE with SAP: A foundation that can be built on

RISE with SAP can provide companies with a solid foundation to develop their IT infrastructures. Nevertheless, a closer look is still called for. We show what is included in the new Software as a Service offering, how high the benefits actually are, and why many customers still need further expertise.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, Bilder: istock, 11

Systems from SAP offer enterprises a wide range of far-reaching options for preparing their companies for future developments and tasks. However, the products are often also complex and resource-intensive. Both in terms of manpower and financing. Swiss companies therefore (rightly) expect SAP offerings to reliably meet three basic goals. First: The solution must function smoothly and with minimal effort, both now and in the future. Second: The systems must pave the way for the company's individual development – for example, in the transformation towards S/4HANA. And third: Costs must be transparent. And not only in terms of the acquisition, but also in relation to all other aspects of use, such as adjustments and maintenance.

The basic idea of RISE with SAP

The concept of "RISE with SAP" meets all of these criteria and more. The centrepiece here is the structure: An all-in-one solution with SAP S/4HANA in the cloud. What's more, this package also includes tools for analysing business processes, a starter package for using innovation platforms such as the SAP Business Technology Platform and access to the purchasing and supply chain network (SAP Business Network). A quick start with the Ariba network, the asset intelligence network or a logistics business network is therefore also supported. The cloud infrastructure can be selected as required, so that servers can be deployed on the hyperscalers Azure, AWS or Google, for example.

 

"RISE with SAP addresses the desire of many SAP customers who do not want to invest in a 'full' SaaS solution. They shy away from the associated risk because it will impose restrictions on the implementation of company-specific solutions", says Swisscom SAP expert Hanspeter Groth.

 

But Swisscom experts also assess the option of "business process intelligence" as interesting: This add-on service, which will probably be fee-based, is designed to enable companies to perform holistic end-to-end process transformations. In this way, they can optimise processes, improve customer orientation and better calculate operational risks", emphasises Groth.

Services on top

Other services already included in the package, such as the SAP Readiness Check or the Custom Code Analyzer, are powerful services that efficiently support companies in the further development of their SAP IT infrastructure: They set the agenda for what still needs to be optimised for a switch to S/4HANA. And because they are available via the cloud, companies can act much more flexibly than with an on-premises solution. In addition, there is an – albeit limited – use of tools such as the Learning Hub. This provides companies with a platform to build SAP knowledge – from e-learning courses to self-paced studies to expert-led live sessions and collaborative learning spaces.

All-in-one only on the first level

"Above all, however, many companies will find RISE's full-service approach extremely useful. Especially since the S/4HANA licences are transparent and easy to calculate during their term of usually three or five years", emphasises Groth. Because once the systems are set up, they always remain up to date and are serviced quickly if the worst comes to the worst – without having to build up your own team of experts. This means that companies hardly need to use their own resources to take care of setting up and operating the IT infrastructure. This also applies to backups or when error corrections or updates have to be applied.

 

All the required facilities at process level remain the responsibility of the customer and are taken over by SAP expert teams. What's more, for specific customisations and the further development of systems in line with a company's needs, SAP's own experts may also be required or they are provided via partners such as Swisscom. Swisscom has around 450 experienced SAP specialists at its disposal to help Swiss companies make their SAP systems fit for business. They provide advice and customise the software to ensure the best possible benefits. And they support the companies over time and also help with future modifications, if they are above the "first layer" (SAP Basis) of RISE.

Software-as-a-Service

"RISE with SAP is nevertheless not the most sensible solution for every company at the moment. Especially for features where SAP is highly dependent on other systems, or where highly individualised processes have to be taken into account, RISE with SAP could still prove to be too rigid a solution", says Groth. (For details regarding classification, please see the interview.) However, RISE is, without a doubt, also a trend-setting approach for future offers: SAP provides a comprehensive "as a service" package here. It is therefore responding to the strong interest of companies to obtain more and more services in this way and to challenge the traditional solution of on-premises installations.


Do you have questions?

Hanspeter Groth

SAP Business Development Executive





More information:

Expertise externe toujours requise

RISE with SAP: une base de développement

RISE with SAP offre aux entreprises une base solide pour développer leur infrastructure informatique. Malgré tout, il vaut la peine d’étudier ce concept de plus près. Nous allons vous expliquer tout ce qui se cache dans cette toute nouvelle offre Software as a Service, ses avantages réels et les raisons pour lesquelles bon nombre de clients ont malgré tout besoin d’une expertise externe.

Text: Andreas Kunkel, Bilder: istock, 11

Les systèmes de SAP offrent aux entreprises d’innombrables possibilités pour se préparer aux évolutions et aux défis de demain. Mais bien souvent, il s’agit de produits complexes qui nécessitent beaucoup de ressources, aussi bien en termes de personnel que de financement. C’est pourquoi les entreprises suisses souhaitent, à juste titre, des offres SAP qui permettent de réaliser trois objectifs fondamentaux. Premièrement: la solution doit être moderne et fonctionner sans problème et sans efforts à long terme. Deuxièmement: les systèmes doivent ouvrir la voie au propre développement de l’entreprise – par exemple dans le cadre de la migration vers S/4HANA. Et troisièmement: les coûts doivent être transparents, non seulement au niveau des achats, mais aussi concernant tous les autres aspects liés à l’utilisation, par exemple les adaptations et la maintenance.

L’idée de base de RISE with SAP

Le concept de «RISE with SAP» réunit tous ces critères et plus encore. La pièce maîtresse est sa structure: une solution tout-en-un avec SAP S/4HANA dans le cloud. De plus, ce pack inclut entre autres des outils pour analyser les processus commerciaux, un paquet de démarrage pour utiliser des plateformes d’innovation telles que la SAP Business Technology Platform ou l’accès au réseau achats et chaîne logistique (SAP Business Network). Cela garantit un accès rapide aux réseaux Ariba, Asset Intelligence ou Logistics Business. L’utilisateur peut choisir librement l’infrastructure cloud et peut donc utiliser des serveurs d’hyperscalers tels que Azure, AWS ou Google.

 

«RISE with SAP répond au souhait de nombreux clients SAP de ne pas avoir à investir dans une solution SaaS "complète". Ils craignent en effet le risque que cela ne restreigne la mise en œuvre de solutions spécifiques à l’entreprise», déclare Hanspeter Groth, expert SAP chez Swisscom.

 

Mais les experts Swisscom trouvent également l’option «Business Process Intelligence» très intéressante: «Ce service complémentaire, qui sera probablement payant, doit permettre aux entreprises de réaliser des transformations de processus globales de bout en bout. Elles peuvent ainsi optimiser leurs processus, améliorer leur orientation clients et mieux calculer les risques d’exploitation», souligne H. Groth.

Des services de pointe

Parmi les autres offres déjà incluses dans le paquet comptent le SAP Readiness Check ou le Custom Code Analyzer: des services performants qui aident efficacement les entreprises à développer leur infrastructure informatique SAP: ils indiquent tous les points à optimiser pour une migration vers S/4HANA. Et comme ils sont disponibles dans le cloud, les entreprises peuvent agir avec beaucoup plus de flexibilité qu’avec une solution sur site. À cela s’ajoute l’utilisation (même si elle est limitée) d’outils tels que le Learning Hub. Les entreprises disposent ainsi d’une plateforme pour développer leurs connaissances dans le domaine de SAP – des cours d’e-learning en auto-apprentissage aux salles d’étude collaboratives en passant par les sessions en direct encadrées par des experts.

Du tout-en-un uniquement au niveau de la première couche

«C’est surtout l’approche du service complet de RISE qui s’avère extrêmement pratique pour bon nombre d’entreprises. D’autant plus que les licences S/4HANA sont faciles à calculer en toute transparence pendant leur durée de validité, généralement de trois ou cinq ans», souligne Hanspeter Groth. Une fois les systèmes installés, ils restent toujours à jour et dans le pire des cas, les travaux de maintenance sont réalisés rapidement, sans avoir à constituer une propre équipe d’experts. Ainsi, les entreprises n’ont aucune ressource interne à mobiliser pour s’occuper du développement et de l’exploitation de l’infrastructure informatique. Cela vaut aussi pour les sauvegardes ou quand il faut intégrer des corrections d’erreurs ou des mises à jour.

 

Toutes les installations requises au niveau des processus restent du ressort du client et sont prises en charge par des équipes d’experts SAP. De même, des experts SAP de l’entreprise sont nécessaires ou sont appelés par des partenaires tels que Swisscom pour optimiser et adapter les systèmes aux besoins de l’entreprise. Pour paramétrer les systèmes SAP en fonction de leurs besoins individuels, les entreprises suisses peuvent compter sur le soutien de 450 spécialistes SAP expérimentés de Swisscom. Ils sont là pour conseiller et tirer le meilleur du logiciel sur mesure, guider les entreprises au fil du temps et les aider à réaliser les modifications futures, à condition que celles-ci se situent au niveau de la «first layer» (base SAP) de RISE.

Software as a Service

«Malgré tout, RISE with SAP n’est pas la solution la plus pertinente pour toutes les entreprises. Pour les fonctionnalités qui nécessitent une forte dépendance entre SAP et d’autres systèmes ou la prise en compte de processus très individualisés, RISE with SAP peut s’avérer trop rigide», estime Groth. (Vous trouverez une classification dans cette interview.) Mais RISE est sans aucun doute une approche de référence pour les offres futures: SAP propose ici un pack «as a Service» complet. Celui-ci répond à un besoin important des entreprises: recourir à un nombre croissant de prestations par ce biais et remettre en cause la tradition des installations sur site classiques.


Vous avez des questions? Nous sommes à votre disposition.

Hanspeter Groth

SAP Business Development Executive





En savoir plus sur ce thème: