Payment transaction software from the cloud

Payment Transaction Software from the Cloud

“We have tapped into a very promising new area of business.”


Developing and operating finance software takes courage. Because hackers have a pretty big appetite. mammut soft computing plc has managed the leap to the safe side.


Text: Anton Neuenschwander, Images: Michael Meier,




mammut soft computing plc is a leading manufacturer of international multi-bank-capable software solutions for e-banking and cash management. Founder and CEO Iwan Vogel has experienced a lot in his 25 years on the job. So he was initially sceptical when a Swisscom consultant suggested that he operate his software products in the cloud. “In the past, many of those responsible for IT saw it as their sacred duty to keep the data in the company’s own environment,” he says, explaining his initial reservations.


Security loopholes, ISO 20022 migration: What needs to be done?

Since 2017, the business banking software industry has been facing big challenges. In order to harmonise Swiss payment transactions, every customer requires an update that adapts the ISO 20022 standard. And this must be done by summer 2018. And that’s not all: The Swiss Federation’s Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI) is sending urgent warnings about attacks from the big bad world of hackers. And the environments of payment transaction systems are particularly exposed. If they have even the smallest security loophole, this throws open the door to intruders with criminal intentions.


“Locally installed and poorly maintained is much more dangerous than a reputable cloud-based solution.” 


Iwan Vogel, CEO of mammut soft computing plc


Iwan Vogel is pensive. The parking spaces in front of his company are empty: All of his support staff are visiting customers to perform updates on their systems. “I gradually started to question a mantra that had been in place for years, namely: ‘locally installed = secure – cloud = dangerous’. I found out more about Swisscom’s cloud approach, thoroughly analysed various products, talked to the Swisscom specialists again ... in the end my motto had changed to: ‘Locally installed and poorly maintained is much more dangerous than a reputable cloud-based solution!’” Poorly maintained? Unfortunately this is too often the case, according to Vogel. Many companies didn’t have the time, the know-how, the resources, or a combination of all three, to keep their own IT environment up to date and secure. This led to considerable risks that not even very high-quality software is always capable of handling.



Zufrieden mit seiner Cloud-Lösung: Iwan Vogel.

Satisfied with his cloud-based solution: Iwan Vogel.



SaaS solution implemented in three months

The next step: Iwan Vogel decides to develop a cloud-based model for his payment transaction software. A specialist team from Swisscom connects with mammut’s developer team and they exchange know-how in weekly meetings. “The project ran smoothly, we all pulled together and got along very well,” Vogel says, looking back on the collaboration. After three months the time has come: The new “rent.a.mammut” Software as a Service (SaaS) solution is completed and set up in the cloud, and it starts operating. The responsibilities are divided up: Swisscom ensures the reliable operation of the underlying cloud infrastructure, while mammut is responsible for the application set up on this infrastructure and the data. “It gives our customers a good feeling that the cloud infrastructure is being run by certified Swisscom experts,” Vogel emphasises.


“It gives our customers a good feeling that the cloud infrastructure is being run by certified Swisscom experts.”


Iwan Vogel


Added value for customers – and even cheaper.

With “rent.a.mammut”, mammut soft computing plc has tapped into a new area of business. Iwan Vogel is delighted that there is a lot of interest in the payment transaction software from the cloud: “Our customers appreciate the many advantages of the rental model. Firstly, they no longer have to worry about updates. These are carried out automatically in the background and the system is always up to date and offers no areas of attack. In SMEs in particular, where the CFO is often also responsible for IT, the relief is palpable: The CFO can finally be a CFO again! Additionally, customers can structure their processes more easily. “rent.a.mammut” can be used anywhere, with any suitable device. The state-of-the-art cloud technology offers excellent performance. Conclusion: Our customers receive a very powerful complete package that costs even less than the locally operated predecessor model.”



 Führend für Business Banking Software: die mammut soft computing ag.

The leader in business banking software: mammut soft computing plc.



Perseverance has paid off

Soon the parking spaces in front of Iwan Vogel’s company are all filled again: Instead of performing updates at customers' premises his employees have more time to continue developing their own solutions. “I’m happy now that the Swisscom consultants didn’t stop insisting on the cloud solution when we were against it,” Vogel says with a wink.


“Our customers receive a very powerful complete package.”


Iwan Vogel


Amazon Web Services (AWS) by Swisscom


With AWS by Swisscom, companies can take full advantage of the potential of the world’s leading global public cloud. They reach the market faster and more agilely with innovative solutions. Certified Swisscom experts support them on site with the design, implementation and migration, and also with maintaining the cloud solution – even in hybrid environments.

Find out more




Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Zahlungsverkehrs-Software aus der Cloud

Zahlungsverkehrs-Software aus der Cloud

«Wir haben uns ein vielversprechendes neues Geschäftsfeld erschlossen.»


Das Entwickeln und Vertreiben von Finanzsoftware ist nichts für Feiglinge. Denn der Appetit von Hackern ist beträchtlich. Der mammut soft computing ag ist der Schritt auf die sichere Seite gelungen.


Text: Anton Neuenschwander, Bilder: Michael Meier,




Die mammut soft computing ag ist eine führende Herstellerin von international multibankfähigen Softwarelösungen für E-Banking und Cash-Management. Ihr Gründer und Geschäftsführer Iwan Vogel hat in den 25 Jahren seiner Tätigkeit schon viel erlebt. Deshalb war er zuerst skeptisch, als ein Swisscom Berater ihm vorschlug, seine Softwareprodukte in der Cloud zu betreiben. «Für viele IT-Verantwortliche galt in der Vergangenheit das Halten der Daten in eigener Umgebung schon fast als eine heilige Pflicht!», begründet er seine damaligen Vorbehalte.


Sicherheitslücken, ISO 20022-Migration: Was tun?

Im 2017 wird die Business Banking Software-Branche vor grosse Herausforderungen gestellt. Zwecks Harmonisierung des Schweizer Zahlungsverkehrs benötigt jeder Kunde ein Update, welches den ISO 20022-Standard adaptiert. Zu erledigen bis Sommer 2018. Damit nicht genug: Die Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung des Bundes (MELANI) warnt eindringlich vor zunehmenden Angriffen aus der grossen wilden Welt der Hacker. Besonders exponiert sind die Umgebungen von Zahlungsverkehrs-Systemen. Klafft in ihnen auch nur die kleinste Sicherheitslücke, öffnet sich die Tür weit für Eindringlinge mit kriminellen Absichten.


«Lokal installiert und ungepflegt ist viel gefährlicher als eine seriöse Cloud-Lösung.»


Iwan Vogel, Geschäftsleiter mammut soft computing ag


Iwan Vogel ist nachdenklich. Die Parkplätze vor seiner Firma sind leer: Sämtliche Supporter sind bei den Kunden, um deren Systeme vor Ort mit Updates aufzurüsten. «Allmählich habe ich begonnen, ein über die Jahre gepflegtes Mantra in Frage zu stellen. Es lautet ‘Lokal installiert = sicher – Cloud = gefährlich’. Ich habe mich tiefer mit dem Cloud-Ansatz von Swisscom auseinandergesetzt, verschiedene Angebote gründlich analysiert, nochmals mit den Swisscom Spezialisten gesprochen … Schliesslich hat sich ein neuer Leitsatz herausgeschält: ‘Lokal installiert und ungepflegt ist viel gefährlicher als eine seriöse Cloud-Lösung’!» Ungepflegt? Das komme leider zu oft vor, erzählt Vogel. In etlichen Unternehmen fehlten die Zeit, das Know-how, die Ressourcen oder alles zusammen, um die eigene IT-Umgebung fit und sicher zu halten. Daraus entständen erhebliche Risiken, denen auch eine qualitativ hochstehende Software nicht immer gewachsen sei.



Zufrieden mit seiner Cloud-Lösung: Iwan Vogel.

Zufrieden mit seiner Cloud-Lösung: Iwan Vogel.



SaaS-Lösung in drei Monaten umgesetzt

Der nächste Schritt: Iwan Vogel entscheidet sich, für seine Zahlungsverkehrs-Software ein cloud-basiertes Modell zu entwickeln. Ein Spezialistenteam von Swisscom dockt an das Entwicklerteam von mammut an, man tauscht sich in wöchentlichen Meetings aus. «Das Projekt ist rund gelaufen, wir haben alle am selben Strick gezogen und uns sehr gut verstanden», beurteilt Vogel die Zusammenarbeit rückblickend. Nach drei Monaten ist es soweit: Die neue Software-as-a-Service (SaaS)-Lösung «rent.a.mammut» ist fertig gebaut, in der Cloud aufgesetzt und in Betrieb genommen. Die Verantwortlichkeiten sind aufgeteilt: Swisscom sorgt für einen sicheren Betrieb der zugrunde liegenden Cloud-Infrastruktur, während Mammut für die darüber liegende Applikation und die Daten verantwortlich ist. «Unseren Kunden gibt es ein gutes Gefühl, wenn die Cloud-Infrastruktur von zertifizierten Swisscom Experten betreut wird», betont Vogel.


«Unseren Kunden gibt es ein gutes Gefühl, wenn die Cloud-Infrastruktur von zertifizierten Swisscom Experten betreut wird.»


Iwan Vogel


Mehrwert für Kunden – und erst noch günstiger

Mit «rent.a.mammut» hat sich die mammut soft computing ag ein neues Geschäftsfeld erschlossen. Das Interesse an der Zahlungsverkehrs-Software aus der Cloud sei gross, freut sich Iwan Vogel: «Unsere Kunden schätzen die zahlreichen Vorteile des Mietmodells. Erstens müssen sie sich nicht mehr selbst um Updates kümmern. Diese werden automatisch im Hintergrund ausgeführt, das System ist stets auf dem neusten Stand und bietet keine Angriffsfläche. Gerade in KMU, wo der CFO oft auch noch für die IT verantwortlich ist, verspricht man sich Entlastung: Der CFO darf endlich wieder CFO sein! Dazu kommt, dass die Kunden ihre Prozesse einfacher gestalten können. ‘rent.a.mammut’ kann ortsunabhängig mit jedem passenden Endgerät genutzt werden. Die moderne Cloud-Technologie bietet eine herausragende Performance. Fazit: Unsere Kunden erhalten ein sehr leistungsfähiges Komplettpaket, das erst noch weniger kostet als das lokal betriebene Vorgängermodell.»



 Führend für Business Banking Software: die mammut soft computing ag.

Führend für Business Banking Software: die mammut soft computing ag.



Hartnäckigkeit hat sich ausbezahlt

Bald sind die Parkplätze vor Iwan Vogels Firma wieder voll besetzt: Statt bei den Kunden Updates durchzuführen, werden seine Mitarbeitenden mehr Zeit haben, um die eigenen Lösungen weiterzuentwickeln. «Heute bin ich froh, dass die Swisscom Berater beim Thema Cloud nicht locker gelassen haben, als wir Ablehnung signalisierten», merkt Vogel mit einem Augenzwinkern an.


«Unsere Kunden erhalten ein sehr leistungsfähiges Komplettpaket.»


Iwan Vogel


Amazon Web Services (AWS) by Swisscom


Mit AWS by Swisscom schöpfen Unternehmen das Potenzial der weltweit führenden Global Public Cloud voll aus. Sie gelangen mit ihren innovativen Lösungen schneller und agiler an den Markt. Zertifizierte Swisscom Experten unterstützen vor Ort beim Design, bei der Implementierung und Migration bis hin zur Wartung der Cloud-Lösung – auch in hybriden Umgebungen.

Mehr erfahren




Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema