SGKB places its trust in Ransomware Protection

Optimal protection from cyber attacks

“The Swisscom security experts react immediately when an attack occurs”


An attack involving ransomware can completely paralyse a company if the worst comes to pass. St. Galler Kantonalbank, SGKB, has made clever provisions.


Text: Anton Neuenschwander, Images: Michael Meier, 31 may




The business model used by the extortion industry continues to evolve. In the past, it made companies what was often the irresistible offer to not publicise certain sensitive information as long as the sum of money demanded was, in fact, paid. Today, companies find themselves paying a ransom for their own data. The most effective weapon used by extortionists is ransomware. This malware insidiously penetrates file servers and disables the files by encrypting them. Those who pay will have their files activated again. If they're lucky.


Wanted: An intelligent defence system

Guido Kölliker is the Chief Information Security Officer at SGKB, making him responsible for information security at eastern Switzerland's leading financial institute. In early 2017, he analysed the cyber risks to which the bank is exposed. “Unfortunately, we realised that there were no suitable countermeasures available to us to prevent ransomware attacks,” he recalls. “That made us feel terrible. An attack like this can cause damage amounting to millions.” Kölliker consulted the experts from Swisscom for advice, as Swisscom was responsible for operating the file servers at SGKB. “Our expectations of an effective system to protect us from ransomware were clear: First of all, lightning-fast identification of an attack. And secondly, an immediate reaction involving countermeasures.” Donat Kaeser, Product Manager for Storage, Backup & Archive Services at Swisscom, mentions a third, equally important, criterion: “An effective backup and restore concept is also indispensable. We recommend backing up data five times a day using snapshot technology. In the event of an attack – which can never be completely ruled out – work on restoring needs to start immediately. However, this also involves a problem: After an incident, the data are restored to the version that existed before the attack. And in many cases, a number of hours can pass in between. In the meantime, however, the more than 1,000 employees of SGKB have been hard at work, with all this work being put into their files. This work would be lost if all the files were simply restored without any differentiation. The best remedy for this is ‘Differential Restore’, which only overwrites the files affected.”



Donat Kaeser (left) and Guido Kölliker intend to keep one step ahead of cyber criminals.



“Good” changes are retained

SGKB decided in favour of the Ransomware Protection service option. This intelligent radar screen identifies ransomware attacks by means of more than 1,700 patterns, and immediately initiates the defined defensive measures. Guido Kölliker cannot hide his enthusiasm for one particular highlight that the solution offers: “‘Differential Restore’ allows all of the files that were spared by the attack to be identified. They contain ‘good’ changes, which are retained. Files that fell victim to a virus attack, in contrast – those with ‘bad’ changes – are overwritten by an older, intact version.” Ransomware Protection allows Guido Kölliker to sleep better at night. “We know that we're optimally protected. The Swisscom security experts react immediately when an attack occurs – for example, by disabling certain user profiles. We are promptly informed about exactly what has happened, and what the bank still needs to do.”


“We know that we're optimally protected.”


Guido Kölliker, Chief Information Security Officer at SGKB


Gaining an advantage when playing cat and mouse

SGKB takes a proactive approach when it comes to security, and is a leader in its industry in guaranteeing the broadest possible protection for itself and its customers, as Guido Kölliker states. “Years ago, the bank was already focussing on its core business activities, which is why it depends on competent, external security partners,” as he describes its development path. “This is why we are considering using other Managed Security Services from Swisscom along with Ransomware Protection. Discussions are currently focussed on Threat Detection & Response services such as Security Analytics, Security Operation Center (SOC) and the Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT).” This is an approach that Donat Kaeser considers advisable, because: “Make no mistake: While we have used Ransomware Protection to create the general conditions for optimal protection and rapid restoration in the file service area, we're still playing cat and mouse with the cyber criminals. We are continually perfecting our solutions to ensure our customers are armed against future threats.”



Leaders when it comes to cyber security: St. Galler Kantonalbank.


St. Galler Kantonalbank, SGKB


One in every two residents of St. Gallen maintains a business relationship with SGKB. As a regional full-service bank, SGKB will soon have been advising private and business customers for 150 years. The bank maintains headquarters in the canton's capital, and operates another 38 branch offices.




Enterprise File Services – the Ransomware Protection option


  • Based on NetApp and Cleondris technologies.
  • Detection and notification for identified events (ransomware patterns).
  • Automatic blocking of clients/hosts
  • Automatic triggering of emergency snapshots (restore points) for identified attacks.
  • Differential Restore for rapidly restoring services in the event of an attack. The unique functionality repairs defective data and leaves “good” modifications alone.
  • Integration into the “Threat Detection & Response” security portfolio possible (event & incident management).


Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Die SGKB vertraut auf Ransomware Protection

Optimal geschützt vor Cyberattacken

«Bei einem Angriff werden die Swisscom Sicherheitsexperten sofort aktiv»


Ein Angriff mit Ransomware – der Erpressersoftware – kann ein Unternehmen im schlimmsten Fall komplett lahmlegen. Die St. Galler Kantonalbank SGKB hat geschickt vorgesorgt.


Text: Anton Neuenschwander, Bilder: Michael Meier, 31




Das Geschäftsmodell der Erpresserbranche hat sich gewandelt. Früher machte sie einem Unternehmen das oft unwiderstehliche Angebot, gewisse sensible Informationen nicht zu veröffentlichen, sofern der geforderte Betrag entrichtet werde. Heute bezahlen Unternehmen Lösegeld für ihre eigenen Daten. Die schärfste Waffe der Erpresser dafür ist Ransomware: Diese Schadsoftware dringt schleichend in die File Server ein und sperrt die Dateien mit einer Verschlüsselung. Wer bezahlt, bekommt sie wieder freigeschaltet. Oder auch nicht.


Gesucht: ein intelligentes Abwehrsystem

Guido Kölliker ist Chief Information Security Officer bei der SGKB und damit verantwortlich für die Informationssicherheit im führenden Ostschweizer Finanzinstitut. Anfang 2017 analysierte er die Cyber-Risiken, denen die Bank ausgesetzt ist. «Wir mussten feststellen, dass uns gegen Ransomware-Attacken keine geeigneten Gegenmassnahmen zur Verfügung standen», erinnert er sich. «Das war nun wirklich kein gutes Gefühl. Ein solcher Angriff kann Schaden in Millionenhöhe anrichten.» Kölliker suchte Rat bei Swisscom Experten, da die File Server der SGKB von Swisscom betrieben werden. «Unsere Anforderungen an eine wirksames Schutzsystem gegen Ransomware waren klar: Erstens die blitzschnelle Identifikation eines Angriffs. Und zweitens die sofortige Reaktion mit Gegenmassnahmen.» Donat Kaeser, Product Manager für Storage, Backup & Archiv Services bei Swisscom, nennt ein drittes wichtiges Kriterium: «Unerlässlich ist auch ein wirksames Backup- und Restore-Konzept. Wir empfehlen, die Daten fünf Mal täglich mit Snapshot-Technologie zu sichern. Bei einem Befall – der nie ganz auszuschliessen ist – muss sofort mit dem Restoren begonnen werden. Das Problem dabei: Nach einem Vorfall werden die Daten auf jenem Stand wiederhergestellt, den sie vor dem Angriff hatten. Dazwischen liegen oft einige Stunden. Inzwischen haben die mehr als 1000 Mitarbeitenden der SGKB aber viel Arbeit geleistet, die in ihren Dateien steckt. Diese Arbeit ginge verloren, wenn undifferenziert sämtliche Dateien zurückgesetzt würden. Dagegen hilft 'Differential Restore', das nur befallene Dateien überschreibt.»



Donat Kaeser (links) und Guido Kölliker wollen den Cyberkriminellen einen Schritt voraus sein.



«Gute» Änderungen bleiben erhalten

Die SGKB hat sich für die Serviceoption Ransomware Protection entschieden. Dieser intelligente Radarschirm erkennt Ransomware-Attacken anhand von über 1700 Patterns und initiiert sofort die definierten Abwehrmassnahmen. Guido Kölliker zeigt sich begeistert von einem besonderen Highlight der Lösung: «Mit 'Differential Restore' werden jene Dateien identifiziert, die von der Attacke verschont geblieben sind. Sie enthalten 'gute' Änderungen, die erhalten bleiben. Dateien mit Virenbefall hingegen – also mit 'schlechten' Änderungen – werden mit einer unversehrten älteren Version überschrieben.» Dank Ransomware Protection kann Guido Kölliker heute ruhiger schlafen. «Wir wissen, dass wir optimal geschützt sind. Bei einem Angriff werden die Swisscom Sicherheitsexperten sofort aktiv – etwa, indem sie bestimmte Userprofile sperren. Wir werden umgehend darüber informiert, was genau passiert ist und was die Bank noch unternehmen muss.»


«Wir wissen, dass wir optimal geschützt sind.»


Guido Kölliker, Chief Information Security Officer bei der SGKB


Vorsprung gewinnen im Katz- und Maus-Spiel

Die SGKB sei in Sachen Sicherheit proaktiv tätig und in ihrer Branche führend, um für sich und ihre Kunden einen möglichst breiten Schutz zu gewährleisten, hält Guido Kölliker fest. «Schon vor Jahren hat sich die Bank auf ihr Kerngeschäft fokussiert, weshalb sie auf kompetente externe Security-Partner angewiesen ist», beschreibt er den Weg dazu. «Deshalb überlegen wir, neben Ransomware Protection weitere Managed Security Services von Swisscom zu nutzen. Im Gespräch sind Threat Detection & Response-Services wie Security Analytics, Security Operation Center (SOC) und Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT).» Dieses Vorgehen findet Donat Kaeser sinnvoll, denn: «Machen wir uns nichts vor: Zwar haben wir im File Service-Bereich mit Ransomware Protection die Rahmenbedingungen für optimalen Schutz und schnellen Restore geschaffen. Aber das Katz- und Maus-Spiel mit den Cyberkriminellen geht weiter. Wir perfektionieren unsere Lösungen laufend, damit unsere Kunden gegen künftige Bedrohungen gewappnet sind.»



Führend in Sachen Cyber Security: die St. Galler Kantonalbank.


St. Galler Kantonalbank SGKB


Jede zweite St. Gallerin und jeder zweite St. Galler pflegt eine Geschäftsbeziehung mit der SGKB. Als regionale Universalbank berät die SGKB seit bald 150 Jahren Privat- und Geschäftskunden. Ihren Hauptsitz hat die Bank in der Kantonshauptstadt, dazu kommen 38 Niederlassungen.




Enterprise File Services – Option Ransomware Protection


  • Basiert auf NetApp- und Cleondris-Technologien.
  • Erkennung und Alarmierung bei erkannten Ereignissen (Ransomware Patterns).
  • Automatisches Blocken von Clients/Hosts
  • Automatisches Auslösen von Emergency Snapshots (Zurücksetzungspunkte) bei identifizierten Angriffen.
  • Differential Restore zur raschen Wiederherstellung des Services bei einem Befall. Diese einzigartige Funktionalität repariert defekte Daten und belässt «gute» Modifikationen.
  • Integration in das Security-Portfolio «Threat Detection & Response» möglich (Event & Incident Management).


Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema